Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Königshof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schottstr. 1-5, Neustadt, 55116 Mainz, Germany

#10 of 30 hotels in Mainz

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1950 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    A great place in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This place exceeded our expectations. It was so conveniently located across the road from the train station with trams and buses leaving from right outside. It was an easy bus trip into town. The staff were helpful and kind, the breakfast excellent and the room large and quiet. Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper. I can not fault our experience at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived in very warm day, the room was super hot, the airco didn't work and the old fan wasn't good enough. Open the windows wasn't really an option because the hotel its right in front of the main station, so it. Can be very noise. The bathroom was clean and the shower very nice, but the drain were super smelly, disgusting. The lift stop between floors, so you'll have to go up and down stairs, it's not much, about 15 steps but still not nice when you have a baby stroller, the baby and luggage. Parking in front it's paid fro. 8 am until 19:00, 2 euros per hour and you may not find spot to park. On Weekends it's free.

    The location, the size of the room and the breakfast were the high points of the hotel. Very well locate, with transport right next door, about 10 minutes walking to the shopping street, bar and restaurants around. A nice room size, good enough for a family with 2 kids. Well served breakfast, different types of meat, 3.types of cheese, eegs and bacon, nice breads, coffee and juice. Also cereals, fruits, and other stuff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    Older, traditional German hotel convenient to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist when we arrived and checked out (the day shift) was a bit cold and kind of curt. A/C in one of our rooms didn't perform too well, couldn't be set below 23 C (for rapid cooling) and kept shutting off when room temperature was about 267-27C (around 80 F) and humid!

    Very nice breakfast buffet of typical German deli meats, cheeses and fruits. Nice coffee machine with multiple selections. Convenient location across from the train station, especially since we used this hotel as a stopover after trans-Atlantic flight into Frankfurt and before a Rhine river cruise the next day starting in nearby Bingen Am Rhein. Hotel is 10-15 minute walk to historical center of Mainz (the Cathedral, Gutenberg Museum, etc.). There are lots of restaurants, shops, supermarket, bakeries nearby. On a warm night, the square in front of the hotels had beer gardens with lots of young people enjoying meals and drinks. We had rooms on higher floor (4th) so the noise wasn't a problem. My room has good air conditioning which was so necessary when mainz had a heatwave-like 90 degree with high humidity. My sister's room, however didn't perform quite as well (see the "didn't like" section)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money for solo travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in lady a bit reserved; lift did not go to the top floor; no tea and coffee-making facilities

    Close to railway station; price; free WiFi; decent single room size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent location right beside train station which serves frankfurt airport. Exceptional room, high ceilings and very comfortable bed. Very clean room, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money and well placed for the station and city
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is extremely well placed for the station and within a short walk of the main part of the city. The breakfast choice is excellent and the hotel well appointed with air conditioning much used in the May heat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Great location as it’s literally right across the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location as it’s literally right across the street from the train station. Hotel clerk recommended a great Biergarten for dinner which was a 10 min walk away, and they have a large delicious breakfast spread in the morning. Great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.7
    Very centrally located, metres from the train station so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was sometimes a bit noisy from the hall and other rooms. Some people may not like the bars and clubs nearby.

    Very centrally located, metres from the train station so very convenient to go out on day trips along the Rhine. Good value and a reasonable breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    The location was on point!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Irish pub across the street got pretty loud into the night with people and music, even with all our windows shut.

    The location was on point! The staff was friendly and allowed us to stow our luggage on our last day so we could walk around some more before departing. Appreciated the lift and the air conditioning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel if you want to be very close to Mainz railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of noice day and night from the street if your room facing the street

    Great location in front on Mainz train station and bus and tram , a lot of restaurants around and 2 good supermarkets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Squeaky floor in bedroom and broken lift

    Location was excellent situated adjacent to train station. Room was comfortable but floor was squeaky. Staff were very friendly and helpful in pointing out restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.5
    A comfortable stay in delightful Mainz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lift currently not working. A little tricky getting heavy bags upstairs. No foods at breakfast for people with allergens eg gluten free options.

    Amazing access to all local public transport. Right across the road from the Hauptbahnhof. Ask for a quiet room at the back. No noise at all! They were simply furnished rooms but comfortable and clean. Approx a 15 minute walk to the Rhine and Old area of the city. A very handy laundromat about one block away from hotel! Wifi was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely! Comfortable. Right next to a bunch of great restaraunts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Street was a little noisy, which isn’t the hotel’s fault, but it definitely woke me up a couple times.

    Breakfast was delicious! The location is so conveniently located next to the main train station. The trees right outside the window on the 4th floor were so lovely as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect accommodation for a busy traveler. Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t have major criticisms. For anyone from the USA, be prepared for European style things like the outlets and bedding. I personally enjoyed it very much!

    The staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is very nice with excellent coffee. There are many nice restaurants and nightlife very close, and it’s location is perfect for anyone traveling by train. The room is very European (small and efficient) which I enjoyed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.9
    Favorite arrival and departure hotel for flights from and to US.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was very good.

    hotel is very conveniently located nd always excellent. Very pretty rooms, very quiet. Excellently trained and very helpful staff. Elevator and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is a great value for Mainz,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I requested a single room, and the room they gave me was very large. I always expect a small room when travelling in Europe solo. I was quite pleased with my room. The location is directly across from the Mainz train station, and this made my travel to Ingelheim and Wurzburg very easy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, right across from train station. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Good breakfast. Hotel is clean and tidy. Will definitely stay there again when visiting Mainz.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    9.6
    Another comfortable, easy stay at Hotel Koenigshof
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent if you are arriving by train - it is right opposite the main train station (Mainz Hauptbahnhof), but still a short, easy walk to the Altstadt and centre of town. The included buffet breakfast is excellent for the price you pay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    7.5
    Good location, good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friday night a little bit noisy outside.

    Good location, good value for money. There is no hotel parking, but you can find public parking in the nearby undeground garage Bonifazius Turme, which is two minutes (walk) away from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    9.6
    Good location and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please no more hair from previous guest in Bathroom. Thanks!

    Very good location - train station and shops are very near. Large selection for Breakfast :-) Rooms are nicely furnished.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.2
    Large comfortable room, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room was very, very crowded because the hotel was full. There is no Hotel parking but in the Parkhaus around the corner (Bonifatius) it only costs 5 Eur per day parking in the basement.

    The room was great -very spacious, clean and the mattress was firm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel showing age but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The afternoon receptionist was very rude & unfriendly to us. She was unwelcoming.

    Great location. Walking distance to everything. Morning receptionist was very kind. Very clean. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.6
    Great place. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location next to railway station as l needed to use the shuttle bus to the stadium to watch the Mainz v Hertha Berlin game. Small but comfortable room which suited me just fine. Sensational filling breakfast that filled me up for most of the day. Great place, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    5.0
    Noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main reason I booked a room at the Hotel Königshof was the fact that, as described, the rooms were soundproofed. Mine was definitely not. When I told the receptionist that I could hear a lot of noise from the street and it really bothered me, she responded because the windows were made of glass (!) and she could not help me in any way.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    8.3
    This is handy for the railway station opposite and about 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    UHT milk! The only valid argument for Brexit is the unaccountable taste of some of our European partners for UHT!!

    This is handy for the railway station opposite and about 15 min walk from the centre of town around the Dom. You will get a little noise being so near the station area, but it was ok. Breakfast is pretty good and the room was clean and comfortable. Receptionist recommended a good local restaurant called Laurenz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.2
    Great location if travelling by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a step or elevational change across the room at the foot of the bed. We both tripped on this at night.

    Great location. We stayed here just before flying out of the Frankfurt Airport. Even though it is just across the street from the train station, the room was very quiet. The aldstadt attractions are walkable. Breakfast was very good. Great coffee and even fresh cooked eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxing stay with a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Konigshoff is a great budget hotel without feeling like a budget hotel. It has charm and comfort. The biggest plus for me was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff who provided answers to my many questions. I also liked that the hotel is located across the street from the train station, which made getting around easier though nearly everything is walking distance in Mainz. The breakfast was fantastic as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.1
    good hotel, despite area. Could choose a nicer location in Mainz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is located near the train station. The area seems a bit rough, lot's of loud people hanging out by an adjoining arab restaurant that have loto and slot machines. Across the street there is an Irish pub which was packed with people at night ,when we returned to the hotel. The crowed were a bit noisy...the next morning we could see crashed bottles on the ground right at hotel entrance Not so pleasant. but the hotel felt safe inside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    Very convenient as close to station and a short train ride...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very convenient as close to station and a short train ride from Frankfurt airport. Pleasantly surprised to find breakfast was included and it was delicious. Hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is in a perfect location, just next to the train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The hotel is in a perfect location, just next to the train station. The room is quiet and the bed very confortable. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    4.6
    Keep looking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were awful.....woke up with a huge backache. Room smelled of cigarette smoke and if you turn on the air conditioning, it only gets worse. Our room had a balcony but it's locked so no point. Towels, that were provided were paper thin.

    I chose this hotel because of the close proximity to the main train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.3
    good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is an old building and the rooms and furniture have not been renovated for a long time.

    good value for the money great location near the train station nice cafe nearby great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.9
    Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit dated but not to any major extent and that is more than made up for with the price.

    Great location, room was spacious and breakfast simple, but tasty and fresh. Stayed in Hotels in Cologne, Koblenz and Stuttgart as part of our trip, which were all more expensive and didn't include breakfast. I would say that the Konigshof was the best value for money of all of them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay in Mainz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of street noise late evening but seemed OK during the night. (Room was on top floor & double glazed !) Hard to criticise Hotel for noise.

    Excellent breakfast with cooked options. Only across the square from railway station. Inside hotel quiet during night. Staff spoke English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel near the train station, extensive continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is non-smoking, but the location of our rooms, on the floor above the entry allowed for people to smoke on top of the roof of the bottom floor, which caused our room to smell like stale smoke.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    9.6
    Location!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location! It is right on the opposite side of the train station which is really helpful when you don´t know the place or have an early flight. It is also easy to get to downtown from the hotel. Plus breaksfast was really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    8.3
    Unbeatable location but decor could do with refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough power sockets Bathroom was definitely on the small side

    Fantastic location 2 minutes from the main station Family run feel to the property Good breakfast selection Rooms facing front had big windows with a lot of natural light but not noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.8
    Good location at a walking distance from Fussgängerzone,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location at a walking distance from Fussgängerzone, central railway station and Volksfest ;) Friendly staff, delicious breakfast Public parking in front of the hotel, with a bit of luck easy to park

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, very close to the Mainz Hbf train stop. Room is small, but still rather comfortable. Breakfast had a good selection of juices, cereals, meats, and cheeses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioned room was a blessing during a heat-wave. Secure storage for our bikes was a plus and the breakfast was superb - perfect for a day of cycling! The location so close to the train station was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, it just would have been even better if they provided a small toothpaste with the soap/shampoo.

    Clean and nice room, big enough for one person, and the best part, considering the hot weather - there was an air conditioner in the room! Great location (just across from the train station) and value for the money (quite good breakfast included).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.6
    The room was clean and comfortable, the staff kind and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift does not reach the floor levels exactly, so that stairs must be done anyway to get to the rooms. This not very comnfortable when traveling with heavy luggage.

    The room was clean and comfortable, the staff kind and efficient, breakfast very rich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    7.1
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The personnel are a bit limited on giving better service at both the concierge and breakfast stations.

    Not much more except we would stay there again and in fact we need to book two nights for 21 and 22 July 2017., which kindly confirm for the same room or equivalent to room Nr. 217 the (larger room). thanks much W & L Mansour

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.9
    Decent place in great location if coming by train
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelled not pleasantly a bit of pee. Both of us noted but didn't tell them. It wasn't that the ventilator malfunctioned. The rooms are a bit dated, carpets also old Parking was a big problem - there are parking spaces for $2/per hour but I was lucky because I was there Sunday when the hourly rate is waved. You need to buy a parking thing which will say when it expires and put it in the windshield. They have nothing - best to use when coming by train!

    Price given where it is was great - just across the train station, with nice restaurants (we went to a Tapas place 20 steps from the entrance!) nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay in Mainz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not one thing.

    This hotel was a great surprise. It is so close to the HBf that we never expected it to be so good, clean and very well appointed. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff helpful and welcoming. It is a place to be recommended to all travellers but especially those travelling by train.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    8.3
    Great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention.

    Large room, large bathroom, comfortable bed and air-conditioning on a hot night made for a good stay, exceeding our expectations overall. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.5
    Ideal hotel for train travellors & for a base to explore Mainz City centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy at night due to a couple of bars right opposite the hotel, no coffee facility in room or hotel bar

    Ideal location for train travellors right across from main station, friendly staff, nice clean room good quality buffet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    8.8
    Staffs at the receptionist are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've had better breakfast...

    Staffs at the receptionist are very nice. The room is clean and big enough for a single traveler. Near the main train station and REWE.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    9.6
    Joy in the Heart of Mainz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My initial reaction was that the lobby was rather limited - but it was functional and everything else about the hotel was totally outstanding!

    Room was spacious and sunny w/view over the top of the trees of the boulevard. Right across from Hauptbahnhof. Very comfortable. Great staff. Good breakfast. Very clean and quiet. In the heart of Mainz and within walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    7.5
    Clean and convenient... right across from the train station, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a lift, but if you are carrying heavy suitcases some of the floors still require you to carry them several or more stairs, so ask for the 3rd floor where there are only 2 stairs.

    Right across the street from the train station, very good breakfast, clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    9.6
    Good access to Rhine Day Cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift serviced alternate floors only. Being on a floor in between there were still a fair few stairs to negotiate with large luggage.

    Close to public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    Nothing like German cleanliness and great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that when I put my bags on hold for the day after checkout, it was in an unlocked room that was easily assessable to everyone.

    Cleanliness in German hotels is amazing! Same for the German "breakfast included", great quality and so much food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel room 3 minutes from train station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Not having an elevator all the way to my room but with the construction of the bldg. it doesn't seem possible. It's certainly not the fault of the owners. Also, as I mentioned in what I "liked", it would have been nice for a mini-bar or small frig. I don't care about having food/drink items being stocked but being able to store a couple of bottles of water or soda or a small carton of yogurt would have been helpful. I knew it did not have the "mini-bar" when I booked so it did not deter me.

    The location is incredible!! I'm a senior citizen who is in average condition but had no problem getting my luggage from the train station to the hotel. It is perhaps 200 meters. When I got out of the station the first day, I went to look for a taxi to take me to the hotel although I knew it was close. To my amazement, I looked across the street and there it was! I wheeled my two small pieces and there I was. I did day-trips most days on the train, such as to Cologne, Heidelburg, etc. and it would take me about 3 minutes to get from the hotel lobby to the station where I looked on the board to find my train. There are many trams and buses in that vicinity also. I thought the buffet breakfast was good. Not spectacular but very adequate. There was a heated towel rack which was esp. handy for doing light washing of clothes. They dried almost instantly. I was in a single room which had a single bed. The only minor "complaints" were that I was on the top floor and it WAS quiet. But after I got off the elevator, I had about 21 steps to climb before I got to my room. It was OK except when I arrived and left with my luggage but obviously I made it fine. It would have been VERY nice if there had been a little frig to keep cold drinks and yogurt or small items.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    8.3
    Great value and convience if traveling by train!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little stuffy in the room so we kept windows open, though a bit of noise due to proximity to train station. The hotel does have AC though, and overall our room was very spacious - a huge triple!

    Great breakfast buffet. If traveling by train this is incredibly convenient location, literally just steps away from the main train station in Mainz. Also a very easy trip into Frankfurt airport - about 30 mins and 5 euro on the train. Mainz Saturday market is fun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    10
    Found comfort in our short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and the AC was terrific. The breakfast was delicious as it included bacon and eggs and all the other things typical of European breakfast. Check in and out was simple. Super convenient to train station. Would stay here again without a doubt.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    7.5
    Good short stay hotel with good access to transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little tired and could use an upgrade. The shower door was very difficult to open and close, My room faced the main street and I left the window open and was awakened at about 2 am to the noise of people exiting the local bar next to the hotel. Closed the windows and returned to sleep quickly.

    Proximity to the train station was excellent as well as public transport. Room was a good size and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very good with plenty of options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    10
    Great hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    I found the rooms very clean, the breakfast was excellent and the location was centrally located and right across the street from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    7.9
    A Comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is quite close to the train station, there is the risk that there could be a lot of noise. I was lucky in that there were not a lot of people. Thus, the noise was low. However, I was still able to hear it outside. If you are a light or very light sleeper, this could cause problems for you.

    The location is ideal if arriving by train. It is literally crossing the street. The staff were very nice and helpful with the different nearby areas. As public transportation is readily available, this hotel allows for people to go out and explore while not being a long hike to get there. Breakfast was exactly as how it is promoted: good. There are a variety of items to choose from that should satisfy all types of dietary needs. I viewed this hotel as a comfort hotel. Therefore, I did not expect incredible, high class amenities. It hit all of the marks that I needed: internet functioned well, beds were comfortable and everything was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    7.5
    Cheap, clean,and comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints. Hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs.

    Staff helpful and friendly. Very close to Mainz main rail station. Not luxury but good value for money at the price I paid, with comfortable room and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    9.2
    Nice central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking is a lottery and is very restricted. We arrived on a Sunday which was fine, but had to feed the parking machine at 8 AM on Monday morning and were only allowed one hour maximum! Reception told us it was two hours, which resulted in a bit of a rush.

    Nice stay in the centre of town, right by the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Nice old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Nice old hotel. Ideal for station and easy walking access to city centre and cathedral (15 mins) and to River Rhine (20 mins). Excellent breakfasts. Despite being close to the busy station square security was good and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    6.7
    Relatively costly "bahnhofshotel" which cannot afford a bottle of water
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Costly for a typical "Bahnhofshotel". Especiallh considering a youth hostel size bed for a room that costed by 72 euros a night. Plus, why didn't they eveb have the courtesy of placing a bottle of waterin the room? The bed was ot comfortable. I got a neckpain and headache the next morning which only an aspirin could solve. The route to the pharmacy was kindly shown by tbe hotel staff, who were quite professional. By the way, there is a gambling place on the right flank of the hotel and on the left flank there seems to be a night club.

    Easily reachable from the train station. Breakfast is quite sumptuous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    9.6
    Great location facing train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a little dated to modern hotels but that didn't worry me.

    Great location facing train station. Good price. Felt a nice homely hotel. Decent enough breakfast. Easy check-in & Easy Checkout. Very nice staff. Good Irish bar opposite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice, comfortable hotel. There is quite a big undeground parking lot close to the hotel. Very good location and friendly staff. Breakfast is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    4.2
    Bedbugs ...lound and dirty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was unfriendly. A big Student was managing the desk and unable to organize it. The room was old dusty and Dark. Was happy to open a window to an untidy and dirty backyard. It was impossible to sleep because 3 students Parties were running right in front of my window! I had strange spots next morning...bedbugs????? Never again!!!!!!

    It's in the center of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay if you take public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Facility is really good such as comfort bed, spacious room, new elevator and free breakfast. The locations is super since it's just cross street from Mainz train station front door. Staffs are very helpful. After checking out, we were able to story our bags in the hotel and used restroom when we picked up bags.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    9.6
    Location , location location.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price could ve been cheaper as it is down season.

    Great location! The breakfast had lots of choice, and good juices. The eggs were scrambled and soft, which is not often in a buffet, they are usually overcooked. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious. Late 12 o clock check out was a bonus, because our train was at 12 20 and the hotel is directly across from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very close to Hauptbanhof and therefore easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lacking of parking. The hotel should have some directions on homepage where best to park the car.

    Great location, very close to Hauptbanhof and therefore easy connection to all directions. Restaurants in walking distance. Great internet connections High value for money and highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    10
    Everything with the hotel was OK and in accordance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been better if there was info in the hotel for restaurants and pubs next to the hotel.

    Everything with the hotel was OK and in accordance to the expectations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    8.8
    Great choice if staying in Mainz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really that bad, but the elevator stops on a landing that is mid floor. This means you will either have to go up or down a few steps with your luggage. This didn't bother me but you should be aware of this if you have a physical problem that would preclude you lifting your suitcase.

    I've stayed here multiple times and have never been disappointed. The staff is friendly. The rooms and bed are comfortable. The bathroom is more than adequate. The breakfast is top notch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    9.2
    christmas market stay in fab little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing apart from we would have liked a bath.

    room very large and comfortable and warm. bed super comfy, breakfast very tasty, we left at 3.30 in the morning and the hotel gave us a picnic to take to airport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2016

    10
    Would definately rebook in my next trip to Mainz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the decoration, but I like old school hotels so not really an issue for me

    Very nice hotel; old school but very cosy! The bed was comfortable, the heat excellent, the room big and spatious, with desk and big windows. The bathroom ventillator was a bit noisy though... Stuff very helpful and friendly, location super convenient, just opossite the central train station, near bus stops for university and Wiesbaden, within walking distance from city centre. Breakfast (included in the price) excellent. I would definately recommend it :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location near the train station but still peaceful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe I didn't look hard enough but a kettle would have been nice.

    Excellent location near the train station but still peaceful. Rooms were quiet and you don't hear people stomping around next door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2016

    9.2
    Location for travel by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there on Saturday night on a busy square at the train station: It was loud. Try to get a room away from the main street in the back, especially on the weekend!

    Location for travel by train. Price to quality was good. Buffet breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2016

    10
    Mainz Magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't fault a thing! We wished we could've stayed longer!

    We loved the old-world feel of the hotel, the large rooms with the big picture windows and high ceilings. The bathroom was larger than we had experienced for most of our trip and the beds were very comfortable. It was great to have room!! And the wifi worked! Most of all, we thought the staff were very helpful - especially Ingaborg who met us after a long train trip from up north and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast in the lovely dining room was excellent. The hotel is just across the road from the central railway station and just a 10 minute walk from the centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: