Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Schillerpark This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Neckarstr. 60 - 62, 73728 Esslingen, Germany

#4 of 15 hotels in Esslingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.3
    The town of Esslingen is pretty nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The elevator had a very acidic smell - Walls are pretty thin, so it can be pretty noisy - No replenishment of toilet paper - Too expensive for the services offered

    The town of Esslingen is pretty nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Esslingen am Neckar...a real hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Aircon in the rooms and no fan. This isn't a problem normally, by it was 32deg, so a little hot.

    The staff were great. The parking is easy, although it costs, but it's worth it. It's 10 min walk from the beautiful centre, but that's ok. It is clean and easy to reach and breakfast is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Good underground parking, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3 persons rooms extra bed was too short for a person of 170cm Not possible to adjust the air-conditioning. Would have asked for help but the reception was closed

    Good underground parking, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    The room was nice, situated on two floors, with an interior...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice, situated on two floors, with an interior ladder. The bed was comfortable, but small and the room was relatively clean. The breakfast was average and average could be the general tone of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Probably best located in Esslingen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on the 12th of February, all started off well with our room on the 1st floor, until a group of east European travellers arrived on the 14th when we were trying to enjoy our Valentines night, unfortunately, they were all given different rooms next to ours. They had obviously had quite a bit to drink, they all gathered in one room at midnight and talked and laughed, the noise was just unbearable. We called reception to report this and reception apparently called that particular noisy room and asked them to be quiet. They continued, some of them ran through the corridor from one room to another and banged on each other’s doors, this went on all night, we barely slept a wink. First thing in the morning we went down to reception and made a complaint, they guy there was helpful and he gave us another room on 3rd floor so we were finally able to get some much needed sleep as well as much deserved peace and quiet. At checkout on the 16th there was an error, we were charged for 5 nights instead of 4, but the girl quickly refunded me for the extra night when I pointed this out to her, so no big deal there, mistakes happen. However... our flight was in the evening so we had requested late checkout. As a genius member on Booking.com I usually get both early early check-in and late-out for free, on this occasion our early check-in was free but I was told that late check out is 40 euros but on this occasion, given all the inconvenience, it was going to cost us 20 euros. I think it should have been free, as an apologetic gesture for all the inconvenience caused to us, besides as I said, as a genius member I always get it for free. But I was rather tired of complaining at this point, I paid the 20 euros as the girl said. The hotel itself is alright, just a shame about one too many mishaps. And believe me, I’m one of those peaceful people who only ever complain if something is really really wrong. So this is as genuine and honest a review as I could give.

    Great location, good breakfast and friendly staff. The lady at breakfast was just excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    agreeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke, it went away after leaving the ventilation on over night. The room was a bit dark, window light was ample, though.

    I loved the blue curtains. Overall design was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    A very comfortable and enjoyable stay in Esslingen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were thankful for the free parking but it was a bit tricky to park a big car in the space provided (underground) beneath the hotel. Thankfully, the lift went from the parking floor upwards.

    The hotel is very clean and tidy and has a lift. Our great triple room meant that our adult daughter had her own double bed on a mezzanine floor which was far preferable to us all being in very close proximity, as is the norm in most hotels. The very best thing was that our room had Air Conditoning!! Such a treat in mid-summer! It was good to be able to borrow an iron and ironing board from reception, as well. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel has many pubs, bakeries and restaurants close by. We also ate at the hotel's Italian restaurant one night, which all three of us agreed was absolutely excellent - delicious food and wine as well as superb service. You can walk into the lovely Aldtstadt in just 15 minutes. There are also frequent trains into Heidelberg from a station about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was more than adequate although both my husband and daughter like apple juice of a morning and there wasn't any.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    A good choice for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs some freshening up. It looks old and the rooms are not really nice. The cleaning of the rooms also needs some improvement. And air conditioning. Please add air conditioning!

    The breakfast was partially outdoors, which was nice. The selection was ok. The location is not far from the centre, but still relatively quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    We would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a nice neighborhood and a short drive or train ride to Stuttgart! It was not a bad walk to old town and finding a nice biergarten for dinner! Breakfast at this hotel was also great!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    This is an outstanding hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an outstanding hotel. The friendliness was wonderful, room comfortable, breakfast quality great and the garden very romantic. Best in years!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    breakfast was great as was the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning or fans and it was hot! Also, there is no ice available to guests except a single glass of ice at the bar.

    breakfast was great as was the staff. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    the place to stay in Esslingen
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of actual minibar in the room - would have stored some food there (there was a sign you could order your minibar, but wasn't sure of it concerned only the contents or also the appliance, so maybe this could have been solved)

    Excellent breakfast, for every taste. Nice terrace. Nice atmoshphere. Comfortable bed. Nice hosts. If ever coming back to Esslingen - will definitely stay here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    It wasn't possible to park in the underground parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't possible to park in the underground parking with my car (height over 1,50 m), but there are good possibilities to park in the streets next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking garage very tight: I could not park without a flagger and it took a long time do all of the maneuvers. Rooms were basic, but comfortable.

    Good value. Relatively short walk into downtown (12 min).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable environment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi service has limit access.

    Very comfortable environment. Nice people. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice Weekend in Esslingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast with a Terrasse, Access For the car, comfortable rooms. A really nice stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    The rooms was nice, clean and spacious, great bed and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms was nice, clean and spacious, great bed and good shower. It met all expectations and the staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast, very clean room and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is not that comfortable.

    Good breakfast, very clean room and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    rooms were very warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were very warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel, so glad we stayed there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No laundry on property, no AC

    Near everything, very nice staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel in good position in a nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice modern hotel with excellent Italian restaurant in part of the building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was perfect. Nice area to eat, very helpful person, tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    Could be better service at reception
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bad experience with a lady in reception. Monday 19th at 20:50 hours.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Good underground garage, close to the airport and excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good underground garage, close to the airport and excellent staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Stuff was great and excellent breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff was great and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.8
    Could been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is nothing at the hotel except the restaurant. and the value is way expensive

    friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    It was a lovely break lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is good and easy to get to the bus and train station the area is so good I will be going back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I liked the location and enjoyed walking in the neighborhood in the evening. The room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. It was quiet and had a wonderful Italian restaurant attached.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    Good location in Esslingen, in a quiet area, 10 minutes walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The parking is problematic. They have a small garage that they share with other neighbors and the hotel uses suspended ramps to increase the capacity. That may be ok, but if you have a van it won't fit in there. There's only one spot suitable for vans but it's usually taken by a regular car. And it's five euro per night. Much better idea not to go inside the garage and park outside on the street. There are free parking spots around the hotel.

    Good location in Esslingen, in a quiet area, 10 minutes walk from Marktplatz. We had a room with two beds, one of them in an upper floor of the room. So there are stairs in the room, but those were actually fun for the kids and overall a good use of the space. Breakfast sufficient. Good price and location if you have business in Stuttgart, it's much more expensive in the city and it's only 10 minutes by S-bahn.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    Great room with loft for our daughter to sleep in and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lady on reception when we arrived, although very efficient, made us a little uncomfortable with her directness. The breakfast staff were cheerful and helpful

    Great room with loft for our daughter to sleep in and fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.5
    Good location, a few minutes walk from the altstadt...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room a little small, value for the money maybe not as good as other places in the area. Breakfast was fine, all the basics, but again compared to other hotels nearby, maybe not as wide ranging.

    Good location, a few minutes walk from the altstadt Esslingen, convenient access from the highways. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    6.7
    Everything was fair except air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the booking states that there is air con the room didn't have. The staff didn't mention it upon our arrival and we ended trying to sleep in a very hot room. The person we called to complain about that was rude.

    Everything was fair except air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    The staff was quite nice and the Italian restaurant was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was horribly uncomfortable.

    The staff was quite nice and the Italian restaurant was very accommodating for our last minute arrival prior to closing.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    For our purpose location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was split & included an upstairs bedroom area which seemed great when booking. But being Summer, the upstairs was the hottest area. When the air condition was turned on, it just made no difference.

    For our purpose location was great. The staff was always happy to assist with our questions in detail & with a smile. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for air conditioning when booking. Did not receive this. Asked for another room but because of the stairs in the room this was not suitable for two elderly people.

    Staff helpful. Carpark very useful.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    Clean and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and convenient. Nice restaurant within the hotel made it very convenient

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    7.5
    check in time limited at 22:00
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    check in time limited at 22:00

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.8
    Lovely spacious room, wonderful breakfast, attentive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely spacious room, wonderful breakfast, attentive and friendly personnel, central location

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    8.8
    Smart parking garage, heating on the floor, large room on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smart parking garage, heating on the floor, large room on two levels.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was slow

    Excellent breakfast. Situated close to old town. Good parking facilities. Quiet location. Free wifi.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: