Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altes Eishaus

Wissmarer Weg 45, 35396 Gießen, Germany

#6 of 15 hotels in Gießen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 432 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant hotel with restaurant popular with locals. Decent car park, we could see our motorcycles from our balcony. I was glad of my sat nav as the hotel is somewhat out of the way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning room facing the road was a bit noisy from the cars at a road, but there were earplugs provided at the bed table, which is nice.

    It was a night stay and a dinner in the hotel's restaurant to celebrate something with a group of people. The food was excellent! The room was ok. It was nice that if you switch on the heating room gets warm in less than 5 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rain......But that is not in the power of the hotel of course.

    We liked the atmosphere and the location. Right next to the river Lahn. Very friendly and helpful Staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    booked room with balcony as they overlooked the river was given single storey room in new block built in car park with no view it was hot and stuffy as being at street level you could not have the windows open at night and there was no air con it was adequate but very basic our German host complained on our behalf but to no effect the staff had watched Fawlty Towers an thought it was a training video very obstructive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no wifi in the room, I think due to the location of the room (quite far from the main entrance-reception).

    Nice hotel, with very good location. The restaurant-hotel offers also breakfast, which was generally good. By the river, silent location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need electronic key not the big bulky key, get updated. Why the big hole in the wall. Looks like a refridgerator missing or something.

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited outdoor seating for supper. Rooms and baths too small. Loose doorlocks. Dinner service very poor. After food was served no waiter asked if everything was okay. Starter silverware lacking. Booking told us we had to take two single and two double rooms. It turned out three double were available but we had to pay for four. Had to go to a grocery to get a supply of ice cubes. Credit card lost and desk clerk showed little sympathy, refused to call waiter who might have known something. We believe he forgot to return card to its owner after payment.

    Location on river. Sensational building and interior decorating for lovely atmosphere. Privacy in alcove for supper. Free car parking, Ample bicycle parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff a bit overwhelmed but friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of noise starting 6 am.....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was very instable... The hotel isn't close to city center (about 25-30 minits by foot).

    Breakfast was wonderful, staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance of the building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is excellent; on the river,. room had a view and a balcony. smoker friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Place and people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast price appart from the room, 8€

    Location: very nice on the river, with a terrasse Good restaurant Amazing breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to check in by 9 pm. After that the doors are locked.

    Plenty of parking and good wifi, which is not always easy to find in Germany.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long walk from town. Although it is a nice walk along the Lahn. Fine location if you have a car.

    Popular evening meals by the river.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a nice place, but a bit outdated and rooms not much charm to it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately, the sound insulation is pretty poor. I could hear people talking at normal volumes in the neighbouring room and those across the hall. This is a big deal for me as I am a sensitive sleeper. To give credit to the staff, when I complained about it they went to those rooms and requested that the people living there kept it down. Nevertheless, it was an inconvenience.

    The location works well for me. There are walking paths around there as well as shopping and restaurants within fairly short driving distance. The fact that the hotel is on a river is very nice. The staff is nice and receptive. There's a restaurant downstairs where one can enjoy a traditional German meal as well as other types of food.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was slow, not only in the apartment, also in the restaurant. The workplace in the apartment was a little bit small; only suitable for one person.

    The restaurant has an nice authentic character, with some tables en terrace having a nice view on the river Lahn. The restaurant has their own specialities like pancakes with toppings I haven't heart of before. F.i. pancakes with grilled salmon and spinach. We had our room in an new building. The room and especially bathroom are large. The staff permitted us to stay working in the restaurant after the check-out, because our meeting was in the afternoon.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There we no negatives

    The hotel is situated directly by the river, we were able to sit out in the beer garden and have dinner, waving at the people out on their boats. We saw an otter, a kingfischer and a huge terrapin in the water. The breakfast was excellent, and so was our dinner. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. There was ample parking, our rooms were big, as were the bathrooms. Amazing value and comfort for a two-star hotel. A real find.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi unstable and clumsy to activate

    Very nice staff, enough parking lot

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    16 euro for breakfast come on

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location next to the river

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really small room

    Nice to walk along river

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Hotel Altes Eishaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: