Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Amba This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Arnulfstraße 20, Maxvorstadt, 80335 Munich, Germany

#317 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3283 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.0
    Good and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC to be installed. Staff not children friendly.

    Situated opposite the main train station which makes it convenient to explore other places outside Munich. Value for money especially the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok for a stay 1-2 day stay when you need to be close to main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found dirty sock under the bed, someone else's hairs on towel and in bathroom - was a bad surprise.

    Great location - very easy to get from main train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.0
    Economical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot , other than that there is no issue. It's just opposite to HBF . It's better to opt for a room which doesn't face the road.

    Economical. Prime location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the amount of money we paid and the pictures I had viewed, I expected much more modern facilities and more space. The shower in our two person room was barely big enough. I am a medium build and could barely shut the shower door when in. The bathrooms on the airline are larger than what we experienced. And an extension cord was running from the third floor, down the stairway and across a long hallway into the 2nd floor. It was tacked down with duct tape-very tacky. I expected much more for the price we paid. Also, was told by one front desk staff member that breakfast was included in our stay so ate and then was charged for it upon check-out.

    The location was convenient to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Budget hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This would not be a good hotel for the handicapped. While there is an elevator, we had to go down a few steps and then back up a few steps to get to our room. This was a little bit of an annoyance for my husband as he was in a surgical boot during our stay. I'm not sure if it was like this for every hallway, but it was for the hallway to our family size room. There was also no fan or air conditioning. We had to keep the windows open to get some airflow, so we heard everything going on outside. We were able to sleep through it, but this may be a deal breaker for a light sleeper.

    This hotel was in a great location. Directly across the street from the largest train station in Munich, Hauptbahnhof. With the large amount of traffic, we were very happy to be able to park the car and take public transport. There is pay parking at the hotel, and they also have a deal with the parking garage around the corner. Just make sure you take your receipt to the parking attendant and you get a few Euro off your bill. The sink and mirror was separate from the toilet and shower, which was helpful when we were getting ready in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    For a short stay where you only want to sleep overnight in your room it is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason the temperature in the room was way too high. The outside temperature was temperate, bordering on the cooler side, but the room temperature was barely tolerably hot. If I hadn't have been so tired, I would not have been able to sleep because of the heat in the room. Also, there were very noisy people outside having a party until the wee small hours. The size of the room was extremely cosy for five people but the bathroom was spacious. It was good value all up.

    The overall standard of cleanliness was high even though the amenities were on the older side. The beds were comfortable. There was a lift to the floor. Very convenient location, close to the railway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location as it is just opposite the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaint since it was during the World Cup but the bars nearby can be heard from the room at times. Again this was during a big World Cup game so it is understandable that bars would be extra loud at these times.

    Fantastic location as it is just opposite the train station. Staff were amazing helped us out a lot and even gave us a different room after we arrived too early. Honestly you can’t go wrong for these prices

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Front desk was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Munich is relatively expensive compared to other locations in Germany, but the rooms were so tiny there was little room to put luggage- no chair in the room.

    Front desk was friendly. Location was for us great- after two weeks of touring we stayed two nights. Didn’t need to buy subway tickets just walked to city center. Down side might be the noise surrounding train station if your looking for quieter location. Out window opened to the back side which is quieter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    thrilled by Munich thanks to Hotel AMBA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe better quality door locks , not much to complain

    Great location , 30m walking from Munich HBF ,friendly STAFF, you can checkout and keep your luggage at the reception, Sightseeing tours for Saslzburg & Newshwestein Castle ,are located 400m away from THE HOTEL .There are great eatries nearby and the supemarkets REWE & PENNY MART are great too for shopping .I would surely recommend this place. Thks Luis and Sujha

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Tiny, clean, college dorm room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small and felt like a college dorm room. Bathroom was almost unusable. The door to the shower opened into the shower only partially. You had to squeeze past the tiny sink and behind the partially opened shower door to be able to close the shower door. Once in the shower, there was little room to bend down to wash body. A soap pump bottle was located on the shower floor and impossible to bend down to reach. A larger person would only be able to take a sponge bath in the area outside the bathroom. There is no room in the bathroom.

    The person who checked us in was professional, pleasant, and very helpful. When asked about getting a taxi to the airport, he immediately scheduled a taxi pickup in the morning. Room looked and smelled clean. The bed linen was also clean. Windows effectively shut out street noise. There were plenty of electrical plugs. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The location was very convenient, right across from the HBF...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything and didn’t find any negatives.

    The location was very convenient, right across from the HBF (main train station) and bus stops, and there were many options for food and drink nearby. The hotel has an elevator which is essential if you have luggage. The hotel has a parking garage attached and free WiFi. The hotel offers breakfast daily with both European and American breakfast options. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and spacious. The staff is friendly. The hotel rates we got through booking.com were a deal, especially considering the prime location. We will definitely stay at this hotel on our next visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    2.5
    Amba doesn’t earn 3 star at all! Who controls Munchen’s hotel quality?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For example Room 317 nightmare ! I reserved ca. asked ca. 7 weeks before arrival silent room upper floors! But 318 not any air ventilation hole in or out even bathroon! >Only windows open / close. Reclamation to reception > I got last fan from reception. Walls were paper so sounds of next room and neighbours hostel continued ca. 3AM! Bed was out of time I got 6:30AM wake up call free of charge when truck came and picked pallet of bottles Amba’s backyard ! After 2st night got change to room 603 opposite which had the motorised air fan bathrooms ceiling+? Opposite side Central station and you got 24h free calls boarding DB trains!> very noisy! I gave up moved to anothe real 3 star hotel next 2 nights. The manager didn’t accept any compensation for my written reclamation! How Booking.com can accept these out of range hotel to their sales portfolio? Shouldn’t BookingCom have some self control and not bullshita end customers?! I Never ever step to this Amba hotel and do not recommend seriously travelling people? Jamo from Finland

    I learned , don’t trust BookingCom or any other brokers. After all almost 40y experience German hotels I met worst 3 star ‘’hotel’’ which hardly represent 1 star hostel !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    During checkin a night man on the front-desc wasn't very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night checkin person - wan't very interested - wanted to sleep probably

    During checkin a night man on the front-desc wasn't very helpful. The Lady during the day was great, explained what to see in the city,helped to find parking-super helpful. I don't remember her name - but on my mind she is a little above average age, and looks very Bavarian. The positive marks for a hotel 100% because of her!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was in a really convenient location close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com site says that the hotel has a laundry service but it does not. We stayed 4 nights and every night were kept up by noise from the hostel next door. People were in the street drinking, yelling, singing, smashing bottles and vomiting. Obviously not the hotel’s fault but we did not get a good night’s sleep at all while we were here.

    The hotel was in a really convenient location close to Munich central station. Easy to walk to tourist attractions or get public transport. Room was relatively comfortable, good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff at checking in was not that friendly. Bathroom is a little cramped.

    Excellent location. The testament next door was excellent with very reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Loved the location, being across from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised the room didn't have A/C, but loved having the fresh air of the open window instead. Some guests may not like not having air conditioning.

    Loved the location, being across from the train station. Great value for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location next to Hauptbahnhof
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the misfortune of being in one of those rooms that are "too far away from the router" and the internet was incredibly slow (when there was WiFi). Good thing there's WiFi in the lobby.

    The location is amazing especially if using Hauptbahnhof (which we were). It's also a very short walk from the old center and has plenty of shops around. Beds were comfortable and room was very clean. The lobby has a cool area to relax a bit with good WiFi. Staff was very nice in general (except for 1 guy).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room view was not at all nice (front of the railway station ),a lot of noise in the morning and a lot of strange people near hotel entry. The room has a very strange bathroom (room’s lobby is a bathroom in fact).

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.3
    Staff were terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were terrible. The bathroom... I had to sit on the dink to get in and out of the smallest shower ever. This resulted in me hurting my ankle. Staff refused to acknowledge or change rooms so we changed hotels. Staff refused a refund for our second night but losing the money was better than staying! 😡

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Confortable bed, clean room, good price for what they ofer,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was al little bit small, but is not a very big problem if you just want to sleep here :)

    Confortable bed, clean room, good price for what they ofer, good location, near the train station, but in ok neighborhood, just 15 min from Marienplatz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    A nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at the hotel too expensive.

    Room was clean, staff nice and willing to provide additional information if needed. Perfect location near main train station with many food and coffee possibilities for breakfast or travel lunch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    It was a pleasant and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unlucky that night there were football supporters checking they were so noisy and drunk its sounds like they break the whole building loud techno music and shoutings, eventually somebody have them stopped the noise was quiet around 1am

    Perfect location to important places like train stations markets everything is reachable by foot. Trams stops right in front and train station just accross the street, very friendly receptionists and helpful, was reasonable price for value deal of the day, room is clean as well as sheets and towels. Nice play to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a bit noisy during the night. The payment was taken before my arrival, I was planning to pay on arrival.

    Room is big enough for three people, check-in very fast because I called earlier and was told the room was ready. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Rooms were fairly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy both inside and outside the hotel. Friends of mine stayed in a different room and that was terrible it was in obvious need of a renovation.

    Rooms were fairly clean. Location was excellent. Bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.4
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad moody smell in the bathroom. To noisy the whole night, banging doors, crying people, annoying sounds from the street, can’t sleep.

    Near the station - that was the only reason to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location to explore Munich.Train station is just around the corner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with a Double bed and the room had 2 single beds.But that would have been fine if the beds did not start to move and slip around the floor when put together.Literally I fell down on to the floor in the middle of the night as the beds were together but when we get closer to the middle area it slides away.

    Staff is friendly and helpful where we were able to get all the information from them.Well equipped bathroom and the safe became very handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Good for short stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems to attract loud people with its low price and central location. Drunk guests at night and early travelers in the morning.

    Great location, friendly staff and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money, but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is extremely noisy. The windows are not well isolated and there is the trainstation, a large street and a tramline just in front of the building. Bring your earplugs! Internet was not working for me in the upper floor.

    Very centrally located just opposite the train station. Good value for money for Munich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    I will not recommend it to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old and dirty hotel. It is not 3*, 2* at maximum. Very small rooms and cigarette smoke everywhere, in the room, in the lobby. Room doors are very thing and do not close tightly and you can hear everything happening in the halls.

    There is nothing positive I could say about this hotel. The only positive thing is the location. It is right in from of the main railway station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Excellent localization right by the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old hotel, outside the room (lobbies, elevator, etc) it was pretty dirty, the room was cleanish. Also week isolation.

    Excellent localization right by the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    The twin were a little cramped and the beds small, the breakfast was very good and worth the €11.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The twin rooms were a little cramped and the beds small.

    The breakfast was very good, if a little expensive, On the website the breakfast was €14 per person per day. When we arrived it was only €11 a day, so we were happy that we didn't pre book the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    The location is really convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found biscuit crumbs on the floor when we checked in. Strand of hair on a pillow as well. Cleanliness is in doubt.

    The location is really convenient. Right across the main train station, and metro is also just a few steps in the underground. I would say, the price and the overall experience does match.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Sheets had stains ... dirty coffee cups were kept in the room even though cleaning of the room was supposed to have been done!! one of the receptionists was not nice when we asked about not having hot water for showering in our room he answered with i just came i can't deal with 80 things at the same time!!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    We were so tired that we didn’t care much about the broken bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, our bathroom broke (impossible to take a shower as it flooded) and it was a big problem for us to get a new room. We were given a huge amount of towels to put on the floor and deal with the water.

    The hotel was clean and had a nice interior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Great staff. Very helpful. Always ask questions of the locals. They know the good spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small elevator.

    The location was great. Go visit the Augustiner nearby. Maybe a five minute walk. Great beer and food. Also very accommodating on storing luggage before and after checkin/out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean and simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel should soon be renovated.

    The location was really good and the price for staying in a hotel in the center of Munich really cheap. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommend it at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.There were no sleepers in the room. 2. Bathroom was very small. 3. It was april 1st and was cold. We had a little baby and ahe was cold. The heater didnt work. I asked the staff the first night he said he could do nothing and tomorrow they will fix it. But tomorrow there was the same problem. They told they will send somebody buy nobody came. And still cold. They just ignored it and during the night it was really cold. 4. Elevator was small for a 6 floor building. U should wait a lot. 5. Poor management.

    Only location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is right across the street from the Hauptbahnhoff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are very small.

    The hotel is right across the street from the Hauptbahnhoff, very close to City Sight Seeing tour start station and walking distance to city center. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Fine really for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually The room was small for four people The pillows were too flat and super soft that made it a little bit hard to control it under your head and back nothing else really

    It was reasonably clean and the quadruple room was more modern than expected also we were just satisfied with the location which couldn’t be better technically because we had a train in the early morning exactly in front of the main station Good for a stay of 2 nights and having the main city seen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Stay was pleasant the closeness to the Hauptbahnhof made our travel easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were to small, bathroom very small, breakfast on line was charged at €14 but if you book it at the hotel it was €11.70.

    breakfast was very good. Reception staff very helpful and polite. Rooms were clean and tidy, close to main railway station and tram stops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.6
    Not only cleaning is the problem but This hotel needs a major renovation!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The lobby was very dirty and it tells a lot about the hotel -The bed and pillows wasn’t comfortable at all !! -very old furniture and toilet -The room wasn’t clean specially under the window when sleep u see all dust and spiders !!!! -The old lady in the reception was very rude, I have asked the young man for a quite room then she jumped u just booked your room today no quite rooms left !!!!!!!!!

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have given this hotel a perfect 10 rating had I not been bitten by bed bugs. The bed was also uncomfortable. You can actually feel the spring on the mattress.

    The location is excellent just 2 mins away from the train station. The room big enough and clean. Good value for money. They have a nice buffet breakfast for 11.5 euros.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location pity room let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was to have been a superior double we got a room with 2 single beds push led together against 2 walls and 2 single beds not good enough

    Hotel located close to central railway station, handy for airport bus and taxi’s and metro

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Really nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very cold. Cold air came from the walls. The cleaning woman came at 8.30,9.30 and 10.30 am to knock at my door to see if I was there or not, in order to clean the room. I was sleeping and she tried to open the door. The reception should tell them who is in the room and who left the room. Not really nice... Homeless people brushing their teeth in the toilet of the ground floor

    Really nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to unlike as the most important things were already provided. Do not expect coffee/tea area & mini fridge as there is none. You can buy food & drinks outside anyway.

    Stayed in a single room for a night and got it at an ideal price considering the location. Near main train station and walking distance to Flixbus terminal. There are nearby groceries and eateries. Toilet seems to be newly renovated hence it is very clean. Towels are soft. Bed, pillow and duvet are comfy. No frills just enough as a place to stay for a couple of days although big luggages is not advisable as the space will not be enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Just needed a bed before my flight
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes the price of the room is excessive, sometimes not. In this case, the price was just right (43 Euros) for what is was worth. The rest of the time, paying 69-99 Euros for the same room is excessive.

    Close to airport bus, metro, s-bahn and train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Hotel Amba is comfortable, however basic and old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked very old, reception did not have any spare plug adaptors (not even for a fee), breakfast was expensive although very good. Pictures on booking.com made me think the double bed in our family room was a real double bed however it was actually two single beds sticked together. This was important to us because our 3 year old son shares the double bed with one of us and, if it is actually two separate beds, he might get uncomfortable during the night if he rolls in between the two mattresses.

    Bed mattress and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation did not live up to expectation. For the money paid the accommodation was not up to standard. Lamp had a melted shade. Bathroom tap when used leaked everywhere. Very dated property that felt a little unclean despite the smell of bleach. More suited to hostel users.

    Location. Staff where helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Good place to sleep one night, very close to Munchen Hbf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, but it was expected.

    The hotel is right across the road from Munchen Hauptbahnhof (the main train station). The room (Quadruple Room, number 112, if I recall correctly) was quiet, with windows looking into an inner yard. WiFi in the room worked well. The hotel offered a very good breakfast, and they didn't charge us for children (only for adults) - it was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    Location was great - only need to cross to the other side of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small, and the bed was not the most comfortable, but it’s ok for a one night stay.

    Location was great - only need to cross to the other side of the road and you’re at the main station!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.6
    No room to put cloths like , draws in there, toilet was tiny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room to put cloths like , draws in there, toilet was tiny struggle to get in and out the shower, the room wasn’t quite, constantly all I could hear was the outside , trains Ect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Close as you can get to the main railway station and metro so getting around was not a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double room and ended up in a room with 4 single beds, with 2 pushed together for a double. It may have been because we were late arriving as our flight was delayed with snow in Madrid for 1 1/2 hours

    The hotel is located next to the n=main s=railway station and airport bus terminal, buffet breakfast was good, plenty of choice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    It is like so close to the station;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really stuffy and we had to leave the window open. It seemed like we were given a 3 bed spaced room and the 4th was just shoved in, so it was a really small room.

    It is like so close to the station; basically opposite. There is a lovely pasta place next door and other shops around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice breakfast, clean rooms, beds slightly hard but okay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    (Very) small combined toilet and shower, very small & slow elevator, Non-existing wifi on 6th floor :(

    Nice breakfast, clean rooms, beds slightly hard but okay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    2.5
    Bed bugs and noise. Do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. There are better, cheaper options
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room right near mine clearly being fumigated for bed bugs and saw a few dead bed bugs on my floor. Floor was dusty and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Super thin walls and people partying until five in the morning so could not sleep.

    Absolutely nothing. Would have rather stayed in a hostel or at the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Curtains do not cover the windows, people from the offices across can peek through. 2.You can hear everything from next door. 3.Bathroom was literally falling apart, rubber seal under the bathroom panels fell off a couple times.

    Close to station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    It was an easy place to stay for 4 days as I took daily day-trips around upper Bavaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An English station on the cable TV like they have in Slovenia.

    The best part is that it is across the street from the Central Train Station. Next, it is close to an Aldi and REWE markets. I love Aldi back in the States where I live.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was absolutely awful!!!! The only way to get any reception was to sit by the door!!! The beds were 2 seperate beds and rolled away from each other!

    Great location!! Right next to the main station! Staff were absolutely incredible and helped with all our needs! Helped us print tickets and also helped recharge phone data as the instructions were all in German! Overall very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.5
    It was o.k.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The arrangements of electrical sockets and lights used in room No. 210, - Lack of free liquid soap or similar stuff required in small quantities in the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels were changed only after be thrown at the floor (no information about it in the bathroom).

    Very good location, near the central railway and bus station, on one hand, and hystorical centre, on other hand.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.4
    3min away from the RE platform
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washstand won’t drain The shower booth is too small and leaking Elevator is too small so had to miss serveral times to take in

    3min away from the RE platform

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    3.8
    Our room seemed completely different on photos than it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room seemed completely different on photos than it really was. The matress was extremely uncomfortable, the room was not clean at all, in the wall there was a hole with electric installation. The only positive thing was location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of basic amenities like a kettle. Room was not as updated as in photos. Front of desk staff were not as friendly, though they tried to suggest food around the vicinity. Housekeeping staff were friendly.

    Convenient location. They have an elevator, though mid floors have to climb a short flight of stairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Basic three star hotel in a convenient but noisy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very noisy at most times of the day. Even though it is across from the station we didn’t hear trains but always heard other guests and people outside. The rooms are small and basic. The room was clean but the stair wells could really use a good clean. In an attempt at modernising, new light fittings have been put in the halls but they are lower than the room doors. That means you can’t fully open the doors.

    The staff were friendly on check in. The location is convenient and the parking is easy. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location and amazing bathroom(big nice amd clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The triple room is like a double room with an extra bed. It was rrly small. I had a little argument with the staff. She told me i havent paid when in fact i paid when i checked in. She gave me a little look with an attitude until the other guy step in to clear things up

    Great location and amazing bathroom(big nice amd clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is too small

    Perfect location, right in front of the Munich Central Train Station. Easy access, the hotel is also only 20 minutes walk to the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    4.6
    We all got red bumps after sleeping on their bedding!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is extreemly smal, we booked a tripple room it was just awfull! Very small! Tiny shower for 3 person. Absolutelly not sound proved. It has 3 stars, I would give it 2 or even one. I would say it is disgusting to stay in that hotel. After sleeping on their bedding all of family got a red bumps all around the body! I think there is some insects in bedding. It is unhelthy hotel as well!! This place need a hotel check!!

    Location is very central, parking is right at the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small.

    Reall comfortable and vey next to the train station. It takes only less than 5 mins to walk from station to the hotel. The bathroom is quite small but it is very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    4.2
    Good location, crappy rooms and not clean. Wouldn't recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are super small, noisy, other people don't respect the time and need to be silent during core sleeping hours and staff didn't take care of it. Room was dirty, towels had hair, bathroom was not cleaned when we first arrived and they didn't take care of replacing shampoo and toilet paper. Extremely small rooms for 4 people and they didn't even provide toothpaste or any other stuff.

    Location is perfect, right in front of the main train station. It also has a gym, although poorly maintained and just 4 machines but good enough...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money paid. Only location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff cannot speak english which was frustrating. The facilities were also not satisfying.

    The location is very strategic. The cleanliness is satisfying.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Family stay at Hotel.Amba
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike...staff at checkin not friendly or welcoming but had a lovely helpful receptionist at checkout. Great hotel.for the price!

    The hotel is in walking distance of the train station, on a safe street with restaurants and a small supermarket. No problem with street noise. The room was super clean linens and towels very clean. Room very small but adequate for myself and two children. Shower nice and hot. Breakfast was good and adequate selection. Excellent location for sightseeing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real problem (for the price) is that it was quite loud, from all directions. From outside, above, and in the hallway. There is no sound isolation in this hotel.

    Clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Cheap option for a couple of nights only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the reviews said the room was small and it was but the bathroom was tiny, the shower and toilet where tucked away into a tiny room that meant to dry yourself you had to come out of that into the other part. The bed also wasn’t that comfortable and if you are a light sleeper request a room at the back as you can here traffic all night long. They did have a gym but no weights, just cardio machines. Even though it’s cheap I feel like they use this as an excuse.

    The location is great, it’s a easy and entertaining walk into the main square with heaps of shopping. There are heaps of breakfast options nearby in the main train station if you don’t feel like the hotel breakfast. The parking is easy, with secure parking out the back although small space so nothing bigger than a small SUV would fit, 15 euros per night is expensive but worth the night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean, very close to main train station, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, difficult to move about in there but it was a single room so ok

    Nice and clean, very close to main train station, friendly reception staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Stay-cation for a family vacation with toddlers and teenagers as well as Couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only negative is that on my level 4th , it was mixed with smokers and the smell of cigarettes do get into the room as doors have a 10mm gap near the floor. I had to use a towel to stop the smell from coming into the room. Lift ~ very small, I would not rate this as negative as it is an old building façade which is understandable. However, interiors and rooms are modern to a certain extend.

    Location ~ Excellent as a base for travelling to Salzburg, Nuremberg, Rothenburg, Fussen and other surrounding areas. Hotel is surrounded by eateries. Cleanliness ~ Exceptional as Housekeepers are Polite and Detail in functioning as the room is very clean and neat. Facilities ~ Gym and Breakfast Room is wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Amba traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: