Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten 5 stars

Schillerstr. 23, Stuttgart-Mitte, 70173 Stuttgart, Germany

#8 of 113 hotels in Stuttgart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 909 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    High prices for value.

    Location is great, right across the street from the train station and near shopping street ad stores. Breakfast ridiculously expensive, so never ate there. Probably wouldn't have stayed there except Stuttgart busy at the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us hotels are often over warm and this was no exception but once we’d discovered that window opens to let in air......

    A good chain of hotel that delivers is always satisfying. The hotel was chosen for location and the facilities we wanted to make our stay comfortable: the staff were good and helpful. The location meant we could walk around Stuttgart centre, visit the gallery and watch the world go by. Parking was under the hotel which for us was a joy as we didn’t have that onerous task of hunting out parking in a new city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We didn't like that the hours in the Café were so limited - not opening before 10AM on weekdays is too late

    The location was very good as we had to take the train to the Trade Fair each day and the main Shopping Street was practically out side of the hotel. We had a lovely meal in the Wine Bar / Restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel doesn't deserve 5 stars at all. It's an old structure and everything from staff to services to infrastructures is awful for an institution that is supposed to host top travelers. Internet doesn't work - good luck if you hope to stream something (even a Youtube video), but it's slow even if you want just read your email. Personnel is rude and many of them really should find another job (or learn how to treat guests in a 5 stars accommodation) I asked help with my key not working and no one was willing to help me before 15 minutes (and three people were free at the reception but they didn't feel this was their task); I arrived at 10.45pm and I asked for a club sandwich at the bar; the waitress didn't pass the order immediately and when she finally called the kitchen it was 10.58 and the kitchen staff said they would have closed the kitchen at 11... they were ready to leave a guest without dinner for lack of empathy and for lack of promptness. Awful experience, overall. If you are in Stuttgart you should really find another hotel.

    Hard to say what I liked. Perhaps the position

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is ok but expensive for what they offer.

    The check in was very good, they were super helpfull and explained all the details of the hotel and the surroundings. The location is fine, close to the City center and the train station, however is a little bit crowded at night time with forigners.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel the room that was provided was not to the standard advertised nor it was up to shape for the price paid for the evening. 1. Wires hanging 2. Light in the bathroom hanging 3. Cracked glass on the table 4. Cracked washing bowl 5. Dirt around the edges Shame this Hotel has full potential!

    We really liked the location being central. The staff are great including Joseph the Valet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service is very expensive: ordinary club sandwich + burger + deserts + soft drinks = ~ 80 euros! You can have the same order in the most luxury cafe in Zurich for the half of the price.

    The staff is very friendly, we were more than welcome. Our room had a nice view of the parkland so we really enjoyed. The price was OK for a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of spa facilities on site. After being in hotels with pools and saunas you miss not having easy access to one within the hotel.

    Breakfast variety and service. Lovely dining room. Great bar and staff. Also restaurant and coffee shop on ground floor. The junior suite was very comfortable with views of the city and surrounds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location at the bottom of the main mall and close to the hauptbahnhoff. Room was small, but clean and comfortable. Staff were extremely good. The porter kindly offered to transport our bags to the train when we left early in the morning - it was a great help. Overall, highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the 24th December our room hasn't been cleaned, even though we left the sign on the door and left the room for at least 6 hours. The restaurant Zirbelstube is definitely overrated. Service is not up to a Michelin starred restaurant. We were a little disappointed. Very expensive in-house parking.

    In-room dining was good, although a little pricey, and Gulaschsuppe portion is miniature, order 3 to actually taste something. Front desk staff was very helpful. Breakfast was great - a lot of options and very attentive staff even during Christmas holidays.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited Althoff for our stay in Stuttgart over Christmas. Worst mistake ever. While the hotel restaurant offered special menus throughout the holidays it was nowhere mentioned that there is literally no food for guests if they didn’t book a set menu. It went even so far that one evening we asked for so e scrambled eggs for our baby girl. Believe it or not, they said they were out of eggs.

    It certainly is a nice hotel with a good restaurant (so I was told) and great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is slap bang in the heart of Stuttgart, and yet super quiet. The facilities are fantastic and the staff superb. Can't wait to stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost for breakfast considering what was offered was massively excessive.€26 per person for a few pastries and some ham and a pot of tea.Suggest you visit the Café Lang within 5 mins walking distance and enjoy a much better offer for 200% less money!

    Location to the Christmas market is excellent.Location to the Hauptbanhoff is excellent.Room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for the parking which should have been informed during check-in. No complimentary tea or coffee. Room is not lit adequately even after switching all the lamps.

    Good location, friendly staff , and good room size.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was free but utterly useless (very slow and often did not work at all). The staff, however, told us, that in 2018 they will be upgrading their system to meet today's standards. The facilities are a bit old, should be renovated sometime.

    Very friendly staff and clean facilities. Good location next to Königsstrasse. Having car parked and brought up every day worked lovely. Besides the Graf Zeppelin this is definitely one of the Top 2 hotels in Stuttgart. The Michelin star restaurant "Zwirbelstube" is amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TWO single duvets on a queen size bed is not ideal, and the shower door would not close properly. there was only one English channel on the TV so that wasn't worth putting on and the coffee machine had no water in and was a bit like the enigma code to use.

    The whole feel of the hotel was great and staff were fantastic. Location was great for getting about and the drinks in the bar were reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. It was very clean and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing about the hotel, Stuttgart though seemed uninteresting.

    very nice hotel, very clean and wonderful breakfast. staff, very polite and helpful. we were checked in when we arrived, although it was still morning and we didn't even expect this was possible. big thanks for that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has No big and warm Blankets. Only size of like 140cm wide. Couples have to get use to sleep under separate blankets :) Seriously? Breakfast buffet, although the choice of food was good, was mostly empty by 10am. Waiting line/limited space Service was slow.

    Lobby and bar Lounge Are very Cosy. The choice of the drinks on the card, service and entertainment in the evening were excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet was too small. I was cold at night. The doors from the other rooms make such a noise, that I woke up several times. The shower is very old-fashioned and does not live up to a luxury hotel. Not enough space for toiletries near washbasin. Eggs Benedict were poor. Tea and how it was made was excellent. Buffet very very nice. Selection of fruit was poor. Selection of newspapers was splendid. Never the less, I love this hotel and will come back. Hope the management will read the comments.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Premium Room with Queensize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small . Food in the cafe next door (belongs to the hotel ) was cold, the bread was stale . Expensive for something that was cold . Service is quite slow in there .

    The staff were extremely competent, helpful and friendly .Helped us to get all of our luggage to train station, right onto platform .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are plainly for a 5+ hotel by far too small. The whole hotel is outdated. On arrival no help on unloading luggage. No what we expect from a 5+ hotel and are used from the Althoff chain.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After a disastrous series of flights, room wasn't ready but did get free drinks in the bar because of this, so no complaint really.

    Looks a bit dated on the outside but fine inside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it is the 1st time I stay in a five stars hotel that switch off the ACs in the whole hotel because it is October. the weather outside was about 17 and we were forced to open the windows to cool the room. spiders were coming from outside to the room through the window. we booked a room with a king size bed, However, we got two small covers, one for me and the other one for my wife. the bed is not comfortable.

    the location is perfect. the staff are helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room did not have a nice view: we could only see the building next door. The shower door was not tight, so too much water leaked in the bathroom. The breakfast team was slow and forgetful, however we appreciated that the hotel made up for it.

    The situation of the hotel is excellent. The room was very comfortable, also nicely prepared to welcome a child (special slippers, coloring pens and paper, plenty of treats). The staff were very nice and helpful. In the evening, they passed by to ask whether we needed anything else.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a let down compared to other 5star hotels which we have visited on our travels, and definitely not worthy of a five star hotel. People waiting for the scrambled eggs to be brought in for 5 minutes, for the Bircher muesli and for empty milk containers to be replenished. Limited choice in fruits, "healthy" options and warm breakfast items. Our table was located right next to a cramped buffet area, so the overall experience was of a non-relaxed atmosphere and not a relaxed start to the day. No fitness area, although you may use facilities of a gym a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Area which you have to cross from the Central Station towards the hotel is a bit run down with many unsavoury characters loitering around.

    Large junior suite on the top floor was lovely albeit a tad traditional. It looks as if the decor has not been updated recently and therefore does make quite an old-fashioned impression. Large and comfortable beds with pillow menu to choose from. Fresh fruit and much choice in mini bar. Take time to visit the cafe downstairs to enjoy coffee and cakes, they are lovely, although the average age is quite high for many of the "regulars". Penhaligon soaps and creme's are wonderful in the bathroom, as are the large fluffy towels. We had dinner in the Wine-bar which is an excellent choice for an informal and lovely dinner with local specialities and 190 wines to choose from. There is also a more up-scale restaurant with a more formal dining experience on the first floor. Location at the start of the major shopping street is wonderful. We have chosen this hotel for the 4th time, purely based on this location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we are family with 3 children. we stayed in this hotel between (13 -16 Aug 2017). the hotel furniture is very old and the rooms smells bad. it is very old style hotel they didn't do any renovation or change the furniture. once you are in the room you feel that you step back to the70's :) . not 5 stars hotel at all it should be rated as 3 stars hotel. no facilities for kids. we change our plan and check out early from this hotel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole time that we were there ( three nights ) there was intermittent or no WiFi at all . Went the desk several times , they knew there was a problem but they were unable to do anything about it ! 29 Euro breakfast

    Good location to train station and the city centre. Close to restaurants and shopping. Attention to detail , cleaning the room , providing toiletries etc. even turning down the bed ready for you when you came back in the evening .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure how this hotel got their 5 stars. Our room was cluttered with furniture, mould in the bathroom and a huge crack down the sink, even the towels were not soft and fluffy. Not worth the money.

    The location was fantastic. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel centrally located at a park. Nice view from hotel room. Very friendly staff. They even park your car for you. Very good value for money. Comfortable room, beds good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of the personnel during check-out. The guy starred a very unpleasant discussion arising from my question why actually this time I was given a room with no view. He said that next time "I will be given a lower category and a smaller size room but with a nice view". That's just great that he has decided this for me. Anyway sounds very strange that you can not get a better room with a nice view. You need to take "a lower category" to get one. Very strange and discouraging. The breakfast wasn't really the one up to 5* standard.

    It's not the first time I stayed in this hotel. But this time I was disappointed by getting a superior room (higher category than executive as I was told) with no view at all. The roof of some building. Otherwise a comfortable hotel. Location is very convenient. The restaurant downstairs was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although non smoking smelt very smokey and despite arriveing at 745pm the room was not ready so we had to wait 30 mins. We were given complimentary breakfast but having driven 7 hrs would have preferred a room on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Premium Room with Queensize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms needed updating and check-in took 40 minutes as they couldn't find our reservation and there was a long queue.

    Very nice bar and good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Premium Room with Queensize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The way from the car parking underground to the hotel was not convenient because there was no map which shows the place of the stairs and the elevator. At first I found the stairs and went up, but it did not directly connected to the robby floor but the outside. Indeed there is an elevator (Aufzug) which goes to the reception.

    -The scenery from the room (7th floor) was very nice. If it is winter, we could see also the Opera buildings because of fallen leaves of trees. -The shower head looked like a new one, I mean no calk. -Very quiet if all the doors and the window are closed (but very noisy music outside till around 5AM: not related to the hotel). -The service is very nice and helpful. (room is taken care a few times a day, welcome drink every day, enough towels, amenities...)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my first visit to Stuttgart with my family including my 2 kids and infant. I booked two suite rooms in this five star hotel. Although we arrived early, I was expecting at least to check-in at the normal check-in time, but unfortunately the two rooms were not ready. I received the key for the first room nearly 5 PM, and the second around 5:30 PM. At the normal check-in time (which is 3 PM), I asked the reception if at least one room can be ready, and I can wait for the other room, but they informed us that we need to wait as both are not ready!!!! . They screwed up our plan for the day as we were on vacation and we had a plan to visit one of the attractions after check-in. We had to wait at the reception and use the guests toilet at the reception which was not convenient for my 2 kids and infant. On top, we didn’t feel welcomed in this hotel and care was missing. In all mean we were not happy about the services we had in this five star hotel. I am a frequent traveler and normally I don’t like to write reviews on booking, but we were really disappointed as this is not how a 5 star hotel provides service to their guests.

    nothing is special about this hotel. As a frequent traveler i don't believe that the standard of the hotel is 5 stars. In my opinion I rate it between 3 to 4* maximum.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A warning about the main train station construction works. This caused us to exit from the train station in the wrong direction than we had planned and had to ask for directions. A note on the web site would of helped a lot.

    The location of the Hotel of the Hotel to the main shopping Strasse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Of our two weeks in Europe, our stay here was the highlight! Location and setting are amazing, restaurant was excellent, along with the entire staff. Would travel back to Europe just to stay here for several days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 elevators, with with of them not working for 72 hours and counting when we left. No fitness facilities; where does the hotel get it's stars from?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was very smoky, despite being a non-smoking room. this was due to the number of other smoking rooms on our floor (4th).

    the location is excellent -- right near a main shopping stretch, the opera house, a park, and the train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel location is very best. It has very close everywhere especially train station. Room was very very comfortable...Breakfast was good but could have been better. The piano recital was very good at the lounge bar in the evening but I can not say the same thing to dinner because hamburger meatballs were so much cooked like charcoal ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The details. Everything was thought out and they tried to anticipate anything that you should need. If it wasn't already there for you, the staff was eager to accommodate. Turn down service and chocolate on your pillow. Robes and slippers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not advised at booking time that there was renovations going on in some rooms and as luck would have it, my allocated room was right on the floor where there were gutting most of the rooms to install new bathrooms. Total mess and noisy.

    Convenient location right next to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heat system wasn't working and no one mentioned it at check-in. Cleaning staff however kindly brought in a space heater; that should have been in the room at the outset though. No view from lower floor and upper floor rooms unavailable due to remodeling.

    Walking distance to the train station as well as the center of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a liitle bit noisy, but due to the hotel is near the city center so I think this can not be avoid.

    The room is very comfortable, we had the dinner on first floor, the starter with Prawn is so delicious so that we order two times, also the main menu with octopus is very fresh to me (the only issue is a little bit salty, but this is normal in Germany^_^).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security is more lax at the hotel than it used to be. Now no key is required to access all the floors, which means that anyone could gain access. Lighting needs to be improved in the rooms.

    Location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    This is our first time visiting Stuttgart. We got a free room upgrade with a city view. The front desk guided us by giving a city map and recommending restaurants. Room was spotless.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't see the hotel from the train station although it was actually very close. Luckily when we called the receptionist gave very clear instruction.

    Extremely convenient, rift across the street from the train station. Staff is friendly. Check in was speedy. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initially got a smokers' room, but was transferred after complaint. WIFI failed during most of second day.

    Great vinotheek with regional wines, with Dutch sommelier

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were wonderful and helpful to our family prior to our arrival via email communication and once we arrived. Our grandchildren loved the attention they received and felt special. Great rooms! Location was perfect for the Christmas market!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the bathroom had a bathtub for my kids. I wish when I checked in I would have been asked to make dinner reservations at the hotel restaurant, I had no clue it would been completely booked for dinner so we had to go elsewhere.

    The luggage staff was very helpful. Super nice and friendly. The maid staff were also very friendly. The hotel receptionist was able to get my family a last minute dinner reservation which was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts were delicious and elegant, rooms were well appointed with every amenity, bar/lounge was a perfect place for a quiet dinner with piano accompaniment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free wifi worked in the end but the initial sign on took an unusually long time and gave us the impression that it was a low bandwidth/poor reception issue. Complimentary bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have bumped this review up to a perfect 10.

    Most excellent of locations in the bustling heart of Stuttgart. Despite this, it somehow manages to maintain a sense of calm and peacefulness and we sensed this the moment we stepped into the lobby. The building isn't much to look at from the outside but we had a garden view room and it met all our expectations and more. Genuinely warm and approachable staff at all levels. Excellent breakfast spread (if you care to pay for it) as well. Althoff will be our first choice when we return to Stuttgart.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No facility to heat food. No restaurants open post 10 pm.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms and of course the best location. The station is right across the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked a quiet room but I was given a one next to the construction going on. The room itself unexpectedly small. Small bed,very small bathroom. Untypical for a 5*. The breakfast is poor for a 5*. I would choose another 5* hotel in Stuttgart next time.

    Location is great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee machine or tea facilities in the room, old window frame - hence noise comes in. Overpriced breakfast - but a lot of opportunities for coffee around.

    Nice and cosy although small room, very kind and responsive staff, comfortable bed; very comfortable connection to airport/ trade fair; unique location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely linen, perfect pillows. Such lovely staff! My aircon was not working great when I got in, it was fixed immediately. Free mineral water in room was a godsend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets not great Towels bit low quality Problem shower but was solved within the hour Rooms need to be updated to the modern world Hard mattress

    Good doors. Can't hear the other guests. Good Breakfast with excellent service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no tea/ coffe maker or at least a kettle for boiling the water in the room. iron and iron board should be provided also.

    the location perfect, the staff, every thing about this hotel is good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in room. No ice machine. One had to ring room service and of course this required a tip every time

    V comfortable bed. Excellent staff couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As mentioned in all my previous reviews for Althoff am Schlossgarten in Stuttgart, it has the perfect location and therefore is the best place to stay at in Stuttgart. Right across the station, right next to the main shopping street and the park - plus very friendly staff. What more to ask for? Recommended room for other travellers - the parkview rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not appreciate cleaning staff asking my departure time. The question was raised far away from the check out time. Did she want to go home early?

    Polite reception staff. Plenty of amenity goods.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very very expensive price. breakfast awfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Premium Room with Queensize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the breakfast...28 euro per person was ridiculous...it wasn’t anything special

    Very close to train station and a nice restaurant area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent as well as the service and quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food could be better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very expensive.

    An excellent location, close to all sightseeing places, the S-Bahn and trains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Premium Room with Queensize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flight was late so when I called they checked us in in advance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant central location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was small with no bath, so we upgraded.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large Rooms, Good and inexpensive Bar / Bar-Food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cussions were not comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room view was to offices

    the staff were amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no kettle in the room (for tea)

    excellent location for shopping and the Christmas markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Premium Room with Queensize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and stunning rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Premium Room with Queensize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, they have anticipated our needs! It’s not often that’s happening when you have a young child.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: