Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castell am Kurfürstendamm 3 stars

Wielandstr. 24, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10707 Berlin, Germany

#429 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1760 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit dark (which we didn't really mind as we were out all day).

    A very pleasant and relaxed old-style hotel in a great neighbourhood. Decent sized room and bathroom, with a very high ceiling. Lovely breakfast. Helpful staff. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looked very different from the pictures in booking.com. Windows did not open, there were no ventilation in the room, had to keep the door to the corridor opened to get som air.

    Confortable bed. Good location-

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we are check in receptionist is asking us how we want to pay even they are charging me from credit card, and after I say that I don't wanna pay until he gives me some proof that money from my credit card is not charged he cancel our payment via credit card and we pay with cash.

    Location is really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    Bad lighting , cramped room(corner on the 3rd floor), small toilet , beds slightly stiff-one of them more of coffin. All-in-all that specific room has probably been used for something else I think. Breakfast was mediocre with no immediate "flashes".

    Closeness to several points of interest. The general area is to my liking. Castell was OK but not more. Staff were "present".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are quite thin. You can hear neighbours talking or hear their television.

    The breakfast was very good. Bread, cereals, several toppings, tea and coffee are available. The building is quite old. Thus, it has rooms with high ceilings and old-style windows, which was quite nice. Stuff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was too small, you had to wait for a free table. Breakfast itself was very basic and limited. Things kept running out. There was also not even a kettle for tea in the room. And the walls were very thin and floors very squeaky.

    Housekeeping was well done, they even folded your pyjamas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extra large.Double and single beds, 2 sofas, coffe table, 2 comfy chairs, tv and large space for baby to play. Not new design furniture, but very clean. Havent try breakfast. Lift is small, but working. We were very happy of our choise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi was a little bit unpredictable sometimes

    Very charming room, good breakfast, great location restaurants around the area, not far from city centre + transport links

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge/minibar. Also, Building is quite old and even though well maintained, it comes with a few minor problems: - Floor is squeaky/creaky in the rooms, makes it difficult to be quiet around sleeping baby - Elevator is small, worked well but was a bit tricky with a large stroller - Water pressure can be better, again not bad, but not great compared to standard in Germany

    Great value for the money in a wonderful, convenient location. Also, the room was huge! We were 3 adults, 1 toddler and 1 baby, each with own bed/crib and still had plenty of room left, it felt very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and TV. Needed to sign non-smoking warning of 100 euro fee, even as non-smoker. I requested inspection by manager together with me before leaving. Did not want false charges.

    Excellent location close to a variety of restaurants and stores, to public transportation and the Trade Fair. Quiet street. Nice building, with cute elevator.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff was not friendly and could berely seak English, the elevator is very old even though it is working, the hotel itself is aged, from the ictures I thought it was retty new and modern.

    Bed comfy, everything tidy and clean, quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price was high but this was during ITB Berlin. Reception staff not very friendly.

    It was a large room with a view of the street. Room and toilet was clean. Bedding was comfortable. Easy access to train station and bus stand. Plenty of shopping with a few minutes walk. Nice restaurants around the corner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet (I had windows facing the courtyard and, by the way, with a nice tree overgrown with a beautiful ivy). Tactfull and thorough room service. Ease in getting in and out the hotel at any time. Very good location in the city (regarding not only public transport but also city district itself). Several excellent restaurants in the vincity, I enjoyed La Caleta (Spanish cuisine, excellent! Just opposite to the hotel entrance) and Phoenicia (Lebanese, also superb).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had never experienced so terrible stay in one hotel in my life. Very dirty rooms. Disgusting bathroom. One of the most unfriendly stuff I ever seen. I wouldn’t recommend to anyone!

    Nichts. Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. Especially the man that is working at the check-in counter. He is very unfriendly. All the staff wont speak English. They refuse to answer in English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven't tried breakfast i dont have opinion

    Excellent location, quite Hotel and price u will not find in another Hotel in the area! Very good value for money i will choose again Hotel Castell in my next visit to Berlin

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent. Perfect location very friendly staff everything worked. Breakfast was really worth 5 euros so very basic. I was here for two nights (30.11.-2.12) and I got the beautiful corner room which was more than I expected. I will definatly come here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too soft, I had to move a few times just to get up from the bed. The shower & washroom is covered only with a shower curtain inside our room. It’s also small for big persons. Common toilet is a few steps outside the room. Heater in the room wasn’t warm enough.

    Location is within shopping area. High-end stuffs, but for mid-range and lower you have to walk a little further or take the bus. Public transport is everywhere and easy to get around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small and the stairs and reception area was dark and unwelcoming.

    Very well located for the price, on the main shopping street. Easy access to public transport (bus and U-Bahn). Bathroom was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold as the windows are not isolating, also not too much space to move around the bed.

    Good location, reasonable breakfast, parking possible outside on the street, 6 eur per day with a sort of resident parking card (for free on Sundays and official holidays).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming old-school hotel in a Jugendstil building just around the corner of elegant Kurfürstendamm with good access to public transport. Simple, cosy, spacey rooms, nice staff and filling breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn’t work in the room and they didn’t attempt to fix it even though I told them twice.

    The location on Ku’dam was awesome and the room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had smelt very bad and the pillows were extremely soft, even with extra pillows. The breakfast was a very basic selection, would've been better to eat breakfast somewhere else.

    Comfortable beds and good location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic guest house rather than calling hotel, no tea or coffee facilities, can't open the window, very hot. Bad air circulation for asthmatic. Broken table lamp, unplugged, we had to move the bed to make use of it, we had to complain to the reception to fix the lamp, so much for '' Germany standard''. Soundproof of the room was very bad with noisy neighbours, who walking like an elephant, talking loud, no respect for others at all during late night. No soap in the bathroom, can't wash my daughter' s clothes, avoid this '' hotel'' if with children. The pillows are flat and square, caused sore muscles easily. Noisy duvets, every time you turn, it made horrible plastic noise. For £100 a night with this standard, don't waste your money, I am regreted that I cancelled the apartments with higher prices for this guest house.

    Good location if you are rich like shopping with luxury brands

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some problem with the shower but they promissed to fix it for future

    getting from the airport to the property by direct bus (109); located in a pleasant area with restaurants and shops; the bed was very comfortable; the room was big; the breakfast was simple but very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet is a bit annoying but room is cleaned every day and you have a balcony view. The pillows were for me too soft, though other people may prefer that

    Breakfast was decent, room was a good size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We received the room 311. This room is narrow and has a winding form. The floor is not firmed and make a lot of noise when we walk on. It bothered us much.

    The stuff was nice and the location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The pillow could have been better and the staff didn't speak English very well.

    Very good internet speed. Essential when traveling on business. Quiet room. Good location near the shopping high-end street, not too far from Netto, Edeka and other stores, also only max 1km for all transport options (train, tram, metro, bus). Great cafe's and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No AC, which in July it got quite hot in the room. We opened the windows for air, and then the noise from the kitchens of nearby restaurants came in. There were only 2 electric plugs in the room and one in the bathroom, so the four of us were fighting over plugs to charge our phones and tablets. We had to unplug the lamps to use the plugs.

    I had a room for a family of 4. It was very large and accommodated all of us and our luggage with ease. It even had a table and chairs. Beds were comfortable. Very clean. Bathroom was nice, and soap, shampoo, and a hair dryer were provided. The add-on breakfast had a good selection and quality and was a good deal money-wise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our arrival (01/07 about at 20:00) the receptionist was really very rude. We rang the doorbell twice but there was no response so I called the hotel and the receptionist was talking to me like I would be a patient with mental health issues. He started to laugh on me through the phone! I have never experienced such a rudeness during my travel around the world. I told him that he shouldn't laugh on guests without reasons, and he became to behave very disdainfully. It was so disappointing. After all of course we didn't want to have any breakfast or any further contact with the reception.

    Good location, big and clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for 2 single beds however the hotel allocated one large double bed - I didn't ask to change this as there was a language barrier.

    The hotel was very good value for money and it was in an excellent location close to the city centre and about a 7 minute walk from the nearest station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor of the room was bumpy and cracked at every step. The shower head holder was loose so you had to shower with the sprayer in the hand. The hotel is not suitable for wheelchair users.

    The breakfast buffet was simple but good. The room was amazingly large, the beds are good and the chairs comfortable. The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was absolutely uncomfortable. The staff (except the person at the reception) were angry and rude most of times.

    The location was perfect. The botique style of the hotel was nice and beautiful. Very good transportaion.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was blocked and we asked to someone fix it. Nobody fixed it during our stay.. In the reception, only one staff wasn't really friendly. Also he didn't give us the correct and easy information, how to reach our airport.

    Is very good location, 2 buses 109 and 100 you are in them city centre. Very calm location, Italian and Japanese restaurants near by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were there only one night, but I Iike it, the room was very spacious and clean, with balcony, it was a quite place, the breakfest was very good, varied selection, the hotel is close to U-bahn, cca 5 minutes...the room has a shower and the toilet was on the corridor, but very close...value for money..I really recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a large room in the front with a balcony over the street. After visiting Scandinavia we really appreciatted the large room. Nice district very quiet and safe to walk around. Easy access by S bahn from the central railway station. The breakfast for 5 euro each was excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a great location. It is clean and comfortable and represents good value for a budget hotel in such a central area. I liked the traditional German pension style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Non sound-proof room (there was a small child in neighbour room that was crying during nights and in early mornings) + could be better wifi connection (it was good in hallways, but not reachable in the room).

    Very wide and cosy double bed, helpfull staff and great public transport around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is poor. I saw other reviews before i booked the hotel and they seems good, but the breakfast is terrible. Better to eat in one the the cafes, for the same price or less you get better choise and quality.

    Location is almost at the end of Kudamm', nearby U-bahn as well bus stops are nearby. Beds are very comfortable. Wifi worked weel. The rooms was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the persons who worked at the reception desk was certainly not at all friendly and ought to seek for another job. You need to be at least a little service minded to work at a hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi didnt work in the beginning (when it finally did it was good), the pillows could be a bit better. The room looked a bit newer on the pics so maybe expectations were a bit higher considering the price, though everything was basically OK.

    The location is perfect, very close to public transportation stops, the staff is nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An elevator is old. The rooms are far from the elevator and there is no help or trolley to move the suitcases. There is nothing in the rooms, no refrigerator or electric kettle and worst of all we ordered a wake-up at 3.5 at night because we had a flight and the worker fell asleep on duty and forgot to wake up Only the location is excellent and this is the only virtue of the place We will not go back there in any way

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was scarce, specially the sweet pastry, and I saw some people with their own food to complete the breakfast...

    This hotel is well located, not in the city centre, but close to the metro station. WiFi was ok (room in front of the reception) but for some strange reason they ask you a lot of information to give you the password... In general, everything was correct but not special, good enough to have a bed to sleep in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very tasty. Choice of dishes was bigger than in similar hotels in Germany. Only I can complain is quality of coffee, but I accustomed that in similar hotels instant coffee is served from thermos.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person checking me in (an older woman who may have been the owner) didn't speak English and made me feel very uncomfortable - like it was an inconvenience. I would never expect Germans to speak English especially in their own country - but I DO expect hotel staff to have at least basic English skills so as to handle guests from overseas. I did come late to breakfast on a following morning where there was a younger woman who spoke fluent English and was very polite. Again the older woman was with her and was again rude. There were a number of other smaller things - such as no reception area (you have to buzz in the front door then walk up 2 flights of stairs to a check-in desk), poor ventilation in the rooms unless you open a window, dark stairwells etc. but I would not choose this hotel again. It is, I guess, a basic place to stay which if you are looking for that and also speak some German then it may work.

    Good position on one of the main roads in the area and 10 mins walk from Charlottenburg station. Clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room got a bit stuffy at night, but we could open windows, which solved that. One of the mattresses of the double bed was a bit too hard.

    Friendly, helpful staff, interesting building in a lovely area, breakfasts were generous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room temperature was too warm, especcially during the night and couldn,t be adjusted

    very near Kurfurstendamm, nice square with restaurants and neuar busses and U-bahn

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deposit for room key and tv remote should be mentioned during process of reservation.

    Wide range of food to choose from for breakfast. Room was cleaned every day.Hotel is located in a safe part of the city, with metro station near by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are really thin so if you have guests staying beside you you will hear everything. Even a conversation. If you have ear plugs then the hotel is good.

    Large room compared to others we stayed at. Very high ceilings too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 'double' bed was in fact two mattresses joined together on a bed - these kept dislodging from each other creating a not-so-comfortable gap in between.

    Good breakfast, friendly (Russian-speaking) staff, quiet area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. It was a pansione type place. Not a hotel at all. You can hear all The noises around. And it doesn't matter if it's 3am, or the kitchen workers start to prepare a breakfast at 6am. You can hear every single noice around.

    Basically nothing. What you see on the pictures and what you get it is completely two different things. This hotel was missselled to us. If I saw the actual pictures of the room I would never ever book this place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Noise isolation is not perfect, but still it did not bother me too much

    - Good location near Kurfuerstendamm - Relatively cheap - Cozy room with a comfortable bed - Towels, shower gel - Clean room and bathroom - Looks as on the photos

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I was paying for a room in a hotel. I missed a place to sit-down and talk to my friends other than in my room. I would have made another choice if I had had all the information. I was not impressed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very angry and rude. They treated ad in the worse way ever just because we are Italians ! They not even spoke english very well. The man Who met at the reception was a coocker and dindn't speck english at all !!! Further more there was a misunderstanding about the payment and they weren't able to explain It. And After recognized theyr mistake, they didn't Sorry about It! The breakfast is good just in the weekend, otherwise is quite Absolutely i'll ho there Never more.

    Very big room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I could say is that maybe the walls are too thin and you can hear a few things from time to time but nothing too bad, you'll get a good night sleep. Other than that, the rooms were great, none of my friends complained (we had 3 rooms)

    Good location, great beds (lots of blankets), clean shower, the rooms are pretty big so you don't feel trapped. Really appreciated staying here. There's a metro station a few minutes away, it's perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male staff member on reception was miserable, the walls in the room are paper thin resulting to being kept awake most nights from other guests, the shared toilet was useable one night due to someone vomiting, the key for the room seemed to open all other rooms on that floor

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit to cold in the bedrooms.

    Verry good and fully cold breakfast. Big rooms. Nice and clean douvets on the bed. Lift to all floors. Nice staff. Clean bathrooms. Nice position in the town close to the center and really close to the main boulevard.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The isolation is not the best. And in our room the water pressure in the shower was poor

    The location of the hotel is excellent, good neighborhood. The stuff is very welcoming and answers every question you may have. The breakfast had everything that you need for morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A strong smell in the room and pillows a bit uncomfortable.

    The reception girl was really helpful and gave us a few tips to go around the city. Big rooms. Ok value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - The room had a smell of "old" in it, and the furniture could be upgraded. - The hotel staff could barely speak English. - They blocked a amount of money from my banking account before my arrival. That sum of money was the price I had to pay if I would have canceled my reservation after the milestone date; but that didn't matter to them. Aparently, it was their right to do so. Money were blocked even after my vacation ended, and I had to discuss with my bank to cancel that transaction. In conclusion, there was a headache I would loved to avoid.

    - Location is quite good for a hotel of its category - 7 min. walk from the metro station, and right next to Kudam. - Breakfast was ok. - The service was ok; towels were daily changed and room was also cleaned daily.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was very high and awkward to watch. Beds were a little hard.

    Easy to get to mass transit. We paid 5 euro each for breakfast, which was convenient and adequate. One receptionist from the Ukraine, I think was extremely helpful with showing us how to get around on the train.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so basic and dated. Beds pushed together with bad mattresses. Nothing like the photo. On our arrival, the older gentleman on reception was rude and unhelpful. The room we had was right next to reception where people stood talking all night.

    the younger staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was a disappointment. The 'flat screen tv' was something like a 21" monitor, tucked away in the corner of the room. You couldn't see anything on the screen. It's like putting your laptop on the other side of the room to watch a youtube video. I also had no pillow. The only things that were provided were sacks of air. When I put my head down, it laid flat on the bed. No support at all. Then the heating system. It was a central heating system that was constantly on. You couldn't make it colder by turning the knob, because the tubes with hot water were exposed outside the wall. This meant that the tubes acted like the central heating. The worst hotel I ever stayed. Not worth even one star in terms of comfort.

    Literally the only thing that is good, is it's location. Right next to the kurfürstendamm en only a small walk tot the Zoo.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    The location was excellent and the staff were friendly. It was very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception on 2nd floor but not too much of a prob when we found it!

    Friendly staff.....so helpful. ..clean! Breakfast was €5 which we could not try as had early flight! Coffee smelled great would have tried it for that price if we had more time!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst staff i have ever seen, they couldnt even talk some english, they were generally rude. Wrong location if you go for tourism

    The room was good enough, a little bit small for the price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast. Great location. A lot of people here mentioned staff speaking only German and Russian. Our receptionist was a nice girl speaking absolutely fluent English, German and Russian.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is in a tenement building . You have to enter grouch a street doorway and go up three flights of stairs before you get to the reception

    The location was good however this is a bed and breakfast not a hotel. It was very basic but functional

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Just small thing - breakfasts were good, but making choice bigger would be nice

    - Dream localization 20m from Kudamm - Good price/quality ratio - Nice staff, clean place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedroom comfortable but uninspiring. Front rooms looked better.

    Good for public transport to centre and walking distance to good range of restaurants and posh shops. Breakfast was good continental. A kettle for the room was provided on request.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine....

    The location is great. We booked a triple room but we received one of the most spacious rooms I have ever seen. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the sower did need a little talking to not to oscillate from freezing to hot, but once you got the trick, it was perfect

    Location was great, breakfast good value for money (5€ only!), staff was very friendly, beds were comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaking floors. No chance to get to the bathroom at night without waking your partner up. The ugliest sofa I've ever seen.

    Renovation neatly done. Excellent, huge beds. Breakfast well worth its price. Several affordable restaurants close by. Shortish walk to the very center. Good connections to other places of interest.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to reception, so sometimes noisy, especially around 10:00pm. Man talking loudly. Mercifully he would be quiet after 10:30pm, so was finally able to get to sleep. Don't know if man was a guest or a staff person.

    Location good. Breakfast good. Staff pleasant. Within walking distance of the Neue Schule, a German language school, which I attended for 3 weeks. Appreciated the hotel had CNN as well as BBC on the room TV.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This place is difficult to find and get into as you need a key. The lift is very scary but useful as the office is on the 2nd floor and my room was on the 3rd. Communication with some of desk staff was difficult as I only speak English. September 2016 was very warm, a fan would have been nice.

    The breakfast room was cheerful and small, but staff were efficient and friendly. This room had the best WiFi reception but we were limited as to how long we could stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Castell am Kurfürstendamm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: