Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Central Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Präsident-Krahn-Str. 15, Altona-Nord, 22765 Hamburg, Germany

#203 of 339 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 664 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Decent clean hotel that met our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Basic but clean hotel that met our needs well, we didn't take the breakfast. Location was good, right next to Altona train station from where you can catch an SBAHN to the airport and also into the city centre, the station also has lots of breakfast options.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just it is a bit difficult to find: the main door with label "Hotel Central" is closed and one should go to the neighbouring entrance with Best Western label.

    Mainly everythoing is fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Perfect! This is the 7th time I have stayed for the event I compete in and I will be back
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing I did not like.... will be back next year

    Excellent location and staff were very helpful and saw to any needs I required.... assisted with bag up the stairs as well... even more helpful with it being so heavy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Access to the lounge at the BW right beside the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator. Almost impossible to shower without flooding the entire bathroom

    Access to the lounge at the BW right beside the hotel. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    the room and toilet where very clean, the room was quiet and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in at another hotel, 4 floors without elevator, or you have to cross the entire building to use the one from the other hotel, but only for three floors. room completelly cold, when I arrived I had to switch-on the heating system, and it was night time in late November. bathroom without heating elements. breckfast too expensive for the hotel rate.

    the room and toilet where very clean, the room was quiet and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Reception were lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like tea..coffee making facilities ...bath was quite hard to get in and out of ...bed was two beds pushed together not a double bed.

    Reception were lovely and very helpful....complimentary bottle of water left in room.Room was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Very positive experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In sad need of renovations. Going to the hotel through the contiguous Best Western hotel reception gave a taste of what should be done to bring the hotel to a good modern level.

    Good location, but most of all the quality of the staff and service, extremely friendly, forthcoming and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Across to Hamburg Altona station.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is connected to the next building "best western hotel " There is one entrance and reception for both 2 hotels. But there is no elevator in this hotel. We need to use the elevator in "best western hotel " and use stairs up or down to enter our room.

    The building and the furnitures are old, but clean also good function as well as free wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Great budget hotel nearby Altona station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room does not have air-condition. Although it faced the railway station, it was not too noisy, so fresh air through the open window ensured some cooling of the room, plus there is an electric fan available in the room. The Wi-Fi signal was poor only working on few locations in the room. The TV worked, but only on analogue channels, limited availability of international channels. The reception is actually shared with the hotel next door. And to get to my room I had to go with the lift, then cross to the other hotel and climb another floor by stairs.

    The location near Altona train station is very good. There are plenty shops, cafes and restaurants on the other side of the station. The room was basic and compact, as I was expecting. The basic 60s architecture was nicely upgraded. I liked the wooden floor for example. A complementary water bottle is included in the price of the room. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious for a basic hotel. The staff very very friendly and welcoming, including the cleaning staff who greeted me friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Had an awesome time in Central Hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were bit conjusted, thats all.

    Hotel was awesome, location was superb, and most greatest things are there staffs. They had been magnificent during our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Just what I was hoping for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room was down a staircase with no obvious lift substitute. No problem for me, but might be awkward if you have mobility problems.

    A really good location if you need to be close to Altona Station. The selection at breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Will be back for sure.... excellent accommodation
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All the stairs up to our room.... with very heavy bags

    Comfortable beds... serviced and cleaned nicely... great location... affordable price for out time away giving us everything we needed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, although clean, was a little old fashioned. Carpet in room needed refreshing. But all public areas very modern.

    The staff were excellent, thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable. Recommend hotel for anyone looking for good priced, excellent and safe location in Hamburg. Rooms a little tired but very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Simple and practical
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service and too far from downtown

    Simple and practical

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    We have used this hotel often.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have used this hotel often. It is clean, comfortable and good value for money. Hopefully we will use it again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Very close to altona station and quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to altona station and quiet location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The firmest of the bed.

    N/A

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant as expected and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Great location for a short break

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think that the breakfast did not offer much choice for Vegetarians guests. a bit pricey

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient location to travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This part of the hotel is separate from the main locatiin.

    Location to the train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Value for money and the location was ideal, right beside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money and the location was ideal, right beside the Hamburg-altona station! And the breakfast was an awesome spread. Thoroughly enjoyed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Met all my requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast rolls were tougher than I like

    Quiet so good nights sleep. Very close to station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Room to hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    i am sure that many have said this but check where the check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i am sure that many have said this but check where the check in desk is.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Good breakfast, cheap basic room in excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, cheap basic room in excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    bed very comfortable, Franzbrötchen Hamburg speciality bread...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lifts

    bed very comfortable, Franzbrötchen Hamburg speciality bread for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful experience at the train station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The train always come and there're always noise , so select room in another wing.

    Nice property , well organized and friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    6.7
    No coffee machine or kettle.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine or kettle. No bath.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.1
    Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels daily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The area itself is a bit dodgy and it's difficult to find a bar just to drink in around the place.

    Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels daily. Pleasant staff. Not far from train station or local supermarkets.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.5
    location, clean, friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was loud, cleaning staff started early, even on Sunday and were very loud. Room was quite small, for a single person ok but it was a double room.

    location, clean, friendly

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.3
    I always feel comfortable at this hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes the cleaning is not up to the standard of the rest of the Hotel. Also, because the hotel is directly opposite Altona Main Station, it is not possible to leave the window open for a long period of time. The smell of diesel and a busy station does invade the rooms . The price of the rooms are , in my experience, a standard price at other best western hotels that also includes air conditioning. At least an air freshener in these rooms should be available.

    I always feel comfortable at this hotel . I have stayed there many times. Every member of the hotel staff are friendly and always helpful. Even when I check in at 04.00 am :). The breakfast is great value . Presentation and freshness are superb. As are Astrid and her colleagues.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Excellent position for purchase all that I needed to prepare...
    • Group

    There is no lift, had a lot of stairs to carry very heavy bags up and down. My traveling companion was older and struggled with the 5 flights of stairs on a daily basis to get up and down from our room. He could not have stayed there any longer than the 4 days we did. There was a lift on the other side, but being a different Motel name we were unsure as to whether we were entitled to use it. This would still mean that we had two flights to climb though. The staff offered the lift when we first arrived, but did not offer that we could continually use it. We should have asked...

    Excellent position for purchase all that I needed to prepare for my sport event. Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    5.8
    I booked a 2 double rooms and were given 2 twin rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I booked a 2 double rooms and were given 2 twin rooms. When asking to change rooms (to a double room) staff just said not possible. Very rude. The hotel does have double rooms, just overbooked themselves.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    6.7
    Umfangreiches Informationsmaterial, sogar zur...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Die Dusche wechselt im Sekundentakt die Temperatur

    Umfangreiches Informationsmaterial, sogar zur Zusammensetzung der Seife in den Spendern, das "süße Frühstück" als günstige Alternative zum umfangreichen Frühstücksbuffet

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.3
    location near to main citu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms are tired and in need of renovation. Noisy also due to being near a main station. rooms lacked facilities such as kettles

    location near to main citu

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.9
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift (ie elevator). The small breakfast was very minimal.

    Location was excellent. Receptionist and breakfast room staff were helpful when I misplaced something. Room is spacious. Wifi is good.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    10
    The hotel room was exactly what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The night time staff could've been friendlier and more professional. The worker seemed annoyed that we were there and acted like we were dumb for not knowing everything about the hotel or area.

    The hotel room was exactly what we wanted. We were looking for a fair priced hotel room that is clean, quiet, and in a safe area. The hotel exceeded our expectations and was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to complain about!

    Nice staff! Great location! Comfy beds!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    5.8
    Friendly reception and breakfast satff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too expensive compared to other hotels with far superior facilities and comfort

    Friendly reception and breakfast satff

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    3.8
    The access to the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness Staff response

    The access to the station. Very closeby

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    7.5
    Very close to rail station close to Altona City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Elevator Not available for my floor, help was offered.

    Very close to rail station close to Altona City.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The facilities look a bit old.

    location

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    7.1
    The reception guy, Steffan, was very kind and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There is no elevator in the building.

    The reception guy, Steffan, was very kind and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.1
    The reception is not in the same building of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reception is not in the same building of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed and pillows are so soft and not comfortable

    Location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    9.2
    Location is perfect and price was bang on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Location is perfect and price was bang on!

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.5
    WiFi signal in my room was too low even to check email
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi signal in my room was too low even to check email

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    9.2
    Hospitality , helpfulness from the staff and location within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hospitality , helpfulness from the staff and location within 5 minutes of the Fabrik concert venue .Will certainly use again visiting Hamburg ..

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Central Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: