Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alsterblick This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schwanenwik 30, Uhlenhorst, 22087 Hamburg, Germany

#169 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 520 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traces of construction work during our stay. But no noise.

    To be honest - I like everything in this hotel, from Alster itself till the birds in the garden)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building of the hotel was completely surrounded by scaffold which could be a reason for discount, but the price was as normal. So it did not make value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a pity that we were in a moment of construction works of fasade, because we liked the building very much. Beds are big and comfortable however for double rooms I would suggest to use one peace matrasses.

    Location is excelent! Very green and peaceful area with a beautiful view on the Alster lake. Room 27 was so comfortable and stylish. I would like to live there! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The surprise came directly after I paid for the room, with an email from the hotel stating that “….As already mentioned in the online booking systems, we are currently having constructions at and in the hotel…”. After checking the booking.com page for the hotel, I didn’t find any mention of the disruption from the construction. the whole façade of the hotel was hidden ! And as it was non-refundable, the hotel didn’t accept my request to cancel my reservation. Inacceptable. I finally decided to go to this hotel, as the quarter was nice, and on the lake side. After taking the room 08, I discovered that the bath in the bathroom had no curtains. After testing the shower, I saw that the water was going everywhere in the bathroom ! Again, inacceptable. I told the reception I was not comfortable with 1) the "construction email” answer from their hotel 2) the fact that the bath didn’t have curtain. The reception offered another room at the lobby level, but which had no bath, only shower. I didn’t accept, as I requested a bath and this room didn’t have one. So they gave me another room upstairs, which finally was acceptable. But ….. they wanted to charge me an extra EUR 10/per day for this room. I was sad to see how the hotel treated a client that had a problem with it …..since the beginning. Anyway, the breakfast was good, and the employees nice !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service - either very friendly and helpful non-english speakers or non-polite english speakers.

    I had to pay at the hotel with my credit card for some strange reason.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction work on the fassade was uggly and the staircase was a bit spuky when coming late for the first time. I suggest to guve a friendly paint and lite on the wall.

    The room was very comfortable and cosy. The water/coffe machines in the room is an excellent service. It is a luxury fot those who loves drinking tea all day long.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The amount of coffee/milk in the room would have been better if there had been a little more - it's only a small thing, but it would have been lovely.

    I was absolutely delighted with the room, and It far expected my expectations. I loved the atmosphere of the hotel and - even with the construction work going on - it was peaceful and calm. The breakfast was excellent. The cleanliness of the hotel was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift during our stay and although there was some fine print about renovations it was not made clear until we reached the hotel. This was important as my wife had just sprained her ankle and made our stay very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was annoyed at the fact that I was not warned of renovation works to the hotel on booking.com. This is the second time that it has happened this year and was only told by the hotel after I had booked. I think this needs to be addressed as it is misleading. If it was posted on your site then it wasn't very clear.

    Old and quirky hotel with nice staff. The rooms were old but had a modern touch. Very spacious. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was towels and bathroom exipment for only 1 person in the room. Bed clothes was very dirty and there was only one tiny blanket. On top of that there is a construction which was not mentioned when we booked at the booking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was construction work, which to be fair, we were warned about in advance, which made it more noisy and dusty than usual I am sure. Also as we were there in August, the bar, and the restaurant were closed, which we did not know in advance. However there was a wonderful bar just outside by the lake, the Alsterperle, which as the weather was sunny, worked well. Other restaurants not too far away.

    Great location by the lake. very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazing and went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. I loved the location and the old-world glamour of the place. Oh, and the breakfast was astonishing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not pre warned that lift not in operation as part of the refurbishments There was no bath only a shower in the bathroom

    Spacious room with view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was slow and bad to connect to.

    Beautiful Room with a fantastic view and extremely nicely furnished. A thoughtful information email upfront about current construction work as a heads up.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture could be updated and shower slow to drain.

    Excellent breakfast and extremely comfortable bed. Room and hotel had beautiful original features. The staff were extremely accommodating. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegan options at breakfast

    Location very convenient from main speedways - outlook of the hotel - size of the rooms - responsiveness of the staff - breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a build scaffolding on the balcony so we couldn't use it, but no construction work during our stay

    Nice athmosphere, clean room, great breakfast, friendly Staff, nice Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation works which meant no lift was available to the third floor with heavy bags.

    Lovely renovated room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, very noisy! Footsteps at nite...all nite.

    Food great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast with nice view on the Alster. Beds comfortable. Big and clean bathroom. Old charming house with high ceilings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old. Everything is old.

    Proximity to the Alster

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was without a carpet or wooden floor - really cold and did not feel clean.

    Breakfast was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi acceess

    Great view from room and breakfasts area to the river...pretty room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    renovation works were currently going on.

    beautiful nostalgic hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under construction

    Very good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is the amazing!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located in very good place, not far from downtown. Breakfast buffet is cool. Room is very luxury, it has amazing ceilings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is repaired, but it not been reflected in the prices

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast with eggs, fruit, bread, meat and coffee. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Construction!!! Woke up to drilling one morning, but I'm sure this is only temporary. Otherwise gorgeous view of lake!

    Super cool old Hotel, awesome ceilings, fixtures in rooms, a nod to 1900's Germany. The elevator was really old and charming. I hope they keep it! Staff was very friendly, breakfast girl Alice was wonderful :)

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are renovating the house at the moment. Unfortunately the noise was so loud that I checked out at 7am as there was no way I could have stayed in the room.

    Not much to say here.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Couldn't see out window coz of scaffolding the room looked poor on arrival but you got used to it !

    The breakfast was good and the room was quiet and bed was comfy

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was construction works all around the hotel that you could listen and definitely feel in my room

    The bed was excellent but the breakfast was quite expensive for a buffet. It seems that we paid for everything that the breakfast buffet included...

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good.

    Good location and perfect hotel. A hotel with a history. Charming and with a good atmosphere. A hotel we for sure will go back to. Nice and cozy restaurant in the basement NeXT door.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy. We were first given a room between the reception and breakfast room which was noisy. After the first night we asked to be moved and were given a room adjacent to a building site. The noise was intolerable. We booked and paid for a superior room.

    Picturesque area

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfriendly and angry staff. No free WIFI as announced - when I asked the person at the front desk he told me it was because to many people have more than one device connected - and as it was free I couldn't expect anything. However, then reduce the price and ask people to pay for the WIFI! The beds were very poor and also the additional blanket we finally get. The windows in the breakfast restaurant was dirty and with thousands of small insects starting to go into the food on our table. The rates are to high compared to what you get.

    The bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty entrance is a not very warm welcome! Wifi did not work! Warm water stopped for 1 day because of maintenance. Noisy because of traffic and other in-house sounds like fridge, … This hotel needs a bit of renovation (incl. the so called the nicest staircase)

    quality of bed, nice room, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Building works we were not informed of starting 7.30am. Ants in the room and in the bed. Beds not comfortable. Shame as place has potential but they need to spend some money/ time on attention to detail.

    Lovely building, high ceilings and big spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable. Price was slightly high given the distance from "tourist-areas" . The meal being included is what made this our choice.

    Great location, excellent breakfast, nice place.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficult to find parking spots close to the hotel

    Spacious room, nice interior design, beautiful location directly at the Alster lake

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Big rooms, great location - near downtown, nice breakfast buffet, nice beads, big bathroom - we will recommend it to other friends.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was fantastic. Included breakfast was great. Charming hotel in nice neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No parking, only public parking outside, usually without any space available.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a little hot in the room&noise because of traffic

    a great view of the lake

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    very noisy on my floor

    Location is very good

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

    Nothin but the view

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and breakfast were amazing in the suite!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Alsterblick traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: