Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Hotel Hamburg Alster Centrum This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Holzdamm 4-12 + 16, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#178 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1789 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel - slightly pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricy, and the free internet was so slow, you couldn’t stream tv. If you wanted enough “power” to do that, the hotel charge you €6 a day :(

    Location is really good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was so big and the space around too tight no cupboard WLAN did not work right breakfast-room was ugly and the offer was not sensational for 11 €

    The bathroom was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like it all

    Close to Hamburg central station, restaurants and amenities. Great breakfast to start your day with good energy. Lovely personnel and very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price does not match the value. We were underwhelmed by the hotel room that cost us nearly 150€ per night. Having traveled extensively, it is safe to say a hotel that charges that much for a room must provide better services and facilities. The room met very basic cleanliness and comfort requirements, but such a room should not exceed the price of 80€. We stayed for 3 nights, had to remind the staff to clean the room (there was no door sign to put on the door), ask for additional towels as we only received small towels, when the room was finally cleaned, the dirty glasses were not replaced and we had to ask for that as well. The shower was leaking, the soap was the cheapest possible quality. The AC was very loud; the room was otherwise stuffy and hot. The staff seemed impatient and simply quite indifferent to a few requests we had (such as fresh towels or water glasses). Overall, it’s not an awful place to stay and the location is very good, but the value one gets by no means matches the price.

    Location is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice Hotel in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were small and uncomfortable

    Convenient location 5 minute walk to the train station, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, complimentary breakfast and WiFi, good value for travelers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    The location close to the train station is very convenient,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small and had no storage - no problem for a weekend, but you probably wouldn’t want to stay here for a long time. The hotel seemed a bit understaffed to me, both at the reception desk and in the breakfast room. Our room faced a street that didn’t have a lot of traffic, but somehow still was noisy at night (mostly due to people partying). The rooms facing the other direction might be more quiet.

    The location close to the train station is very convenient, but there was also a really convenient parking garage right below the hotel, which I thought was reasonably priced. The breakfast cost extra, but was good value for the money. The hotel is right next to the Atlantic (fancy hotel) and the Alster.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really don't have any complaints. The rooms weren't entirely soundproof, but also not noisy, but that's about it!

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful! Room was clean and comfortable, though small. However, for the location and price, it can't be beat. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Weekend in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cabin in the bathroom was missing some seals so the water was coming on the floor and we had to use all the towels to dry it. Also the toilet was old and not as clean as expected. The window had no noise cancellation and you could feel a gap in it and unluckily our room was facing the train tracks so it was quite noisy.

    The staff was nice and polite! Location of the hotel was very good and the city centre was easily accessible on foot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Location, Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were very small and so were the rooms. I found it a little expensive for what was offered.

    The location. It was walking distance to the main train station and centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Clean but room was way too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room only had space for one person. The room was REALLY small. And so was the bed (and blanket); the description on the website says the bed is between 150cm and 180cm, but it wasn't. We had to ask the front desk for an extra blanket as well, as it was too small for 2 people. Overall it just wasn't worth the money!

    Room was clean and warm. Close to Central Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    perfect place for a short stay in Hamburg.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room wasn't fit for so many people but this could be exceptionally situation. Don't expect a spacious bathroom.

    Certainly value for money. Perfect location in Hamburg city centre, only 5 minutes walk from many restaurants and shops. Parking garage for the hotel guests, great breakfast. Cosy bar, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast, nice room, close to the main station and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor WiFi, code is only valid for 24h, the rooms to the yard are noisy because of the traffic

    Good breakfast, nice room, close to the main station and Alster

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    you know what you get with IBIS, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    getting to the room was a bit like a maze.

    Location is close to the Outer-Alster 15 min walk to the center. For a run around the Alster the location is ideal. Breakfast is ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Super comfy and will be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hair dryer burnt my scalp, only one option setting. One towel each in room, no hand or hair towels.

    Comfortable beds, clean rooms, friendly staff, decent priced bar & snacks after hours. very good breakfast. Great Location. Close to the river and near town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I got there my booking was not on their system. I had edited my booking to update the day I was there but they only had my cancelled booking from the day before not the new date I had changed it to on booking.com. This is booking.coms fault and should have been updated on their system. Meant I had to spend 20 minutes checking in that should not have been needed.

    Standard ibis no issues with the the room at staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Fair value... if you are willing to accept some shortcomings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing was nonexisting, one could hear everything happening on the hall and outside. Cleaning was only approximate.

    Great location, fantastic breakfast. Parking available in the underground garage for a relatively modest fee when taking into account that the hotel is located in the middle of the city. The hotel did not skimp on heating as the weather was pretty cold.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were clean and cosy hotel was lovely and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not very friendly when checking in nobody spoke just handed your key and told you your room number i asked was there a kettle in the room and was just told no

    Rooms were clean and cosy hotel was lovely and warm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Good location close to central station and Jungfernstieg, on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are slightly small, double bed was really two single beds put together

    Good location close to central station and Jungfernstieg, on the opposite street side of Hotel Atlantic, option to store your baggage after you leave, checkout at noon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    It was great location, nice rooms and close to River Side.. Bathrooms are a bit small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Alster View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Booking.com room has been published as River View but the hotel does not have a river facede.. You see the river a very small part from the window. It shouldnt be published as River View. Also the towels in the room was small sizes that you have to be slim to cover you.. I

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Value for money, great hotel for a 2-3 day stay in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower temperature fluctuates. Some railway noise, but nothing to worry about.

    Perfect location, good beds, lovely style hotel. Affordable parking. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location, good service but fell way short on wifi and food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi didn't work which is a big issue for me as I am travelling for business and want to work in my room. The food options were limited to toasted sandwiches which meant I had to venture out in the snow to find somewhere to to eat.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.4
    Waffels were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alster View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal could be nicer - they didn't greet us etc. I felt like everytime I asked something I was bothering them. When booking a room, I asked for an extra pillow - it wasn't there when we arrived. I needed to ask one more time. There were no remote control for TV in the room. There are no safe, minibar, kettle in the room. The shower was leaking, after using it all the floor was wet. The only toiletters in the bathroom is shower gel/shampoo. Nothing else. Also only 2 big towels and 1 small you can put on floor. It would be nice to have more for hands etc.

    The self-made waffels at breakfast was absolutely great! Nice that they have underground parking (but it's extra cost 13 eur)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Average quality / price ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom had only 2 towels for 2 persons, WIFI was almost useless (dropping all the time and very slow). On checkout we were not able to use credit card to pay for breakfast as it was out of service, and were not allowed to get cash from an ATM (we were leaving our luggage there for the afternoon). They demand us to pay with all our available cash (we were about 5€ short). Not professional at all as it was not our fault that the credit card reader was out of service.

    Comfortable bed, and clean room. Close to the main train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it's fine. May be the breakfast could be served til 11, but hmm... Anyway they have a system for late-getting up people offering tea, and it's still possible to get something yummy at the station.

    my HQ in Hamburg : near of the station (for the restaurants and trains), near of the lake (quiet, nice view), quite near of the center (ten mn walking). Comfortable, and not too expensive, considering Hamburg is an expensive city, especially for the hotels (not for the food).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Clean room and nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast selection, no flip flops in the room, only one type of soap to use for your hands, body and hair - no hair lotion

    Clean room and nice location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.8
    Ideal if staying in hotel only to sleep. Breakfast is good and substantial and good start to the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room nowhere like that advertised. Away from reception area the hotel décor itself in very dark. No safe in room nor any location to leave valuables with exception of passport.

    The breakfast was very substantial. Location is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    good choice of location and facilities for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed was two singles pushed together which leaves the middle uncomfortable to use, as I was staying alone I would have used the middle of the bed if I could

    good position, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    the location was super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities looked much nicer in the pictures. The staff was not as helpful as they could have been and some were downright rude. We were on the 5th floor and the elevator broke but they did eventually move us. We also had issues with the temperature of the room. It was way too hot and no one was able to adjust. They did finally open the window which gave us some relief.

    the location was super. Right were we needed to be. The room was clean and adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.3
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in guy wasn't very friendly. There was no menus or destination info in the rooms. In the bar the waitresses were pestering, one would come and ask did we want more drinks, then the other girl 2 minutes later.

    Location near main train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location near to the main train station, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature was a bit high, but it doesn't really matter since it was very cold outside during my stay.

    Good location near to the main train station, excellent reception service. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.3
    Brief, no facilities, clean but not spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a room beside the train tracks so quite noisy most of the night and especially early. We had booked two king rooms but they seemed different size wise. The bed sheets while clean had a couple of stains (just hard to remove) and found a hair. There was no food in the hotel and nothing in the near vicinity. Also the check-in guy hadn't the warmest welcome. No black tea at breakfast.

    The location was accessible for the train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sometimes the prices are already too high for me, but when I can it's my HQ.

    My headquarters in Hamburg dh really my favourite hotel, in a quiet part but near of the station and of the main shopping area (10 minutes walking). And you have the beautiful lake Alster very near. The room is big and comfortable, the bed is good. The breakfast is all right.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Location is excellent for visiting Hamburg.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot, the heating could not be controlled. Only the window could be opened.

    Location is excellent for visiting Hamburg. Including underground parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value product.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening catering is very limited - only sandwiches. Also I left my Kindle in the room when I left and despite 2 attempts to contact the hotel no one has come back to me I rang and no answer. I mailed via booking.com no answer and I contact via the Ibis website no answer either.

    Good value product. Breakfast very slick and efficient buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenient and affordbale hotel in downtown Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in time is very late. I wish checks would begin at 12 or 1 pm.

    The property is centrally located and in the downtown area of Hamburg. It is very close to public transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel to stay if don’t use the landury service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Alster View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing bothered me is the landury service the company which the hotel deal with is need to be change because they return the cloth as dirty as they took it

    The room size, the location, tha hotel decoration

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower drainage could have been better. Bathroom had distinct odor (not of cleaner). Hotel is very near the train station, making evenings loud, even with the window closed.

    Location was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable. Check-in early option was a nice perk. Staff was friendly and helpful when we needed anything (batteries for tv remote, bag hold after checkout, separate payment option).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Issue with accepting UK cards for settling account (tried multiple times with no luck)

    Great breakfast. Staff really helpful. Room was small but nice. Perfect location right near the Alster, and in a quiet road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Spiders and no view of the Alster!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alster View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they put us in was literally full of spiders! 8 to be exact! We called the front desk and they changed our room immediately, but it really creeped us out! We also paid 11 euros more for a room with a view of the Alster, a total joke! You have a view of the Alantic Hotel, but you would have to lean your entire body out of the window to kindof see the Alster! We told them that is false marketing and that we would like the 11 euros back, didn't happen. We will never book there again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a second pillow! Otherwise very good for the price.

    Good value for money, central location (short walk from central train station and close to main areas). Staff very friendly and allowed us to check in before noon which was really helpful. Would definitely chose this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Warning: This chain hotel demands a 20 euro fee for access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning: This chain hotel demands a 20 euro fee for access to a room prior to their 3 p.m. check-in time. Or you must be a member of their " frequent guest" program. And they are happy to inform you that they have rooms available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.0
    Give me the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alster View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable sod on reception, he clearly did not take his happy pills before he came to work. Did not know how to greet you and was only interested in taking my €12 for motorcycle parking. Very poor wifi - but of course your could always pay for the upgrade 😂😂😂😂😂 €6

    Easy to find, good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    I booked river view room but our room has very small high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Alster View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked river view room but our room has very small high window I have to jump on the window sill then can see river a little bit,TRICKY! I asked to change normal room and only got 10eur reture and some staffs are not profeeional or have cold attitude.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect choice for discovering the city & quick access to trains/u-bahn/s-bahn; a bit expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could have been a bit more friendly; the bathroom is not that spacious and lacks any window.

    Perfect hotel position (5 min. on foot from the central train station, the heart of the city is only 10 min. away), clean & quiet rooms, nice & modern decoration.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff and a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room with Alster view and still was looking against a wall when I looked straight out the window, this was quite disappointing. Only when I put my face to the window then I would see the Alster on the left. For the people who will book this too - Room 334 does not have a great Alster view at all. Another downside is that the booking info stated that the room would be bigger and that it would contain a wooden floor and it just would be carped (which also was not bad - it is just not mentioned right when you try to book a "premium" room). All with all I am still VERY satisfied with this hotel!!

    The staff at the Ibis were very friendly. This location has a very nice lounge were you can stay after a long day work, together with a bar and a separate Dinner/Breakfast area. They also got the best fresh made Toasts & Sandwiches 24/7! Location wise it is very close to the city and to the Central station - great location to get going to any place in Hamburg. Last but not least, the rooms have enough space to stay - it is decorated very nicely and the hygiene is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    decent location, rubbish wi fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi fi was totally useless and although i was given a PRE PRINTED alternative which also did not work( the fact that there was an alternative was indicates the hotel knows of the wi fi not working on the fifth floor at least) Therefore we had no wi fi for our two day stay.

    short walk to hamburg train station and an even shorter walk to the water front

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.0
    Why do you make guests pay a 10 euro deposit to use an iron...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why do you make guests pay a 10 euro deposit to use an iron and an ironing board - we are not criminals so dont make us feel like one. terrible policy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.1
    ok basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    climate, suffocating hot in room and the ventilation unit didn,t produce cold air but only noise

    Location is great, Haubtbahnhof, Kunsthalle and Aussenalster very close but still in a quiet street

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    very valuable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, may be a bit labyrinthic to find the elevator but that's peanuts

    Very big and comfortable room : big bed with good duvet, big TV-screen. Bathroom : clean I was very happy because it's near the Alster, one of the nicest spots in Hamburg but also very near of the station though in a quiet street. SO I certainly will come back there when back in Hamburg.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    On Sunday we slept longer and it wasn't possible to tidy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Sunday we slept longer and it wasn't possible to tidy the room. But after waking up, we were out for several hours and when we came back the room was still in disorder.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    We arrived at 11am and were checked straight in - hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - not a major issue as it's a nice to have

    We arrived at 11am and were checked straight in - hotel looks great , 2min walk from central train station and main shopping area. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.7
    Would be an okayish two-star if it weren't for the price.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The King room is tiny, there is not much storage space for the luggage you have (besides pushing it under the bed). The shower was leaking to the bathroom floor. If you're not used to it, the trains passing by the badly isolated window would be very annoying. The price is not appropriate.

    The beds are comfy and use a detergent that's not irritating to the skin. The sound isolation from the hallway is pretty good. The rooms are clean and the decor is nice. Locationwise, it's pretty good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.8
    10 minutes walking to the center and 4 minutes to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No closet space in the room.

    10 minutes walking to the center and 4 minutes to the nearest metro station and the railway station. Very nice breakfast and comfortable warm rooms. Nice bar in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.5
    Good value nice design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a quiet room and they put us by the rail track. Shame breakfast not included and 11 euros each per night. We went elsewhere. Room was described as a king sized room but it was small.

    Nice modern clean hotel. Good location. Staff helpful. Checked us in early.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for the Christmas markets. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the markets in the square. Walking distance from central station too. Great value for money and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    My conference and all the events were within a 10-minute...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safe in room. No minibar. Temperature rather warm and no noticeable reaction from air conditioning. No comfortable seating to watch television.

    My conference and all the events were within a 10-minute radius of the station, so this location was perfect. Room with pleasant modern furnishings. Good wifi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Add a kettle and a fridge and it would be the best hotel in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited seating etc. No kettle or fridge (I know it is an ibis and only a two star)

    Very good location, close to the Hbf station but far enough away to be away from the sleaze. Right near the Alster lake. Very clean comfortable room. VERY comfortable bed. Reasonably spacious and nice bathroom. Not sterile like may ibis hotels. Very helpful and firendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location! Comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The drainage of the shower room may need improvement. (I reported the case to the reception and they took prompt responsive action. Very good!) The staff members at the reception were not as nice as those at the restaurant.

    The location is perfect because it is only 7 minutes walking distance to the train station. Although it is very close to the train station, it is very quiet. The room is in modern and stylish design. The bed is very comfortable. The staff members at the restaurant are always very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.4
    Noisy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise is terrible all night long, coming both from the street and rails. Difficult to sleep for "untrained" persons.

    Good position with easy access to the Central Station and city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    4 nIghtfield stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alster View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replenishment of breakfast more quickly. Most mornings there was no bacon left.

    Comfy bed clean room freshas towels daily. Buffet breakfast.nice view of lakey from room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast buffet was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was excellent. A lot of different food and since my travel companion is lactose intolerant, it was very surprising that they had lactose free items to choose from!! Nice, clean and quiet hotel with Friendly staff. The wifi was adequate and free of charge. For a 2 star hotel it was very impressive. Its pretty close to the alster lakes and shopping areas. Can definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel in nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the front of the hotel (opposite the Atlantic Hotel) and had to shut the window due to the noise of traffic and people echoing between the buildings. Not the fault of the hotel I accept.

    It was all as it said in the booking. Staff were helpful and efficient. Position near the lake was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    The standard Ibis experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for our stay on arrival, but it was only when we got to the room I noticed my receipt said that my card had been charged in Pounds (at their very poor exchange rate) rather than Euros, and that I agreed to this. When challenged the reception staff happily refunded the charge in Pounds and then charged me in Euros (perhaps suggesting this often occurs), but this kind of practice isn't impressive. The staff spoke excellent English so this wouldn't have been the issue. Noise from the adjacent S-Bahn is also quite noticable in rooms at the back of the hotel, although we didn't find it excessively intrusive some guests might.

    This is very much a standard Ibis hotel - not particularly exciting; but comfortable and well designed. The hotel's location is the big sell - a 5 minute walk to Hamburg Hbf, and a short walk into the city centre shopping area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.7
    Excellent location, rooms small and functional, best for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Came back at 10pm after a full day out to find our room hadn't been serviced.Didn't report it until next morning as we just wanted to relax and get to bed; reception apologised next day and did allow us a free breakfast. Efficient luggage storage system

    An ideal location, only 2 mins walk from the large Alster Lake,but less than 5 mins walk from the main station. Rooms compact and functional, but do contain all facilities needed for a SHORT stay..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a part where we had to carry our luggage to get to the lift. There was a candy wrapper under the bed

    The receptionist is very nice and very hlelpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is basic but perfect if you want a central place to stay in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all.

    Location was excellent - about a three minute walk from the central rail station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Location is nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not worth the money....

    Location is nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Located close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms just ok.

    Located close to train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    This is a fairly priced hotel in St George area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a fairly priced hotel in St George area. It has everything from parking, comfortable bed to good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice, central place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very central place, modern and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money in the city center.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic but clean, breakfast very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Air conditioning not working.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working. Not possible to open windows because of railway noise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Good place for business stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location was very good. Staff friendly. Totally happy with it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very clean & comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location made it easy to get around the city

    Very clean & comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Hotel Hamburg Alster Centrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: