Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Schlosspark This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Borbecker Str. 183, 45355 Essen, Germany

#11 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 100 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    OK stay, but quite expensive for the service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were extremely soft. Wi-fi worked only once during my four day-trip and only when sitting directly at reception. The signal appeared to be strong, but with no internet connection.

    Really nice personal. Everything was very clean and looked well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    A place to relax between the action, not a place for the action itself
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's a choice: rooms on the ground floor are directly at a street, so you'll feel watched all the time. The only option to block views are electric blinds, so it's either being seen or being in the dark – and the rooms are a bit dark to begin with. The other choice is a room higher up, but the wlan signal may be too weak for you then. The wlan isn't the nicest to use anyway, but I hear they're working on it. The hair dryer was an antique. Weak, with signs of age, and uncomfortable to use. I was happy I had my 3,95€ travel hair dryer with me.

    Very friendly staff Large room Quite area, but close to a train station, the best restaurant in town, the town center, and grocery stores Quick connection to the city centers via train

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    3.3
    Go to hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was only open during hours that most people are away for sightseeing. The room was cold and damp as they hadn't turned on the heating for our rom. It would have been fine as a hostel but as a hotel its standard were sub par.

    Nothing!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    3.3
    Expensive and nothing like some of the reviews here..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work on 2nd floor.. No one at reception when checked in early evening, rooms smell heavily of smoke, coridors are very dark even with timer lights.. Very expensive for what it is!

    Quiet complex

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    I’ve now stayed at this property 3 times and it’s always been an enjoyable stay. I’ve already booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing missing from the room was a fridge.

    The memory from mattress was super comfy but I would have liked thicker pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for my purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV operation could be more simple and not enough electrical outlet

    Perfect location for my purpose. Good price for value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    It is very nice and quit place, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is very nice and quit place, friendly staff. Our room was so comfortable and clean. We will be back ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception after 18:00 Wifi changed constNtly Early check out 10:30

    Friendly staff Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Everything fine
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,everything very clean,friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    3.0
    The receptionist was pleasant when we met her next morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No reception at 8-45pm rang ph no on door told no booking had to ring Booking. com in Dublin left standing out in rain for 1 hour.

    The receptionist was pleasant when we met her next morning.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.4
    People who worked there where nice and it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a small and simple hotel with limited reception, small breakfast choices and all in all a simple feeling to a high cost.

    People who worked there where nice and it was clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The very unpolite lady

    Nothing!

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: