Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bavaria Superior 3 stars

Sunklergässchen 11, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Germany

#5 of 19 hotels in Berchtesgaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1965 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator which is also typical for the area, but if a little infirm staff will assist.

    Good sizes room with balcony. Breakfast typical buffet and quite acceptable. Easy parking and access to town. Staff more than helpful . Whats not to like when you visit one off the most spectacular places in the world. I know, I was fortunate to live here for 5 years

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Under the bed dusty, the rest superb. There s a hill to climb every time to town. Or you can go down it and wait for the bus to take you into the centre of town.

    Loved the Bavarian room decor simple but authentic. Same with the breakfast room. Breakfast was amazing more choice than i have seen in any other hotel ever. Also did filled rolls and cakes free from 11 to 5 pm free and free coffee, tea machine 24 hours a day. Free sauna steam room. And free bus travel locally, hotel gives you a card on arrival for your stay , you have to give card back on departure of they charge i think it is 15 euros each. This card also gives you some money off the attractions. Wolfgang saw to whatever you requested, info, travel, and taxi. You could see the hotel as you come off the train and out of the station. You can walk to it no need to get a taxi, we had wheels on our case so ok for us to walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was relatively small and bed was ok but not great

    Close to train station. We received great help from staff in planning our 1day stay activities. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water tea coffee in room I no you have 24hr tea station in dining room but our room was 60 stairs up so long way up and down to get it. When you need a drink Restaurants all close by but steep hill to climb to get to them having said this we really enjoyed our stay

    Location was good put our bikes in garage when there was space very knowledgeable about local area snacks(rolls cakes) available after breakfast till 6pm free tea coffee station also free 24hrs very good breakfast also honesty bar available 24hours good choice to be had good views of mountains from resturant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit too small and not all customer's car fit in there. There are no many alternatives...

    Breakfast was excellent. Hotel gives you a card for free public transportation, and location is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect and as advertised

    Fantastic hosts, great room with balcony with great view Free coffee and snacks throughout the day lovely touch Hosts were so welcoming when we arrived and let us park our motorcycle in their garage Would definitely recommend Lovely friendly hotel Thank you Petra and Wolfgang

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not as elegant as the ones shown on the website. Bathroom was small. For one night stays the Hotel takes full payment at time of Booking.

    Picture perfect Bavarian Hotel up a hill off the main road. On site Free parking is essential and we got the last space. Our Room was comfortable and we had 2 small balconies one overlooked the river the other the railway station. Lovely mountains in the background. 7 minute walk uphill to the Old Town. 5 minute drive to the Salt Mine. Coffee machine next to breakfast room available 24 hours. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff and great location. They allow the use of the dining area after hours which is great after a day of hiking. The parking lot was spacious when compared to other locations, and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the suite was spacious, the bathroom was long and thin with little room to manoeuvre around the washbasin. The television would have been better placed in the bedroom rather than the adjacent lounge.

    An ideal location and a very welcoming reception. We had a small suite on the top floor which was spacious. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. But it was an odd layout ... breakfast was really good - frickandells !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good

    This is a traditional hotel with very friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms and fantastic views..great additions were coffee/tea all day, complimentary lunch and free bus ticket...great few days

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. For those who have a hard time doing stairs, there is no elevator.

    It was a lovely hotel and about a 15 minute walk from downtown Berchtesgaden. The breakfast was very extensive as far the selection of things to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room without balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest part of the room looks quit old compared with the ensuite though. The corridor was quit dark at night and I had trouble finding and corridor light switch. 我那间房床头一面镜子怪慎人的不过貌似每间格局不一样就我那间那样

    Great location with less than 5 min walk from the station and is located next to the river, which provides fantastic view when having breakfast in the panoramic dining room. The breakfast itself is wonderful as well, with good selection of hot food and cold drinks. The ensuite in my room is newly built and really modernised. Totally worth the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room without balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A rich variety of buffet breakfast and 24-hour coffee maker available for hotel guests together with guest card for free traveling by bus in Berchtesgaden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small quibble: bathroom lighting could be better.

    Quaint and very comfortable B&B serving a wonderful breakfast buffet in a lovely setting. Balcony rooms offer gorgeous views. Julia and other staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small but not an issue as it was very clean.

    Friendly & helpful owner. Good choice at the breakfast buffet. Good variety of teas & freshly ground coffee available all day. Wonderful view from the breakfast room. Location is great to access public transport, & all the sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was shower is small

    Loved hotel Bavaria!! Great location, big comfy rooms, great coffee station available 24hrs (no charge) and they also provide small snacks (free of charge) staff were so lovely!!! Free local bus card was a huge binus!! Def stay again!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very nice view from the room. The hotel is very close to the train station. There are a lot of choice for breakfast, 24h free coffee. Really nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator at the hotel so it might be troublesome for travellers with big luggages. However we didn't have any problems on this as we arrived by car.

    Room is nice and clean. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is great, lots of variety and fantastic view. Free parking. Highly recommended place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and may pose a challenge for the elderly or for tourists with huge luggages. However, the service staff offered to carry our heavy luggages up the stairs.

    The service provided by the staff was exceptional and bus pass for the day was provided. Breakfast spread was awesome and we really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was hard to get in and out of but otherwise no complaints.

    Room was sparkling clean and big enough to lounge around. Restaurants near the hotel were abundant and within walking distance. Parking is hard to get to at first but once you find it (not hard) there is plenty of room. Location was central and breakfast was astounding for being included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be perfect if the clogged pipe is fixed.

    The staff was so kind and tried to solve and compensate us the bathroom problem. She also gave us many information about visiting the city center and Königssee. The food and drink was plentiful and good. The sauna was so good for tired travelers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took 10 minutes to get some hot water for shower in the morning. I was almost about to give up. The drainage might need some maintenance in the tub as it was very slow. So is the tiltable door - sometimes it would stuck in the tilt position and hard to push back. Another issue was that I found it very smelly in the outside court yard, not sure if it was due to the garbage bin or something else.

    Wish I had booked more days. The lady owner was super welcoming. They provide fantastic breakfast and a generous 24x7 snacks & coffee, which I've never seen in other hotels. Location and view is good, 5 minutes walk to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Me and my brother had a wonderful time in Hotel Bavaria. We discussed our hiking plans everyday and saw all the amazing natural wonders like Konigssee, Obersee (in our opinion the best!), Hintersee and Ramsau, and Kneifelspitze. We loved everything about the hotel they are so kind and helpful and they have a wonderful breakfast and tea selection. I would definitely recommend this place. Also very close to the train and busstation which is very convenient if you travel around. Great surroundings too and all hiking paths are well marked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a light on the balcony illuminate of hotel sign. It makes the room bright.

    There was amazing wiew of mountain, the room really big and clean. The receptionist was smiley and helpful. Breakfast was rich

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However I do have to mention for the room we got, it’s washroom is very small, comparable in size with Japanese hotels’ ( if u ever been to jap you will understand). We were quite curious how European visitors were able to take shower in such a tiny cubicle.

    We really loved the breakfast buffet, with wide range of selection and everything from scrambled egg to sausage to fish slice taste very good. As a small family business hotel it has definitely outdone other big hotels we have stayed throughout out Europe trip. And the friendliness of staffs worths a good thumb up also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy with passing vehicles & pedestrians & people within the hotel

    Coffee & tea were available along with cakes & snacks free of charge through the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are family trip with 4 adults and 2 kids from Taiwan. The staffs of Bavaria Hotel are very helpful and friendly. The give great smile and provide useful information and great service. The rooms are cozy, quiet and clean. The family room is pretty big and there is a bathtub in the bathroom, which is great for travellers to get rid of the tiredness after a long day trip. My family and I had a happy and unforgettable time at Bavaria Hotel. We would like to highly recommend the travellers, if you come to Berchtesgarden or Koenig See, it would be a great choice to stay at Bavaria Hotel. :))

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet can be improved.

    The breakfast is awesome! The staffs are very nice and they offered us a free ticket to go to Königssee. The view is also wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property owner and the team is extremely friendly, helpful and make you feel like home. We arrived early in the morning, they offered a free breakfast and managed to arranged rooms for us after the breakfast. They are also helpful and informative when we have questions on local transportation. The breakfast is awesome. The bed is comfortable too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift in the premise.

    The hotel is walking distance from Berchtesgaden train, bus station and city center. if you are planning to go round using public transport then the hotel is ideally located. The room was clean and airy with a balcony. Room number 16 which is on 2nd floor and has a really beautiful view. The breakfast is hearty with special mention to free Tea/Coffee and Croissant all day. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside we had was the wall of the bathtub/shower in our room was high and was a little difficult to get in/out of for short people.

    Room was great. View from our balcony was beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thing was excellent

    Very friendly staff answered all our question, spoke very good English . Free tea/ coffee & snacks were a lovely touch, the parking was easy and the hotel was in a good position for the town. Would return as this was one of the most welcoming hotels we have stayed in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant on site. Arrived after 7 pm/ staff member just about to leave so no feeling of people at hand if we needed advice on local restaurants, etc. Expensive compared to Munich hotels.

    Lovely breakfast with good variety of food - nice breakfast room. Free tea/coffee available all day and free refreshments in afternoon. Lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the room under the roof, very uncomfortable, we expected a lot more for 100 EUR a night. There are other cheaper places on booking with better room. Wifi signal was terrible and could not surf continuously. Heater was broken in the living room, especially bad situation for room under the roof.

    Breakfast was great, and free tea and snacks throughout the day. Nice location. Free local bus ticket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear some traffic from main road with window open. The bed could have been more comfortable.

    They offer free sandwiches and cakes in the afternoon, which was great after driving jetlagged from Munich. Breakfast excellent. Spacious room with patio.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located in the Berchtesgaden center near train/bus station. Friendly owners are always ready to help. There are good breakfasts and an opportunity to use drinks in bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It’s out of our expectation that this hotel provides 24hr drinks and sandwiches at the restaurant.. their breakfast is awesome with lots of variety! I will stay here again next time. Worth the money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Petra, our host gave us a tour of the facilities which were excellent. The hotel is only a few hundred metres wakj from the station (turn left out of the station). It is only another 5-10 minutes to the town centre. The hotel itself has such a relaxed atmosphere and was very welcoming. We were genuinely sorry to leave.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Queen size bed and tiny bathroom.

    Very good breakfast and 24/7 excellent choice of hot tea and coffees available. There are some snacks as well. Parking is free.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location is near to bus station, it is convenient to take the bus to Konigssee. Breakfirst is also great and especially for the 24hrs coffee and cake/bread, it make me comfort when I wake up because of the jet-lag at the first night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted the romantic room like we had last time where the tub was big enough for both of us. We didn’t get that one but the picture they showed was of that room

    Kind staff. Great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best hotel during the 20 days we stayed in Mid-Europe. The price was average, but we received much more than the price could provide. --Hotel location- <10 min to bus station and main shopping streets. Hotel provides free traffic card to nearby attractions like king's lake. --Hotel Staff-- super warm heart and pro. --Hotel Breakfast -- As many as we can expect from a 3 star small hotel --Hotel Room -- Clean and soft bed --Bonus -- they provide all kinds of tea, coffee, and bread, snacks FOR FREE for almost all day!!! Don't hesitate to book it when you are comparing somewhere else with similar price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Lift Available, so if you stayed on third floor you will need to carry your luggage through staircases. Maybe the cleanness can be improved a little bit.

    Very Friendly Staffs, Delicious Breakfast with amazing Mountain View, Interesting Bavarian Style Decorated Rooms, Great Location, Easy Parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an attic room which caused a few head-bumping problems and a degree of claustrophobia.

    The location. The accessibility of complimentary snacks and hot drinks at any time. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The unexpected little extras.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Facilities look old but great with a heritage feel. Nice view from the small private balcony. Serving one of the best breakfast I have taken during my trip in Bavaria area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room without balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best view but really good single room.

    Location was very good. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast really good and all day free hot drinks together with light snacks much appreciated. Will hopefully be returning next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a stylish hotel. Service, welcome , atmosphere and room were all of the Highest order. It has quality and excellence without stuffiness. I will certainly return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was great!

    Staff was very friendly and helpful; room was neat. clean, and well maintained with a balcony and a great view. Breakfast was first class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings and interior were very dated. Not necessarily a bad thing but they come across dirty even if they aren't.

    Value for the money and the breakfast, also incredible views of the alps from our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold in October, only one radiator in the bathroom in my room.

    Very good location, easy walking distance to the market square. Hospitable staff. Coffee machine in the dining hall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts and showers flooded a bit after a long shower

    Great location and clean rooms! Nearby the Berchtesgaden Hbf and tourist centre. Lots of food options just up the hill (small hike up required)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was very creaky and the mattresses were just too soft for me; it felt like it was dipping in the middle which didn't help my back after a week of backpacking. It was also a real shame that having a balcony room meant being next to a busy and noisy road, meaning the balcony then lost all appeal. I know the hotel is not to blame for this, but had I known I may have chosen a different room.

    The staff were super friendly and very helpful, giving us lots of information for the plans we'd made during our stay. The continental breakfast spread was the best I've ever seen, and we loved the all day availability of tea and cake. The spa room looked amazing, though we sadly didn't get time to use it. The location was perfect for getting to the train and bus station or into town, and our room was lovely, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is ok but when you want to go eat in the center of town you need to climb a steep street, not a super hard walk but some people will find it hard and you might want to take the car.

    Second time here, the staff is welcoming and helpful, breakfast was varied and delicious. You get a discount card for attractions in the area. Room is spacious, clean and comfortable. Overall great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Terrific warm welcome from owner and provision of lots of good information. Family suite very big and comfortable, exceptional size for the price. Very clean. Great spa bath. Snacks and coffee and tea available all day. Beautiful breakfast room with view. Very handy to railway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - from the greeting to the room, plus great breakfast. It is an outstanding hotel, one of the best I've ever stayed in. Proper coffee too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities closed at 7pm. Should extend to 9pm so hotel guest will have more time to enjoy the facilities at night.

    Great location, clean room, friendly staff. Free snacks available with 24 hours free coffee & tea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the balconies look onto a busy road.

    The staff were excellent, very helpful and welcoming to us. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, easily the best selection and quality I have experienced at a hotel breakfast. There is 24 hour coffee\tea available in the dining room along with complimentary sandwiches and snacks up to around 7pm each day. The Spa area was very well kept and very quiet, just perfect for relaxing in after a day walking around the Bavarian Alps.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV never really worked (think reception problem), would have been nice to have breakfast start earlier than 7:30 AM for hikers like me.

    Breakfast was great, staff even better, and loved the sandwiches they put out in the afternoon (was able to skip buying several lunches that way, saved time and money)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love, love, love this hotel. Staff is wonderful, rooms are not "cookie cutter", they are spacious and have character! Breakfast is plentiful. Access to coffee and tea 24/7 is AMAZING!! Parking is easy, close to everything you want to see and do! Simply fabulous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room without balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the hotel were some of the most helpful people I have ever encountered at a hotel. They immediately presented me with a guest card for free travel on the public busses and lots of useful information about the surrounding area. I also loved that they had free sandwiches and coffee available all day for guests, it was extra nice to receive after a long train journey. They also had free prosecco at the breakfast bar so you can make your own mimosa! Loved that! This hotel is also walking distance to the train station and the main part of town which is really nice if you don't have a car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is conveniently situated with a short walk to town. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is great and it was nice having coffee and tea and some snacks available all day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say that I have nothing negative to say about our stay here.

    The staff here were so friendly and welcoming. From the moment we entered right up until the moment we left. They were very helpful and accommodating. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Fantastic breakfast and views from breakfast room Free snacks and tea/coffee available all day from kitchen downstairs Luxurious bedding and very comfortable beds Beautiful town within 5 minutes walk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fantastic staff, positive friendly attitude, free sandwiches and cake with drinks throughout the daytime and an honesty bar for a late night tipple. Breakfast selection vast and fresh, all areas very clean, close to town centre, just fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find as on a hill so walking was difficult as well. Bed creaked so woke up frequently.

    Rooms beautiful, breakfast outstanding and view from breakfast room spectacular. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they could provide a storage room for luggages when checking out would be good.

    The breakfast was great and the staff at receiption was also helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly difficult to get to hotel by car due to its location on a narrow little street on a hill, but this was more than compensated for by the warm welcome.

    The really warm welcome and spacious bedroom. Excellent choice at breakfast. Well located for a short walk into the centre of the town where there are plenty of good restaurants. Also, a good place to sat if you are visiting the "Eagle's Nest"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift for taking bags to 1st or 2nd floor (but this is common in Europe). Beds were soft which is not our preferred hard type but still comfortable,

    Great location near the rail station and 10 minute walk to the town centre (uphill). On arrival we were shown the food facilities - snacks available free most of the day and tea/coffee free 24 hours. On arrival also provided with a tourist broche pack and area map - very useful. Breakfast was excellent and included hot and cold food. Lovely mountain view from balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed in #10 squeaked badly.

    Since we booked 2 nights at different times, we got 2 different rooms, #8 & #10. Both rooms were gorgeous, with great views, and the bathrooms were amazing. We enjoyed #8 more as #10 was a honeymoon suite and the bed squeaked badly. Other than that everything was fantastic. Best view and food with breakfast we have ever had! Sandwiches and cakes were available all day if you missed a meal, and great choice of teas and coffees. Local beer and wine in cooler for very reasonable prices. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was good for us, but was on a steep hill if you have mobility issues. Berchtesgaden is an expensive place to stay though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, extremely good breakfast, nice to be able to have tea/coffees whenever you wanted. The hosts were very helpful and gave us lots of info/recommendations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The mountain wiews were partly hidden by vegetation in the garden for rooms on the ground floor. Some noise from the road.

    A good selection of breakfast items. Near the railway/bus station and the center of Berchtesgaden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not dislike. Just reminder ... there is no elevator. If you have a lot of luggage, better ask lower floor. But this is not the problem for me at all. :)

    It's one of best experience during our 2 weeks vacation. Great location, excellent service, very good breakfast and coffee, and super friendly and helpful staffs. I will definitely choose it again if we will visit this city/area in the future. (But it is very popular and you have to book the room 5-6 months ago for peak season.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the way to the parking

    coffee, cakes and sandwichs available for free all day, the decoration of the room and the hotel (bavarian Gemutlichkeit), the friendlyness of the owners, the sauna and the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needed a bit of TLC- plug didn't work and part of the skirting board was coming off.

    Staff helpful and friendly. The option of having tea and coffee 24hours a day was a nice touch. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location: well communicated by car as it close to the main road, but with absolutelly no noise. Walking distance to main street and train station. Attention: every request was taken care of, including the need for special milk for breakfast. Good attention without being intrusive. Decoration. very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: