Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kirchenallee 37, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#214 of 339 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2149 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Happy, central and good breakfast😊!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small as opening the door and getting around it was tight! Bathroom needed a window in it as the bathroom could steam up when showering unless you leave bathroom door open a bit. Beds were a bit hard for us, depending what you are used to and had to ask for extras pillows as pillows were too soft. Which the hotel happily supplied.

    Very close to Hamburg central train station. Close to hop on hop off tour buses. Breakfast was very good, nice selection of food and decent sized eating area. Our room was cleaned every day and facilities were clean. Bathroom was always cleaned. Had a lift!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!

    Clean, serves purpose, very nice breakfast although no gluten free bread (had to buy it in a near supermarket and hotel reimbursed me the cost)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was spacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointed that we were given a very dark room from where we couldn't even see the sky, especially because I had asked for a light room with a nice view! Were given a room at the front after 2 nights.

    The room was spacy. Very clean, clean towels every day. Very convenient near the station with all the possibilities for transport to sights. Wi-fi good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Location wise it's best but facility wise it's average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Rooms don't have refrigerator or air conditioning so if you are booking in summer then think about it. - Check in timings are very strictly followed and their is hardly a place to wait near reception. - Breakfast is average.

    Location Locker room facility

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Not too bad, not too flash either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff smoking at the front door is not a good look. Beds were 2 worn out singles pushed together.

    Location was great. Huge bathroom and room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location with value for your money and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little bit hard and uncomfortable and the room was very small. We did not need any more space and were only there to rest and sleep so it did not bother us. The hotel was a little bit difficult to find without a map, since the name of the hotel was not "Novum" but "Continental", so we walked past it the first time.

    Great location, friendly staff who speak English very well. Extensive breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    The hotel is OK, if you won't stay much time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattresses were to old and just laying on the beds. You have to be careful otherwise they would move away. The room wasn't cleaned properly after a guest quit. We found a shoe of a previous bed under the bed.

    The hotel is located near the main station. From there you can access all parts of Hamburg very quickly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Really good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    The breakfast was great with lots of choice. Staff were very helpful. The hotel was extremely central and right opposite the bus stops and station so perfect for our short stop and a visit to Miniature Wonderland. We had a question about the buses and the Tourist Information was just inside the railway station about 100m away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Position near the central station, Kunsthalle, st.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of breakfast just sufficient.

    Position near the central station, Kunsthalle, st. Georg district. Room small but recently renewed and clean. Possible to leave the luggage for free after check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    Not good place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small...not at all suited for 2 person....Booking.com has to ensure sucj information mentioned. Second price for such a small room is toooo high. I will have to start using other sites now.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    Soulless and depressing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price: this is a budget hotel in everything except the price! Soul-less and depressing. Lots of brown! The evening reception staff / concierge was not welcoming Towels smelled stale

    Close to the station, clean, functional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location but too hot to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited Hamburg in the middle of a heat wave: the room was so hot we all struggled to sleep with no air con and a room overlooking the main road meant we could not open the windows at night.

    Great central location and lots of places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location but with a few issues at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange 'security' system: you have to leave the keys at the reception every time you leave the hotel and then pick them up again. Internet was totally unusable, had to use mobile network. There is no parking at the hotel. I was proposed to use an external parking lot for 10-15 euros per day with very narrow spots: wide cars may not fit. Breakfast area is too small for such hotel: permanent queues to the tables.

    Location is great. The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    From a 3 star hotel you don't expect much more.
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have prefer having air-condition in the room (but this is not the practice in most older hotels and even new ones within Germany) and also a small fridge in the room.

    From a 3 star hotel you don't expect much more. Breakfast was ok and the hotel is very well situated with dozens of fine restaurants and pups within 300 meters. It is also just opposite the main train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel and kind stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel and kind stuff. Very convenient if you intend to use the train station as it is 2 minutes away from it. It's also easy to reach the airport with S1.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    If the breakfast isn't a key, I can recommend this hotel. Personally, I'll stay there the next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor in quality and choices.

    The size of my room (and bathroom) was excellent! The bed was really comfortable. The hotel is just a minute away from the central station. You can't miss a train!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.0
    Location is the main reason to stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room given to me (#18) was literally adjacent to the breakfast room so perfect if you like being woken up super early by staff and guests. Not really a room I would sell. I was upgraded to a room on a higher floor but it was a bit noisy from road traffic

    Decent breakfast and clean bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for our week-end in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom needed maintenance jobs done - door handle, sink plug, tap and toilet flushing controls.

    Ideal for a tourist week-end -- convenient, clean and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location, basic but functional rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ironing board available in the rooms, had to use one in the service room behind reception. Although it was a single occupancy single room, the bed was a double but they only provided one small single duvet. Feather pillows and duvet and no alternative available

    Good value for money. Central location. Room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    It was a blizzard the day I arrived, so being directly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a blizzard the day I arrived, so being directly across the street from the train station was a blessing. The station had countless restaurant/food choices and many other retail shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, great value in a superb location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No English TV at all. Breakfast was mediocre. Only warm food was some miserable dry scrambled egg. Otherwise all cold/continental. Tip: get out of bed, brush teeth, come hair and tumble down to the breakfast room BEFORE 7.30am or nowhere to sit!

    Location was great fabulous opposite the main train station. Rooms very quite, warm and comfortable. Beds are a bit firm but just about OK. Facilities good. Lift was quick. Staff helpful and wifi was really good indeed in our room 26a. You will need a Chromecast or similar to watch TV as no English channels at all. Breakfast staff helpful when they got to know you. They made 8 dishes of porridge in a microwave for us during our stay :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    1. 1 minute on foot from tha main train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. 1 minute on foot from tha main train station 2.very polite staff 3.very good breakfast 4 very clean 4 VERY CHEAP..... 5.3 minutes on foot from the FLIXX BUS terminal 6. tram S1 from/to airport just 1minute on foot [3.20 euro] 7.visit lubeck and schwerin... what else u want for a short stay in Hamburg...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Close to Central station and a 5 to 10 min walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lady working the morning shift... I don't think she has any ideia on how to talk to a costumer. She helped with a problem that we had, no doubt about that, but the angry and loud way she talked to us should have no place at any hotel. Bad to the image of the hotel!

    Close to Central station and a 5 to 10 min walk to the center. Room was normal and breakfast was good. What I liked the most was the professionalism of the person doing the night shift (unfortunatelly I didn't get the name), very nice, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel has good location and price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was good for 2 first nights, but essentialy could be better. We stayed for 4 nights and the breakfast was same everyday. We would prefer more fresh fruits and vegetables and some croissants or small cake sellection. The hotel is just across the train station and on busy street so we obviously expect the greater noise, but the windows didn´t leak properly so on working days the noise from street woke up us at 5:30 and we could hear the music from street very loud at the evening.

    Hotel has good location and price. It was very clean, rooms well equipped. They changed our towels everyday, which is little bit unnecessary waste, but it is great service. They were replenishing the breakfast cart excellently, nothing was missing from breakfast selection even if we came late.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    3.8
    Bad and pricey hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very small.It's unsuitable for 2 people and yet we've been charged for a double bedroom . no coffee and tea making facilities . We could hear next room TV and people talking . I would not recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, super easy access with transport, a lovely basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serious on arrival could have been much more friendly. Friends who stayed at the same time had a very small and cramped room on the 2nd floor and their room got very warm

    Our room on the top floor was pretty spacious, had lovely big windows and a fairly big bathroom. Nice brekkie too !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Amazing place to could now Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was perfect.

    It is in the middle of the city, Best location. The breakfast was amazing. The room is a little small, but actually we don't need more space, was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older lady on reception in the mornings was very unhelpful & unfriendly...

    Lovely & clean, great choice for breakfast. Location was excellent, across the road from the station & beside plenty of restaurants & shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    4.6
    A corridor door was stuck on our last evening, keeping us...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A corridor door was stuck on our last evening, keeping us from entering our room. The efforts from the hotel personnel was miserable, and when the locksmith finally arrived, he choose to break down the door with blunt force, instead of picking the lock. And we got absolutely no compensation for being locked out of our room for multiple hours.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    good deal, value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi wasn't strong and only worked in one part of the room.

    Easy to find from the train station and near shops that were open in Christmas day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Good stay but poor baggage service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were a little bit agressive and difficult to communicate and talking so loudly which is not that approperiate. There is a baggage holding service when you check out but they explicitely tell you that it is not safe since anyone can go inside the baggage room, which makes it a little bit funny. The staff should try to provide this service, for example, ask someone to take responsibility of the baggage room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Great place to spend a few days in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too soft. No English channels on television.

    Lovely breakfast.Really big room. Easy access to all the Xmas markets, all within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Very centrally located with easy access to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room was too small for the number of people there, there was a rather awkward wait till we got a table.

    Very centrally located with easy access to public transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Handy location to trains, shops, restaurants and markets. Nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to train station and Christmas markets. Lots of restaurants very close also. Great location for what we wanted. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Very clean room, perfect location easy to access to anywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like everything

    Very clean room, perfect location easy to access to anywhere! I was surprised how quite it is even though the hotel is in the opsite side of the train station! Helpful staff many choices for the breakfast! One of the most value for money hotel I have stayed. I will choose it again for my next stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    My stay in the hotel was great and i enjoyed a lot. All the receptionists were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say.

    I like the room especially the bed so comfortable. Walking distance to the Train and Bus central Station. The breakfast was very nice. Many restaurants and shops around the vicinity. Would stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel for visiting Hamburg at an excellent location (ideal when travelling by train)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Small detail: didn't like so much that there was a small gap between the door of our room and floor (privacy!), something the hotel could fix for the future. - The hotel might consider serving breakfast already at 6:00 am during the week, this would be more convenient for early travellers.

    - Located directly at the main station, ideal when travelling by train - Local transportation obviously just at the doorstep (subway and buses) - Good selection of restaurants nearby if one wants to have dinner close to the hotel - Inner city (attractions, shopping, museum etc.) can be easily reached by feet - Helpful and friendly staff, reception is occupied 24/7 - Rooms were surprisingly quiet even when window was open - Rooms are spacious with very high ceilings - Good selection of food and drinks at the breakfast buffet, however, this is not the kind of buffet where you could as well eat lunch and dinner, just in case you expect that - Breakfast until 11:00 am on the weekends

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Easy, excellent, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was brilliant

    The overall cleanliness of the hotel amazing, the rooms were of nice size, comfortable beds. The breakfast was delicious with lots off friendly staff. the House keeping are amazing the room would be cleaned in 20 minutes the time I was gone for breakfast. The location is brilliant right on the trains door, and the ease of checking in also.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value and excellent location
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners would come round too early, even if I wasn't having my room cleaned you could still hear them as the walls are so thin.

    24hr reception was a great bonus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.5
    Really bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst 3 star hotel i have ever been on. It was very durty and there where spider web on he walls. The beds was so bad you cant believe it. DONT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Information about the public parking place Before on the web...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information about the public parking place Before on the web side. Difficult to know when you have NOT been there before an arriving in the car. You have to find the parking before takling withctge reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.5
    A Nice, Clean & Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    There was really nothing to dislike here as the room although small was comfortable, as was the bed. The hotel is also spotlessly clean. The staff were nice, polite & efficient. The breakfast was nice with plenty of choice for me. The hotel is 2 minutes from the Haupbanhof and therefore great if travelling by air & rail.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    We were quite pleased with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No English speaking TV channel to watch.

    Quiet room. Slept well. Excellent breakfast. Helpful reception staff. Hotel is close to main train station and shopping area. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    A comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the balcony had come off it's hinge and would not close and lock. The evening receptionist was not interested and told us we just needed to push it hard. We spoke to the morning receptionist who showed more interest. If hotels do not want to take responsibility for anything stolen from rooms they need to make certain rooms can be securely locked

    The hotel was across the road from Hamberg Central Station and had lots of eating places around. The room was pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    The Art Deco elegance may be a little faded, but still a perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling round Scandinavia on boat and train and our itinerary involved an overnight stop in Hamburg. Novum Continental is right outside the Hbf but double glazing reduced noise. We arrived late but Night porter was efficient. Breakfast was excellent cold spread with scrambled and boiled eggs - typical German fare. Note, no hot meat at breakfast - but many varieties of ham and charcuterie. This was obviously the place to stay in the stations heyday and still retains much of the Wilhelmine charm - including stained glass in staircase windows. - but that also means it is not a plate glass hotel with all mod cons.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for an overnight in Hamburg.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of the hauptbahnhof is convenient but not the best although easy to walk to more interesting areas of town.

    Breakfast good, hotel clean and conveniently located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    We recommend the hotel because of its excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is fine, but could be better with more varieties. For example there is no bacon and from the fresh fruits only apples are served.

    Excellent location, near the central town zone. Direct subway line to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is located conveniently in the centre of Hamburg,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located conveniently in the centre of Hamburg, easy to access also with car. Car can be parked in a nearby garage for a reasonable cost. Easy to access train, bus, metro etc. and the city centre is at a reasonable walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice 2 day's exploring Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a public parking garage nearby. But please note that, it brings quite a bit, but not excessive additional costs, making staying at this hotel some what more expensive if you come by car.

    Good spot in the center of the city for walking, cycling and public transport to go see all the interesting things in Hamburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay for budget conscious travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room!!

    It was comfortable room. Good wifi. Good breakfast spread. Value for money. Strategic location and food for Muslims are easily available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Booked 6 months ahead specially asking for room with bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked 6 months ahead specially asking for room with bath. When we arrived was told rooms only had showers. Hotel had been in touch by email after we booked so cannot understand why they didn't tell us this as we would have gone elsewhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.0
    Not the best location and facilities, can use some love
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Shower curtains in a hotel is not done anymore, next to extremely annoying 2. Noise (from reception/kitchen/I don't know) all evening/night/morning 3. Old clumsy keys for the room (stayed in room 104)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.0
    Not recommended for the value I paid
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing good as rooms are to small and nothing available is room such as iron, hot water kettle and water bottle

    Location is good as very near to station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nice journey, nice hotel, near to the train station, short distance to take the public subway, have good restarant nearby, shopping area is nearing, after that area, good view of the Alster Lake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.1
    Great location, average service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fairly grumpy, nearly got a smile out of one of them though. Pillows were as flat as a pancake, but after a few beers it wasn't an issue.

    Breakfast was lovely, location was perfect being so close to the central train station. Some lovely restaurants near by in a nice area. Clean bathroom and room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Comfy bed, good shower and fast wifi. It's located less than 5 min walk from the train station. The breakfast buffet was really well served, plenty of choices of cheese, ham and breads.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, perfect if you are using public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very small (but big enough if you just want a place to sleep 1 or 2 nights). The water pressure in the shower (very low).

    Excellent location, perfect if you are using public transportation. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.0
    Location good near to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor tools inside the room..poor breakfast .building old most of the rooms with no view..

    Location good near to everything..easy to find .check in and out was fast..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel for train travellers, close to Haupbahnhof. Very good WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is NOT a complaint about the hotel, but be careful with directions when looking for the hotel. For the 2nd time I tried to find a hotel on the wrong side of Hauptbahnhof, and wasted about 45 minutes because of that.

    For a senior interrail traveller like myself, this was the perfect hotel. Location, a couple of minutes from Hamburg Hauptbahnhof, couldn't be better. It was fairly basic but had all facilities I needed, including elevator and excellent WiFi/broadband connection. I don't know anything about breakfast, since I left very early for the 06:12AM Zürich train.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Best value budget hotel near station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit noisy as had aircon units outside. Shower curtain too short and kept going outside shower tray.

    The best quality good-value hotel near the station by far - and I've stayed st most of them!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.9
    The bathroom was huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being extra picky, it would have been nice to have a fridge in the room, and more hot food for breakfast.

    The bathroom was huge! The room was nice and clean and breakfast they had was nice. There was a safe in the room which was fab and easy to use.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Great location and good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, 1 min walk to the main train station and other public transportation in front of it. The hotel is clean and cozy, the view was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.3
    3 nights would be my limit, 2 really. Any more and you'll grow weary of this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattresses weren't very good quality, could detect the springs within them while sleeping. Hot water would come and go with other rooms toilet flushes. Walls are paper thin. Heard babies and fornicators from varies rooms.

    Proximity to Main station. Breakfast was fine, they had scrambled eggs but that was the only prepared hot item.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning (4am to 6am) near hotel is very noisy. Actually, it would be very great if check-in would be earlier than 2pm (for free).

    Hotel is situated near main station and downtown. On the breakfast you could choose sandwich, cereal flakes, scrambled eggs and vegetables, so it's really great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative thing is that the mattress was quite hard.

    Excellent location, right beside the main train station and shopping district. Rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice and practical stay in hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -/-

    Close to main station but still quiet; friendly personal and nice room; easy to reach from airport and main train station - most locations are reachable from there using U/S-trains; nice restaurants around.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.5
    - breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I arrived late at night and the room was very cold. The heating has been switched off. When i turned the heating on, is started to make very strange and disturbing noises. Finally I had to move to another room...

    - breakfast - nice staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    hotel close to Hamburg train station
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy room is in direction to street (central train station). Window was old and broken, impossible to close properly. A bit dangerous area (social demonstrations, homeless people). Staff could be more professional and service-minded. They couldnt provide invoice after check-out.

    Very convenient location close to central train station. Easy to reach airport and other destinations. Rich and tasty breakfast. Clean rooms and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Unbeatable location, right across the main station, cafe +...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast, room didn't have much view (rooftop of theater next door), footsteps from floor above can be heard.

    Unbeatable location, right across the main station, cafe + bakery nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are rubbish. Suffering with a very sore neck

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.3
    Notting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and arrogant Staff, water in room you need pay 4 dollar euro and brekkie poor no bacon and Fried rice

    Notting

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    The Hotel location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel location is very good. Just outside the Central station. Very convienient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location across the road from the main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location across the road from the main station. Reasonable breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    breakfast was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Queen-size bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was okay. bed was too small

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    La position de l’hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La position de l’hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: