Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Herzog München This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Häberlstr. 9, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80337 Munich, Germany

#172 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1922 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet - most specifically the hot section - was very limited .

    The staff were friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. It was a short walk to the underground which got us to the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this location and standard price was ok but to me it was a bit expensive (but comparing to other hotels in Munich it was a good offer).

    I loved my modern and clean room, it was comfortable and nicely decorated. Good quality pillows an duvet so I slept well. Excellent location. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was horrible. I had problems sending one picture by text. Was not able to post many vacation pictures while there. I had problems with the lights and other electrical. I could not figure out how to turn off the lights and still charge the phone. Maybe I could but there were no instructions in the room. Everything was connected.

    Shower was amazing. Bed was comfortable. Too hot for a comforter so wish I just had a top sheet. Staff was very accommodating. Young lady in the morning charged my battery cause I could not get it to charge quickly using my adapter. Breakfast was ok. Hot food (scrambled eggs and sausage) was cold so I stuck with the cold foods, bread, lunch meats, and yogurt. Had dinner in the restaurant my first night and it was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that most of the ground floor, especially the outdoor area to the rear, is owned by the Italian restaurant not the hotel and they are very territorial over the seating. We were moved a couple of times as were we sat on the ‘wrong seats’ or as we weren’t eating. The only area you can sit and have a drink is literally the small area in front of reception.

    The room was very modern with the bathroom utilising the available space well. The breakfast was nice and varied and self-service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a kettle or tea/coffee making in the room. The TV didn’t seem to work, but it wasn’t important to us, so we didn’t ask (it could probably be easily fixed). Light comes in from the window, so bring mask if that bothers you!

    Hotel is very close to Goetheplatz metro station and only 10 min walk from the center. It was very clean, beds were comfortable and space well organized, although the rooms are fairly small. The duvets and pillows were lovely, although it did get a little warm!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a bit weird they were never present and the check in desk, however there was one lady who did really help us when the power in our room went out. Also the maid service did not refill the coffee and tea

    Very comfortable, large room. Great Breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Homely. Good area. Great welcome on arrival. Polite attentive staff. Comfortable bed and pillow. Clean and modern room. Lovely full breakfast served by warm happy people; same goes for the evening service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed just a few minutes more than checkout time and they charged me 15 EUR extra for a 4-hour late checkout. Usually in hotels, I have found the good ones to be lenient on going a little past checkout time, as long as you don’t abuse it. Not here. Plus, the hotel was practically empty, so it would have cost them nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean. Yes, it's true, there is only one door both for the toilet and bathroom, but as I traveled alone, it was not the matter. Yet, I liked the shower cabin, it's very spacious and kind of sexy with that glass wall :) The location is good enough, esp if you travel with U-Bahn, there is a metro station like 100 m away. There is a direct bus to Hauptbanhof too which takes you there for 5-10 min. Also there is a park located nearby, so joggers are welcome )

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door was also the toilet door. So if someone was using the toilet you couldn't have a shower.

    Good location near Goetheplatz underground so just 2 stops from town center. Good walk in shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old hotel. Room was really ‘brown’. Carpet was old and worn and the couch was horrible - grubby and uncomfortable. TV had no channels to choose from although there were 2. Balcony was grubby, rickety furniture and dirty, graffitied walls that had not been properly painted over.

    Staff were lovely. Very nice renovated bathroom. Great location as so close to U-Bahn and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was little firm and the amount of room at the sides of the bed was quite small. At times it was quite noisy.

    Clean, comfortable room. Good housekeeping.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water on the second day so the room had no heating or hot water for a shower. Also the room could have done with a desk and mini bar.

    Clean and nice room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really a good location - a walking distance to the center. Underground parking (not so big, so you need to book it in advance). Extremely friendly and helpful staff, thanks for allowing me a late check-out!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive for what it is, but then that is a Munich wide issue not just to do with this hotel. The signage outside refers to the hotel as Hotel Gio, and Herzog is only mentioned on the glass front of the hotel so finding this might be tricky for some people.

    Spacious and comfortable room, less than two minutes walk from Goetheplatz metro. The Paulaner brauhaus a few minutes down the road was good for drinks and food. 24 hour reception is helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was facing the main street so it was a bit noisy. Also, the wooden blinds on the windows are not fully blocking the light from the street which meant it was difficult to fall asleep.

    Friendly stuff, clean rooms, the hotel is close to the metro station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could be bigger variety in breakfast. Parking lot is very tight and not suitable for low built cars.

    Location is top. Rooms are great and clean. Stuff is friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please,change the pictures about breakfast. They don't show the real situation. The beds for the children were very hard and with very low comfort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very minor point but the pillows are extremely soft and thin... And as mentioned in other reviews, there's only one door for the bathroom and toilet, but if you are travelling as a couple that's not a big problem.

    Great location, 1 minute walk from the metro. Comfortable bed and nicely decorated room with a balcony. It's very quiet despite the centrale location so you can get a good night of sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The extra bad for out 7 years kid was too high and with some metal parts appearing out of its design frame. The toilet and the shower has a common door, so its not suitable for the family of 3 people. We've been charged in front by our credit card (without notice) even though we were willing to pay cash at the check out. It also was by "mistake" a larger amount. After that a "friendly stuff" tried to fix this mistake "done by the colleague". But that was not the only mistake as they tried to set up an express check in for us, which we never asked for... " Never happened to us in any hotel in the world. The room was freshly renovated but very very small for the family and thus overpriced even for such a city as Munich. Again I would say: watch out - the friendly stuff is not enough when everything else goes wrong.

    The stuff was friendly, but that couldn't change our overall disappointment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no any hurdle between the shower and the corridor, so the water from the shower flew to the corridor almost free. The fact that the door to the toilet and to the shower should be shared made us a bit confused. Entrance to the garage is challenging

    The staff was very friendly and rooms were very clean. Location is great - just two U-Bahn stations from the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small, it will fit a couple very comfortably, especially with the partially open showers (glass).

    The overall atmosphere of the room is great. The sofa converts to a comfortable twin size bed, so the hotel accommodates three people! The location is very close to the subway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast, but the receptionist told me that I can eat breakfast free though I hadn't paid. Then I paid 9€ because it was a mistake, misunderstanding. She didn't make clear that I should pay and she gave me the card with the wi-fi codes, where it was written even the breakfast times. Otherwise the people at the reception where very polite and the hotel was too good for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet is often offline unexpectedly. There is no fridge in the room and no way to get some drinks or snack when the restaurant is closed.

    The location is very good. The room is clean and newly renovated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing, little choice not replenished often enough, we went down for the last half hour 9:30am on the first day and there was no fruit left, the eggs ran out and staff refused to replenish, breakfast staff on that day were surly and quite rude but that improved from the second day after we complained but we were earlier on those days as well.... so if you stay here my tip is to get down to breakfast early. Also the lavatory and shower in the room shared a swing door so you can only use one at a time, okay for couples but not great for families.

    Great location, ideal for underground station. Rooms very clean. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally the large decorative murals of "Italian" people drinking I found strange. Front desk staff were stressed out and bit surly (or maybe just German). The cleaning of rooms is too late in day- went out at 9 am and returned at 3pm and room still not made up. When they did finally clean it was simply to fluff the blankets and new towels.

    The rooms were well appointed and newly renovated. Easy to find and in a very convenient location. Shower/ bath has great water pressure and beds extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pipes were rather loud which was inconvenient when people next door were taking showers at 5 a.m. Slightly unfriendly receptionist at the check out.

    Clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet room (apart from the noisy water pipes). Nice modern decor. Breakfast ok. The receptionist at the check in was very nice. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Our stay at the Hotel Herzog München was very pleasant. As a person with very high cleaning standards, I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and responded fast. Altough we were at the top floor, the wi fi signal was excellent. The location was very good; it was only ca. 20 min walk (or 2 subway stations) away from the city centre and the public transportation was very closeby, yet it was very quiet. Price/performance was very good for an expensive city like Münich.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A mini-fridge and coffee in the room would be perfect.

    Near Goetheplatz (Ubahn) and within walking distance of Oktoberfest grounds and the main train station. Modern hotel with interesting shower and bathroom door! Good sized room with couch. Very good breakfast at the connected next-door restaurant. Very friendly staff. Second-time I've stayed here, will stay again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed.

    Excellent short say hotel. Nicely refurbished rooms and very clean. My only issue is that the mattress was rather hard and that despite being a double bed, there was only a single duvet cover and just one pillow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Their parking lot is busy. I put my car away from the hotel 500 meters away - Their cash machine did not accepet my credit card even my partner credit card. So I payed in cash - There is no telephone in standard rooms. - The pillow was not clean

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Very attentive administrators, perfect location-the historical city centre, very quiet room, nice view, marvellous restaurant downstairs, very clean room, quite comfortable, everything was really perfect. Definitely gonna stay there next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I chose a hotel with parking. After booking and deducting my mony from my visa, it said parking cannot be reserved. When arriving a the hotel no parking was available. So why offer a parking when it cannot be guranteed. Never again when traveling by car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking has certain head-ache since it can be revereved prior. Big car is not possible to park even if we can get parking slot. So, you might struggle to find parking space near this hotel. However, if you can find public parking space on road near the hotel, it will be free of charge from 18:00 until 9:00am.

    Access to U-barn station & bus station is very near. Distance from Sendringer-tor was also less than 20min walking, so very close to city center. Room was really spacious and confortable. Although it was non-smoking room, but it has small terrace where we can smoke.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    strange toilet/shower combination, a bit uncomfortable

    nicely located close to goetheplatz, small but nice room, good breakfast (however had to pay 10 euro), comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small lift only went up to the 5th floor, so we had to walk the stairs with our suitcases to the 6th floor. We would have preferred one big blanket instead of two.

    Hip hotel, interesting interior design. Very nice they let us check out late and helped us print theater tickets, no extra charge. Staff was unobtrusive and friendly. We loved the location, close to the hip Gärtnerviertel, close to the subway station and just one stop from Sendlinger Tor. I'd prefer staying here to the busy city center itself. The hotel was quiet, no street noises bothering us. Good tourist information available downstairs including a map of the city. We loved the real double bed with one large mattress. The Italian place downstairs has really pizza.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel lobby was under construction the first 2 days.

    The location was great, the rooms were good, and the staff was very nice. The restaurant in the lobby was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A lady got stuck in the elevator and someone had to pry the doors open and she has to slide out from above. We just didn't use the elevators after that... Also this hotel changed its name. It is no longer Hotel Herzog. There was some slight confusion, but we found it.

    It was a good stay for Oktoberfest. It was clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The public light outside the window was still visible with the shutter closed at night

    The room was very nice and clean, a lot of privacy, very nice staff both at the reception and at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real concierge.

    The property is well located for Oktoberfest. The staff was nice and helpful. The restaurant at the hotel had an amazing restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing too serious - Bed was not comfortable (very hard) and pillow very soft. We were on the second floor and the lift is very small looking but doesn't matter if you're happy to walk the stairs.

    We stayed here as it's very close to Oktoberfest (less then 10 minutes walk). The accommodation was clean, modern and convenient. The bathroom was very compact but the room had a nice lounge. The property was very convenient for getting around Munich (shortish walk to centre or underground very close. Many cafes nearby as cheaper options for breakfast. BED was very hard and pillows were very soft (I think this might just be a european thing/ personal taste thing) but we did not find it comfortable after more than 1 night). Would recommend staying here for oktoberfest as everywhere is expensive at this time of year anyway (expect surge pricing!). Friendly helpful staff :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time the reception was under reconstruction. due to this it was moved to the restaurant area, and it was overcrowded especially in the morning. And.... i saw a mouth next to the lift area. it's clear that reconstruction is ongoing, etc but I was surprised....

    I like location, it's very close to the center, street is also not very noisy, rooms are good for a short stay, clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in Orvieto very poor

    Breakfast was poor, items not stocked up. We ordered eggs but they never came and when asked we were told kitchen had closed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the style of underground parking where most of the limited spaces are on a ramp basis. The hotel is undergoing some renovation works which negatively impacts on first impressions. I also feel that the hotel is undergoing an identity crisis as well. I booked it as Hotel Herzog and this name does appear in various places but Hotel Gio also seems to be being used.

    My room was basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet selection was quite good - not sure about the token system they seem to operate for those who have prepaid breakfast! Hotel is in a good location for walking into the old town, approximately 15 minutes. The attached Italian restaurant, where breakfast is served, is good for an evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would recommend that you update your street signage - we had trouble finding you!

    Nice rooms, compact but very comfortable. Reception was being renovated - I am sure it will be nice when finished.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room with 4 beds (vierbettzimmer) because we were travelling in four, but when we were checking in the receptionist told us that the maximum number of persons in the room were 3 and we should have to pay extra for the fourth person. It was really disappointing despite the good things the hotel offers for its price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The cleanliness of the room could be better.

    The staff is very attencious, especially Niki, that gave all the informations we needed. The restaurant in the first floor (Oliveto) has great food for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not worth the money and there are so mand cozy breakfast places around the hotel we went there instead. The parking space is very small and not easy to park but it worked.

    There is really value for money at this hotel - and we really enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearer explanation of parking options ahead of time would have been helpful. Tiny elevator might challenge a larger person with extra luggage.

    Clean and quiet with excellent ventilation system. Small room but impressive use of space. Comfortable beds. Found free parking on street by hotel on weekend. Underground parking part of property, but undergoing renovation at our visit. Easy 12 minute walk to city center, passing lots of interesting shops and sights on the way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I only had one pillow in my room and it was awful, but i generally dont like complaining so i borrowed one from my daughters room.

    Customer service was excellent from the night porter, barman, waiter, cleaners and the manager they couldn't do enough for their customers. Nothing was too much trouble i even think they actually liked pleasing people. Lovely staff. Being served morning coffee on the high street was the highlight of my morning, it is a great way to start the day watching the world go by, sure made up for not having a balcony. But that is part of the charm of city centre hotels, The rooms were lovely very boutique a lot more than i thought we were going to get when we looked at the property from the high street it doesn't look like a boutique kind of hotel, we were all very surprised and very pleased on what was on offer. We all forgot to bring European electric adaptors for 240v equipment, we asked at reception were we could buy them they but instead they loaned us three with no problem fro the duration of our stay. As we were there for the Audi cup we didn't get back to the hotel till nearly 12 every night but it was no problem getting served beers, the manager was more than happy to serve you himself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely poor internet-connection and disappointing breakfast. It was annoying that my credit card was charged for the entire stay upon arrival without warning.

    Untouristic location but only 15 minutes walk and subway-minutes away from city center Marienplatz. Nice restaurants/fast food at Goetheplatz some walking minutes away as well as a small supermarket in Waltherstrasse. Very nice staff (Herr Max!). Good Italian restaurant inside the hotel with patio - serving excellent pizza! Small but nice room with excellent air-conditioning. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no toiletries in room, one door for shower and bathroom (so you either take a shower or go to the bathroom, not good for a family with teenagers.. Also elevator was tiny and slow, we mostly walked up to the fifth floor

    Renovated room, good wifi, comfort beds, nice decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was underground and the entrance was very steep and narrow. It was stressful to drive into and out of it but it was right there.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent and they gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants nearby. We walked to many of the visitors sites. It was really conviently located.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful when you do online check-in. System is not perfect, functions poorly and there is no way to cancel for example parking or breakfast if you checked the box by accident. I had this issue and then had to solve it e-mailing with hotel staff - during check-in or check-out no one double checked what was my order in their system and in reality, plus I never received any e-mail that says I have booked parking or so. They charged me for parking and then told they won't refund it as "we were not able to sell it in another way.". Thus at the end I received refund, my good opinion about staff being helpful was a bit ruined by their arrogant tone.

    Room was clean and newly refurbished, looked same as in pictures. Thus in my opinion see through shower glass wall facing the room, sink in the room and one shared door to both toilet and shower rooms (that are separate) seem a bit uncomfortable if you travel with "just a friend" or colleague. Hotel is easy to reach by metro, takes approx 20 min walk to the old town, you can find bakery, McDonalds and kebab place close to it in case you don't like restaurant downstairs. But the restaurant is good, food is good and staff is friendly! As I understood - all (or almost all) are Italians. Pizza Margherita was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really... The best negative thing I could come up is that the pillows may be a bit off in terms of size, not the usual pillow. I had 3 toddlers, so as long as normal precautionary measures are taken, the hotel is as safe a place as any other.

    Staff were amazingly helpful and made the stay comforting. The room was just nice, pleasantly impressed. Fantastic location, shops and train station were just around the corner. Lovely Italian food at ground floor. Delicious Kebab a couple of doors away. Amazing, will definitely come back if ever in Munich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great rooms, lobby isn't anything special. What we liked: very very easy to get on the public transpotation, close to a great beer garden, close to several good restaurants, hotel has a nice garden restaurant. Area is working class but honestly it was fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One door to close bathroom or toilet. Washbasin jutting out, spray can make the entrance filled with water droplets.

    Cozy, comfortable room. Location, close to metro, supermarket. Restaurant in ground floor serves good food. Plus nearby good restaurants. Staff are excellent. Felt good overall along with the family. Quiet place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel name on the outside sign is different to the hotel name online and therefore the arrival was a little confusing. On the door then the actual name was visible.

    The property is directly located at the Goetheplatz, which allows easy access to the city center and main train station also within walking distance. The rooms are very spacious with a big rain shower and large couch and modern interior. Great is also that the invoice directly gets mailed to you; no printouts, no time wasted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is expensive and doesn't worth that money. During our stay a strange thing happened: even if the breakfast hours are from 07:30 till 10, at 9:30 they started cleaning everything and taking away the food. The young lady, who was bossing around and managing the breakfast area, was really rude when she was asked the reason of this. It turned out that they had to prepare the space for the restaurant which opens at 11:30.

    The location is really good: you're few steps away from the underground (2 stops to Marienplatz) and about 15-20 min walk. The rooms have been renovated since my last stay in this hotel: they're modern and classy now and nicely decorated. Wi-Fi connection had no flaws. There was also a new AC in our room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The barking was full in the first Dayan the second day the hotel provide parking with extra charge 15 € per day

    Close to the city center around 8 Min. By car

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is limited. So, for the first day, we had to park in a public garage. The directions to the garage we were given by the front desk person were not accurate and therefore, we spent over an hour looking for the garage. On the second day, we had a spot in the garage and everything was fine.

    Beautiful modern room with air conditioning. Nice on a hot day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room itself was fine, however it was very noisy and seemed poor sound-proofing. Very easy to hear people in the corridor. The breakfasts were not very good with limited range. The lobby area could do with a major facelift.

    The location was great and very central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While having breakfast they are already cleaning up and putting the chairs up... so impolite, breakfast room is quite hot, doors are closed which has no aircon.

    Our room was perfect, but my children's room are nice but bathroom shower has no cover only glass which is not practical for adults... in our room we can hear the steps from higher floor, thin wall and floors ?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only problem was the wooden slats used as window coverings. They let in a lot of light and I was woken up very early each morning. If there was a way to change this I couldn't find it.

    The room was bigger than expected and well designed. Very close to a subway station which we used to get to the Munich conference centre. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    car park entrance very steep, not for unexperienced drivers, big cars or low spoilers. No fridge in the room.

    Good location, nearby U bahn and Paulaner brauhaus. Nicely decorated and spacious room . Good airco.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi was free of charge, but it was dropping off all the time.

    The hotel is very clean and comfortable, situated in nice neighborhood, 20 minutes walking from the central station and the historic center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night of my stay I have been kept awake all night by a loud barking dog in one of the adjacent rooms. Its owners were away for the night and you could hear it barking throughout all 6 floors of the hotel. The night manager couldn't really do anything about it, except making many phonecalls to all kinds of people while not communicating with me for one hour before I gave up. He meant well, but he wasn't capable to solve anything. Imo this is the risk the hotel is willingly taking by allowing pets in the room. That night it was at the expense of the other hotel guests. Fortunately, at the end of my stay Lisa has solved this problem. At the time of my booking, I asked whether it was possible to have a gluten free breakfast. This was then confirmed, even twice. Upon arriving I checked again whether I could have a gluten free breakfast the next day. It was then confirmed again. But unfortunately the next day nobody knew anything about a gluten free breakfast. After a double confirmation and a night with no sleep because of the barking dog that was pretty frustrating. In the end, Lisa has solved this well though for the rest of the days of my stay. I found a nice Konditorei nearby for the breakfast of the first day. The breakfast personnel appeared quite grumpy. One girl did not speak English nor Deutsch and therefore didn't understand my questions (this was also true for the housekeeping, although she appeared friendly). The breakfast girl also gave me dirty looks while speaking to one of her colleagues in a language I couldn't understand (I think it was either Italian or Turkisch). That was quite rude. When I asked for my table to be cleaned she wanted to let me do it myself. The first day I enjoyed my breakfast outside in the yard. I was the only one who did so, thanks to earlier reviews. The next day however the restaurant path to the yard was blocked by a big restaurant sign.

    The rooms are clean and well designed, great value for money in that regard compared to other hotels in the same price category. Modern design, good temperature and with a rainshower, which was a plus. I had a room with a balcony, which was also very nice. The breakfast was good, not excellent but definitely good. Opportunity to enjoy the breakfast outside in the yard, although you have to put in a little effort to be able to do that, cause the personell didn't exactly make it inviting (see under 'negative'). The location is excellent, 1 min from Goethe metro station and at walking distance from the city centre (15-20 mins). Good neighborhood. Overall my experience with the staff wasn't that positive, but Lisa (assistent manager at the time of my visit) was the only exception to that. She was understanding, proactive and actually able to solve the problems that unfortunately had arisen. A big plus for her. If you have any trouble, I'd recommend asking for Lisa.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked the rooms which had been completely modernized. The rooms were extremely quiet and the beds were very comfortable. Location close to the subway was key.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow could be bigger and more comfortable. The breakfast was okay, however the service was not great. There were 3 people standing behind the bar, just looking around and at the same time most tables were dirty, full of used dishes, and I had to remove dirty dishes to find a spot for having breakfast. One hour before breakfast time was over, there was not much left and the staff didn't care for refilling the buffet. I recommend having breakfast in one of the cafés in the neighborhood!

    The room was great. Clean, comfortable, and a huge bed in a 1-person-room (appr. 180*200cm). The hairdryer was quite powerful (not these lame hotel hair dryers where long-haired women take hours to get their hair dry). Even though my room was directed towards the street, it was not too noisy - good windows! Moreover, I appreciate the intelligent architecture of the bathroom/shower. In previous comments, people complain about only being able to close one room at a time. However, they should be aware that in 80% of common hotel rooms, the toilet and the shower are in the same room that also just has one door. Great experience for little money, I'll come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle, sound isolation 7/10 - you'd hear your neighbors watch TV if they do it loud, I didn't like the functional design of the sink by it may be personal preference

    Temperature control, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi wasn't good, slow and inconsistent. The breakfast staff were not very friendly. There are no black out curtains, so the sun wakes you up in the morning, whether you want that or not. A better pillow and larger duvet would have improved the sleeping experience. Coffee not great. The maid seemed to have done a quick clean, not very thorough, and left dirty cutlery in the room.

    The hotel seems to have been recently renovated and the rooms are in good condition, and an attractive design. The bed is comfortable and the layout is good. it is a good location, and easy to get around town. It is not a luxury property but is comfortable and is comparable with a place like motel one, but feels like a family owned small hotel. With some small improvements this could be a really good boutique experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel room door is bit thin. Could hear noise and people walking by or in the stairs. No mini-bar or coffee/tea machine in room. People smoking in courtyard/or on balconies filters into room with opened window/balcony door.

    Large modern room with balcony. Interesting bathroom and shower layout! About a 17 minute walk to the main train station. Short walk to Goetheplatz U-bahn stop. Very good breakfast - like the dyed hard-boiled egges (Easter) and especially the yogurt and granola. Wish I used coupons to check out the Italian restaurant on the ground floor. Very fast check-out. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was clean and efficient. The personal was helpful and good. The location is perfect (10 min walk from old town center, 2 metro stop from city center. I strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room designs are quite stupid. There is only one door for the shower and the Toilet so you either close this or that at the same time. The sink was also in the room itself out of the bathroom which was quite weird. The room is also very small compared to other double rooms in Stuttgart or Berlin.

    The only thing I liked was the location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's no table in the room, just an oversized sofa but if you bring your laptop you have problems using it.

    Good location, very close to the subway, centrally located. The rooms have been renovated and are quite modern. One of the few affordable and modern hotels in the center of Munich.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Herzog München traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: