Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of avendi Hotel am Griebnitzsee This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rudolf-Breitscheid-Str. 190-192, 14482 Potsdam, Germany

#17 of 31 hotels in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows are mushy and don't provide any real support. However, this seems to be typical of most hotels in Germany.

    The hotel is located right on the lake and has a lovely café terrace. We were travelling by bike and the hotel has excellent secure bicycle parking. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant which served high quality German style food. The breakfast buffet was also very extensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet, clean and comfortable room with sufficient space, good internet connection. Amazing view to the lake located just next to the hotel. Tasty, varied breakfast served at terrace. Possibility to park a car next to hotel for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the rooms do not feel like they are on the lake. They are across the road. Dark, out-dated design.

    Nice breakfast. Went kayaking on lake in morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel conists of two buildings. Most rooms are in a second bulding accross the street and further away from the lake itself and next to a S-Bahn station.

    Rooms were very, very clean. Good location, close to S-Bahn Bahnhof that connects straigt into Berlin Center. Little Biergarten next to the Hotel was really nice. Relatively low traffic around hotel as it lies between 2 low-density residential areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they gave us the rooms in 2nd floor in other building under and only after protest other guy more nice gave us other room renovation, with lift out of order first the guy at reception told us there's no other room available

    hotel is nice and except the incident we had on reception its quiet nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonably far from the centre of Potsdam but only 2 stops by S-Bahn

    Friendly staff who speak either English or German as you prefer. Beautiful lake views. Good choices for breakfast. Room was clean and minibar was well stocked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was too hard. And some noise from traffic in the morning.

    Wifi great. Beautifully located at the foot of the lake. And a short walk from the university.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two buildings; I stayed in the building next to the train station (and with no view of the lake). One can hear (although the sounds are dimmed) the trains coming and going in the early morning. As I said, the sounds were very dim, but this might disrupt a light sleeper.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The first building has rooms with a great view over the lake and very nice balconies and glass walls. The restaurant in the location is exquisite. The terrace is marvelous in the morning sun but also during the day or evening. Area is very quiet and staff is great: friendly, fast, nice people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not all rooms have AC, thought they say it when you book

    Great lake view rooms, stayed their next to where i was working. Everything was fine and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only improvement I could suggest would be to have tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Staff, room, breakfast all excellent. Staff were friendly but not intrusive and yet were always on hand if needed. Room was large, comfy and kept very clean. Range of foods at breakfast was extensive and of excellent quality.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee in room, no double bed (singles pushed together) & rather pricey considering the location

    Rooms were a decent size with views of lake. Staff were very friendly and helpful & were very efficient when it come to advice on area. Breakfast was enjoyable with a variety on offer. Great location with train station located just over road to get into Berlin (please be warned that tickets should be purchased prior to getting on train or you will be fined 60 euros per person). They also posted my partner's wallet back to us which he had left in the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly staff at reception when we arrived. Age of bathroom and comfort there not good. Very tough mattrace with old age blanket. Not cosy nor comfortable.

    Location is very beautiful and so close to local train station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff members were rude, I came back to the hotel early in the morning and thought I lost my room key--they told me that I was not their guest! Luckily I have found the key then, cause I would have to sleep on the pavement. The internet connection is appalling for someone who needs to do some work while staying in the hotel.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fan without air-conditioner

    Bargain price, nice river view, close to train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and view to the lake!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noting to say.

    Excellent location, very helpful staff, very clean an comfortable. Very near to public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful location at the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel WIFI is very bad

    First-class location, beautiful environment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is just perfect. Room is good size, clean enough. I like proximity to the Campus, train station and lake. Stuff is helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have prefered bath tub in that location n not just tiny shower. and could be cheaper in off season.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is great. Staff is friendly. View on the lake is very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is on the street or pay for it

    Breakfast, fast and efficient service of staff Clean room. Lovely view from room and nice view from balcony

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    too houses

    The area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would put an espresso machine for breakfast

    Great location. Comfy big room. Tidy and well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't stay longer

    Lovely intimate setting for breakfast...staff was very accomodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Aircon and the mosquitos.

    Very nice situation, clean, comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing surroundsings - 5 stars Rooms very disapointing 2 stars

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Relaxed and comfortable with super helpful staff on the edge of a lake. What's not to like!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful lakeside location; room had lake view. Digital safe in the room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't like soap dispensers on walls of bathroom. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little hot food by 9am on one morning of two day stay.

    Balcony with great view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great , clean and quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room locks very complicated, but mastered after 2 nights stay.

    River views from room were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I had searched availible hotels for a family of 2 adults and 2 children with booking.com. Somehow this hotel poped up and we give it a go. But after 8 hours trip we were kept for 15 min. at the reception as they didn't know we had 2 children. I called to booking.com custumer service, which was of little help and could only cancel my reservation for no charge. The staf of the hotel could only find one extra madras for us. This could be done for the unfair Price of 35 euro extra for each night! We got a room at the wrong side of the road with no nice view to the sea and with the smallest TV I have ever seen in a 4 Star hotel. We had to share our bed with the other child so overall we couldn't say that it was value for money!The lovely breakfast at the terrace could be ruined when pelople were smoking near your tabel.

    The breakfast was delicious, Easy to find free parking near the hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi keeps cutting off and you have to log in every time you come back to your room. It needs real attention. The entrance of hotel need a ramp for caring the luggage rather than using the stairs. Although I have been at this hotel few times, but the door lock might be tricky for some people.

    Location is perfect by the lake and the metro station right on the other side of hotel. The breakfast is good enough and included in the room's rate.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    upper floor too hot when high temperatures, would not call kitchen firstclass as they do in folder. the food is OK - good.

    location is beautiful, S-bahn opposite hotel very convenient, nice room ,

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was quite a lot of noise late at night and early morning from the adjacent S-Bahn station.

    The rooms are a good size and well furnished. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view from reception and the restaurant about the best in the Berlin area.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    dosent work always for big families , booked two rooms they had two rooms availble only witha a room in the middle didnt worked that good for us since we had our kids 10, 7 in a room far away from us.

    location is nice for summer vacation, lake view

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel has 2 buildings. One on the lake with great views and one accross the street without views.

    The location on the lake was great Staff was friendly and helpful Directly accross the street from S Bahn Excellent breakfast Close enough to take the S Bahn to Berlin but relaxing to come back to

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was mediocre. Some cheeses and boiled eggs would have been good. The door keys are really hard to work which meant that I had to ask for help twice to get into my room.

    Lovely location on the lake and very good value for money. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good place to relax

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the cupboards are too small for a stay exceeding 4-5 days

    Location

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse avendi Hotel am Griebnitzsee traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: