Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Germany hotel reviews
  3. Bavaria hotel reviews
  4. Berchtesgaden hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Bavaria Superior

Reviews of Hotel Bavaria Superior This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Sunklergässchen 11, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Germany

#7 of 20 hotels in Berchtesgaden

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1880 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2019

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Simple, clean, good location. Free tea and coffee 24/7, afternoon cake and rolls. Honesty bar. Very pleasant. Short walk up the hill to old Berchtesgaden.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2019

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in beautiful Berchtesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room with the balcony was a bit small and the bathroom was cramped.

    The view of the Watzmann from the breakfast room was amazing. The provision of afternoon sandwiches and 24/7 tea and coffee was very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2019

    7.1
    1. Speedy check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The shower screens didn't work well. 2. There was a hair on the bathroom floor. 3. The only socket in the room is at the foot of the wall next to the door. We needed to move the side table towards the door so that we could charge our cameras, phones, etc. (We can't put them on the floor) 4. The room was smaller than expected. It didn't look like 20 sq. m. large.

    1. Speedy check-in 2. Guest cards upon arrival 3. Various choices at buffet breakfast 4. Free snacks, coffee and tea in the afternoon (we didn't check out the coffee and tea machine at night) 5. Convenient location

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2019

    9.6
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located just 5-8 minutes away from the train station, and it is also very close to the city center of Berchtesgaden. They kindly lend me a guest card which allows me to take the local buses free of charge, which is very handy. The room is clean and tidy, the bed is extremely comfortable. Breakfast is awesome, free coffee and tea 24 hours. Staff is kind and friendly and provided me recommendations around the area.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2019

    7.1
    24HR tea and coffee in communal area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillow very soft - only one per person. European style. Small room for 2 people with average luggage amount. Tiny bathroom with a shower curtain rather than screen. Warning steep walk up to town centre. No restaurants within short walking distance - unlucky for us weather not great and heavy rain so soaked trying to get anywhere for dinner. No conditioner only shampoo and body wash. An extra luggage rack would have been nice. Seems general practice in all hotels to only provide one per room. Very soft beds.

    24HR tea and coffee in communal area. Lovely cappucino. Great buffet selection at breakfast. If leaving for first boat to Konigssee, would have missed out on breakfast, but staff allowed us to prepare our own takeaway breakfast from around 7am for no extra charge (byo zip lock bags though). Very friendly staff. Washing basket laundry for €10 - left in room in morning and all done waiting for us on our return later in the day. All day free snacks. Free local public transport card. Walking distance to station. Umbrellas loan if heavy rain. Had up to date bus timetables available at reception. Nothing too much trouble for reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel staff were excellent. It was so nice to come out of the rain in the evening and have a complimentary cup of coffee. Very good breakfast in the morning. The only thing I didn’t like on this trip was the rainy weather. However, I made the best of it despite the rainy weather.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2019

    7.9
    Our room was on the corner with two doors and two decks and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom floor was a little bit dirty when I arrived.

    Our room was on the corner with two doors and two decks and a beautiful view of the mountains. The facility was clean and the breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2019

    8.8
    Receptionist is a very nice and kind guy, breakfast is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room without balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet is too narrow, and only one light in? the living room which not bright enough for reading at night

    Receptionist is a very nice and kind guy, breakfast is very good with many choices. The hotel has free parking area, and close to the central of the town, and other well-known spots

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2019

    3.8
    My kids got upset and didn’t want to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeper getting upset when we arrived and had luggages. We had been traveling for weeks and have collected souvenirs along the way. I don’t know why people presume differently. It is sad.

    Receptionist nice, housekeeper grumpy, breakfast and coffee /tea 24 hrs. Housekeeper did not want us there. Did not provide amenities in the room .We had to ask for it. Close to the train station and town. Provided transportation card for area but did not explain how to use it but if you prefer walking it is doable.No air condition is n the rooms. If you open door and you are not a smoker, it will bother you to smell smokers from the balcony. The area is nice.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2019

    8.8
    Very friendly hotel nice rooms and excellent breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The approach to the hotel is on a very steep road and the walk to town is further up the very steep hill so if you are not in the flower of youth it will be an issue

    Very friendly hotel nice rooms and excellent breakfast and coffee

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2019

    10
    I love this hotel - the staff was super friendly and helpful with info.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was not super comfortable, but good enough. It was hot but they gave me a little fan so it worked out.

    Location great - breakfast awesome! It was the biggest and best buffet of any hotel I stayed at, and I stay at many every summer in Germany. One could go get coffee and tea free during the day, you could also get wine and beer, and just record what you bought. So convenient.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2019

    10
    stayed one night suited our needs perfectly, clean room bathroom great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location traditional hotel near train Station, was shown to our room on arrival. staff were all helpful and polite, was happy with room clean and comfortable breakfast choice and quality was amazing and view from breakfast room was amazing. Berchtesgaden is beautiful recommend salt mine and eagles nest, there is loads of other things to do.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2019

    7.5
    everything is good to me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it would be better to have air condition especially while you staying in the room in the super summer :)

    everything is good to me. breakfast is pretty good

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2019

    9.6
    The breakfast was delicious and the snack that they leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some issues with the bathtub in our bedroom. The jets randomly turned out by themselves while we were laying down to sleep and we couldn't get them to turn off. This was after the office was closed for the night so we were not sure what to do but eventually they turned off. They did not tell us what to do in case we needed someone over night.

    The breakfast was delicious and the snack that they leave out for the afternoon are great. We were able to check in early which was great because we had a tour to get to. When we checked in they already had their sandwiches/snacks out so we were able to just eat some for lunch before our tour rather than having to stop somewhere else. Our only regret was that we were only staying there one night. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2019

    3.3
    Cross your fingers that you actually get the room with a view - traffic noise is an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Based on the description online, we feel like we did not get the room that we booked and paid for. The rooms online state that there is a view of the river/landmark/mountains. We were put in the lower level room, with no view and heard freeway traffic noise all night long. The room was hot, so we were forced to keep the windows open. We were scheduled to stay three nights, but left 2 days early because we couldn't bear it. Although the hotel staff worked with us up to a point, we had to pay over 200 Euros in cash just so we could get out of the remainder of our stay. They offered to move us one level above with a view of the road, same noise level, and no view of mountains. Still not worth it! We knew going in that there was going to be noise from the road and no A/C. However, the road was much louder than we anticipated and with no view, we felt like we were not getting our money's worth.

    The room was a nice size and it was clean. Close to town.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast was quite good and the fact there also the fact...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact there was no bar.Also could do with a lift.

    Breakfast was quite good and the fact there also the fact you could have tea and coffee 24 hours free of charge

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2019

    10
    I cant recommend this hotel highly enough!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving

    My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Bavaria Superior for 2 nights in July 2019, and we seriously contemplated cancelling the next leg of our trip to Salzburg so we could stay another couple of nights as we loved it so much. This hotel is fantastic, . We arrived by train, and walked 3/4 minutes to the hotel. We were greeted by a gentleman (I'm annoyed with myself that I didn't get his name), who was so friendly and helpful, we instantly knew we would enjoy our stay just from his personality. The room was modern, clean and comfortable, our room overlooked the entrance to the kitchen, there was quite a lot of noise in the mornings, especially the second morning when there was a laundry delivery/collection at 7am, this really didn't bother us as we didn't want to waste the day in bed, but if you want to lie in, maybe ask not to be located in these rooms. The breakfast provided is amazing, such a variety of beautiful food to start the day. There is tea and coffee making facilities 24 hours a day, and a fridge stocked with soft drinks and beers. There is a very family orientated feeling to this hotel, we felt so welcomed. Also Berctesgaden and the surrounding areas such as Konigsee are stunning, we have fallen in love with the town , we are already planning a return next year for a week, and we will definitely be staying at the Hotel Bavaria Superior.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2019

    9.6
    Relaxing hotel - very clean in great location. nice breakfast and brilliant sauna and steam room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed the hotel and wouldn't ask for there to be any improvements.

    The location was superb a short walk from both the railway station and the town center. The sauna and steam room were very very relaxing after a days walking round berchetsgaden. The breakfast was brilliant. The selection of drinks were superb. I would stay here again if I was visiting Berchetsgaden.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2019

    9.6
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is good. The hotel serves guests coffee and tea for free 24 hours. Besides, they offer guests bus cards, so we can take a bus for free with the card!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2019

    7.5
    Location was great - breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a loft room - compact for the taller man ! Quite claustrophobic. To be honest we were out most of the time so didn’t spoil the stay.

    Location was great - breakfast very good

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2019

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was small. Room was small. A restaurant/bar would have been nice (maybe I should have checked the small print) Hotel decor seemed tired. It's called 'Bavaria Superior' - I wouldn't call it superior.

    Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good. Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2019

    7.1
    Great selection for breakfast, with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definitely worth booking a room with a view. We didn’t have one. We looked out over the courtyard, which feels like it looks on other guests rooms.

    Great selection for breakfast, with an amazing view. Staff were very friendly and happy to help!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2019

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived before the check in time as I had a tour of the eagles nest to do. They where accommodating and let me into my room early. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, breath- taking views, and superb hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived during heat wave and record high temps. No air conditioning or ceiling fans. Uncomfortable to sleep due to temps

    Location. Breath taking scenery. Bavarian ambiance. Hotel staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2019

    8.3
    Hot and beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning. Traveled during unique hot weather in excess of 95 degrees. No ceiling fans or AC. Hot!

    Perfect location. Great view of Alps. Typical Bavarian experience. Excellent hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2019

    10
    Great location for walking access to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing at all

    Great location for walking access to town. Helpful staff. Nice room. Wonderful breakfast. Snacks available all day including access to a coffee machine that rivals Starbucks.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2019

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Perfect location. I would recommend Berchestgaden to anyone travelling in the area. Julia at the hotel was an excellent host and the hotel is spotlessly clean. good breakfast selection too

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    8.3
    Good meals, fair accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom is not as clean as i expected. The curtain seems not that clean. No air condition.

    The staff is helpful. The breakfast is very good. Besides, it provide 24 hours drink bar and snack bar(from 11am to 6pm) , very considerate to customer's needs, much aporeciated. The view of the double bed room is very good (mountain n lake view).

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, wonderful breakfast room and food, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was unusually hot for early June with temperatures up to 92 F. Unfortunately the room did not have air conditioning which made sleeping at night difficult.

    Great location, wonderful breakfast room and food, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    6.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was up 55 steps and there was no lift or offer of help. The path into town was exceptionally steep which the publicity does not mention and which some would find very difficult. The Wi Fi was non existent in our room. (No 18) and the sloped ceiling would be inconvenient for anyone tall. Would recommend the hotel providing you can cope with the steep hill but don’t stay on the 3 rd floor

    Panoramic views

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    10
    Berchtesgaden is a beautiful place and this is a great place to launch from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location and view out our window was great. The owners and staff were very friendly and came up with some great suggestions on what to do that were the highlight of our stay.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    8.8
    Great location and views from the breakfast/dining room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All wonderful!

    Great location and views from the breakfast/dining room (make sure to drive around the back street for their free parking). Nice breakfast (also snacks available after the breakfast window and coffee included). Room was on the small side but clean and perfect for a honeymoon. Sauna and relaxation room was small and romantic. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    9.6
    Short stay, but worth every minute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The honesty bar was great, but with limited stock (wine, beers and soft drinks), but an open bar in the evenings (even if it was just at weekends) would make it perfect.

    The room (the Ganghofer suite) was beautiful, with a fabulous balcony with an amazing view of the river and the mountains. Staff were friendly and efficient. Restaurant was clean and spacious. Couldn't fault anything.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    7.1
    The staff were nice, but they were very busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the double room without balcony, located on the top floor. The height is not so enough, it is easy to hit the beam, and we moved around carefully to avoid injury. The lighting configuration of the room is a bit weird, the bathroom is very bright, but the bed and sofa area are dim.

    The staff were nice, but they were very busy. Not far away from train station. Within few minutes walking to the downtown area. Good breakfast, the view of the restaurant is lovely. A great view over the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    10
    Five Star Plus! Highly recommend, well worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything negative about this Hotel, the Staff and the Breakfast, just "OUTSTANDING".

    The Staff, especially Julia was outstanding, she went the extra distance to make our trip as comfortable as possible, answering our questions in English about the area, what to see, where to eat, she always took the time & gave us her full attention, she is an asset to the Hotel. The Free Breakfast was one of the best ever we have ever had, plenty of everything, literally, nothing was missing, something for every ones taste believe me.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Seventh time I’ve stayed here. Just as good as the first time. And as for the breakfast excellent. Staff and owners friendly. Clean hotel good location. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    10
    Overall we had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel and the great view from the balcony of our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing negative about Hotel Bavaria is, there is no elevator and we had to carry our luggage up the stairs to the 3rd floor.Not easy if you are a senior. Nobody around to help( the girl at the reception did offer to help, but my suitcase was bigger than her).Still a nice place to stay.

    Beautiful old Bavarian house,nice furniture,great breakfast in a room with the view of the Watzmann.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    10
    Great cosy hotel with superb view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The upslope to hotel might not be convenient for guests with a lot of luggages.

    The suite was very spacious for 3 adults, water temperature/pressure was good and bathroom floor was heated. View from the balcony was superb. All day coffee and tea and snacks were provided for guests in the restaurant area. Hotel staff were so friendly and gave us great trip suggestions. Hotel is at good location to train station and old town.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    8.8
    Location, friendly and helpful hosts, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The short steep stretch of road approaching hotel, could pose a problem to the elderly with heavy luggages

    Location, friendly and helpful hosts, excellent breakfast. 10 mins walk from the train station and about same time to town. Room was clean. Breakfast was excellent with free beverages provided throughout the day.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    8.8
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Breakfast is delicious with a lot of choices. In addition to complimentary snacks until 6pm, coffee and tea are provided free of charge 24 hours a day.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay when visiting the area and Konigssee lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the bed could be slightly bigger for single bedrooms, but that wasn't an issue for me at all (had a balcony view!).

    Amazing location by the river of Berchtesgaden and very close (just a 10 min walk) to the train station. Breakfast was included and it was very diverse and fulfilling. I arrived very late that day (about 10 pm), so they left my room key in a locker for self checkin, which was a plus. I absolutely recommend this place if you think of stopping by to visit the gorgeous Konigssee park/lake!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    10
    All staffs are so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Non

    All staffs are so friendly. The room is very clean and cozy with bathtub. They offer free coffee and lots kind of tea 24 hours. You can also have some sandwiches for afternoon tea. The breakfast is awesome! The hosts are so nice. We will definitely choose this hotel again when next visits!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was amazing! The staff were so nice the rooms we perfect! We had a balcony overlooking the mountains and the river which I highly recommend. Also the breakfast was top notch!!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    10
    The location and facilities as well as the staff were on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sorry i liked everything im not easily pleased. However, its green for a reason so expect rain in late spring.

    The location and facilities as well as the staff were on point. The history and scenic beauty amazing.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    8.3
    Were able accommodate us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had room in the corner by the car park noisy, door shook when hall doors were opened and closed, mattresses not to comfortable. All considering was booked well in advance. The staff was more like a machine

    Were able accommodate us. Breakfeast was very good, sauna was awesome

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic stay close to center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 3 faces the busy road and was a little loud until the traffic died down.

    Location is 5 min (uphill) walk to the city center. Views from the breakfast room is spectacular. Food served is extensive and very tasty. Hotel staff speak English and are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Absolute brilliant location to the centre of town & easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Geez, if I had to nit pick I’d say the pillows were to soft, personal thing & the tv was a bit small given its location in the room.

    Absolute brilliant location to the centre of town & easy private parking. I got a free upgrade which was a nice surprise, had 2 decks at different angles. Bed was super comfy & once worked the shower out it was brilliant. Beautiful clean friendly town with picturesque scenery anywhere you looked. There’s no meals or bar but the breakfast was great & plenty of it. Staff couldn’t do enough to help either. Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Everything! The staff was wonderful and was super nice and accommodating about giving us a late checkout. We brought our pug and they didn't charge us extra. The garden was wonderful to relax in, and the views are spectacular even though our room didn't have one- but we didn't mind because the view from the breakfast/ snack room was simply unbeatable! The sauna was also nice. Perfect stay!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    9.2
    Breakfast is very tasty and the location of the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel facilties would be excellent if lift service is provided.

    Breakfast is very tasty and the location of the hotel is close to railway and bus station.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    7.5
    The room is small but sufficient for solo traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator might be the only point I dislike as I have a big luggage.

    The room is small but sufficient for solo traveller. Breakfast is yum. Location is good. They provided a public transportation card.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    7.1
    Small details let down this cute hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room without balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The single room was a bit of a let down, perhaps the other rooms are nicer. The blinds did not work, and the reception phone was permanently busy. I later found that this is because the reception is only open until 8pm. The shower rod had tin foil stuffed in it to hide an opening. The (very thin) curtains were uneven lengths.

    Despite the lack of attention to detail/priorities, the room was cute, and I appreciated the 24 hr coffee/tea station as well as the pastries and sandwiches from 11 to 6. They give you a free bus ticket when you check in which is very handy. I left too early to try the breakfast which starts at 7:30

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    10
    The breakfast was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that could have been improved was the WiFi. I had to reconnect my phone several times while we were there because the signal wasn’t very strong.

    The breakfast was incredible! (And the view was stunning, as well.) It was a treat to stay here after several hostel stays along our trip - Very charming and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    7.9
    Very nice rooms with possible view on the Watzmann.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast. Coffee out of the Maschine wasn’t so tasty. Only some fresh fruit but a lot out of the tin. Very small spa area.

    Very nice rooms with possible view on the Watzmann.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    9.6
    Highly recommended! Very warm and relaxing nice B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s no elevator, but it’s no big deal for us though. I really recommend staying here!

    Best breakfast with a breathtaking view! Snack bar in the afternoon and 24hr coffee machine The staff were so nice and gives us guests cards at check-in so we could take buses for free

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    7.5
    Ok, but lack of atmosphere. No restaurant or bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no restaurant in this hotel. No bar. Just some self-service in the evening.

    Breakfast was very good. Lots to choose from. Staff nice. Room ok.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    9.2
    A lovely stay at the heart of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception isn't open 24/7 which takes away some cosiness (although there's always coffee). The shower is very old and doesn't fit the picture of a romantic hotel. The sauna wasn't open long enough for us to use it (it closes at 7pm).

    We had a lovely view from the room. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was truly good: lots of fresh options and, again, a lovely view over the mountains. The bed was also comfy. And we had 2 balconies!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    8.3
    Small but cosy hotel in walking distance to the city centre of Berchtesgaden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room without balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 35 is really small (but nice and clean). The shower drain was blocked and the sliding door of the shower did not close all the way.

    Very friendly staff. Great choice at breakfast. Free tea & coffee 24 hrs. Free snacks during the day. Filled fridge where you can take what you like 24 hrs and just write drown your room number. Great view from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    9.2
    Welcoming Bavarian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike really

    Welcome. Free daily snacks with 24 hour access to drinks. Free hot drinks. Pleasant surprise. View from hotel balcony of mountains and river.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    10
    Very enjoyable holiday , we will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there was nothing we didn't like. It was perfect

    The bed was soo comfy😊. The variety of food and juices for breakfast was amazing. The scenery from out bedroom was breathtaking.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.9
    The owner of the house is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view of the hotel is just soso. I can barely see Mountain View from the room. And the room is not so clean probably because the facilities are old.

    The owner of the house is very nice. And high tea is kindly offered everyday without extra cost. The location is nice as it is close to the Hbf.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whirlpool in the room did not work (we were told, that it should be repaired soon)

    The bed was very comfortable. Nice breakfast. Sauna and whirlpool in the spa area were good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    10
    It was a very nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a very nice stay!!! Staff are very friendly. Room are so nice, my first Bavarian style experiences. The hotel also very close to Hbf, which is super convenient for going to any sightseeing! Also, we got a free bus card for one day!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.1
    A nice place to stay but a little over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whirlpool was out of order and I felt that the price we paid for the suite should have ensured that things like that were working. Wheelchair access would be nice. The property is on a very steep hill.

    I loved the breakfast room with the view to the Watzmann. The Receptionist was friendly and helpful on arrival and departure. The breakfast was nice and the benefit of having 24 hours hot drinks was very nice. It was also nice to have an honesty bar (at reasonable prices).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, free parking, honest staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not able to get Watzmann mountain view room. The room will be a bit noise if the window is opened as it is next to the main road. During cold weather period, this is fine as you will close/ajar the windows most of the time. It may be difficult for elderly to walk from the hotel to the town marketplace area as this needs to walk up hill for 15 mins.

    Provide free parking, 24/7 coffee/tea station, excellent breakfast. Very good view of Watzmann mountain from hotel breakfast room. We only came to know from the hotel via booking.com message that we left our ipad in our room after checked-out while we were on the way to Salzburg. Hence, we returned to get back our ipad from the reception. Excellent staff/hotel honesty!!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    the best experince during my travel to Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really really good. Location is convenient, just 5 minutes far away from the train station. The facilities are all very clean and comfortable. The staff are very hospitality, they offer me a card with which I can take all the bus for free. Breakfast in this hotel is extremely super. And in all the time, you can have snacks and sandwiches and coffee for free. I will definitely recommend to my friends.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    9.6
    Very good view from hotel restaurant and room balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good view from hotel restaurant and room balcony. Enjoy the breakfast and afternoon tea in the restaurant. 24 hours coffee and tea. Only 3-5 minutes to train station by walk. Very good location and service!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    Fantastic authentic Bavarian hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all was great.

    Fantastic hotel with great friendly and professional staff, authentic Bavarian hospitality and great location with tremendous views.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.6
    The room was beautiful, staff was welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was beautiful, staff was welcoming and helpful. The breakfast room was the nicest of our trip! It was decorated thoughtfully and the breakfast selection was outstanding. There is a large selection of sandwiches/snacks available for no charge every afternoon. There is no bar in the hotel, but you can purchase alcohol in the breakfast room in the evening on the honor system.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.2
    A really lovely stay. Would recommend this Hotel 100%!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a little gem! Cozy, comfortable, clean and warm, with fabulous, friendly, helpful, staff and a really good buffet breakfast selection, and a choice of free snacks (between 11am -6pm) and hot drinks (27/7). Another nice touch was that we were given two free bus passes, to use whilst staying in Berchtesgarten.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little expensive, but that's normal for the area.

    Excellent breakfast, and very friendly staff. The view from the Hotel is really good, so too the location. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    The rooms were very nice and the breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very nice and the breakfast was amazing. They had snacks and drinks for us in the afternoon which was an added bonus. Loved our stay!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.8
    Great value and location for enjoying this beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator available, and we were on the top level. If you have walking/climbing problems, you may want to request lower level room.

    Great location to experience the beautiful nature areas and old town area which was just a 5 minute walk away. Plenty of free parking at hotel. Nice to have coffee/drinks and snacks available during the day and good breakfast buffet. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.2
    in a great location walking distance from town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    in a great location walking distance from town center. The breakfast spread had a lot of options and was very delicious. The staff were very friendly and really helpful in giving us advice and guidance about town. We had a great stay here!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    Very very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is not far away from the train station, however you will need to walk 2 to 3 minutes up to the higher level.

    The breakfast was very very good, a lot variety, and nice food. My view of my room is nice too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.0
    Book directly through the hotel website to get the room you request, otherwise forget it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a suite, through Booking.com. In spite of having requested for Watzmann views from the room while booking, and having emailed separately, having telephoned, and having left a message and talked to the people at the hotel, we ended up with a cheap suite with old cheap furniture, no view of the mountains from the room (one has to go out to the balcony and sit facing the noisy main road to see the mountains), with a tub with no working jets, and early morning noise from the road, and from people coming into the courtyard beside the bedroom. We were told they would only give the good suites or rooms to the people who booked directly with the hotel, and that they don't answer voice mails or emails. Good luck with that.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Bavaria Superior Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: