Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ringhotel Birke Kiel - Das Business und Wellness Hotel 4 stars

Martenshofweg 8, 24109 Kiel, Germany

#12 of 44 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 514 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in with a booking.com reservation - I always find that the hotel staff have a hard time finding the reservation in their system - perhaps due to lacking/restricted data flow from booking.com?

    They have plenty of offers and services (payed and free) for the guests. Generally high level of customer service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They only have 2-3 iron/ironboards available. But sadly never when we needed it. They don't keep track of them, so you just have to wait for the last guest to return it. If he/she keeps it for the entire weekend you cant have your clothes ironed. Would suggest that they either keep track of them or make an ironing room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One female staff worker from the spa area was very rude and shouted at me in front of other guests because I was speaking a bit loud with her colleague at the waiting area (They were trying to charge me a cancelled request twice). The kitchen staff are quite slow, so be prepared to wait unless 20 min.

    The hotel was clean and the breakfast has a good variety of fish. The front office Supervisor managed our claim properly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger hotel room bathroom would be nice, but it is big enough.

    Very good reception and staff. Very child/family friendly. Very nice restaurant and very good breakfast!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel in peaceful location, good friendly and helpful staff. Great spa/leisure facilities with pool, steam and sauna rooms. Food and beverages all reasonably priced. Although location is out of town it's about a 10 min car or taxi ride. Would highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at 4 o'clock it was not possible to boom a table at the restaurant because all the tables were booked.

    Perfect place, Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weirdly, no hoovering appeared to be done in my room during my 3 night stay. And the towels were small and not generously supplied. The breakfast, friendliness and helpfulness of staff more than compensated for these small niggles.

    Excellent breakfast, comfy rooms, great spa with pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing except for the pillows. I like them filled with feather. A jacuzzi with warm water would have been nice.

    Breakfast with all you want. Both healthy stuff and pancakes. The staff was super professional and friendly. The food at the restaurant was super. Try the fish! The pool and the saunas were great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom sink was old and run down which made it look unclean, but it didn't change our overall impression of the hotel as the rest of the bathroom looked so clean.

    We booked mainly for the pool,which was even bigger and better than expected. All the other nice things were a bonus,lovely helpful staff, top notch restaurant and fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from the Center. The rooms are a ittle old fashioned and Deserteur a make over soon

    Friendly receptionist and personell in the Restaurant. The Food was Good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Large Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't thing of a thing!

    We liked everything about Ringhotel Birke! As USA citizens, all of our different requests and expectations were met without question, and most of the staff understood and spoke some English. Lovely, spacious room, excellent quality, locally sourced food, great location, lots of activity choices. We were treated royally! We stopped on our way from Volvo in Gothenburg, Sweden on our way to MBZ in Sindelglfingen, Germany.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer Service!!! Customer service is crucial. First of all I was put into a smoking room. Upon mentioning this issue, the reception told me that it is my fault since I did not mention my preference. If I'd be a smoker, I would mention it. but I'm not. upon receiving my receipt, I pointed out that I was charged double. instead of apologizing I was subtlety asked if I am sure. if a 4 star hotel is asking for a 5 star hotel price, please treat ur hotel guests accordingly. ur hotel can be the best around but if u don't treat ur hotel guest the same way u want to be treated on a holiday it does not matter.

    The Wellness Area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive compared to other local hotels that I consider to be just as good

    Nice quiet location not far from city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good restaurant for dinner and Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is simply the best

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfortable hotel with great rooms and a wonderful SPA.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievable breakfast. Super bed large flat screen tv

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of smoking, not nice.

    Great pool!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the food in the hotel restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant en accommodatie

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and nice restaurant. this is a chain but felt like a family-run hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Svimmingpool var for kold

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a little small, particularly the bathroom.

    Staff were excellent. Restaurant and food fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small

    Nice restaurant with a reasonable prices Easy parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Couple

    Excellent hotel with excellent location and perfect stuff. Room was very nice and clean, comfortable bed, mini bar.WIFI. Parking place for free, nice "forrest" in 3 min walking from the hotel with different distances for walking or jogging. Exceptional breakfast; fresh local food and bio products. Fantastic food at the restaurant! Spa department is perfect with different saunas, swimmimg pool with massage, relaxing area, nice bar with healthy products. Bus stop is in 5 min from the hotel and aprox 15 min by bus to the city center and shopping. CITTI shopping center in 10 min driving from the hotel. The most we liked- people who work at the hotel, bcs they are so friendly and helpfull and nice! You always feel as a VIP person there. Will definately visit again and highly recommended for travellers.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi sold as 'free' but there it is limited in size. They still dare charging money for it afterwards. I would expect a bit more friendliness upon departing (checking out) the hotel.

    Very good quality food for dinner. Also breakfast very much OK. Very nice SPA area.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food is not cheap.

    The wellness is more than the average hotel sauna, a fire place near the swimming pool. Very good WiFi, no hassle with those german codes, it just works and fast. Free parking really comfortable rooms with a big, big LCD in HD

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms had dirty wall to wall carpets, and one of the rooms smelt badly of cigarettes. The hotel is a bit too far away (5 km) from Kiel city centre. A bit pricey for a Family of 4 needing 2 rooms.

    Very Nice dinner and good breakfast. The rooms were quite nicely looking. Clean apart from stained carpet. Free parking. Friendly personnel. Nice pool.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a double room but it was two singles put together, but I'm not sure if this is standard as I stayed at another hotel in Germany and it was the same thing

    The staff were very helpful and the food was lovely

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, welcomed us & our dog. Fantastic location for off road walks & runs as well as easy route by car into Kiel. Spa facilities for us an added bonus.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The door handles are a little fiddly.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was good from food to our room.. Except the shower is NOT good...

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff. Lovely spa and garden. Quiet and relaxing.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: