Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Augsburg Goldener Falke This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Neuhäuserstr. 10, 86154 Augsburg, Germany

#28 of 58 hotels in Augsburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 382 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very nice and modern, had a great TV, bathroom was roomy, very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of coffee, location was fine, we were lucky to find a parking spot behind hotel, lady at the desk helped us alot with directions on the tram to get to city, very easy, cheap, and quick. We were pleasantly surprised by the fruit and snacks in our room on our return- which was greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend this place. Great price too. wifi was E 5 per day and it worked great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were located in the same house but a separated through a staircase from the main hotel facilities. But it worked fine for us. The floors were squeaking in our room but this was kind of expected in an old hose like this. There was no place in the room where I could place my suitcase on (except on the floor).

    The hotel was close to public transport (Tram 2) and for Euro 1.45 you could get quickly to the centre of Augsburg. Rooms looked as they were recently refurbished. Nice, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was decent and staff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luckily a space became available in the hotel car park, otherwise we would have been on the kerbside and having to worry about permits.

    Although small, the room was comfrotable, with a good shower. A short walk brings you to the local railway station and the tram stop, with good links to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isn't very big (three or four cars), bat there is parking space along the streets. Leaking shower head in the bathroom, but it worked well nevertheless.

    Beautifully styled breakfast food, very caring staff, value for money (half an hour walk to the city center along nice streets, combined with a reasonable price for the hotel).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little cold for my taste(had to use a 2nd blancket), but maybe because it was -1 degree Celsius outside in the second part of april

    perfect room, perfect breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed everything in this hotel. It is located in a good position, close to the city centre (just 5 tram stops) and to the Spectrum club where I attended a concert (just 5 tram stops). Personnel were very friendly and the room was nice and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is near the train station and there are many transients in the area. However security is good and the staff very aware. Parking is limited.

    Outstanding staff, clean and cared for facility. The facility is a traditional European hotel in a city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The recommended restaurant was good. Sufficient power outlets at both the bed and the desk. Internet was fast, upload of 1200-1600 kB/s. Good breakfast. Nice room, quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was far from the old town. The hotel has no lift. It was very hard to carry my baggage.

    The bed was good. It was harder than any other hotel'bed. The room space was big comparing to the price. It was clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was traveling between meeting and decided to stay in Augsburg because of the price for a single room (about 60 euro with breakfast) and the good reviews. I travel in Europe two to three months a year and typically stay at a chain hotel (Hilton, Marriott) because I know I will get a decent sized room, conveniences, etc. although they cost more. Because none of these hotels were available in Augsburg, I decided to stay at the Goldener Falke. I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. The hotel is about a block from the train station and the tram to get to the main part of town. There are a number of restaurants close by and there is a supermarket and drug store within a block of the hotel. It is not a particularly fancy hotel, the room are average size for Europe (which is smaller than the American standard, but it's clean, nice breakfast and you can beat the cost). The rooms in the front of the hotel can be noisy at night but I wore earplugs so it didn't bother me. I looked in other rooms and each room appears to be different. Some single rooms were bigger with even enough room for a couch but had a smaller TV. I was in room 11 and although it wasn't big, it was very modern and had a large (47") tv on the wall, small refrigerator, nice shower and comfortable single bed. There is no elevator but the receptionist offered to take my luggage to the room. The double rooms were bigger and if I was traveling with my wife, I would have stayed there too. Not fancy but clean and a great price. I've paid two to three times for other rooms at local hotels in bigger cities in Europe which weren't as nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area around hotel a bit run down.

    The staff were really helpful. Only 10 minutes on the tram, only 1.5 euros,from city centre. Clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noice of the street at Night,

    Good location. Friendliness of the owner. Nice restaurant in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nonsens hotel. Everything wasverzachter ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is outside city, neighborhood seems a bit sketchy.

    New room, comfortable bed, nice amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator and many stairs to the rooms at the top.

    Helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel rooms looking a little tired

    Everything was ok. But compared to other hotels we have used in Germany it was only average

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise in the morning.

    Helpful staff. Safe storage for our bike. Free coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Most pleasant reception, accommodating and helpful. Coffee on entry

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise, there wasn't elevator

    I liked the bed, the people, the bathroom

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elivator

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    like other old european hotel. very very small shower room. a bit far away from old town

    great breakfast. nice and tidy room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator! Very noisy neighbours!

    The host is a very stylish lady!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The immediate location is a little intimidating for a stranger to the town.

    Excellent breakfast and very helpful staff (I had just broken my arm).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff - room well suited our needs - breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy rooms... we could barely sleep at night or in the morning... at 7 we heard everyone checking out :(

    Average good breakfast, modern but small rooms

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For me as a ''bit of an old boy'', i found the bed very low, otherwise an excellent hotel.

    Hotel was clean, staff very friendly but i only give the location as fair because it is in a plain ordinary suburb. This is not a criticism as transport links to the centre are excellent. The ''platz'' at the end of the road was named after Helmut Haller who played for the German team in the 1966 World Cup Final.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    in the evening and night, shower drain smelled really bad, but maybe it was just because of poor weather or atmospheric pressure

    friendly english speaking staff, good breakfast buffet, various restaurants and public transport station nearby

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived late and hotel was locked, eventually got someone on the phone who figured out how to get me a key. Room was small but clean and nice bathroom. Missed breakfast as had to leave early but was given a couple of nice cups of coffee

    Good Central location

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Couple

    No vent on bathroom, it is a vent on the ceiling, above the shower, but only if the air will go there naturally, no mechanical fan to subtract the air.

    Very warm welcome from the owner's side! She waited us until around 10PM and was very helpful and kind!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location - area rather run down, but handy for train station, just 3 minute ride to Augsburg central station

    Staff very helpful, fruit & bottled water in room, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was all right for me.

    Nice position, close to the railway station and several trams and buses, but also relatively quiet. Comfortable room, comfortable bed, good curtains for the windows to have a dark room during the night.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is about 5-10 minute drive to the actual town centre, so it is not that central. The mirror in the toilet is extremely high for Asian tourist to see their face.

    Staff were really easy to communicate with and left the keys for us for late check in. Breakfast area is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived at very late time and was surprised to be greeted by a lady with her wonderful smile! The lady even helped us with carrying our heavy luggage to the room! A plate of variety fruits was placed in the room which was very specifical and thoughtful!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking...between 9am to 6pm if you leave the car on the street may get you a ticket or worse it may be picked up by police...hotel has only 3 spots on the back side usually full...so good luck finding a parking spot if you arrive at evening time

    location, safety, cleanness, courtesy of staff ...

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Family with young children

    I was told the neighborhood might be a little better, but I have not seen any inconvenience, there is nothing to complain.

    As we had to check in late, we entered the code into the late-check-in key dispenser and found the room, following the signs. This hotel would earn a 4 star if it had an elevator, but some extra stairclimbing is good for the health! Breakfast offered salty and sweet, cheese, charcuterie, jam and müesli - really nice coffee and fruit juices. The second day, as they were aware we had a baby with us, they dished up for the young lady as well. Rooms are not very large, but just what you need, - clean and nicely arranged, and the beds are comfortable. Highly recommendable, good value. You can take tram 2 a one minute walk away from the hotel, riding directly downtown to Rathausplatz or Moritzplatz - in about 10 minutes or so. However, if you want to eat greek, turkish, thai, italo or whatever else, it's around the corner as well.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is very small but it does not matter, plenty of room there to park. The Wi-Fi did not reach my room.

    Simple but comfortable room. Breakfast was also simple but good. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi did not work, beds not very comfortable

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Everything!!!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had not enough heating over night...and its a small room

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area , it was a little rundown 15 mins from the town centre by tram

    Very clean , good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are renovated and "modern", but they look sterile... alas!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so nice walk to the downtown...

    Very kind staff and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was really helpful and friendly. My room was really cosy and always cleaned. Breakfast was fresh and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything great! The room a little bit small.

    Personnel Service!

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: