Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Eggers Hamburg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rahlstedter Str. 78, 22149 Hamburg, Germany

#87 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be better if food was available on Sundays - restaurant is closed on Sundays and there is no room service. Nothing else near by. Also had very poor wifi.

    The rooms are very comfortable, high quality furnishings, very good breakfast, nice coffee, excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was really slow in my room but fine at the restaurant. I could hear everything next door sadly. If you are sensitive to sounds bring ear plugs.

    The pool was awesome. So was my room and the food at the restaurant. It has super safe parking and was overall a fantastic hotel. The breakfast was amazing. Anyone expecting more must be used to much much more expensive hotels because I paid more for less in Berlin last weekend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent but they could do a bit more to make guest feel welcome. Perhaps a complementary small bottle of water for all guests in the room on arrival, have a kettle to make a coffee, tee or just hot water and there were no slippers or dressing gown, all things that could raise the profile a bit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel both rooms and location. The dinner restaurant is fantastic and good value. Go and check the pool, It is very pretty and nice spa atmosphere. Only I wish the ventilation in the standard rooms could be better as the road is too noisy for keeping the window open. Finally, the breakfast is NOT up the good standard of the hotel at least if you arrive late at 0900. We will be back for sure!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was in the suburbs which would not be appropriate for everybody.

    The reception staff were polite and helpful. The room was a good size and quite comfortable. Breakfast provided a good choice of options and staff were efficient. There was a good restaurant at the hotel. Parking was available on site and bus stops and the station were close.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room with a walk in closet and big bathroom with a bath and a sitting area. Big, comfortable bed. The restaurant at the hotel served amazing food! We ordered the chicken with caesar salad and the pork wrapped in bacon - really good food! Unfortunately we didn't have time to visit the indoor pool but I'm sure it's also of quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some receptionists were very friendly, some less. Also one gave me a wrong information about an opening of an art museum. Even though she tried to satisfy my question and was very friendly she didn´t checked it correctly despite I asked exact question.

    Easy and very comfortable rooms. I also liked the area, very calm and away from the bustle of the city center but very easy to get there by public transport. We loved and enjoyed wellness.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soap dispenser in the room was nearly empty Location is out of town centre but perfect for my business trip.

    Rooms nice size, well appointed and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet plentiful, fresh and not overly expensive Restaurant service very good, food exceptional quality and presentation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little out of the way from anything.

    The lady in charge of the breakfast room was superb....very attentive and got my day off to a great start.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish I could have stayed longer

    Definitely the breakfast!! Your staff are very professional and friendly - particularly the young man on reception who helped me print off our boarding pass. Please give him some praise!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints whatsoever

    Fantastic, just a dream. Excellent food at the Restaurant within the facility. A very friendly and attentive waiter, Norman. Great breakfast buffet, very comfortable beds and quiet rooms. Extremely friendly staff. We will be back soon

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not properly working in rooms and it can be fixed easily. I am sure this comment will not be valid in a few weeks.

    Reception is very helpful and all are very kind people. Allowed me to late check out and kept my luggages in a safe place for a few hours. Eggers will be my only address at my visits to Hamburg.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price it seems that a simple breakfast could be included, but Germany is full of great cafes and bakeries with delicious things so it gave me an extra excuse to go out. There was also a small fridge in the room where I kept a few things for convenience.

    Although not in the city center, the hotel was in the right location for me (peaceful, safe neighborhood) because of a wedding I attended at the nearby nature sanctuary. Still, it was very easy to get to/from central Hamburg by bus and train. The hotel's spa area is really nice after a day sight seeing. I could easily book a session in the sauna, and I often had the pool to myself. Very friendly staff helped my arrange an early morning taxi to the airport which is about 30 minutes away. So much to explore in Hamburg!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels and pillow definitely out of par for that kind of hotel and room !

    Last minute booking, nothing available downtown. Turned out to be easy enough to reach downtown by public transport. Breakfast is 12 € and really worth it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. Clean. Friendly. Great breakfast. City centre easy to reach by bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl on reception was so rude. I have never seen unpolite person like she working on reception

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, room size, 2 towels are not enough, room temperature out of control

    Breakfast, swimming pool, gym, parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very good. Furnishing in the room very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous pool. Friendly staff. Immaculate and clean. Good food. Stylish. Pleasant area and very peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best hotel ,I've stayed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern hotel maintaining traditional values

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi not function well

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smallish. Check in staff didn't smile much.

    Restraunt staff were great. Easy secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking Exit with a huge Bump, my Limousine touched Ground every Time i Exited even i was driving less than 5 KMH and i was alone in the Car. Breakfast a bit too loud Atmosphere. Beer-garden a bit overpriced.

    nice Hotel, good for Conferences or when You travel like me with many Family Members. Check in was OK, Rooms are nice, Bathroom Clean. Breakfast a bit too loud and messy, the Room is too big and too many People are in it for Breakfast. Parking safe and close to the Entrance. 20-25 Min. drive to Downtown

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Spa is closed since already a couple of months. They should probably take the pictures off as this is super missleading. Allthough its written in the fine print Iam sure Iam not the only one who got this wrong. The hotel should definitely inform guests via email before arrival about the closure. The spa was the only reason to book this hotel as its quite far from the city. The room is super small, almost zero space between table and bed. No amenity kit in the bathroom, should be standard for a 4* hotel. The water in the shower changed from hot to ice cold every 15 seconds. Nice shower was impossible. The price is quite high if we keep in mind that the spa is closed and the hotel offers zero relaxation. Wifi was quite poor in my room.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very unprofessional behaviour of the receptionist upon arrival, when we wanted to modify our reservation (stay one more day); she said twice that we should have done this before, and this was causing her extra work; in the end, we cancelled the extra stay and went to a better hotel for the second night. Extremely hard matresses did not allow for restful sleep. The explanation given was that the matresses were "new". No shower cap in the bathroom. Apparently, one could have had one "upon request" at the reception. This is hardly practical when you're already in the bathroom, and in any case unworthy of a four star hotel. Rooms structurally over-heated.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise level of the street in front of the hotel, it doesn't have such a nice surrounding, therefore a tad too expensive

    Clean, good kitchen,a bus stop right in front of the door, hotel parking place. A train-station nearby.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No U-bahn and S-bahn anywhere near, which means you can reach this hotel only by regional train or bus. Single rooms are really tiny.

    Very quite location.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I would have liked more towels, a bit bigger if possible. The shower leaked a lot of water into the rest of the bathroom so that the floor was wet.

    The room, although small, was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very professional and polite.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The room was not big, but very cosy. Nice and quiet place (the room was not oriented to the street), kind staff and fine minibar. I do not regret the choice.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little small, not much space for hanging your clothes or putting your suitcase.No tea & coffee in room or room service.

    I have stayed here a couple of times before, as it is very close to where I need to be, The staff are friendly & helpful & speak english. The cleaners always said hello. Nice big bed & a safe & a mini bar.Nice bathroom & shower with a seat.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When checking-in, the reception desk lady seemed to not care too much about us, maybe because of our overall stay (1 night)?! For me all the clients should be equally important... regardless of no. of nights!

    Quiet location and beautiful facilities. Close to Hamburg (by car)

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Never had a room this tiny in a 4 star hotel. The staff could have also been a bit nicer.

    The spa area was really great. The pool was wonderful. The bus stop was right in front of the door and transportation to the city was fast and easy.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room was quite small. Hardly enough space to unpack my suitcase.

    Had a nice dinner at the attached restaurant. Breakfast buffet was also very rich.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    In terms of comfort, (1) the mattress was sufficiently firm to feel that in the morning and (2) inconvenient system for light switching (when you switch the light in toilet the bed lights also turn on - during night this may be the problem when you're not alone).

    Location: Hotel located in quiet place, not far from the station (5 min. walk) wherefrom it takes 15 minutes to get to the Hauptbahnhoff and the city centre. So no city noise, no gases, no late tourists after beer tasting:) Staff: friendly and helpful Facilities: Hotel is well run and meets expectations

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    3 out of 4 times I got a room towards the street or next to the elevator (although I specially requested a quiet room). Last time the receptionist gave me a "standard" instead of a "comfort" room (as booked)...

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The staff was pleasant, the rooms were well-kept, and the service suitable to the level of hotel it is. In fact, we left the hotel, Hotel zur Windmühle" to change our reservations to Hotel Eggers. The other hotel was old, smoke-filled, and dirty. Hotel Eggers surpassed our expectations.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the swimming pool is closed all winter up until May

    good facilities for business trips.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    A little bit old hotel and it is obvious.

    It was clean

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jacuzzi was not working. And it smells with cigarettes in the room and outside the room.

    Spa.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet issues at times

    Comfortable bed.... clean... easy access to bustling... large room

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor location and therefore the hotel was overpriced. They were very near in price to hotels in the centre of Hamburg

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An alarm went off at 0500. no explanation or apology when I checked out.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some bar staff unfriendly and asked for a tip.

    Fantastic bed, good bar and meals. Some of the bar staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good breakfast - almost worth 5*, hospitable administrators, clean, comfy hotel

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Hotel Eggers Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: