Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schillerstrasse 24, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#281 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1037 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Very close to everything. Nice hotel. Great staff. Awesome food in bistro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably just not the best day with price but still it's a good one.

    Food in their Bistro is AWESOME. We did not avail the breakfast as we go out each morning very early maybe if it's cheaper we will have it as add-on. Anyway, Staff were great and friendly. Very close to the main train station. Airport to Munich Station is 40 minutes, 3 minute walk to the hotel. Walking distance to the main city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    nice hotel closed to city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the shower a little small from time to time not hot water the water is cold .

    I like the wifi working good the breakfast was good and the location closed 5 min waking form city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Not a 4-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of the unit we were given fell way below a 4-star hotel. It did not even meet the standard of a 3-star hotel. It is separated from most other rooms by a stairwell and seems to have been converted from rooms for other purposes. The unit was not clean, with lots of stains on the walls and multiple cigarette butts on the balcony. The unit was on the top floor and very hot. No AC. We were given two electric fans and they didn't help much. There were no screens on doors or windows so you can't leave them open as mosquitoes may come in. We killed one full of blood in the bathroom.

    The hotel is close to the main train station and city center. The unit was spacious, with a large balcony. The bathroom was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Extra bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The area (not the hotel's fault) does not feel very safe at night. Otherwise, it's is a really good location as it is close to the station and the city center. I would book again!

    Extra bed was really comfortable. Very clean rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is abundant and good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flexibility in check out time, though I understand it is about revenue and business, but I believe Astor can be little more flexible on check out timings with some minimal fee charge per hour of extended time.

    The hospitality I received from staff at the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Great spot for Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was alright. A lot cheaper than most places in Munich. The location was great, walking distance from the main train station, heaps of food around. The room was small for 3 people but we are backpacking so we didn't have that much stuff. The bedsheets and towels seemed very clean and our rooms were cleaned every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location. Everything is nearby. Market, Asian shop, shopping mall, restaurant. 5 min walk to the train station and tram. My room is on the top floor and the balcony have a very special view of the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    Room was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very bad. I was not aware it is in red light district. Not suitable for family

    Room was good It was clean Room size was also good Overall the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    This hotel was good value for money compared to other hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wouldn't say the hotel is located in the best part of Munich.

    This hotel was good value for money compared to other hotels around the centre of Munich

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location, 1-5min walking to supermarket, pharmacy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, receptionist refused to help my husband order some soup (I caught a fever and we don't speak German).

    Good location, 1-5min walking to supermarket, pharmacy, public transport, and tourism highlight points

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Very clean room & bath room, and close to Munich HBF,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a fan but had only small window. My room was 6F but last Sat night was so noisy all night long, I could not sleep at all! In order to get a cool air, I had to leave open that window, it was not avoidable the noise (screaming by drunk people, laughing, etc.) from outside.

    Very clean room & bath room, and close to Munich HBF, very convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast spread had amazing choice of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area of town was not ideal if you are a family with kids. Felt a bit like a mini red light district. Pick the rights streets to walk into and out of hotel or be met by sex and hookah shops. Once in hotel all is fine.

    Breakfast spread had amazing choice of food. Worth the additional fee. Easy walk to the train station and to Kaufingerstrasse which leads into Marienplatz in old Munich (10-15 minute walk). No complaints about the room. Updated. Good value. No air con but provided fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is close to the main train station however, it is also in a part of town that doesn’t feel too safe. The hallways and lobby of the hotel hasn’t been renovated. They have a floor where the elevator doesn’t reach.

    The rooms were renovated and modern. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Staff were nice and helpful and here was free wifi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Rooms are clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel. Its a perfect location to visit the old city but you're surrounded by clubs, restaurants and a lot of noise throughout the night.

    Rooms are clean. Bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here in June so there were plenty of hot days. I usually don't mind sleeping with the windows open but this time I wish there was air conditioning in the hotel. The streets are loud untill the early mornings with people talking and drinking, the street sweeper truck comes by around 4:30 in the morning. Overall, never had a good night's sleep while staying here. The neighbourhood did not feel very safe. Not the best value for your money. I would not recommend staying here.

    Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location and facilities, beds could use some work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had two single beds pushed together, so they sometimes moved apart during the night. A double bed would have been better. I got one pillow, two would have been better. The duvet was a bit small for my size.

    Location near the train station (despite the strip clubs along the street). Good price. Room had been recently updated and was in good condition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish wasn’t taken away daily, no air conditioning in room. No face cloths provided.

    The staff were wonderful & very accomodating of our early arrival. Easy location to get to from airport with luggage. Fans were provided after first night without asking. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel itself is great - no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area it is in is local to the central station but not the most scenic part of Munich or the most salubrious - just typical of a location a several blocks out from the city centre

    The hotel itself is great - no complaints

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    Very poor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor location. A lot of imigrants and doesnt look safe. The bathroom wasnt cleaned properly. Too expencieve for what they actually provide. Very dissapointed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Good option close to lots of attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very good option for visiting central Munich on foot. We walked to museums and restaurants and if you want to go further out transit stops (S-Bahn, UBahn/metro and buses) are very close

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff was very nice and allow me to check in since 9am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit small room but ok for just sleep 1 night. No drinking water.

    Staff was very nice and allow me to check in since 9am. Location was great. Have everything what you need from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    Location was TERRIBLE for a single female traveling alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOCATION!!! Across from many caberets with very loud and agressive people at night.

    Location was TERRIBLE for a single female traveling alone. Shower was not clean on arrival, hair. Pillow was flat and uncomfortable but they did provide 2nd on request

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, well run, good value hotel in the City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Snow!

    This hotel is excellent value for a Hotel so close to the Main Central Station, which is an advantage if you want to explore the area by rail. Like most German cities the red light district is also located close to the Central Station, so don't be surprised by some of the facilities found in the neighborhood!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Value for money, spacious rooms, very central - Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Value for money, it was the cheapest hotel, very central to everything. The room exceeded our expectations, we had a triple room and it was very spacious. We were a bit worried as I read some reviews that it was in the red light district however there was nothing to worry about, very safe area. There are just a bit of strip clubs but nothing goes on outside and no one bothers you when walking. I would recommend this hotel to those visiting Munich due to the price, the area being very central and also the spacious rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    quite happy. Room was good size and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location plus it REALLY smelled of cigarettes even in the lobby as soon as we arrived

    Breakfast was super nice. The location was a bit iffy. I would not have felt comfortable walking alone without my partner or with other women only. Parking was SUPERB and easy. Staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Good option for a short visit to Munich with no kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was well located, right in the city center. However, street is too noisy at nights (people yelling , fighting?). Few gentlemen's club in the same block.

    Very good breakfast. Convenient parking within location. Friendly staff. 2 blocks from train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    For sure not a 4-star hotel but they were allready renovating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location, although close to the center, was kind of sketchy.. Nobody bothered us though..

    Walking distance from the city center. Quite and comfortable. Very polite staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Staying at the Hotel Astor in the centre of Munich was a delightful and relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A central hotel with private parking is very convenient for car travellers. The family accommodation comprising of two comfortable spacious double rooms connected by a small lobby area adjacent to a very clean generously sized well laid out toilet and shower room is ideal for a grown up family of four.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Handy apartment for a few days sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staff seemed a bit disinterested

    The apartment is close to some key shopping areas and was easy to find. Parking onsite was helpful. The rooms are small but we still all fitted without any problem. Bathrooms were a good size and provided extras like shampoo.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Great for a short stay near train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good size room for a family & was very close to the train station which was what we wanted. We only stayed one night & wanted to be waking distant with suitcases & it served that purpose. Staff we interacted with were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives.

    Within walking distance of rail station/buses to airport, centre of city and parks. Beds, were very comfortable. Shower hot & fast. Food lovely, staff very pleasant and helpful. Free PC in the Reception area. Highly recommended for the city traveller.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    Staff great, rooms clean and comfy but dodgy area and noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area and street noise at night.

    Once you were in hotel it was fine. Area is seedy. Therefore street noise at night was quite loud. Staff very friendly and helpful though. Breakfast lovely. Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    The staff are very helpful and friendly, the room was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very helpful and friendly, the room was a great size for a family. Parking is available at the hotel. The location is great, a 5 minute walk to the main train station and Christmas Markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good by the point of view of the distance from the center, but the neighborhood not the maximum, especially when you are with the family.

    Great staff. Excellent location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Reception/check in staff very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception/check in staff very friendly & helpful. Well located reasonably easy walking distance to the old city areas. Easy walking distance to train station. Rooms very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    The stuff are very friendly, always ready to help, gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff are very friendly, always ready to help, gave us one breakfast for free, while we arrived one day later. Great location. Very close to Munich central station. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Probably one of the best price/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very good price/quality place. The worst part is the neighborhood which is probably the worst in Munich. However, apart from that - very decent hotel within a short walk from the center, train, Oktoberfest etc. ok for alone, friends. May be not the best with kids due to area, but it was OK for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    It was great, very central location close to tourist sites
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy from the cafe across the road and cars in the day, yet during the night very peaceful for a busy road and no noise at all so had a perfect sleep.

    I really liked the room it was very clean. I would definitely stay here again. The staff were very chatty and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    The staffs are nice and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not easy to park a car as the hotel is locates in a narrow road. I turned two rounds and finally find out the garage. In the evening, too many people hanging out, feels bit unsafe. The rooms are bit strange as we booked a room for three, it was on the 5th floor, but the elevator can only get to the 4th. We took the luggages by ourselves.

    The staffs are nice and hospitality. In the center of the city, very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for Oktoberfest and seeing Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked two rooms for Oktoberfest and they were incredible. Both on the top floor and connected to a separate hallway that only the two rooms shared so felt like a four-bedroom apartment. View was fantastic with large balconies. Bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Oktoberfest stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the property although very central, it's in an unsavory area due to the proximity to the central station. It still felt safe to walk around during the night, but plenty of bizarre people. The first time when you view the reception area, it might feel disappointing, but the rooms are in a very good condition. Reception area could be better with some renovation. Same goes for the carpet in some of the rooms.

    Room was quiet, spacious and had all necessary amenities. Mini bar fridge which you could fill with products bought at the hotel's mini store, real hairdryer, ironing facilities. Breakfast was good for the amount we paid (bacon, sausages, cheese, cereal, bread, cold cuts, 2-3 kinds of marmalade, etc.), . Free coffee machine and water dispenser at the reception area. Staff was friendly and professional and offered us a bigger double room due to a prior inconvenience with their credit card machine. Property is 5 min. from the central station and around 10 - 15 min. walking to Marienplatz. Plenty of restaurants around, along with taxis and public transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.3
    It was terrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was intolerable. There were people out on the street until 2:00 am each morning. We did not feel safe walking to and from our hotel.

    It was clean, but that was the only positive thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved Munich and hotel was great except the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The immediate surrounding area of the hotel was not very pleasant however it was only a short walk to the centre of munich

    Central location. Helpful staff. Off road parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    The staff were friendly and happy to assist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So noisy when you have your window open which is a must in the warner months for a room without air conditioning.

    The staff were friendly and happy to assist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.8
    It doesn't worth for the money and it isn't a 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no air conditioned in the room. Sheets and furniture's were very old and not very clean. Location was not good for families but close with the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Our First Time Staying in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very crowded with a lot of locals and foreigners. We came to realize that we are staying in one of their party district that's why it was noisy and chaotic outside. Also, there were a lot of locals who just stand and sit in the sidewalks blocking your ways.

    The staff and the receptionist were all friendly and the room is clean. It is also near the Main Trainstation (Hauptbahnhof)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    2.9
    I hate this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is awful. The staff is so rude and especially the location is terrible. The location is close to the central station but there are so many strangers around this area. And also these strange people were drinking on the road until 3:00 am!!! So whole night they were so noisy and I could here their stupid voice from my room and I couldn't sleep at all. And staff is so rude. They didn't change the towel even I left the used towel s on the floor and also left the memo. And my room doesn't have an air conditioner so the room temperature was 34 degrees!!!! I really don't want to stay this hotel anymore....

    I don't like here at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Well located to main train station and short walk, 15 mins, to the centre of activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst there was a fan there was actually no air conditioning to allow you to control temperature- fan was at best adequate

    Location. The gentleman that was in control of the breakfast facilities was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Improvement required
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is minimaly equipped, not as mentioned. The knives are low quality, and were greasy when we got them, the frying pan is totally worn out. The shower was not clean and there was mold on the walls. There was a heavey smell of pest spraying or mold in the house. It is hard to maneuver with the car to the park place. No yard. We got the lower floor, which is a corridor with 2 rooms, each room is for 3 people. There is no living room. most of the tv channels are blocked, including all the children's channels. The tv is in the kitchen with a small sofa.

    Vladimir the houst, tried to help and was polite. The house is in a quite place, about 5 minute drive from mayrhofen. Nice view from the terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed Hotel Astor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was in a small courtyard - which was very tight/cramped. I had to give the staff my car keys in case they had to move the car.

    The location was great. Just a short walk to the Marienplatz. Plenty of options for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice staff, convenient but noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for drinking, no kettle, though the staff gave me some suggestions. No drainage in the shower room, you need to deal with the flood after taking shower. Very sad about that. Outside the building is quite noisy especially at night.

    Very nice welcome from their staff. The room is very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Promiximity to centre is great! Slightly 'dodgy' area after dark - nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom (at least in room 107!) had been updated recently with new trimmings and looked very nice e.g. taps... except for some very basic cosmetic issues - e.g. the screws that had been used were obviously not stainless steel and there were rust stains running down into the bath. This is purely cosmetic - but definitely not high quality.

    Family of four staying - Room was nice and large with a double bed and a sofabed area. All the furnishings were new/modern and it looked really nice - the family loved staying in there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.9
    The reception was so kind and the room was clean and good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of hotel was in the center of city and all the people were refugees and at the midnight was scary.

    The reception was so kind and the room was clean and good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The rooms were very clean, not overly large but comfortable. The location was great, within walking distance of the train station and some of the sites of Munich.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Good location, close to trasportation, breakfast was good ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable, no sheet for covering, small blanket, small rooms, one bath towel, street noise.

    Good location, close to trasportation, breakfast was good ,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    The cleanliness, the money value , the room & the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtains need new ones; to avoid water on floor & all around. The radiator was out of order & when asked to be repaired, the receptionist told us to inform the morning shift stuff ( but nothing happened) as if we should follow it up !!!

    The cleanliness, the money value , the room & the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is a bit small but overall, okay. Hotel is at red light district. It was okay for us though.

    The choco drink at lobby for 1 euro.The staff are always smiling.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.5
    Hotel itself was brillant, the surrounding area was off putting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a single female travelling alone, the location of the hotel (surrounded by strip clubs, etc) was a disappointment

    Receptionist/concierge was extremely helpful & knowledgable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Ignore the negative reviews....well worth a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing a few of my group mentioned was that they would of liked a second pillow but no one went down to reception to ask....

    After booking this hotel for my hen do in March and then seeing lots of negative reviews in the summer I was dreading turning up to the hotel but I was so pleased. Yes the hotel isn't in the nicest of areas, it is right next door to a strip club and there are a lot of kebab & phone shops on the road but we heard hardly any noise from outside and the hotel itself was lovely. The location is great as it is only a 5minute walk to the train station and the main attractions are only a 10/15 minute walk away. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and spoke good English which was helpful. The rooms were basic but very clean & the beds were comfy. It is definitely worth paying for the breakfast, there is a big selection & again the staff were lovely. We stocked up so we didn't need to have any lunch. There is an Italian restaurant next to the hotel which smelt amazing but we didn't eat there. I would ignore the negative comments and would definitely stay here again as it is great value for money :-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.9
    Value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room of a family member was not updated and was rather worn and tired looking. Like the other reviews, the area of Munich is not ideal. Surprisingly for us, it seemed nicer and quieter at night than during the day.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was updated and modern and the location was in good proximity to the train station and the town center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of sex shops, bars and other cheap shows very close to the hotel with the crowd to match. It didn't really bother us because there are lots of other hotels on the same street and the area is basically safe

    Spacious rooms, location near Hauptbahnhof, nice and hearty breakfast for €11 but you get enough to skip lunch!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in a very dodgy area. Lots of sex shops and unsavoury characters around the streets. Rooms were rather tired. Broken windows and mirrors.

    Excellent breakfast! Centrally located for easy access to city centre and transport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.9
    Great value and location for Oktoberfest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in the red light district. Right in between several strip clubs. But hey, it was a good value and central location!

    Rooms were very comfortable and well equipped for the price! Great location for Oktoberfest!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    the staff was bothering 2-3 times a day, including early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff was bothering 2-3 times a day, including early morning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is *Not* "Four Star". 🤨

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    The rooms were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator to the last floor (Nr 6) were we stayed.

    The rooms were nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff Locatin so good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice big rooms, with 24 your front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the rooms, and the fans didn’t work- led to two very uncomfortable nights sleep

    Nice big rooms, with 24 your front desk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Nothing really exciting but nothing really bad either
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really exciting but nothing really bad either

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Room was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy, it is impossible to sleep. All night long, there was ladies talking each other very loudly.

    Room was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice room in otherwise unpleasant area
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC @35C outside! Noisy street - bars and some red-light establishments Small room

    Modern room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Everything was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay in when you want to explore the city and get into the museums. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Free loan of really good bikes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfest. Good location, only 1 km to Rathaus. Hotel have a parking area.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: