Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Siebersturm This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Spitalgasse 6, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appears on Booking.com as hotel but really is a guest house, as stated on outside of the property. No bar or lounge area, so comfy place to sit after long day of sightseeing. No tea/coffee making in rooms.

    Great location inside the medieval wall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking experience was lacking. We were led to believe we had booked a double room but found that was not the case upon arrival. Not the hotel's fault.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not what we booked but there was a valid reason for that. We understood and accepted the situation.

    Perfectly located small hotel. Clean and comfortable. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and incredible staff. A warm welcome. The owner provided information and reccomendations for restaurants and activities. All were top notch! The breakfast was very good and the service was perfect! Wonderful place that I highly reccomend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Rooms were clean and tidy but a bit old fashioned.

    The breakfast was good. The accommodation was perfectly situated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a typical German Guest House but is way overpriced. There is no room service, phone in room, no amenities in the room at all (coffe/tea/water/fridge). Yet it was priced as a 4 or 5 star hotel.

    I enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness in bedroom, carpet had alot of stains on. On arrival we found lots of long hairs embedded in the carpet which we put down to the hoover not picking them up properly but then we saw lots of hair under the fitted sheet and on top of bed. Then at breakfast the day before departure we found hair on the buffet table and on my salami slices, we skipped breakfast on our last day and the women at hotel noticed but out of politeness we kept quiet.

    Location was the best thing and garage was available for parking. bathroom very clean and new.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower. My tall boyfriend had to duck down to shower

    The owner suggested we upgrade to an available room with a balcony. We were so happy we did. Such a beautiful view and great way to unwind at the end of a busy day exploring their historic city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs new or cleaned carpet.

    Great location. While some very nice updates had been made (like bathrooms and bedding) others like new carpet are still needed. Room was small, but balcony was very nice. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, inside the city walls and short walk to the market square. Very clean! The hotel was cozy and quaint. Our room was on the third floor and had a beautiful view. Served our purpose and was an amazing bargain! It was everything we would expect from a medieval town!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality sucks. My husband got sick the first day we arrived and there was no one for us to communicate with after hours. It doesn't seem to be an official time that the front desk staff leave the property. The next day I was informed that guest can call the hotel number from their phone and someone will answer. Keep this in mind if you need help. Overall, the staff need to improve on their hospitality skills. We traveled throughout many parts of Germany during our visit and everyone was extremely helpful and friendly however, I did not find this to be so at this hotel. On our last day, our kids wanted to go to the nearby pool one last time. I asked the front desk guy if we can use the towels (as we had been for our entire stay) and return them in an hour. After a flat out no you cannot use our towels, he offered them to us if we left a €60 deposit. Very very disappointing departure especially after a shaky start.

    Location was great. Great views of the town. Very close to the town square and the wall. Easy access to places outside of the wall. Everything within walking distance no car needed. If you do have a car there is a small daily fee to park the car close by.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are little bit tight, specially bathroom.

    The location is really great! Specially room number 4 with a amazing balcony with a great view to Rothenburg

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Later check in...we had problems because even though it says 9 p.m. on booking, it's actually 7 p.m., if you want later you have to tell them a few days upfront...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very inside of Rothenburg ob der tauber, so need to walk pretty much from station. In addition the staires are too narrow to move the luggage ( but I think it is all same for other hotels in this region )

    View at the house was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too flat.

    Great cheeseburgers! Nice family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nil

    Location right in the heart of the old town. Breakfast was good for the price. Had room with a balcony overlooking the valley below - GREAT!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,clean room and bathroom,comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only two bath towels, no wash clothes or hand towels. When we asked for two more towels the gentleman was not very nice about it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The restaurant was wonderful. Dinner and complimentary breakfast were terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little smelly. The place smelt like gone off milk in the entrance part of the hotel.

    Fantastic location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is non existent!

    The location was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location...great staff..clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location with breathtaking views and walks. Great food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our room! We had a balcony with a great view and the hotel was close to everything! The staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathrooms but very good otherwise.

    Very nice staff, hotel and place of the hotel. Easy to find and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was very convenient for the purpose I needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    low wifi

    nice team nice breakfast nice position in the city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shampoo or hair dryers.

    The food was great for breakfast and dinner.....would stay there again and again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was on street outside hotel not in a garage. Big cars will be an issue

    Good Location, quiet a quaint little hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small room.

    We picked a back room and it has a lovely view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cleaner bathroom

    nice comfy beds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no trashcan in the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet problems

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Comfortable room Amazing location Friendly owner and staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Also nice having breakfast ready in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard bed, soft pillows

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. The parking situation was not secure.

    The situation was fine. The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel - only stayed one night, but would have liked to stay longer. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, very cozy, really nice and helpful owner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit hot, noisy.

    Good location, friendly owner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Manager is so lovely, gives advice where to go and such a nice man he even came Out and took my husband to Doctors one evening for our baby who became very ill. Cannot say enough about how wonderful he is and staff lovely. Great location close enough to everything but not so close noisy amoungst the busy areas. Excellent for family with small children we had room with bunk beds and a cot which is perfect and hard to come by. We have 2 boys under 7 and baby girl.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room as a whole was not really bad, but the bathroom sink was leaking quite badly, and in the bathroom was a heavy smell. Sadly, the biggest problems we had were with the owners. Upon our arrival, as we were travelling by car, we gave a phone call to the hotel, letting them know that due to heavy traffic at the borders (HU-A and A-DE), we might arrive a little bit later than the end of the check-in program. The owners were a little rude with their answer, saying that they are not willing to wait for us, or requesting a fee for arriving late. In the end, we arrived 15 min. earlier then the end of the program. Also, on our departure day, even if we paid for a parking place two days, we informed the owners that we will leave at around 13:00, and they said we could stay only until 12:00, no more... even if we paid the parking for two days... and that in fact was our second day!

    The location is fabulous and the owner was kind to give us a room on the second floor with a big balcony facing to the outer walls. Also the location of the hotel is really good, just near the Siebersturm (as the name suggests). The restaurant is really nice and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was difficult to get clear answers from staff in email communications prior to our visit

    The location right beside the old city gate was beautiful and very convenient for seeing the town, going out for dinner and organising bike adventures.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs updating. Fit the bill, but wasn't a great place. Don't pay the extra for the breakfast, go a few doors down to a nice little breakfast place and for 1/2 the price you can have a marvelous breakfast!

    Beautiful views!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location was excellent and right on the main road to all the major attractions. Perfect for us as we only had one day and night to explore. The breakfast was also good.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner didn't speak English so I had to brush up on my basic German which I haven't used in 15 years. The hotel is in need of renovation. Mismatched furniture, frayed discolored carpets, creaky stairs. Beware that there are rooms up three steep flights of stairs and of course no elevator. We booked on the day we arrived so didn't have much to choose from but I imagine there is better value elsewhere.

    Great location. We arrived around 18.00 (when the masses have left the city) and found a parking spot outside the door otherwise you can pay 5eur to the hotel and they provide parking. Really friendly owner. There is free wifi everywhere in the town.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were put into the top room even though the hotel was not fully booked, as they wish to keep the better rooms for possible call ins. The room was hot, small, and had a very low ceiling. No fan. No view.

    a great position, inside the old city walls, but not in the too busy part.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't think the bathroom fixtures were very clean. Gentleman who checked us in spoke no English though we could make ourselves understood, eventually.

    Nice view from the balconied room in the back. Quaint old German small hotel on one of the main streets in Rothenburg.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Temperature was high and so windows were open. As the room was on the main street there was noise, this was to be expected. Needed blackout curtains as the sun came in at 4.30am.

    The room, the bathroom and bed were wonderful. Fantastic location and easy on street parking in front of hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Balcony was great for a fantastic view. Beds were comfy and room very clean. Breakfast big enough I made sandwiches from it for lunch. Great Location.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was typical german with no other choices it was ok if you liked cheese and sausage.

    We booked a room with a view and certainly got one very pleased

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location!!Location!!Location!!. This is a highly recommended place if you would like to stay in old town. Every corner of the old town is just 10 mins from this place. The guy at the front desk was very helpful. Clean rooms. Highly Recommended. Skip breakfast as its not worth the money

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was a little disappointed that the staff member tried to charge us twice for the room, we had our receipts which showed we had paid in full, however he was adamant that we had not paid. It was lucky that my friends boyfriend was German and sorted the matter out by asking to speak to the Manager. I feel a little bit that the staff member took advantage that we could not speak German.

    The hotel was in a great location, just outside the wall and It took less than 5 minutes to reach the square.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The management did not understand that our booking had been paid, and insisted that we pay again. Eventually let us leave accepting that the bill had been paid.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator and had to carry heavy luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Parking in a small garage about 5 minutes walk away, very tight spot so if you have a wide car inquire elsewhere.

    This hotel was adorable. A bit dated but served it's purpose for a 1 night stay in a great location. staff did not speak English but we managed Only knowing about 5 german words. The breakfast spread was delicious, room and bathroom was comfortable, clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free Wi-Fi not secured as far as I could tell. Strange odour when entering maim hallway but not through the rest of the hotel (bothered my wife more than me it has to be said).

    Room warm, spacious and clean. Bathroom not so spacious but adequate for our needs. Friendly staff/owners. Very central location for old city. Rothenburg is enchanting (even in icy cold February)

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of atmosphere, but there is more than enough EVERYWHERE else to make up for it.

    Spotlessly clean. Warm and cozy.....(mid February) Owner went out of the way to arrange ground transport for us.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Step to Bathroom gave one of our friends a bloody toe, step from the bedroom was to high to see! Had to pay 5 euro for outdoor parking, wich we hd to pay in cash extra.

    close to old town

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Owner implied breakfast was included, but it wasn't. Could have been the language barrier

    Location in old city Parking available at 5 euros/ day Recently renovated bathroom

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location and wonderful, friendly and helpful owner.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were remodeling which was kind of an inconvenience

    I liked the location and the view from my room

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Paid for parkingplace which was used by another car. Hotel management didn't react...

    Couldn't have a better location...

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is very poor! Doesn't worth to pay money for! Just some bread and cheap ham. The staff was not very friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was awful. Couldn't facetime the kiddo's.

    Nice historic building. Delicious breakfast. Clean comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was being renovated at the time.

    Great location and value.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Centrally located

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We liked everything and was a good, average hotel.

    Location was fantastic. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Family fun hotel, the family were very kind and helpful, the rooms felt very comfy gave a home like feeling would stay again

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and clean, adequate room.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is inside the ancient walled city of Rothenburg. Very convenient for shopping, tours, restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too far from airport. Parking was horrible. Carpets need to be replaced in hall ways

    Staff frendleness

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, in the middle of everything

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was perfect

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Basically everything but its location

    The only good thing was it's location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: