Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldenes Faß This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Semmelstr. 13, 97070 Würzburg, Germany

#26 of 37 hotels in Würzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 215 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff and location are good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud at nights, exactly close to the bars and restaurants in center There was no reception in afternoons but you could take your key without any problem

    The staff and location are good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Really lovely small hotel in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very central location, easy walk from the train and then into town. Nanoseconds from the Mainfranken Theater, which was what I'd really gone for. A church on the corner has a carillon that plays Name That Tune four times a day, at 11, 13, 15 and 17. Street-facing rooms have roller-shutters, and windows are, of course, double-glazed, so there's never a problem with noise. The beds are seriously super-comfy. There are many good restaurants close by, in fact, everything's close by. Pavements are very even, so good for wheelchair users and parents with strollers. When you get into the pedestrian areas, it's more cobbled, so keep that in mind. At least with smooth footpaths, you won't end up in the (sparse) traffic by mistake. Well, that's my travelogue on Wurzburg. The hotel is lovely. Not large, so no groups of schoolkids dashing about in the middle of the night, because it's not big enough. That alone should earn it bonus points. But the hotelier was absolutely lovely, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Smashing little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice little place, arrived late after a full day of being tattooed, tired and in pain, was able to get a cracking traditional german meal and a few pints of weisbier in the downstairs bar, reception was closed upon my arrival, but they'd left me a note directing me to my room and the key was in the dorr, very thoughtful of them. Room was clean and comfortable and shower was hot and powerful. Was everything I needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    The location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Hotel does not accept credit cards. Considering I was staying for 5 nights, this was very inconvenient because I had to go to the bank just before taking my train. They also looked at me like I was strange when I asked to pay by card. This should be made more clear. - Room had spider webs dangling from ceiling and around window. Makes you wonder why the room couldn't be vacuumed properly. - Check-out is early (10:30 am) and because the cleaning takes places very early as well, there is no chance of sleeping past 7:30 am. - Shampoo and body soap was provided on the first day and then never replaced even though I was staying for 5 nights. There is limited reception hours so if you do need something, good luck to you in the afternoon or evening. - The shower curtain does not properly cover the bathtub so showering is awkward.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Typical German hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great local German hospitality, good breakfast and bar well stocked and friendly. Local German wines, beers, local malt whisky and great food. I recommend the Silvano white wine which very typical of the region.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Good value stay close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nobody in hotel on arrival, but names with room numbers on whiteboard in foyer. Room keys in door. Self-help arrangement good if no issues with booking. Room not indicated on whiteboard for second couple and no answer on phone no. provided. When restaurant, below opened they rang owners and issue was sorted. Hotel had made error with booking. The downside was that we wasted the afternoon trying to get rooms sorted.

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast. It was a pleasure staying there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    5.4
    The staff was friendly and location was good, however tricky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs were very small on a tea cup platter the choice in breakfast was small selection, too many stairs, no elevator, room was small and the bed very uncomfortable. Too many apartment windows surrounding the fire escape room didn't feel safe to keep window open for cool air too warm in room.

    The staff was friendly and location was good, however tricky getting there on foot accessible by train once found the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I need to pay 5EUR for the breakfast. Butthe Booking.com site says it's free. Not much money, but you feel mislead!!

    Clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Cozy hotel with nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather small and basic, but absolutely okay.

    Cozy hotel with nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    3.8
    Location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room very basic, reception closed when we arrived at 5pm, the food in the restaurant poor, the towels in the tiny toilet/bathroom like sandpaper, will not be going back

    Location good

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location (close to the train station and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It does not have elevator.

    Excellent location (close to the train station and main attractions), helpful and kind staff. There is no air conditioning but there is a fan in the room. I also liked its decoration with teddy bears. Very very nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    At breakfast, toast with sunny side up egg and coffee were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    At breakfast, toast with sunny side up egg and coffee were served at breakfast, in addition to buffet. The hotel is near the Residenz and within walking distance to most of the attractions at the city center.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    Very pleasant landlady
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I can think of

    Very pleasant landlady

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.9
    the breakfast and the quiet place
    • Solo traveller

    this time-the space was to small

    the breakfast and the quiet place

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    3.8
    Near station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast,no elevator,no credit card accept.

    Near station

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom bin was not cleaned before us

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.9
    Close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to city center

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    6.7
    Room extremely small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room extremely small

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: