Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Wartturm This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Landwehrstr. 28, 67346 Speyer, Germany

#5 of 16 hotels in Speyer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 492 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.0
    A good option for a comfortable, affordable place; a little distant from old city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit distant from the City Center. Better if you have a car or bicycle.

    The staff were very friendly and the apartment was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Clean, nice design, superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived just after reception closed yet there was still someone friendly to talk us through getting the keys from a key box. Great value for money, nice staff, very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    The perfect place to sightsee Speyer and the technical museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was good.

    Easy to find very friendly and welcoming and they talk to you to find out why you are there so they can give you some local tips

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    best functional bathroom, airy, lots of space, brand new (...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    best functional bathroom, airy, lots of space, brand new ( room 19) room on backside to garden very quiet. innovative breakfast, nice choice and good breads. wlan worked perfectly!!! staff real friendly and dedicated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay! We would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having two single beds pushed together, I would have preferred one large double bed.

    The staff was truly wonderful. During breakfast the owner went an extra mile to ensure that we gad everything was perfect and that our little girl had everything that she needed/wanted, including getting top ups from the kitchen. Truly top class treatment!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Ideal for a 2-3 day trip to Speyer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The corners in the room were not that clean and we had a few spiders. But all the rest was clean and cosy. I saw here that if you travel with a child as family there is no 3rd towel (therefore we took ours, and there was no surprise!)

    The big bed and the HIGH SPEED WIFI (which compared to other hotels in Germany was really fast and stable!); and the breakfast was also OK. Stuff friendly. Location by car good reachable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good apartment, right in the city center, nice and cosy, well organised with all you need in the little kitchen. Good restaurants nearby, the owner was very friendly, he gave us good tips regarding cafe, restaurants, museums( Technical Museum, Sea Life).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    This is a great place to stay if you have to spend a night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor drawback is the stairs. For a family with kids, having a room on the top floor will require some extra walks.

    This is a great place to stay if you have to spend a night in Speyer. The staff is super friendly, and the rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet. We arrived late and they even reheated the oven for us so we could sill have a dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    The attic rooms get too hot/noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The attic rooms are too hot during sunny days – should be equipped with air conditioning. Noisy road outside – bad sleep when windows are open. - Miniature bathroom (although well equipped) - Too soft bed and too bulky pillows – hurting our spine.

    - Good WiFi Internet, free private parking - Very rich sortiment for breakfast, above German 3* average

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel but hot nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked air conditioning in bedroom, spent an uncomfortably hot night at 32C.

    The room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    6.7
    Convenient, clean, OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to be disliked fundamentally about this hotel. Easy to find, free parking in front, clean and convenient room, comfortable bed and very good Wifi. On the other side, there was nothing to get excited about neither: defenitely not the environment and the building itself, nor the public areas (don't expect a lobby, a restaurant or bar or any other guest areas), nor the clean but somewhat uninspiring room. Not a place where you spend more time than necessary.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean room, great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Willing personal, cleanlines
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot meal during breakfast prepared (but I haven't ask)

    Willing personal, cleanlines

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    perfect overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the coffee could have been stronger.

    friendliness of personnel. breakfast had a good variety of choices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Great rooms, Great staff. I love the personal approach, thats the way for the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great rooms, Great staff. I love the personal approach, thats the way for the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and very clean place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very clean place. Nice restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    I enjoyed the hospitality of the hotel staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough parking spaces for the number of rooms

    Bistro and breakfast. Parking next to hotel for free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    The staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very nice. Great and new facility. Easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.2
    Welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited evening menu, but what they do they do well

    Welcoming. Good location from motorway

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    One night in Speyer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice small hotel, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    Super breakfast and excellent bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Super breakfast and excellent bed. Ladies in Reception are quite nice. There was a good Italian restaurant which is close to hotel. Can check with Reception.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As a family of five, it's common in Europe that there are not many hotels that offer on-site rooms large enough for our family size. We often are able to book an apartment through a hotel, but would be nice to be able to stay in the same locations hotel/restaurants.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Apartment was very clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and the family room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was convenient as we were making a stop during a longer trip. But the road was rather busy and crossing it was not easy with children.

    Very friendly staff and the family room was spacious and included a small kitchen, handy for us.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.2
    The location and it was modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked as a 3 person but were only given towels for 2 people for one day. We needed more towels and blankets/sheets/pillows for the 3rd person. We shouldn't have had to ask for them.

    The location and it was modern.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.2
    Excellent furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We only spend one night. Apartment was a converted basement. Huge windows and excellently built, however without knowing it up front, if I was to stay there for a longer vacation, it would be disappointing. From what I understand hotel has many apartments and we just happen to be last :)

    Excellent furnishings. Very stylish and thought out. Wife was in love with the place. Comfortable, most excellent Wi-Fi. Spotlessly clean. Service excellent, speak good English. Quiet area with good access to shopping and nearby attractions.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Loved the location and Street Views, also the amazing close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lots of stairs and parking was not close.

    Loved the location and Street Views, also the amazing close to City Center. This was the condo Stella to be specific.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully clean and pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully clean and pleasant hotel. Very helpful staff. My wife has to follow a gluten free diet and they supplied an array of good options for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Very comfortable accomodation, extremely clean and overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi internet access is horrible. Hours of breakfast, lunch and dinner should be more flexible, especially when travelling with young kids.

    Very comfortable accomodation, extremely clean and overall very high quality (rooms, food, spa, etc)

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    5.8
    Very high quality of the interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location of apartment in centre is not suitable for travelling by (1 night). Appartment is far from main hotel where the breakfast is. Rooms very hot no airco. And very noisy in the night with people on the street. Parking is far from appartment.

    Very high quality of the interior. Nice restaurants terasses around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.6
    I liked the home-like atmosphere and the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I liked the home-like atmosphere and the friendly staff. Instead of a minibar, there was a self-service maxibar with cheap prices! As a bonus I got very nice instructions on how to explore Speyer and the Technik Museum.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    10
    Great, clean hotel with freindly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small car-park had limited off-road parking.

    Great, clean hotel with freindly, helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was plentiful & refreshed regularly.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    10
    We arrived quite late, and the hotel called in the evening...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Only bad thing was that there is no where to have a communal drink (from the honesty bar) after reception closes at 2200.

    We arrived quite late, and the hotel called in the evening to confirm all was OK. On arrival, note that the reception is DOWNSTAIRS, and there is a door at the side! Rooms are clean, modern, and very comfortable. Interesting concept in that there is a maxi-bar - essentially an honesty fridge that is well stocked with beer & soft drinks and crisps & chocolate.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    9.2
    Easy check in, friendly helpful staff, clean rooms, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a criticism of the hotel but this would be perfection for us if it were closer to the Altstadt!

    Easy check in, friendly helpful staff, clean rooms, good internet, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.2
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very central location Very helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.1
    The staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very bouncy so when one person rolled over, the other person was moved.

    The staff was great

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Everything was really perfect,
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was really perfect, the owner of the establishment of extreme kindness, he speaks several languages perfectly, I'll be back soon !

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast. Easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Great for parking and the bus stop into town is right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great for parking and the bus stop into town is right outside. Staff were very nice and spoke English. Great Hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    very friendly and competent staff, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly and competent staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent parking and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator and no air conditioning. The days were hot during our stay in June.

    Excellent parking and breakfast. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    Good location as transit hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived during 40 celcius heat wave, no air co, but hotel arranged fans in rooms.

    Good location as transit hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.5
    clean and spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    pillows; location

    clean and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    room quality
    • Business trip
    • Group

    room quality bathroom off road parking breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.6
    New and clean room with all necessary equipment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee maker in the room and no elctrical point near the desk.

    New and clean room with all necessary equipment.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    Good room, good breakfast, car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good room, good breakfast, car parking. Friendly personal.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.2
    They kindly chose me a room appropriate for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They kindly chose me a room appropriate for me.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: