Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Friends This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Roggendorfstr. 23-25, Flittard, 51061 Cologne, Germany

#148 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The Staff was very friendly and I felt very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Staff was very friendly and I felt very welcome. The entrance was stylish and everything was clean and good. Although breakfasttime was over, I got coffee and bread. So I have nothing to complain about!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is a nice place with nice staff but not a nice administration department. (pity)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel that I was charge to much, and i needed to move my stay and was told that i can't and had to pay for a extra night which I did not use. I feel if the hotel wants to use Booking.com then you must be prepared to sort the mess out that Booking.com makes. I feel that I was cheated and will be very careful if booking with your hotel again

    everything at the hotel was great, and my stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    I needed a hotel in this area. This was convenient as a sinmple business hotel. Breakfast expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The business centre, the lounge do not attract to stay. The idea is good but the atmosphere does not invite you. the television is to difficult to operate with the box. remote control did not work etc. The area for presenting the breakfast should be better accesible and larger.

    Bed is ok, bath room is new and ok. Breakfast is ok, presentation a bit messy. The space is to small for the good food presentation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Rooms were nice a large and clean, the bathroom seemed new...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no AirCon which i have been advised is a must in the summer/warmer months.

    Rooms were nice a large and clean, the bathroom seemed new and very clean would stay again. The room was very warm especially being winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.3
    Good stay, but will think again before booking it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    For Vegetarians a warm breakfast dish would have been good. The heating in the room was not sufficient No kitchen for an evening snack / supper

    The bed and the pillows are super good - had very good sleep after a long day. Breakfast options good - but the staff seemed quite interfering Location - very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    The room is large and very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a small fridge in the room. As far as I understood the free of charge internet is limited there. Two from five days of our presence there were with connect problems due to technical reasons. The cleaning service is perfect but one time they forgot to lock the door in our room and till evening it was not locked.

    The room is large and very clean. Sometimes the four stars hotels cannot offer such cleaning. The district of the location is very quite. Friendly staff, cosy atmosphere and a lot of parking places belonging to the hotel. Knowing Cologne not that bad can say for sure that parking is valuable bonus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    2.5
    It was a very unpleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    It was a very unpleasant experience.It stated that it was air conditioned,it wasn't.The location was not near as close to the City Center as stated.I asked for ice & was literally given half of a glass & when I asked for more from the person working the front desk,he yelled @ me & told me they didn't have anymore!This was the WORST experience I've ever had staying @ a hotel on Booking.com:(

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Very good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small fridge in the room maybe ?

    Comfortable bed, good curtains to darken the room, small bathroom but it's all you need. Perfect Good priced. Will stay there again. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.1
    Some wear to stay out side town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to realise that this is a old hotel and it shows but it seams clean a bit tattily in places but ok Breakfast was dear at 12 euros normally expected to pay 10 euros per person

    the staff were very helpful Also they spoke good English that helps us a lot

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    Awesome facilities and Amazing comfort Plus worth money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms , 40 minutes way to cologne cathedral which seems amusing but hotel is worth spending money

    Bathrooms were neat , but Size were very small indeed rooms are quite big and views from the rooms are nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.3
    Fine hotel for fair visits and short stay outside the centre
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not in the City Centre and there are no facilities in the neighbourhood. The Hotel has a bar but it’s no used often. People go directly to bed.

    Free parking and nice beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    4.2
    More negatives than positives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor breakfast, 12.50 euros. The bread was stale, the options were poor and it was no where near worth 12.50 euros. We walked into Flittard old town the next day and had a much better breakfast at a cafe. Very rude staff, when checking out the receptionist requested we paid for drinks we had in the bar. We explained that we had paid at the time of ordering the drinks. She was rude and did not believe us. She phoned the member of staff who was on duty who confirmed we had paid for the drinks, embarrassing to be accused of not paying for drinks. No tea making facilities and no fridge in the room. We were not able to make a coffee in our room and there was not even a fridge for cold drinks. Not a pleasant stay. Very disappointing.

    Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    6.7
    Good prices and nice staff, but depressing rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building, the lobby, the elevator and the room were all depressing. Small, confined, dull, lifeless spaces that bring your spirits down. In spite of the cleanliness, I had the feeling of sleeping in an abandoned bunker.

    Relatively good prices, free parking, friendly staff ready to accommodate our wishes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Fantastic little hotel with good transport l I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large room, good sized TV, lovely bathroom and toiletr. Parking outside the door and excellent local transport made getting into Cologne very easy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not very good but if you have a car, it should not be a problem. The building exterior should also be renovated.

    The hotel was renovated recently and the rooms look very nice and comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a short stay near Koeln.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or free bottled water in room.

    Nespresso machines in the room. Bathroom was small but clean. Nice outdoor area by restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel for the price. Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    We loved the helpful and nice staff. It was also nice being away from the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish and quite Unique

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved the fancey hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh Breakfast, Goooood coffee, Proper coffey at your room thats a super PLUS!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Clean and quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no

    room is really good and traffic is good. A bus stop with 2 buses just in the front door of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.4
    Bathroom was nice and new
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building old and not cozy

    Bathroom was nice and new

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    View from the 7th floor was beautiful especially at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the 7th floor was beautiful especially at night. Great facilities and beautiful decor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.8
    Nice, but no dinner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not offer dinner and there is no restaurant near it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.4
    Hotel friends, basic needs covered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms need a refurb

    The cost was very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel with Super Friendly Staff members
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super Friendly Staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    5.8
    Very far away from Koln city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far away from Koln city center. Remote area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    Bathroom could have been bigger
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very very Tiny bathroom

    Nice room decoration

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Absence de restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absence de restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel for short visits
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    15 min driving to center,

    Clean room, helpful stuff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not specific

    Chips

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is nice place but no close to City Center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff very helpful suited requirements and would stay again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    9.6
    This hotel was extreamly clean, tidy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel was extreamly clean, tidy and comfortable. The location was a little out of town but there was a village with a few shops and a supermarket within walking distance. There is a bus stop and train station near by.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.5
    -Rooms are individually decorated with taste and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Personnel at reception is not very helpful with tourist. Eg: provide infos over free parking. Instead of looking on internet and help us, the personnel preferred to say there are no free parking and we were better taking the cab or bus... -the heating was not on when we arrived. In winter, the hôtel should pay spécial attention to that.

    -Rooms are individually decorated with taste and very clean -morning buffet is really good and tasty

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    The team were too attentive and the conditions of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The team were too attentive and the conditions of the bedroom was much better than it was expected. The hotel is well located, in the downtown.The breakfast (90 czech crown per person) is also very good.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    3.8
    its a OK hotel based upon a normal rate but during a fair...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    its a OK hotel based upon a normal rate but during a fair they are asking extreme rates of 380 euro's for 1 night, in my opinion its fare from what they offer

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    Almost everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cant find anything bad to say, I've stayed here many times and never had a bad experience

    Almost everything... Rooms are very comfortable, restaraunt next door is very good as is the breakfast... Staff are very friendly and welcoming ... Views from upper floors are great on a nice day...

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    5.8
    Clean, overall nice place to stay, however, you can hardly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. They tried to charge double amount from my credit card 2. If you arrive slightly earlier than the check-in time, don´t expect the staff to be friendly

    Clean, overall nice place to stay, however, you can hardly call it a 4* hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    2.9
    Hotel is very old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is very old. Door lock is still with classic keys. it is not 4 stars. it is 2stars hotel. There is no minibar,WC is broken. !!! Personel is very very rude. I regret for booked.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.3
    The apartment is very nice and large, complete with kitchen,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too small bathroom and shower, particularly if compared with size of room. Location far away. Lobby: small and dark.

    The apartment is very nice and large, complete with kitchen, living room with sofa and 2 TV sets. Girl at check-in quite nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast was not what we have experienced in other 4 star hotels, needs huge improvements. No airconditioning in room and the weather was a heatwave. Noisy if you needed to sleep with the balcony door open..

    Friendly and helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    The decoration of the Hotel, the staff, the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Minibar missing.

    The decoration of the Hotel, the staff, the location. Big room with nice balcony. Nespresso coffee machine in the room. The bus stop just in front of the entry.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    It's a good clean hotel with a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a good clean hotel with a fair price. It was about 15 minutes drive to Colgone city centre. The bathroom was fine and the beds were comfortable. Also the wifi worked fast. Would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    the train station was a short walk, train was easy to get to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was hard. In residential area, not much within walking distance to do

    the train station was a short walk, train was easy to get to Cologne. Free parking. Bicycles available to use.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    3.3
    There is no air condation in room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no air condation in room. You cant even breath when its hot. There is no service. They collected money 2 times from my bank. I told them and they shouted me from the phone. I dont suggest that hostel.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Friends is a good place, the location is great for cologne...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can't think of any thing negative.

    Friends is a good place, the location is great for cologne town centre and only a few minutes from the a3 autobahn so is very easy to get too. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet with the upper floors giving an excellent view over the town... The restaraunt for breakfast and dinner has a nice varied choice and fair prices along with very good service...

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    5.4
    good breakfast, friendly personnel, located in quiet and...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No shower gel or shampoo, no slippers or any other small and cheap thigs that easy your stay if you are travelling light. The rooms have great balconies, the air is fresh due the hotel is located in green zone, but my balcony was DIRTY, the room was clean but I remained with impresion that the balcony was not cleaned in last 6 months, maybe even more ... The hotel is 2 bus stops away from train station Lev Chempark (line S6) from where you can take a train to the city or fair center.

    good breakfast, friendly personnel, located in quiet and very green zone, great food in the terrase located on first floor

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    5.8
    parking is easy and free-of-charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff at reception was not kind during check-in. he did not inform starting time of breakfast and not share wifi information. restroom is not good for small child because narrow. something is changed compared with August 2014.

    parking is easy and free-of-charge. nice for smoker, because ashtray was set in the terrace. Italien restraunt "Amuci", a few feet away from this hotel, was very nice. staff at this restraunt is so kind.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.1
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive breakfast wifi quality was low

    Quiet

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.5
    Staff are friendly and very accomadating.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are clean but glasses were left that weren't cleaned.

    Staff are friendly and very accomadating.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.9
    Clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor internet wifi in the rooms

    Clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Style of room and balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long way from centre of cologne, but close to public transport

    Style of room and balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    Classy, comfy, cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-fi signal bit low in our room.

    Classy, comfy, cheap. What else?

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    Free parking, quite place with good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nearly 10km from Köln city center.

    Free parking, quite place with good quality.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Generally a good hotel, comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bit far out of town, motorway near but a bit confusing to get to city center, you need a satnav.

    Generally a good hotel, comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    2.5
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old place Not maintained Awful bed Smallest bathroom I ever saw in hotel The most unfriendly staff ever.

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    2.5
    It dosent have minibar, phone, toothbrush,shampoo,sandal
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It dosent have minibar, phone, toothbrush,shampoo,sandal This hotel is not 4 star I think is 2 star

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast was really poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was really poor.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    6.7
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Limited slow Internet

    Parking

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Hotel Friends traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: