Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtzentrum This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schwanthalerstr. 15, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#322 of 368 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1191 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable trip to Munich, hotel is basic but comfortable in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very basic, no mirror apart from showerroom and sockets not by beds. Quite noisy early one morning with delivery to the theatre. Bar/restaurant seemed to close early. No tea/coffee/fridge in room.

    Beds were very comfortable and staff very helpful. Breakfast was good is maybe a little expensive. No left luggage but receptionist will let you leave bags with her. Secure valuables safe in each room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Simple and very basic accommodation in slightly less salubrious environs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main issue was the immediate locale - with multiple adult clubs and adult/sex shops nearby and a large volume of random men loitering on the streets at late hours.

    Front of house was excellent. The room was extremely basic, though beds were fine. Bathroom was fine and shower good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    The location was good
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not a 4 star hotel as is announcing on Booking. We paid ove €$100,00 per person for a room that wasn’t clean enough or big enough. The most expensive hotel that I stayed in Europe, considering what my money got. They announce that you can get parking for 12 euro for 24 hours, but you can only do that if the parking lot that they have an agreement with has space. Otherwise you will have to pay 27 euro a day. The rooms do not have air conditioning and are extremely hot on summer nights. The breakfast that is offered for 9 euro per person, is not good value for your money. You can get better quality food for 10 euro if you walk about a block. The furniture is outdated and not well kept, the beds uncomfortable. But what i’m more upset with is Booking.com for not checking the properties that they are selling. I will not stay on that hotel again, and not sure if will use Booking again.

    The location was good The staff was friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Good, clean basic accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and the room was small.

    The location is good as it is close to the main train station and to walk to the main area in Munich took 15-20 minutes. There are restaurants and shopping close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    2.9
    Not good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got charged twice by the receptionist. Had to go back next day to ask for refund. 1 hour wasted because of her miserable. Staff poorly trained on customer service. Very self defensive. Very hot room with small fan and unopened window Breakfast not good On main street so the room was noisy No Shampoo or shower gel at bathroom

    Location in the middle of a live area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed, the fan was good and the shower was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning. And the staff at night couldn't give me proper directions at night due to poor communication skills.

    Very comfortable bed, the fan was good and the shower was exquisite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light was automatic and would go off whilst you were the shower (this was a minor problem as I can appreciate the hotel being environmentally friendly)

    The location was okay, close to train stop and a 15 minute walk into town. The staff were friendly. We stayed in a premium room and it was well renovated and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    For a business traveller who come in late to sleep is ok.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of Watter kettle or even a Plastik cup in the room. Most (3/ 4 star) hotels have electric kettles in the rooms in Europe

    Hotel is next to City center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is antique & beautiful if you love old and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is antique & beautiful if you love old and classic things. There’s was an elderly man in the reception; was so respectful and gave a beautiful spirit to the whole place. The hotel is nice, I liked it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given what seemed to be the worst room in the hotel. Fifth floor, lift goes to the fourth! The room was in the attic, very strange shape,the furniture didn’t really fit, enormous shower room with a tiny shower in the corner. The area was a bit suspect, didn’t feel very safe. The road was very noisy and there seemed to be a lot of late opening bars close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel had old world charm, a creative energy and a homely feel to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtzentrum had character and charm. The hotel had windows that you can open, high ceilings, nice outlook, quiet rooms, inviting breakfast room. Excellent location next to theatre, under 10 minutes to Karlsplatz and Marianplatz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent personnel, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful and kind people at the reception - the lady gave us a lot of good advice how to get around the city, and the gentleman was very helpful as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is perfect and very close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave me a room in 4th floor and the lift can only access 1,2and 3rd floors so I had to carry my luggage and no one helped me I asked them to give me a room closer but they didn't

    The location is perfect and very close to the train station the elderly man was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    I was there for one night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had problem with window (room 302). It had some problem and could not be closed very tightly. Therefore I could hear the people voice in the street and it became a little bit cold in the midnight . It was not so big deal but in winter it can be a problem.

    I was there for one night. before that I read the reviews and after leaving I found many of them unfair. For example one guy had told there is no bath gel or shampoo which was not correct. The location was really perfect. Breakfast was very good and despite its cheap price quite comparable with expensive menus. I was in the third floor and had no problem with elevator. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The furniture (the closer, tables and bed) were quite old but the mattress was new and very good. So I had no problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, ok rooms, lazy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The battery on the smoke detector on my floor started to die. As a result, the detector would chirp/beep every couple of minutes. I told the front desk about this twice, once in person, once via email. They failed to change it out in a timely manner took them 12+ hours and it beeped the entire night. Which kept me awake most of my last night there, additionally it posed a safety issue by allowing the battery to go unchanged for that long. Pretty unhappy with their response.

    Good central location and a decent price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    The experience was okay, but nothing to write home about. Expensive compared to what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very expensive for what is provided. No amenities. Very stoic staff, apart from one.

    Very central area. One very nice receptionist (older gentleman) - very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great place inside a theater building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you travel to Munchen by train then the location is great just next to main train station. The room was comfy and clean and staff were nice. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Great location but bad attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible attitude. Except the 2 oldmans at the reception are super friendly and helpful, no one there were giving us a nice attitude. Hair dryer wasn't really broken but was half broken I need to dry my hair in an hour. 4 stars hotel doesn't really suit for this place.

    Location. Convenient store just right in front of the hotel, and walking distance to Munich attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Convenient but not sketchy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival our toilet was broken. The bartender tried to fix it, but it still did not flush everything down. I asked for a different room and they said no. They kindly offered us the restaurant toilet "4 stories" below! I reported the broken toilet again in the morning, but nothing was fixed. I reported the broken toilet again our second morning & they agreed to put us in a different room our 3rd & final night. The neighborhood was busy & loud with frequent late night fights on the street.

    The location was a 10 minute walk to the main train station. The Aldi across the street was convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Near city centar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has 5 floors, but the elevator goes up only to the 4th floor. Would be nice to give a option to book a room only to the floors the elevator goes. I can imagine how hard it is for someone older to schlep a suitcase up one floor.

    Location of the hotel is great, near main square (Marienplatz). There is a parking house near by (a bit pricey ca. 20,00 € per night)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    4.2
    it was clean and near the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booked a double room. I was given a room with three single beds. It was cold and there wasn't even any facilities to make tea etc. Staff at breakfast were non-existent so you had to figure it out yourself. I also paid double the normal room price.

    it was clean and near the train station. First gentleman on receptions was lovely and friendly but some of the staff were not.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood isn't the best (the central station is very close) but the street linking the ring road around the city center is perfectly ok.

    The hotel is with perfect location - near by central station and close to city center. Next to the theater too :) If you are lucky to get a room facing the back yard you will enjoy silence and nice view of theater facade. The room is spacious with basic furniture. The mattress was extremely comfortable for me. Recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    An economic option to stay in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are a bit old, specially the bathroom, however we found them in good cleaning condition. The hotel has an agreement with the DB for the parking but it is located 15 minutes away and it is not so easy to find the entrance.

    All the staff at the reception was super friendly and can give you good recommendations on where to go an what to see. The hotel is located close to the city hall and it takes only about 10 minutes to walk your way to the city center. If you bad bad weather you can go underground at the subway station which is located at the end of the street, and walk thru it for most of the way to the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    4.2
    Expect to pay 20 euros for parking, dodgy area, bad wifi, unpleasant receptionist (the old man)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. I arrived with car. Apparently the parking costs 20 euros per night (250 meters from hotel), and the area is scary at night (many scary people walking around in groups and speaking weird language). I called the receptionist and the old man told me that this is the nearest parking and when I said it's far and expensive and if possible to cancel, he hung up on me. After I walked 10 min to the hotel, I realized theres a small passage near parking directly to hotel, receptionist didn't tell me. 2. Wifi is super slow, barely can send messages on whatsapp. 3. You'll get the room on 5th floor, and elevator takes you to 4th floor, then u have to climb 10 stairs. Not big deal.

    Walking distance to center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Highly recommend. Rooms were large and clean. Staff Exceptionally friendly and helpful. Minutes walk from public transport and historical city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Reception was not very roomy and there is not much space to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception was not very roomy and there is not much space to keep your luggage when you have to check out in the morning and leave your luggage in the hotel for few hours. Hotel was not very fresh. Location is close to old town but I would not suggest this during bigger festivals (line New Year Eve) because neighborhood was like a war zone. There is no parking spaces near and you can not even stop for a few minutes to unload your luggage from the car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place for cheap staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the hotel for three days, but towels seem not to be changed. And also there were a pretty nasty smell in the stairway. There are no any shampoo or shower gel or slippers, you should thake your own stuff.

    We travelled in company of 4 people and this place was very convenient to stay. We had a room with three beds: two single and one double-sized. There also were TV, cabinet, free WiFi, good breakfasts and bathroom with liquid soap and hairdryer. Location of the hotel is also very good: about 10 vinutes to Marienplatz and train station. There are also a lot of arabic cafes and bars nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    400m walk from main station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in a red light type of district so maybe not great for families. We had no issues however but we kept family friendly hours.

    400m walk from main station Right next to a theatre. We saw The Hunchback of Notre Dame in German of course and we were impressed with the quality. Deutches Theatre has been renovated so it's modern, not antique like website pics too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated and basic facilities but not really an issue

    The location was fantastic! 5 mins walk from Munich Hbf station, 10 mins walk from Marienplatz, 10 mins walk from the Tollwood Festival.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice single room at the back of the hotel so was nice and quiet, very helpful reception staff, especially the older gentleman who checked me in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Just right! Just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is the big hit. 5 minutes walking to the main old city gate. The room (4people in this case) was big enough and the shower just right. Dont think you are going to a fancce place. It reminds a fancy hotel at the 80's The breakfast is super. With a LOT of options and great quality Munich is fantastic and you must book something nearby the ond city to have freedom to do everything on foot (as we did)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.1
    Anyway, the location is great - close to the Hbf and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a step you need to be careful in the breakfast room. The plates were placed in the very inside corner of the breakfast room. There are 5 floors, but the 5th floor do not have elevator. My room faces the street and it is a little bit noise. The reception could be more nice. When I was checking out, she seems busy with sth else....keep talking with another staff...... The room is spacious but there is only one table with a TV on it. No table lamp, and only very limited space for you to write or put laptop on the table. Not quite considerate to a business traveler.

    Anyway, the location is great - close to the Hbf and the theatre is just downstairs nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, staff and excelend price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows of the room were old, so cold air was coming in together with sound from the street which was a central street. If you are traveling with a small child, bring a heater in order to ensure it doesn´t get sick - which we did, so basically not really criticizing, just making you aware.

    Soft boiled eggs for breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My credit card was charged one week before I set foot into the hotel. Even though the free cancellation date has passed by that time, I would have expected the hotel to only book charges when I arrive, as I believe this is booking.com rules? The hotel is near Hbf where all the seedy sexy shops and avenues are abound. There is one next to the hotel (within 20m). Nearly got dragged into one of these places while walking back to hotel from Hbf.

    It's quite near to the Munich Hbf so getting to it after the train ride was quite easy. Staff spoke good English and were friendly. My room was very big because they gave me a triple room even for me alone. Bed was quite firm and comfortable to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were extremely dirty. Towels and linen were old and with wholes. Furniture is pretty old.

    The location is great. Big room. Bathroom was large, very clean and in very good condition.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    3.3
    Cheap and ok for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bed linen, full of hair. Floor carpet with stains. Mold in the bathroom. Open electric fuses in the barhroom, felt dangerous. Not charmy room at all. The staff seemed sad.

    . Close to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is few minutes walking from the old town, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel hasn't his own parking, but several underground public parking places are available, for about 15-20 Eur per 24h.

    The hotel is few minutes walking from the old town, the staff is welcoming, giving good town visiting tips. An Aldi supermarket is just across the hotel, for who wants to buy water or small goodies for their walking tour in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Big room with very min facilities not worth in money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young staff there so not helpful and the girl in the restaurant no manes at all.

    I think I been cheated cause I though it's a old theater hotel which I can experience a special stay and breadfirst in a theater hall but so sad that it's nothing .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    The staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator, TV channels in German language only Located near adult show joints and attire stores.

    The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is generous and tasty. The room was located on the courtyard side which is quieter than the street side. Very clean!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Munich: short but fairly sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet did not flush well; shower was high for me to get into and slippery; lift was very small & we had to make several trips to get luggage upstairs; no coffee shop.

    Location was very central; easy to find restaurants, main train station, theatre. Good attached restaurant, open late so went there after the theatre; spacious room; leaving the key at the front desk is a great idea, it's never lost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Really close to the city centre, around 15 mins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel located in some arabic district, does not look really safe. There is no parking outside or nice place to have some food, you need to walk around 10 mins to underground parking located in the another hotel with cost 10 euro.

    Really close to the city centre, around 15 mins.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Basic accommodation in a great, central location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor and basic ensuite facilities. Our room was definitely overdue a refurbishment! The shower curtain didn't fit properly so it was prone to flooding and the shower head would not fix to the wall properly.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good central location, easy walk to all the main sights. Pleased to have a room overlooking the courtyard, so not too much street noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Adequate and centrally located hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is adequate but nothing to write home about. Neighbourhood is a bit dodgy, so had to go out with my husband to take the dog for its last walk of the day.

    Centrally located and underground parking is very close-by. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    Not a hotel to visit. We only stayed one night and found another hotel which was much quieter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly there was little to recommend this hotel. The entire area felt unsafe and all night we were disturbed by shouting, screaming, singing and sirens from emergency vehicles racing up and down the road. The room was extremely basic with no facilities whatsoever, not even soap in the soap dispenser.

    The mattress was comfortable but nothing else.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    2.5
    My request is not to use this hotel and not encourage these type of management to take market share.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel I tried in my life. No room service, no restaurant or cafeteria, nobody help in luggage issues, elevator out of service and no cleaning.

    Morning reception, but she can do nothing because she was alone at the hotel even without bellboy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.3
    Great budget hotel close to Marienplatz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theater next door changed stages middle in the night. Lots of workers and truck noises right outside of the window. This went on until 3am!

    Location was within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops at Marienplatz.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    Very old facility with tons of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was far and expensive (25 euro) though the receptionist said it will cost 10 euros. Uncomfortable beds, week shower. noisy at night.

    Great location, you could feel the history in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is in a great location as far as close to the Marienplatz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms did not have air conditioning. It was very hot. We will definitely make sure to check on this the next time we travel.

    The breakfasts are very reasonably priced compared to our other travels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Cozy and comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and beautiful building, good quality furniture, very cozy. Also the location is convenient. Free coffee in the morning. I did not consume the breakfast, however it looked good and it was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.0
    Fair service for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel, could do with some refreshment. Worn down, so hard to say how clean it is really is... Our room had a window to the street, so it was quite noisy until late night and from early morning. Confusing situation: there are TWO HOTELS WITH THE SAME NAME on both sides of the Theater! They have nothing to do with each other and don't seem to cooperate at all either.

    Very good location, friendly staff, OK breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet dirty, furniture a bit dinged up. Very warm rooms, staff not friendly or professional. Waited 30 minutes for room because it was being 'shampooed'. Room was very humid and had a strong soap smell. I would not stay again.

    Was in complex with theatre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Quaint hotel close to transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The surrounding bars and strip clubs did not close until 3 or 4 am, which meant every night there are loud drunk people on the street. The street that the hotel is on is also a busy main street, so there are loud trucks all day and loud speeding cars all night. Since the room doesn't have air conditioning you need to leave the windows open. So it's a double edged sword, cook but have quiet. Have air and be cool, and get no sleep.

    Close to lots of food/restaurant options nearby. Large bathroom. Close to transit options, including the main train station. Free wifi, but slow.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Not that good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 4 star. No parking offered, had to pay $20 for underground parking a block away. Facing a very busy (loud) street.

    Location was just OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    4.2
    I will never stay at this hotel in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so cramped. The size of the bed for the two of us was queen sized rather than king sized. There was no air conditioning, no toothpase, no slippers and no pen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    We chose the hotel because it is five minutes from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose the hotel because it is five minutes from the train station. It was also a quick walk into the old centre of the city. The hotel is lovely and well maintained. The hotel staff were all friendly and welcoming, full of information. The rooms were clean, bright and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was generous and varied and the restaurant area was spacious and pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Conveniently located, but loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely loud on street with traffic and people in bars all night. No a/c. Very small shower.

    Across the street from Aldi grocery, 2 blocks from parking garage. 15 min. Walk to old towne. 30 minute walk to English gargens.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    3.8
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the i had my hotel changed to a 3-star hotel which was further away from the centre was a real downer. This proved to be an inconvenience for us. And i was told i would get the same type of conditions ... i thought the hotel i booked was a 4-star one ... why did they give me a 3-star alternative??

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Try to get a room at lower floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building was very old. The elevator wasn't working most of the time. We had to use the stairs. Hotel has no parking space. They gave us directions for a paid parking and told that price for 24 hours is 10 Euros. Next morning we saw price was 25 Euros.

    Location was not bad. Heating system was working efficiently. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good. Staff was ok. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Close to old town center,attractive parks railway station and underground car parks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No sink plug and I forgot to bring my own. Being next to theater meant crowd noise on them entering,intermission and them leaving but possibly most visitors would be out on the town at these times so would not affect them.

    Good pillows in that they supported head.Not as good as UK pillows but far better than 'normal' German ones which collapse to nothing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.8
    Not as good as led to believe.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower flooded the bathroom in all three rooms we booked. They messed up the booking and tried to put one of us in the staff area with all the spare furniture and cleaning things. The rooms were small and not very well equipped. The bedding slipped off and exposed blood on mattress. The bar didn't sell the beer they said they did. The front of house man was nice but not organised and kept answering the phone whilst talking to us.

    Not a lot, was certainly not a 4 star as they claim

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.0
    Hotel charged money from banking card in advance, besides we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel charged money from banking card in advance, besides we booked non-prepayment option at higher rate specially to have a possibility of payment on site by cash. But at the reception personnel said that it's impossible and we have found out that they are really charged our bank card which have been provided to the booking.com only for garantee the booking and only for pre-autorization resons, not to be charged.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    "Lottery" Hotel - you need some luck to have good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed at this hotel twice. Second stay surprized a lot: room needed rennovation years ago, black plastic film (bags?) attached to windows with sticky tape, lift does not go to the top floor, so you end up carrying your heavy suitcase there. Never consider this option.

    First stay - excellent, very positive experience even exceeding expectations. New room, comfortable bed, nice window view. Hotel is easy to find, walking distance to everything. Highly recommendable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    Staff was friendly and healthful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny lift (suitable for only one healthy person) was not working.. the decent hotel considering the city center and value for money, but definitely not a star hotel....

    Staff was friendly and healthful...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Good location with regular comfort. Hotel social responsability is examplary
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms have been restored (as in photos) and others still not. I was not lucky to get a new restored place. It was not ok due to old carpeting, bed not comfortable and room cleaning not well done. Bathroom was ok.

    The following items are positive from the hotel: - hotel reception in the night is led by pensioned persons, very professional and servicial. Good initiative from the hotel :) - full continental breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for short stays in central Munich - very good value for money and very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is rather old and the rooms do not have much of a pleasant atmosphere.

    Very nice staff and a huge bathroom. Overall very good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.4
    Nonsmoking rooms are smoking rooms be ware
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See my above comment.

    The rooms say no smoking but they are smoking rooms. Whrn i asked about this the staff told me they are non smoking and if someone smokes in them it is not their fault. No discount was offered. And the staff was most unpleasant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel itself is a bit dated, so was the furniture in my room. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom was OK, though I was afraid I would break the shower as it too looked quite old and a bit fragile. If you stay at this hotel and don't like walking up some flights of stairs, ask for a room on the 1st - 4th floor; my room was on the 5th floor, but the elevator only goes up to the 4th. WI-FI was OK after I got it to work, which was a bit tricky. The neighborhood is quite "interesting" to say the least; if you have troubles sleeping at night you might want to ask for a room that is not facing the street as it got quite noisy during the night from the people visiting the various adult entertainment clubs and other facilities that exist in the vicinity of the hotel.

    I stayed 1 night at this hotel as I had booked a flight from Munich the next day in the early morning. The hotel is one of the cheapest ones I could find close to the train station and definitely offers good value for money for people looking for a hotel to stay for a few nights. It is centrally located; 5 mins walk to the main train station and a bus/metro station is in the immediate vicinity. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.9
    Great central location, 15 mins or so walk to Marienplatz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with some basics like an iron and laundry bag.

    Great central location, 15 mins or so walk to Marienplatz. Very knowledgable older gent on the front desk, and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.9
    Great location for both work and leisure and centrally connected. Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was not great in the 3rd floor. I had to use wifi extensively but had to come down to the lobby now and then.

    Great location. 24hr check in. I mostly used the place to crash as I had to work during the day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    The room and the bathroom was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in a sketchy neighborhood, but the city center is a just 5 minutes walk away. The bathroom shower was all plastic, narrow, flimsy and inconvenient to use.

    The room and the bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Old man in reception was incredible positive and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room some one before us used cigarettes. Smell was horrible. We required to change room and old man in reception manage that. Breakfast was not worth 9 EUR.

    Old man in reception was incredible positive and nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Was a very comfortable and pleasant stay! Would recommend and would like to stay here again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator didn't go all the way to the top and actually stopped working all together later in the night. (But I still gave it a good score because the lack of elevator didn't bother me and I felt it added character.)

    My room was an adorable single room with a view on the theater. The rooms were quiet and comfortable, and the bed was one of the best I have had in my hotel experiences. The staff was helpful and kind and gave me recommendations of what to do in my short time there. Good location, and most importantly was less than 10 minute walk from the HBF train station!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.6
    Small hotel not far from old city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good communication with staff. Not far from old city and near the railway station. There are some supermarkets near the hotel.hotel gives a discount for parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.5
    a simple and confortable hotel in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is a bit slow. The elevator was out of service during my stay, thus I had to carry my luggage up/down to/from 5th floor.

    nice location, good breakfast, simple but confortable room, reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    10 minutes walking far from the very city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold staff. The whole area around main train station is plenty of disreputable people. Services, equipment and room not suitable for hotel stars declared. Room keys fragile, almost not working and other keys not available.

    10 minutes walking far from the very city center. Very competitive price.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Deutsches Theater Stadtzentrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: