Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Anna Amalia This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Geleitstr. 8-12, 99423 Weimar, Germany

#9 of 25 hotels in Weimar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1047 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location could hardly be better, in the heart of the city. You can walk to all the main sights very easily. The room and newly modernised shower room were quite small, but well planned and so ok. There was a good choice for breakfast. Traffic noise wasn’t a problem. It was warm, and we could sleep with the window open.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had some sort of plastic underlayer that made it less than comfortable on warm nights. No air conditioning. The staff seemed oddly inexperienced -- reception staff wanted to show off their English rather than being patient with my efforts to speak German with them; breakfast staff was unresponsive on simple matters like coffee service, ensuring adequate table settings for new arrivals, etc.

    Perfect location in the center of Weimar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very courteous and efficient staff; centrally located; a fifteen-minute-walk to/from the train station. Nice breakfast. If I'm ever in Weimar again, Hotel Anna Amalia is where I'll be staying.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is a bit small and breakfast could have more variety. There is no aircon in the room, but there is a heater. It can be a little bit noisy at night because the hotel is in the middle of the street.

    The location is very good, in the middle of the city center. Breakfast is good, but could be better by having more variety. Reception is friendly and fast. Room is kept very clean. Housekeeping comes every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work great....I did to keep log in, I do not like this since I have to work a lot....

    The room and location was good. Staff was in general friendly....Breakfast was very nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time we left the hotel and came back we had to go through and annoying system to log into the internet again

    Great place right in the centre of town surrounded by lots of sights, cafes, restaurants and bars

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect localisation absolute city centre close to everything, but still enough quiet to sleep. clean as in laboratory. No issues with WIFi- perfect connection. (Previous opinions shows some problems so it seems Anna Amalie has improved that element). very friendly and helpful staff - fluent in English which is not such obvious case.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in the very center of Weimar, close to anything worth visiting in town. There is a bar inside serving a bit of everything, and just outside of the hotel door there are tons of nice restaurants, bars and pubs. The rooms are rather simple but they are very clean and confortable. The staff was always caring and nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was terrible, as I was expecting reading previous reviews here. Is there a good reason why this issue has not been dealt with by the owners, despite being raised again and again? These days good wifi is expected in hotels, much as hot water and heating are.

    I had a nice quiet room at the back (115). Visiting in January meant there did not seem to be many others at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason in our room we could not connect to the internet.

    Location is great and the price we got was brilliant. The size of the room we had was very good and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible WIFI: not even able to stay long enough connected to search on google, so unable to check my mails. A little bit noisy for my room with direct view on the front street.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, easy access to the hotel parking (really useful since the city center is not "car friendly"), and great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was a little frustrating. Once or twice my computer couldn't log on. It's nicer for the system to recognize your device once you open it or turn it on, rather than have to log on each time.

    My room was small, but comfortable and very clean. I asked for a late check out and the front desk staff was fine with it. The housekeeping staff didn't know and tried to come in to clean, but were very nice about it when I told them. I didn't eat breakfast because I thought it was too expensive and there were bakeries and cafes nearby with less expensive options. This is a nice hotel in a great location and it's dog friendly!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location suited me as it was just around corner rom main part of town . It was also very easy to get to from train station as central bus stop was also close by. I also felt very safe as a solo traveller.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place to stay if you travel alone with only short time. The location is perfect, everything in walking distance. The room is super clean and Wi-Fi worked pretty well. Will stay here for next visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, parking garage, located right in the old town, helpful staff, clean and modern rooms, good value for the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mini fridge in the room

    Very good location, very friendly staff; clean and cozy hotel, good WiFi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the people there cannot smile. or are afraid to. :-/

    - lovely hotel in a lovely town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking garage was fabulous. Biggest space I have seen in Europe. The room was very attractive and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Good sized bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern, convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located in the old town. Fabulous friendly staff. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shelves in the bathroom would be nice

    Beds were very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overheated, but really no complaints.

    Location and helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very comfortable and was quite loud late at night.

    Great location and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be better.

    Comfy and clean room, helpful and friendly stuff. Beautiful localization.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi not functional, non-thermostatic shower.

    Fresh-looking rooms, cleanness hotel, centrally positioned in Weimar, ideal for town visits!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi is crap.

    Fantastic location. The Christmas market is just next door.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi is very slow and like you don't have internet.

    The staff and location are very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was wonderful bed very confortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work

    Wonderful reception, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi connection and the rooms are a bit aged

    Very central location!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    12€ pp for breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Centrality, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was warm .

    Breakfast and the breakfast personnel were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was noisy being at the front of the hotel BUT it did not really disturb me or spoil my trip in any way.

    Location was really convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, nice and cosy hotel, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom. No AC, fan only on demand.

    Well located in Weimar. Welcoming staff. Modern and clean. Quite comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very convenient and the hotel is very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very nice hotel. The location was great. You really get value for money. The staff was always nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came in late at might and the straff was very nice and helpful. Excellent location in a really nice historic house. We would return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We booked the room for two people and there were only linens and towels for one person.

    Location was excellent. Restaurant right next door was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Anna Amalia was a great place to stay in the center of Weimar. There are a number of restaurants close to the hotel and also a grocery store and the railway station is about a 15-20 minute walk, though bus service is also available for those who don't want to walk.The staff were very friendly and made me feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location, right in the middle of the old centre of Weimar. Car park under hotel. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast room with good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a little cramped and the tub was even worse, slippery. I was counting my blessings every time I didn't fall. I really worried about my mom, who has limited mobility. For her, it was not safe. The mattresses were barely comfortable. A mattress pad would have made it a little better. The tv and tv remote did not work well. maybe the button mechanisms were worn out. No small dorm fridge. Despite all of this, I would choose this hotel again. I can always purchase a cheap bath mat.

    Location, location, location! So close to everything of interest to us (my mom and I), including our favorite restaurant La Tarte.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    everything. The place is perfect. In the city center , any type of restaurants nearby ..

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    everything clean nice room good breakfast firendly stuff

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is conveniently located in short walking distance from main sights in Weimar. The staff was friendly and made us feel as welcomed guests

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet

    Location, Staff

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice Hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good location friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is very good and central to the tourist attractions. It was not noisy and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Old facility and one children's bed costs 20 Euro for rent, which I'm not informed in advance.

    The location is great.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was without air conditioning system

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was ver wobbly and disappointing.

    A lovely, friendly, family run hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi connection

    location

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was noise from a cafe to the side which went on into the small hours

    excellent location

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI is terrible.I have to give up at last.

    the location and staff are perfect.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The centre of Weimar is very compact, easy to walk round, mostly pedestrianised. There is a choice of restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The dining-room was attractive and very nicely presented; the bedrooms were charming; the staff friendly and helpful; the breakfast very good.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hotel Anna Amalia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: