Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Schloss This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Zwingerstrasse 20, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#26 of 66 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1324 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    We had a corner room for 3 and hello the castle was right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    We had a corner room for 3 and hello the castle was right outside my bay of windows. I stared at it u til I fell asleep. Walking distance to pedestrian zone great time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was excelent, the accomodation was in the centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room far from the dining room, close to the reception, with nice view, but who has the room close to the dining room it must be very noise there in the morning.

    The staff was excelent, the accomodation was in the centre, there was a parking place with lift to the hotel. Breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need small refresh (you can easily find out that you are sleeping in a car park building adapted to hotel), price is too high for this quality and paid parking.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.5
    The Hotel is very dirt, the restroom smelling so bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms durt, no air condition, bathroom smelling bad. It’s a worse Hotel that I got.

    The Hotel is very dirt, the restroom smelling so bad. The rooms don’t have AirCondition and there are nobody to assist you. So bad

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    Shame a about the bed, otherwise it would have been very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard, European pillows absolutely useless and hardly slept at all,resulting in a sore back and painful neck.

    Location, staff, breakfast, friendliness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Best location and views in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location for view of castle, river, bridges and Heidelberg in general. Very close to shopping and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent, clean room and awesome view from terrace. Spacious parking. Loved Heidelberg!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Awesome staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning but they are installing soon:)

    We arrived early and staff very accommodating to get it ready for us which was greatly appreciated. Entire staff were excellent and made us feel right at home. Loved the panoramic view we had from balcony (room #4)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Best location in Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast but good quality.

    Excellent location, can't get better in Heidelberg. Nice room, bathroom bit dated but clean. View of castle outstanding. Staff very friendly. As everyone else says it could do with aircon, it was 35degC when we were there and it was unbearably hot, to be fair the room had a huge desk fan which did help...wouldn't have slept without it. Don't let it put you off though as the location and parking was excellent. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    The view from Hotel common balcony was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blue LED light coming from the TV. I don’t sleep well with any sort of lights in the room, and it kinda disrupted my sleep.

    The view from Hotel common balcony was amazing. I could see the Castle very closely. It was beautiful. Breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly and nice. Really nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is a modern concrete structure that sits on the top level over the ground floor entrance to the funicular railway, and multi-level car park. The hotel reception (on Level 7) is via a dedicated lift inside the station booking hall or via the car park whose entrance is at a higher level at the back of the station and then, having parked, by the central lifts. There was a distinct lack of signs visible from the street and local people I asked did not know where the hotel was, let alone how to access the entrance - yet it eventually transpired I was only a few metres away!

    The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. The proximity and relative security of the car park was also good. For general standard think Ibis, Premier Inn, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect to explore the down town area and the castle above. Staff were very helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Lovely room and the breakfast was delicious and fresh.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Superb location for a compact hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had ants, second room was fine. Entrance to parking was a little hard to find due to roadworks, it would be best to state in the description to follow the signs for P12.

    Location is superb, parking is convenient and good value, staff is friendly and attentive, breakfast buffet is well stocked and fresh. The hotel is a little compact, but with a balcony for every room to enjoy the views over Heidelberg I'm not complaining!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    In the heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was really hot when stayed and there is no airco. So sleeping was really not easy. Also the bathroom is very small!

    Location. Perfectly located in the Altstadt just below the Schloss. The roof terrace looks up towards the Schloss as well. Actually the hotel is the top floors of a multi-storey car park. Which is strange but very practical if you come by car. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Attice space with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbearable heat in the room located in converted attic space. Smallest of bathrooms and showers. Cracked bathroom tile.

    Extremely convenient location to access funicular to castle and market square in old town. Convenient, safe parking. Average room size. Unique outdoor seating off of dining room. Breakfast met expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was SOOO hot, windows on two sides and no aircon - the fan supplied didn't work properly. Cleaning was not good, after four nights the floor was really dirty but still hadn't been cleaned. Parking at the hotel is public, so each afternoon we had to wait in a queue to get into the parking lot - one car out one car in.. might be a problem if you have tired kids in the car. Also, parking slots are TINY!

    Breakfast was simple but good, staff very friendly and informative. Nice roof top terrace for all guests to use. Good location, a little hard to find if you don't know to aim for P12. The hotel has an agreement with the parking lot owners, so remember to get your ticket stamped at the hotel reception before you pay and pick up your car - it saves you about 5 Euro each day! The hotel is on the 6th floor - the elevator is situated in the middle part of the parking lot, we spent a little too much time walking up and down stairs looking for the hotel ;-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location but not a great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to book a triple room. The bed in room was fine, however, the bed for the single was actually two thinly padded tables pushed together. The composition of the bed was not realized until bed time. By this time of the night, no one was at the desk to address my concern. There also was an odd smell in the common areas of the hotels upon check in. It was not there the next morning.

    The location of the hotel is ideal. It is a three minute walk from the old city. An elevator in the parking garage take your directly into the hotel. There is spectacular view of the castle from the terrace. Breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location for visiting town and castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning. With windows open some noise from people on rooftop terrace but ended by midnight.

    Great location for visiting town and castle. Excellent views from rooftop terrace and room overlooking castle. Friendly staff. Parking garage directly under hotel with elevator directly to lobby. Great value for price. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Very bad hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some unexpected delays on our way, included a road block, and we arrived several minutes post check-in time. We were exhausted, my kids were sleepy, and we expected at least a smile. We were shocked that the staff screamed at us for arriving post check-in time. Of course we offered a late check-in fee, but still they suggested that we take another hotel. We had to beg to get the room, so our kids can go to sleep. Oh, and there's no elevator. The small frig was full with non-free coca-cola and water bottles, and there wasn't room for our things. In the morning, we asked for eggs, and we waited in the nice terrace for over 15m, but didnt get any service. Bottom line, not recommended. We're never going back.

    Clean, Hot water, Fan, Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Clean large room for family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm summer temps made the room a little too hot. Could have used an extra fan. German/Euro pillows aren't our thing, tough to get comfortable with them.

    Clean large room for family of 4. Plenty of towels and large bath. Mini bar was a nice touch!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get in the car park on a Saturday will take you longer so allow extra time, you must enter the car park from the rear, once you know that it is ok.

    Excellent location, staff were very helpful and accomodating, brilliant stay and we would recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit better... Brötchen were a little on the stale side and could have been fresher. More varieties of Landschinken would have been nice. Bathroom was a little dated but linens were OK. Hotel was a little hard to find, but if you head for the Schloss Park House you will find the hotel on Level 7 via the lifts.

    Amazingly friendly staff, especially at check in, great location, cheap parking and very quirky but nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    The room and bathroom were refreshingly large with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were refreshingly large with a spectacular view of the castle. The location is excellent.The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would trade luxury for size and a friendly staff any day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    A perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect stay! Great location, same building as the cable car to the castle and 3 minutes walk to the old bridge and old town; Staff are very friendly and helpful; Room is super spacious and clean, can see the castle from the window. Will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Heidelberg!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient to see the old town and castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one answered the bell for a long time so I could not get into the hotel. The receptionist did not explain where my room was and I had to search for it until she finally noticed me searching and showed me. There was no information available about what to see, where to buy tickets etc.

    The bed was beautiful and the room spotless. I liked the view of the castle from my room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Good stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very modern, small and is situated above the car park and entrance to the funicular to the castle. There is a pleasant terrace/roof garden and each room has a small terrace with table and chairs. Car park P12 Kornmarkt You need to take the lift in the car park to the 7th floor to access the hotel Parking costs Euros 8 per night if you get your ticket stamped by the hotel.. Put the location of the car park into your sat nav - Zwingerstrasse . The hotel is situated on the edge of the old town - near to shops, restaurants and the old bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively small rooms. Bathroom needs renovation

    Location Perfectly placed at the city center and right next to the station for the lift o the castle and the upper area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Great service and beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were professional, kind and really helpful. The hotel is placed in a great area with beautiful view in Heidelberg. The photos and the description about the hotel was great and the same we experienced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    One of the most impressive stay during my trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms need to take stairs from reception.

    Perfect location. It is very convenient especially when you rent a car. The hotel is located at parking lot at 7th floor so you can easily take elevator from parking lot to the hotel. It also offers discounted parking ticket for 8 EUR instead of 13.5 EUR per day. The room was clean and everything you need in there although it was not large and some rooms need to take stairs from reception. Ensure you request the room without taking stairs!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom in our room could use some renovation

    amazing spot just below the castle. spacious rooms and great staff. We have been informed thoroughly for all city's sightseeing and we had a great time. highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Old town & castle visit
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not easy to find the entrance to the parking, the hotel website could better instruct where it is. The Wifi was slow, they could offer a better connection.

    This cosy, special hotel has a great location situated just at and just above the Old town, which is the place to be for a tourist in this town, with narrow old streets mainly without parking possibilities. A smart solution, the hotel is on the roof of a parking building, so it is very easy to arrive and to leave, just walking a few meters to one of the lifts taking up to the top floor. From here it is also easy to either walk the ca 330 steps up to the famous castle, well worth a visit, or to take the funicular, which is in the same building at the ground floor. The hotel is not brand new, but very nice, good solutions, safe parking, a big terasse with castle view, nice breakfast. Don't drive down in front of the hotel, we did it, and had to make a big turn. Instead drive up to the right just before the hotel, when you see the sign P12. Thank you for being very pet friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Really friendly and helpful staff, very clean hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are too squishy, standby lights on the TVs are very bright - I unplugged 1 but couldn’t do the other - might not bother a lot of people. These are both little details which might not bother other people and certainly wouldn’t stop me from recommending this hotel.

    Really friendly and helpful staff, very clean hotel, excellent location, cheap parking in the same building, because of over booking on large rooms we were given 2 adjoining rooms which were great. Excellent breakfast and the funicular to the castle is also in the same building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Great stay and the perfect spot for Heidelberg attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    He front desk guy whose name escapes me was amazing beyond helpful and courteous! I’ve stayed here a few times and this was the best visit to date!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Birds eye view of Heidelberg altstadt! Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a spectacular view of Heidelberg altstadt, we stayed in this room 5 years ago and were very happy to be here again. Wonderfully friendly and courteous staff made us feel very welcome. There was no kettle in our room but we simply asked and it was no trouble to provide it. The location is superb, you can walk the 300 steps up to the Schloss or take the funicular, both of which are just at the bottom of the hotel. Breakfast is great too, sitting below the Schloss looking up while eating breakfast is a real treat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Decent rooms for a great price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred a hotel with a little more old world charm and if they started serving breakfast earlier than 7:00am.

    Decent rooms for a great price. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    breathtaking views from a quiet, cozy hotel in the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views were incredible. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. Walking distance to the Marketplace, Main street, the old bridge, and the castle. Quiet and cozy despite being in the city center. Everything about this hotel and the experience exceeded my wildest expectations. I cannot sing enough the praises of staying here. Worth every penny and more. Booking.com rates this hotel as 3 star, but it was a 5 star experience for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    I will stay here again when in Heidelberg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything!

    The staff was amazing, the hotel was clean, the breakfast was great. I loved it and would recommend to anyone visiting Heidelberg!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel, easy check - in, and best place by far to stay in Heidelberg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the hotel from parking lot ie: take elevator to hotel reception - there is no reception desk at the parking lot entrance.

    Great staff, breakfast and location was amazing. Had a room with an outdoor space, incredible views. Easy parking, be sure to get your ticket validated for a discounted rate. Location in middle of Old Town and at the base of the castle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Location is spot on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little difficult to find. We did not realize it was on the top of the carpark by the chairlift to the castle. As we were looking for a hotel complex it took a while to find. Perhaps this information can be put on the advertising for the hotel.

    The parking was discounted at the Schloss car park by the hotel stamping the ticket. This made parking reasonable and very convenient. All staff were friendly and check in was smooth and helpful. The location is spot on for Heidelburg especially with the lift giving direct access into the hotel. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Clean and convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location for visiting Heidelberg! Close to everything. One of the very best breakfast buffets in Germany! I will definitely be back and I highly recommend this hotel! Clean and convenient!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Overall it was a great stay. I just wish the hotel had better signage on how to reach their entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the entrance to the hotel was very confusing. I had read online that the hotel was located on top of a parking garage, but when walking the stairs up (all 6 floors), it lead to a dead end. We looked for signs on where to go and were still lost. We had to ask the parking garage attendant how to find the entrance to the hotel. Turns out you had to take an elevator to the 7th floor to get there.

    BEST location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Right next to Altstadt and Castle! Just minutes to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water pipe in shower is very hot. One must take care not to touch it.

    Coffee made to order and great. Nice meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, breads and more for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location and hotel for old Heidelberg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to P12 parking garage is not easy to find. Get the directions and put it in your GPS or you will drive in circles.

    A nice modern hotel on top of the P12 Garage, excellent staff, 3 minute walk from the centre of the old city, next to the tram up to the castle, FANTASTIC view of the castle from the hotel terrace. Nice breakfast with very friendly service. If you are seeing old Heidelberg this is there perfect hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location and view of castle
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid, breakfast was definitely sub-par. Also, the attitude of the male front desk staff member really coloured our experience. All guests should be treated respectfully, regardless of their gender and/or age. He spoke to us like unruly children on two separate occasions. Pretty upsetting, especially when we are paying so much for accommodation, and it was my birthday.

    Perfect location - right in old town. Our room had a beautiful view of the castle. Female staff members were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend staying here. It's in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you arrive after-hours (after 11pm) it's a little confusing. You have to go over to their sister property to get your keys to check in. The breakfast is ok, but it's pretty standard; nothing special.

    The location is perfect, and the staff is very nice. The cleanliness of the hotel and the comfort-ability of the beds make it worth the stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice and convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain. Just to mention that there are rooms on the second level inside the hotel, to reach which you need to use the stairs. And with heavy luggage it might be a bit of a trouble without a lift. Maybe staff could be a bit more friendly.

    Location, right at the bottom of the Schloss Heidelberg; cleanliness of the room, nice breakfast with absolutely the best croissants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Ideal situation for the castle and the old town
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great.

    Breakfast was an excellent buffet. The young man on reception was really helpful and even supplied us with a cup of tea in the room after a long days drive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location ,clean well appointed,good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening staff was great, day staff person left a strict business attitude . Very efficient,but could use a little customer service improvement.

    The clerk when we checked in on a Sunday evening was exceptional. Room was spacious and very clean. We liked our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is really great!!!When you get off the bus the hotel is just at there!!! Moreover, the man reception is very enthusiastic, we met him when we check-in and he will tell you everything necessary (including the popular restaurant, supermarket...). Another woman recepiton is a little bit "poker face" compare with him, but it`s ok, if you have anything unclear or need help, she will do the favor as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location for stay in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was efficient, but not very welcoming. Wifi information in room folder was incorrect. Bathroom was very small.

    Perfect location, above a parking garage, near the cable car to the castle and near the city centre. Comfortable beds. Nice view of the castle Lovely rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    Will stay somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for our money was poor -great location but harder to find not knowing we had to enter it from an elevator. No shampoo or conditioner only body wash. No hot food only very cold.

    The beds were comfortable but the hotel starts in the 6 th floor -rooms close together like a dorm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Very nice, will be back!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to include lotion in your toiletry options.

    Very comfortable bed, friendly staff. They brought us a Pack and Play for our son (which we didn't even ask for), and included very clean child bedding... my kid slept like a rock! We were able to bring our dog for no additional charge. They were very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again the next time we are in HD!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed to be cleaned and had the appearance of student accommodation. The room opened directly into the breakfast area and there did not appear to be any public areas apart from the rooftop terrace. The parking is a public car park and was full when we arrived.

    Hôtel was in the town centre with a view of castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Heidelberg is wonderful and the Hotel am Schloss is ideally positioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price and location we wouldn't want to look for faults.

    Fabulous location and views of the schloss area; great access to the Old Town. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Lovely Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very clean, Beds were comfortable, we had a beautiful view of Heidelberg from our window and the location was right at the base of the Castle. Also had a lovely, very fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    The staff helped us greatly and one of the best locations for a hotel in our three week vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    A great location with the shuttle to Heidelberg castle adjacent to the property and the town square only two blocks away. We were having problems with our train tickets and a staff member (Patrick) helped acquire them for us. Very good food in the middle of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Excellent retreat, close, but yet away, from the hustle and bustle. Love it; will stay there again!
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a thing.

    Everything about the Am Schloss is MODERN and first class; my 4th stay here, and I can't imagine booking at any other hotel. The staff is uber friendly and helpful in every way possible. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of protein. Views of the castle and City are incomparable; some rooms had wee kitchens. Beds comfy. Very quiet. Parking under building. Elevator!!! - unusual in Heidelberg. Close to all of H., the tram, Castle, festivals, the river, and buses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.8
    Worst place of our whole trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in staff was unfriendly. Put us in the wrong room. Not the category I reserved. Room was tiny. The partition dividing our balcony from the one next door blew off in the middle of the night and almost broke the glass door. Didn't even want to use the shower. Terrible value for the money. Don't be fooled into staying here.

    The central location was the only good thing about this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent central location within easy walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the one-way system in the old town, we had difficulty in finding a route to the entrance of the car park under the Hotel. The car park address is not the same as the Hotel address. You should include the car park address in your confirmation.

    Excellent central location within easy walking distance of all the sights and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Parking on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't understand the Hotel is on the TOP of a multi story car park and that you drive in on 4/5th floor so there is more parking below the level you enter on. Knowing this would have helped when we got to location and thought the parking was full.

    Parking on site

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Location perfect, parking easy, single room with view was great, modern/clean staff super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows - way too soft, it was nearly non-existent

    I had a single room and it was big enough, lovely view towards old town and could hear the church bells chiming which was really nice. Sunset view from room also lovely. Room was modern, English TV channels and bathroom clean and modern. Staff were really super friendly and helpful (especially the night staff who helped me find the location of a laundry for clothes washing) and the breakfast was great. Parking easy in the same building and you get a discount. Location perfect.... I got up early to get to the castle before the hoards of tourists and the pathway up is right beside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is a public car park surrounding the hotel. It could be by sheer luck that you get a space, we were lucky to get a space at peak season, so off season it possibly would not be a problem. There is no air con in the rooms so at the height of summer it is very warm, although fans are provided for comfort.

    Very friendly staff, thank you Nils you were very helpful with your suggestions of where to eat and places to visit during our short stay. The location is ideal right in the centre of Heidelberg. The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    An unexpected location at the top of a car park and, though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An unexpected location at the top of a car park and, though it was ultimately very convenient, finding and accessing it was not so easy! We were able to leave the car on level 6 and the hotel is on level 7. Exceedingly helpful and informative reception staff and, with its high vantage point our bedroom (4) offered splendid views over town and castle. Good-sized balcony, reasonable bedroom and small but well designed bathroom. Breakfast very good with possibility of taking it outside. Short walk to the castle whilst the funicular leading to castle and summit started from the ground floor of the car park. Centre of town and river very close but rooms in the hotel were very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. We arrived on a Saturday and the car park was full and operating a one in one out policy, which delayed our arrival but then it is Heidelberg Castle in full summer so perhaps to be expected. TV was not picking up channels but I think this was due to an immense storm the day before that had affected the signal.

    Unbelievable location, friendly staff throughout. Simple but perfectly adequate breakfast, comfortable room with pleasant city views, fabulous terrace with castle view, convenient parking at 8 euros a day, nice 'apartment' arrangement that allowed us a small kitchenette and two independent doubles that could be closed off from rest of hotel. Great wi-fi. Oh and of course it is in beautiful Heidelberg with everything on the doorstep. Advice to anyone driving - head for Neueschlossstrasse 4 parking P12 on the sat nav. The hotel advised us of this in advance and it made things much easier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Hotel in a car park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was slightly awkward to find this hotel, located as it was above a car park! Entrance to the hotel was via a lift downstair in the car - most unusual. There we signs of the concrete construction still in the rooms, which was fine, but a rather unusual hotel

    A special deal meant we got a business class room, so great value. A nice small hotel of only one floor. Nice terrace, and good location. Eveything one would expect of a four star standard except the breakfast which was a bit poor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, outstanding staff. Adjacent castle view is priceless. Hotel is in parking garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessing the hotel is a little unusual. The hotel is incorporated into the parking garage. You need to enter the garage and take the elevator to the top floor to access the hotel. To enter the parking garage drive up the street that is behind (uphill) the parking garage. But once you understand the layout it all works pretty well and the view of the nearby castle more than offsets this arrangement.

    We enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. We had three people in our room and while the room was not huge it was definitely adequate. We had an incredible view looking directly up at the castle which is right up the hill from the hotel. The hotel staff were incredibly nice and welcoming upon our check-in and made sure all our needs were met. The breakfast was good, the furnishings were in good shape, and everything was very clean. Parking is conveniently located in the public parking garage the hotel is part of. And the transportation station for the furnicular railway up to the castle is also conveniently located on-site.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Hotel situated on the top of the parking house and funicular...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel situated on the top of the parking house and funicular station. It's difficult to find the entrance - there is a lift on the left of out-way of funicular station. The lift is for parking and hotel. The view from the hotel roof to the old town and castle is great. Room was good as well as standard German breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Right in the Heart of the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is perfect. Access to the castle is literally on your door step, as well as to the other areas around Heidelberg. The view over the rooftops is beautiful - being able to watch the sunset from our balcony was a real treat. A short walk from the station to the hotel meant that transport is easily accessible. The breakfast is substantial and the staff are friendly and most helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Top Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really but you need to know that you enter the carpark from the back of where the navigation brings you to. The hotel is on top of a public carpark.

    Beautiful views of the old town. Great breakfast. Close to everything. Parked the car at the hotel and just walked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Very good location, excellent staff, clean but hot and noisy room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot and it didn't have air-conditioning system. In addition, we had to sleep with windows opened but somewhere nearby there was a party with very loud music till 4am. Maybe we had bad luck on these aspect, but unfortunately we couldn't manage to sleep properly.

    The location is excellent, just 1min from the city center. The staff was very polite and helpful! The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Great room, shame about the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very poor. The rooms are fairly modern but the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. Old fashioned, poor shower, leaking shower, very small. Such a shame as the room was good.

    Great location. We had a lovely balcony with views of the city and castle. The hotel also has a great roof terrace. Parking for us with 2 motorbikes was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Wonderful location but below average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The much vaunted roof terrace is 3 tables and not much else. Criminally underutilised. Breakfast is just about adequate. Bathroom was outdated and poor shower. Wi fi didn't work in room despite being barely 10 metres from reception.

    Comfortable room, easy check in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Great overnight stop on our way to and from Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Our room had a balcony with great views over the town and the valley. Reception staff very helpful. Good location for restaurants, less than five minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The Best Place to Stay in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Even though it is near the center of old Heidelberg, it is modern with every convenience. The attached public parking garage is a real plus. The elevator from the garage takes you directly to the reception desk. The staff is EXCEPTIONAL. Everyone was very helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The included breakfast was typical for Germany with the normal array of meats, cheeses, eggs, breads, etc. The hotel is at the foot of the hill on which the Heidelberg castle is located. A short walk out of the back of the hotel up the hill takes you directly to the castle. And, a very short walk from the hotel in the other direction takes you to the center of town with the university, cathedrals, restaurants and shops. We had lived in the Heidelberg area for three years in the early 70's and have made many business trips to Germany in the 90's so this visit was a real treat for us. And, while there's a bit more tourist traffic and congestion, it is still easy to get around on public transportation, on foot or via rental car. Most important, the charm of Heidelberg is still as great as it ever was.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location to walk Heidelberg old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/bathroom were a little dusty when we arrived but this could have been from the windows being open.

    Perfect location just below Heidelberg Castle and in the same building as the funicular to the castle. Three blocks to the Marktplatz. Comfortable bedding. No AC but floor fan is provided and it cooled off enough at night that we didn't need it. Free breakfast is great as is the rooftop terrace which looks directly up to the castle. Parking is in the same building and discounted if you get your parking validated at hotel reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    NO A/C!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C! It was very uncomfortable because only windows faced the sun so had to keep shades closed all day. Breakfast was marginal at best.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: