Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Flandrischer Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Flandrische Strasse 3-11, Neustadt Nord, 50674 Cologne, Germany

#131 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    A good place to stay unless is summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms didn't have AC. Too hot for this time of year not to have AC.

    The hotel was located in a good area. The hotel staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in a great neighbourhood
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - please put an anti-slip mat in the bathtub. The bath contains the shower but is extremely slippery and therefore quite dangerous for a person alone - the mattress is quite hard, the pillows ar very poor (soft and way too thin), the duvet was a twin size on a full size bed, too small.

    - great location - quiet room, even on street side - super friendly staff, no trouble to get extras, to move me to a room with a double bed (as I had requested) etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is an excellent choice in Cologne.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lobby could be made more welcoming, and the rooms might be equipped with a radio-alarm and a hot water kettle (one was available for the asking at the front desk).

    The hotel met all my expectations, i.e. it was like most hotels of its class in Germany, and vastly superior to any similarly-priced hotel in the U.S. My room was small but cozy and attractive, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom more than adequate. I paid the €11 per day for breakfast, which was a bargain. And the staff was wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay but irritated by Nanny wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two issues. Hotel is split into 2 parts, one of which cannot be reached by lift from the ground floor. - you need to climb 2 short flights of stairs. Fine for us - we're fit and travel light - but not so good if less moblie or heavily laden. The wifi is locked down so searching for bars, some restaurants or indeed anything related to alcohol is blocked. Not helpful when researching a night out. This last point would rule out a return for us.

    Very clean, location excellent and room had a bath - bonus after a long day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    What I needed - a quiet room, walking distance to my meeting place, excellent service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a problem with the code for the WiFi, but the kind receptionist sorted everything out for me.

    The hotel is in a quiet street, the room was comfortable with all you needed. The hotel even provided a kettle for me to make tea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Not as good as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New person on front desk gave us room which did not exist and this had to be corrected by another member of staff. Plastic contact cards provided to open garage barrier did not work.

    Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no safe in the room, and no mini-bar or refrigerator. Also the pillows were not so comfortable Elevators are a little bit far from the lobby

    Good hotel, located in a nice area surrounded with a lot of restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Close to 2 train stations. The room was a basic, but a good room for 2 nights. Clean room and clean hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    A very pleasant experience with only minor shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In a business-class room, we would expect a kettle with tea/coffee. We were fit enough to carry our luggage, but the number of steps needed to reach our floor would defeat many older visitors. It was strange too, that there was no mini-bar in the room.

    Being 1mt 90, the long bath was a particular bonus. Given the amount of time we needed at the computer, the desk away, from the table and chairs, was invaluable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    I have stayed at this property a number of times and I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at this property a number of times and I have always been impressed by the friendly and attentive staff; the location of the hotel (it is so close to everything you'll need) and the ease of booking, checking in and how staff respond to special requests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Good location and facilities hidden charges made me furious.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On checkout i was hit with some charges that were not made clear when i checked in. For example i was under the impression from check in that breakfast was included when in fact it was not. The breakfast was the most basic in and yet really expensive. Also the city of cologne tax was not communicated to me. I also handed the staff member a 50 euro note which she refused to accept as it had a small tear on it.

    The accomodation was clean and tidy with a good location in the city and access to my business meetings was ideal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.5
    Have stayed in previous years and good location, clean and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the loud music on a Monday night plus no drinking facility in the room - i.e. water, coffee, tea etc

    the staff very helpful as they moved me to a quieter room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.4
    Good location, but all the rest is not worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spend one night, which was a real nightmare! The windows could not close firmly, There was loud music until 5:30 in the morning!! Staff explained that it has been from a neighboring restaurant, but I am pretty sure it was from their karaoke bar!! They "compensated" me with 20% discount, which in no way can compensate the fact that I could barely get any sleep!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast selection slightly limited.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection slightly limited.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.8
    OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was quite expensive for a fairly basic three star twenty minutes walk from the Dom

    OK for one night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    The pillows were too soft and flat - even with 4 of them it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft and flat - even with 4 of them it wasn't enough!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    good location, staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel bar was not open when were there

    good location, staff helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    Were expecting better than this!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/toilet condition, poor hotel facilities

    Staffs were helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    It is located in a prime part of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in a prime part of the city. Just perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    The location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Charming hotel in Köln.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, calm, parking was small but worked well with small car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    2.5
    always stay here when in Koln, excellent value and everything always satisfactory.
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    did not have breakfast in the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    5.4
    Room was to noisy ALL night !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to noisy ALL night !!!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Single room is tooo smal
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single room is tooo smal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.9
    It's in a great neighborhood, the staff are friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was quite a lot of loud remodelling noise coming from the room(s) above us very early (06:30) in the morning. That, along with the massive worksite across the street, made for a very noisy and too early start each morning of our stay.

    It's in a great neighborhood, the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    The hotel is conveniently situation next to Rudolphplatz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    The hotel is conveniently situation next to Rudolphplatz. Underground 2mins walk but Altstad in easy walking distance. Breakfast was excellent,both hot and cold options (or both). Staff extremely helpful, room large and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    9.6
    V.helpful +efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1 person on frony desk at check-out time is ridiculous resulting in a long queue, although the girl doing it was very efficent.

    V.helpful +efficient staff. My room was missing coathangers and I asked for them late in the evening to be told I'd have to wait until tomorrow as housekeeping were not there, yet when I returned to hotel at 3am the night porter was waiting for me with several of them!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    Good value for money and central station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The young lady in reception was not so interested to help but instead the Italian receptionist was very kind and helpful

    Good value for money and central station. Easy to reach to Koln messe with tram.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    6.7
    The staff was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms were very tiny for family (3) with pet. The noise at night was very loud we had to close windows but there was no ac so the room was very hot

    The staff was very nice

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast, garage, WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a hotel made from 4/5 houses knocked together, all of which retain their own stairs and lifts. One of the lifts is not accessible from the ground floor, but from a half floor up some stairs; to be avoided if you have lots of luggage. Otherwise this is a good hotel

    Breakfast, garage, WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oldfashioned rooms, no minibar or fridge. We prefer Barcelo Hotel just around the corner; same rates but more modern.

    Location. Free parking on Saturdays and Sundays on the streets in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    10
    Good location,comfortable and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No

    Good location,comfortable and clean room

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    Everything is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything is good

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    8.1
    Helpfull front desk and the staff and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    better elevators and perhaps dinner would be avaliable at hotel though plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Helpfull front desk and the staff and clean

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    Rooms excellent, very clean and spacious, cannot fault this...
    • Couple

    Might help to have a small cafe facility but this is not a priority.

    Rooms excellent, very clean and spacious, cannot fault this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.3
    friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    reserved room was to the traffic side of Hotel. quiet room was on category down. breakfast has not much for vegan eaters.

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    7.5
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi access could be improved in room.

    Very clean. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.2
    The location was great not in the Centre but very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was great not in the Centre but very central. The accommodation was clean and well maintained.... The staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.5
    It was a good location, friendly staff and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No free wifi even though it was included into

    It was a good location, friendly staff and very clean

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.9
    Great location to see AC/DC and not too far to walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Great location to see AC/DC and not too far to walk from the centre maybe 10/15 mins walk. Very clean hotel and good customer service

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Good location and nice comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No airconditioning in the room but the windows could be opened.

    Good location and nice comfortable room. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    location near Rudolfplatz, rooms furnished in a modern way,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    rather small single room

    location near Rudolfplatz, rooms furnished in a modern way, clean, no noise, decent breakfast, good price, good 3 star hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    Ease of walking into Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Issues

    Ease of walking into Cologne

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.1
    Nice staf, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small basic rooms

    Nice staf, good location

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: