Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Berial 3 stars

Gartenstrasse 30, Stadtmitte, 40479 Düsseldorf, Germany

#44 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 718 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The information about the parking were not so clearly explained on the site and at the desk.

    Great bed, very clean room, very quiet, super close to city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a room in a building a block from the actual hotel - not necessarily a bad thing - but we did struggle upon arrival to get into the room - there were three separate keys for three doors and the first door downstairs was tricky to unlock. We paid to park in a garage nearby and it was very expensive. I'm not sure if the hotel has a better priced option but it may be worth asking them about...

    The location is great. Right in the heart of the city, within 10 minutes of the Altstadt and right next to a beautiful park. There was a lot to choose from at breakfast. Cold cuts, cheese, bread, pastries, fruit, veggies, cereal, etc, etc. Our room was actually in a separate property. The gentleman at the front desk called it an "apartment". It was very large and bright and looked onto a beautiful backyard. It had a homey feel and didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low shower water pressure (3rd floor, acceptable anyway)

    Great Location: close to the park, walking distance to downtown area, yet in a quiet neighbourhood. Nice and friendly staff Clean and spacious room, comfortable mattress Communication: I e-mailed them for a couple of questions beforehand, and they answered it promptly clarifying everything. FYI: Parking nearby €16 per night (validation and payment at the front desk), Dog (middle-large sized) €10 per night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only wish I'd had another outlet for charging my tablet.

    Very elegant rooms and very clean. Its cetral location was great for getting around the city. The breakfast was also excellent (super coffee!) and staff very friendly as well as helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sometimes the elevator got stuck on the 4th floor, door is not closing properly. At the moment there are works being done on the building, und they start as early as 6am.

    Very good mattress. Generous breakfast. The last day I came down with a bronchitis, and they sent a big plate of fresh fruit to the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be better. The experience was perfect and the price great.

    Everything was awesome. The hotel is located really close to the center, the decoration is modern and everything is really clean. The room had a private terrace in the ground floor! The bed was really comfortable and despite we were next to the dinning room, everything was really quiet. The breakfast was AMAZING. I could eat anything I wanted, cakes, toasts, meat, cheese, bread, eggs, butter, anything!! The staff was more than kind and always smiling. I want to book again with them!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a bit of problem checking in since the night receptionist doesn't speak English while I can only understand a bit of German and has a baby level skill of German-speaking. Just gave him my passport in the end and all good.

    The bed was amazing. Room was big enough for me, bathroom was clean and has basic amenities. Breakfast was also amazing, there are hot meal choices which I found rare in Germany. Coffee was also good. Near a tram station and a small park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much. Our room was probably a little small for the size bed, but I wouldn't have traded the bed for more space.

    The most comfortable bed we have ever found in Germany. The breakfast buffet was very nice. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So conveniently located with an easy stroll into city. The hotel has an amazing decor but more importantly delivered first class, friendly service and beautifully clean rooms with everything we needed for our stay. Breakfast offered a wide selection of foods including fresh fruits, cheeses, meats and a hot food buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were not as friendly and helpful as reception and housekeeping.

    The hotel facilities were of a high standard. It was clean and the reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attitude of breakfast crew, quite unfriendly and rude when I came just on time for breakfast

    Breakfast buffet is great, rooms are small but more than enough for a business stay, love the location - just 5 minutes by foot to the main street, great for a long morning run

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 444 which was absolutely beautiful. The windows open on thee sides so you have a very bright room. The bathroom was fantastic, there's also a home trainer in the room. Bed was very special, breakfast buffet has a rich choice of products. One of those rare cases where the hotel is actually a lot nicer than it presents itself on booking. Would definitely come again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gave me double room in the attic, fifth floor, with sofa bed for the children, the lift goes only to the fourth floor, so you need to continue by stairs. So hard with luggage. And with rain become noisy.

    Good location. Great staff. Fabulous decoration. Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a little on the small side but not a great issue for solo travellers.

    The location of the Hotel is very good, perfect for walking to most parts of the city but in a quiet area so noise issues at night. Staff were both welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your electronic devices will not charge overnight: to turn off the wall lamp above your bed at night, you need to remove the magnetic key from its place first. Once key removed, ALL electricity shuts off, wall sockets included. You wake up in the morning and phone still discharged. Fortunately, they have a 'charging station' (mobile phone charge box) at the reception, so you can still charge your device after checking out at 11:00 AM. The alternative would be to sleep with the wall lamp on (directly over your head) and have your device charge overnight :-)

    Excellent shower setup (temp, pressure and controls) and very good bath amenities. Delicious and diversified breakfast and great coffee. Interesting décor throughout. Clean little hotel on a quiet Dusseldorf street. Very close to the lovely Hofgarten park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was incredible but the recepcionist don´t speak english only german... really dissapointed

    Is a beatufil hotel, close to the centre around 20 minutes walking, the food is good, is cheap

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would say my only thing would to have coffee or tea making facilities, but you could get a cup of hot water anytime.

    The hotel was nice and neat, very comfy beds, breakfast had lots to choose from

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, nothing is bad about this place. It is a smaller hotel and I am used to staying in more spacious accommodations, so the small space in double guest rooms seemed pretty tight.

    The breakfast was excellent! The free WiFi was fast! The beds were comfortable! The hotel is also within reasonable walking distance from the altstadt.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find parking . One evening it took me 40 min cruising around... Definetely not for those who is with the car, but excellent for those who without.

    Location was very good, ladies in the front desk was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO WIFI!!! I lived at anex, that is in an apartment. There was Wifi connection but no internet! I have to work on my laptop so I have to use my data roaming on my phone as hotspot and it is costly! Private parking is a garage on the street, 3 mins walk from my building, no elevator, and I have to get all my stuff from my car and to my car, tired. Room decoration is little bit like normal apartment.

    Location is super, shopping street and old town is walking distance. Nice breakfast. Private parking cost 14 euro per day and it is reasonable price. Tram stop to Hbf is 5 min walking distance. I booked the hotel too late, 2 days before departure, and most of rest hotels are about 150-250 euro, this is the only one cost reasonable, price/value ratio is good enough.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a couple of english tv programs would help.

    fabulous room very comfortable beds, tv larger than we have at home. very modern and tasteful . great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise made by late-returning guests who had no regard for those of us already in bed was exacerbated by the lack of carpeting in the common parts

    Location, location, location. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self serve breakfast a bit confusing it would be helpful if they gave a quick how to, it took a while to find milk for my cuppa

    Like a small UK Premier Inn with a comfy bed but with a little boutique twist. Small rooms but good if you just want a great nights sleep. Good location. Will stay again for the comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast! The room is amazing and the bed surreal! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, secure parking about 200 metres away and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    overall the hotel is old-fashioned, room really small

    helpful staff, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful service. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous breakfast, very generous, relaxed stay. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outside the main building. Not so bright. Lack of light.

    Nice large room. Excellent matters and pillows.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double beds, only 2 twin beds pushed together. Bathroom is very small but still enough.

    Location, breakfast, clean hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no service, no free parking zone.

    I liked hospitality of the ppl here and feeling like home ❤️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Everything was fine. There is nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    Friendly staff & very good service Very good breakfast and snacks at evenings

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok, specially breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC

    Good breakfast and location, decent size bed, helpful staff, big bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small

    Friendly staff, quiet location, bicycle friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location (no noise from traffic) near city center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and good value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    closed to Center and Park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent choice for breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar in room.

    Hotel room was lovely. With very comfortable bed. Free upgrade was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with under 10 minute walk into city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast selection, lovely staff!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is very much a business men's hotel. On both mornings of my stay I found myself pretty much the only woman among 20 suit wearing men. The hotel's general atmosphere is cool, veering towards the uncomfortably cold. This might be intentional and a matter of taste and cultural difference. Indeed, much money has been spent on designer bathrooms, breakfast room design and reception desk trying hard to look impressive. However, choosing good designer fittings doesn't necessarily result in successful interior design. My bathroom was all shiny but not very practical - no surface to put down my toiletries or utensils, and the floor, laid in black stone without underfloor heating, was so cold it was unbearable to step on it without my socks on. Bring warm slippers! Alternatively, you can buy the throw-away slippers offered at the reception desk. This brings me to my last point. The hotel's policy to offer no complimentary extras in the room, such as free tea bags with kettle or toiletries like shampoo or soap, felt a little mean. I did get a cup of tea, late in the evening after a long train journey, from the hotel bar at the cost of €3.00, which seemed a little steep for a teabag and hot water. Also, what happened to the welcome drink promised on their website? Must remind them of it on the way out.

    My room was a small square box but super clean and quiet - what else would you expect from a hotel in Germany? On the plus side also is the breakfast, which offers a great variety of dishes and is included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I traveled with my daughter for business and found coincidentally this little treasure of hotel, privately owned with a fantastic location, wonderful staff, lovely rooms (although I think we got the best one...:-) ). The breakfast was delicious with a huge variety of German delicatessen, sweet and savoury, and coffee is made on order, although there is a typically German filter coffee available too. We will be back for sure! :-)

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Elevator did not go all the way to my room, which was under a steep roof. Had to walk & carry bags last flight of stairs. Heat in room marginal; air leak in window. Magnetic key not explained. Had to summon help.

    Pretty good breakfast. Staff spoke decent English.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately they are renovating the hotel at the moment so if you're staying during the week expect to be woken early.

    Breakfast was excellent.great value for money, delicious coffee, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - small bathroom - bathroom floor gets wet fast, because of shower doors

    - clean, friendly & efficient staff, good breakfast - calm area, good location - nice price

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room is missing conveniently placed power sockets, which seems like a strange oversight in a recently modernized room.

    great value for money, lovely room with great storage space, newly decorated, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no experienced any negative moments

    The hotel is even better than qualified in 3 star, for example in Paris such type of hotels are sold as 4 star. Location is quite near to main plases of interest in Dusseldorf, staff is very courtesyous and helpfull, to my opinion the hotel offers the best proportion in Dusseldorf rate/quality.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I`d prefer to know before that not all rooms have an air -conditional. Our room had? ond our friend`s room hadn`t but the price was the same.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good location, rooms nicely decorated (huge contrast to the chain hotels in the same price range), good breakfast, good price, we were impressed!

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Zero complaints, which is rare for me.

    Convenient and accessible location, extremely accommodating staff, modern well-appointed rooms, very clean, great breakfast. I'm a picky traveler and will be staying at Berial every time I return to Dusseldorf! Highly recommended!!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything, as usual!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing -- everything was perfect!

    Everything! This place was absolutely first rate in every respect.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that I was dissatisfied about.

    The room was clean, staff friendly and the location to the Altstadt very good.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing excellent value

    Friendly helpful staff comfortable clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really small rooms

    Clean, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was completely refurbished. The breakfast was really great.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Couple

    Very convenient, friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast Nothing to complaint of.. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kamer 120 is te klein, verder good value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cosy room, very good breakfast, not far from the centre

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Priced a little high for its value in my opinion, but can't compare within Germany.

    Very good location close to Altstadt.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast buffet. Stable wifi connection.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location, breakfast, secure car parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite noisy: our room was right above a steak-restaurant.

    Close to city-center, clean and spacious room, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the location was good.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to the old town and shops

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    Great location close to the main attractions

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No safe. No minibar. Bathroom basin is very small.

    Nice place. Free wifi. Near tram station.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell from bathroom Dust

    Free Wifi Close Parking Areas Centrum Price

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Hotel Berial traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: