Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Herzog This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Herzogstr. 23, Friedrichstadt, 40215 Düsseldorf, Germany

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was quite big but the toilet was squeezed in between the wall and the shower and even for a tiny person it was difficult to use it.

    The hotel was very clean and at an excellent position close to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about the hotel

    We were very happy with everything the staff was very kind and very helpful they always had a smile and they made. Point to make us feel so comfortable . We had forgot our glasses T the room and the staff went out of their way to send it to us . I recommend this hotel to everyone the location was a walking distance to the old city .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit noisy if you are in a room on the side of the road. So on warm night you need to chose if you want it to be too warm or too loud.

    Very friendly staff. A fair amount of parking options nearby. Also close to shops and not too far from the train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside area could do with more seating. At present there is only one table and six chairs.

    The staff were very helpful in all aspects of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I’m particular

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little bit small

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of road noise from room

    Close to city, helpfully staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy road outside. Pillows were huge.

    Friendly receptionist. Rooms cleaned everyday. Walk not too far from centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled horrible and had broken tiles and the toilet had a pump instead of a basin

    Very friendly personal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were distroyed . They feels as a half pipe. The English of the people working there is not good, although they are kindly .

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very nice! I will definitely comeback to this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Cold room, even though the heater was set high. - Unstable WiFi

    Nice and kind Madam

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Price on exhibition period too high and room size too small

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they need to be more flexible with clients needs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable stau

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi unreliable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was way to small and old

    Beds and cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really friendly and kind. Location is also good. Close to Königsallee.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The first time I was very disappointed with the service Bookingcom. I booked a room with a double bed and got a room with two single beds. I and my girlfriend we got a room in the attic. Wind blows through the attic kind of like we're on the street. All this I reported phone operator bookingcom but we could not help. Your operator talked to rcepcijom but we could not help. You lied to your site because the entire hotel is not there room with double bed.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I arrived, the receptionist told me that there was only one small room left (I had booked two weeks before)... the room was very tiny, and the bed was really too narrow, that wasn't comfortable at all. Moreover, the wireless connection was completely unstable, and I didn't manage to keep a good connection more than few minutes. I was disappointed because I read lots of good comments on the Internet and I was expecting better.

    Staff is very kind. The bath was clean and functional.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were in two triple rooms. The rooms have enough space and are clean. The bathroom and especially the shower cabin is quite small, but clean. The rooms are very simple with outdated style. The triple rooms face the street, which is quite noisy with traffic. Both the lady who checked us in as the lady who checked us out were very warm, friendly and helpful with information on where to go. The location is a walk from the main shopping and restaurant area's, but very doable if you like a stroll. There's breakfast in the hotel for a fee, but if you really want to treat yourself walk one block north east to Rosie's. There is an overwhelming breakfast menu in a nice setting, in which you can hang out for hours. In conclusion: This hotel is perfect for a short budget city trip. Simple accomodation, very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dusseldorf is a big city. The train station is about 20 mins walk in one direction, the old city is about 20 minutes walk in the other direction

    Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of elevator with heavy bags

    Good comfortable stay at a very reasonable price. The hotel is in a good central location. 5 minute walk to the nearest tram stop, 20 minute walk from hbf and altstadt.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Street facing rooms can be noisy... Toilet had no leg-room...! €10 a bit steep for a breakfast.

    Helpful reception, although adding an extra night and checking in 3 rooms took 90 minutes! 20 min walk from Rheinkirmes or old town, we found cheap parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On Sunday we went to an outlet that is 40 minutes away and shopped quite a bit, there was Prada, RL and other big brands. We had all our purchases in brand bags in the room that we lived in. On Monday we went to town and came back late evening. To our surprise, all the bags with purchases were gone. Just gone. The lock on the door was untouched which means that someone who had a key to the room stole them, like those who clean the room, for example. There was already no one at the reception desk so we had to wait till Tuesday morning to sort the situation out. On Tuesday morning the lady at the reception desk wasnt even surprised when we told that someone robbed us and refused to cooperate whatsoever. Until we called 110 which is a police. Her attitude changed right away and she said that they will look in the "trash" in case the cleaning lady threw out the bags with! our purchases. The story culminates with her coming out with our bags found in "trash". I mean whaaat?? That completely spoiled the whole stay! When you book a room at this hotel, be aware that personnel is robbing the guests and it feels and looks like that this fact is not something new to those who work at the reception. That is just unacceptable!

    To be honest, the hotel has a nice location, rooms are ok for the price, look very old school but still acceptable. Cleaning is every day.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    moquette everywhere

    staff were very nice

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mini-bar fridge didn't function.

    Friendly and courteous staff

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Strict 11am check-out time.

    Convenient for a one night stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Location is very good.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Group

    Bathroom is too small,there is no elevator.We've arrived lately and the person at the reception was not able to speak English

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really friendly staff. Spoke English. Fast and free wi-fi. Only about a 8-10 minute walk to the river and old town.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Hotel Herzog traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: