Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel und Restaurant Löwenbräu Köln This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Frankenwerft 21, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#124 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 842 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great old hotel in splendid location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so you have to be fit if on upper levels..

    Wonderful location on Banks of the The one. We had a great view. The restaurant has very good food at reasonable cost. Highly recommended *****

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely old hotel on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift - so if on upper floors you need to be fit.

    Wonderful location - could not be better placed. We had a lovely room looking over the Rhine. Very good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place, I would certainly stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The upper room (4th floor) did not have very good air circulation. The window is very small and cannot open very far. It was very hot when I travelled so this was pretty uncomfortable as there was no fan or air conditioning. The staff was very accommodating me and moved me the next night.

    The rooms were well appointed for such a small space. I really enjoyed the complimentary slippers! When I first arrived I was placed in the top floor room which was very small and unfortunately hot due to the weather at the time, the staff was very accommodating in moving me to a lower room the second night of my stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Cosy hotel above a great local restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no elevator (near as I can tell) so if you're on the third floor, transporting suitcases can be troublesome - the location is in heart of the center, so there will be a lot of noise outside even in the early hours - this was fine with me, but something to consider for light sleepers

    Fantastic location, friendly, cosy hotel with very comfortable beds (I appreciated the free water bottles and sweets) and comes with discounts at the restaurant downstairs - great food and beer (including traditional and local options) outdoor seating or indoor tables in a very lovely warm pub atmosphere; great lighting and novelty decorations. Affordable and authentic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    3 pillows and a nice bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room My room was on the 4th floor and there wasn't any lift Spider webs on my window Toilet right next to the door entrance No air conditioning No fridge

    3 pillows and a nice bed Free water, coffee, and tea Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location next to the Rhine and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs aircon. It was so hot with winter quilts on the beds.

    Excellent location next to the Rhine and city centre. Would really benefit from aircon. Great jazz bar behind hotel. Beware if driving. Koln needs the ENV driving permit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice little place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ventilation on the bathroom was very noisy and impossible to turn of. Continued most of the night making it difficult to fall asleep

    Friendly and competent staff . Clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    If you go as a tourist it is a good option but not for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel's attitude. The temperature in the room was high (warm summer day) and the provided fan didn't work and the reception was closed during that time to ask for a new fan.

    Breakfast and coffee were really good. The hotel was beautiful and it had a nice appearance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff is really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in a single bedroom, on the 4th floor. In terms of space it was quite perfect for me, the only problem was the terrible heat inside the room (there were almost 40ºC). Inside the closet there's a portable fan, which I used , but it didn't help that much...

    The staff is really nice and helpful. The location is awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay here again and we loved being right in the centre of historic Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is copied from someone else but is exactly what our experience of the room was like. Also when we stayed it was 37 degrees outside so unseasonably hot. If you want to go to sleep before 3 a.m. impossible to do, because no air condition in summer, you want to open a window but it is very noisy, because there is a lot of pubs around. Actually, we quite liked the "noise" some might call it "lively ambience" with live music from street musicians who play "I Just Called to Say I laaav you and I mean it from my bottom of my heart" which amused us greatly. At least they have a fan. Yep, and a hair dryer in the bathroom.

    Lovely comfortable bed. Friendly excellent staff and food was better than expected (as in better than the photos on the website). Breakfast served from 7am until 11am and food served until 3am!! Amazing and very handy if you've been out on the town for the night. They also offer 10% discount on food and drinks for guests, really good value for money. Also as we had recentyl got married I'd requested a bottle of Champagne in the bedroom which was served in an ice bucket when we arrived so very happy with this :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.5
    Nice place in a very noisy area, don't book Room #39 unless you are child sized
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked "a single room with a private bathroom in the hallway" so I think at check-in I was "upgraded" and got a single with a bathroom in the room (Room #39). I used quotes around "upgraded", because this room's bathroom - while nice - easily took up at least 1/2 of the formerly available space! There was almost no space then leftover in this room to even turn around in! I am a large guy (195cm) and my shoulders would almost touch both sides of the "hallway" in this room when I enter it. Then in two steps I was at the bed, and that's it. The room has all usual ammenities (little coffee machine, little desk, little wardrobe, and even a luggage rack, but really, it can only be used without laughing out loud if you are a drunk college kid or perhaps a teeny tiny person. I visited during the 2018 heatwave, and while the hotel has no control over the weather, you should know that this area is like NY's "Times Square" and it gets very loud at night especially as everyone on earth who is getting married has their "Hen" or "Stag" parties in Cologne. You will see more than 30 sets of these groups of drunk people all wearing the same t-shirts in the area. So, long story short, if you sleep with the window closed it will be quiet, but you will suffocate, and if you sleep with the window open you need two sets of ear plugs in. In any case, you're not going to sleep.

    The location is right by the Rhine, and it is part of a string of establishments all in a row, so there is always a nice crowd of people outside having a drink or something to eat. The restaurant is wood beamed and has lots of interesting pictures and funny signs on the walls to look at. Very good atmosphere. The breakfast provided was top notch - a very good selection attractively arranged. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went in summer. Room was about 10F hotter than Outside, and the building doesn’t get any cooler at night. Needless to say it was hard to sleep In 90+ degrees I’m the room.

    Location is great. Breakfast in the morning was also nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was quaint, and clean with nice touches ie Haribo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the current temperatures the room was absolutely roasting. They did supply a little fan but it did nothing much more than move the hot air around, not a major but maybe something to think about for the future

    The room was quaint, and clean with nice touches ie Haribo and water, location was great, and the hotel staff accommodating. Breakfast was simple but good, mostly continental with a few warm bits such as bacon and eggs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    The location is good, on the bank of Rhein, 7-9 minutes walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is extremely noisy. A lot of bars, including one on the ground floor, people shouting till 3 a.m. (it was Friday), had to close the window, which brings the next problem - no AC. My room was on the last floor and it was +35 C during the day so I couldn't really enjoy my night sleep. It could be a nice choice to spend a night or two of a working day in autumn, but not a hot Friday night.

    The location is good, on the bank of Rhein, 7-9 minutes walk from the Central Station and Kölner Dom. The price is decent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Room small but cosy, and spotless clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect. In order to avoid misunderstanding, people should be aware that the hotel is located in one of the most visited and lively quarters. The rooms are very silent, but people should not request impossible things, such as perfect silence on the street! On the other hand, you may enjoy the place a lot!

    Room small but cosy, and spotless clean. The restaurant is a very good one, and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was dirty, the bed was bad, the room was not made up on my last day, had a kettle but only one sachet of coffee and sugar, very noisy at night, breakfast very average, only allowed one orange juice, very disappointed and cannot recommend

    the location close to the river rhine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    My room was pretty small, but that wasn't a problem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the hotel is located right in the middle of the old town, it was pretty loud outside at night.

    My room was pretty small, but that wasn't a problem since I was by myself. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location but pricey and inconvenient steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many steep steps to your room. With luggage it is really difficult. Not always someone available to help. Even climbing up and down every day is tiring. And we are not so old. Very very pricey.

    Very good location. Good breakfast.Very neat room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Supertiny bathroom (not attached to bedroom). The restaurants offer only a couple of options for vegetarians, but is great for those who want to try traditional Köln meat dishes. The (single bedroom) was small so I would only want to stay there for short trips.

    Perfect location. Clean and beautiful interior given the size of the building. The (single bedroom) room has all the amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    best value for money in Køln
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff, location and food was very good, breakfast super good, value for the money. and what is better than have the breakfast outside next to the Rhien/river. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely river front hotel:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned, the shower cubicle was small and Floor was slippery. (I had a broken wrist, so was quite anxious about it)

    I had stayed at this Hotel before, so knew what to expect. It is a wonderfully situated Hotel, right on the Rhine Promenade. The rooms are good, well equipped (the fan was a nice touch, as it was pretty hot when we were there) The bed was comfy (pillow a bit hard, but personal taste) Nice also, to have water and a kettle to make coffee / tea in the room. This is always a nice touch. There are also complimentary slippers in the room. We booked an over night stay, as we were seeing someone off at the Airport. Excellent Location to the Station and Airport. It was a warm week night and there were many people on the Promenade. It was a tad noisy, but not for too late. The bathroom is small, and the shower cubicle small, without a handle, to hold onto, which would be nice, as the floor is slippery. We could cope for one night, but a longer stay might be less comfortable. The breakfast is satisfactory, with something for most tastes. Very pleasant to sit on the Patio in the cool morning. Just a word of caution... This Hotel does not have a lift, so it may be awkward with large items of luggage. This did not bother us for one night, as we travelled 'light'. All in all, this is a good, central Hotel, worth the visit. I would definitely stay again, for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Jewel on the River on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Request lower room if needed. No elevator.

    Small jewel hotel on the promenade, almost an attraction. WiFi, nice breakfast, candlelight restaurant, and in the middle of everything. 10 min walk to train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Full marks for location, comfort, helpful staff and quality of food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent location easily reached from the railway station, very comfortable room. Although there is no lift (elevator) assistance was offered in carrying baggage to my room on both occasions I stayed here. The staff in both reception and restaurant were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice generous room with a river view on 4th floor - lots of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs. Fairly expensive, but not many options left when we booked! Breakfast would be extra.

    Nice generous room with a river view on 4th floor - lots of stairs! Situated above a restaurant which was convenient with nice food and a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Get locks & serve us breakfast in the room when doing renovations; otherwise nice room & view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a lock on the inside of our room door. This concerned us since anyone could enter the room. Then the next day the hotel tv technician just walked right into our room unannounced. My husband was napping and I fortunately was having a cup of tea. We didn't even receive a call from the front desk to let us know that he was coming up to the room to service the tv at that moment. Last but not least, the hotel said they couldn't serve us breakfast both mornings due to renovations and that we would have to wait to be reimbursed through Booking.com

    We liked the location, and you have a fabulous view of the Reine! They had a nice tea kettle with good German tea in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Great place, full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the absence of a lift... I was on the 4th floor.

    Nice old building. Excellent restaurant and bar. Comfortable room. Very convenient location in the old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of room is like from 70's. Dark bathroom with only one lamp and curtain in shower.

    Breakfast restaurant. View on river. Close to restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the food at the restaurant just ok, and more expensive than many (even with the offered 10% discount), and the area can be noisy at night, but this is of course due to the many options for dining (and drinking) nearby.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the location really cannot be beaten, especially if one is interested in visiting the many Christmas markets and museums that Köln has to offer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Great locatlon, basic amenities, overall positive experience.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I selected a room with a double bed, paying more for it, because a single bed doesn't work for me (I'm on the bigger side). However, the bed was not a double bed, but two single beds pushed together, with the bedframes between them, so it was useless as a double bed.

    The location is perfect for exploring the old city. While there is no parking on site, there is a conveniently located parking garage just a 3-minute walk away. The restaurant is very good, and as a hotel guest you are given a 10% discount. The staff at both hotel and restaurant are quite friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    The room I had was just a single bed with a private bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I had was just a single bed with a private bathroom (not always common in Europe), so its great for solo travelers. The hotel is inside a restaurant, I only had the breakfast buffet which was egg, sausages, various cold meats, bread, cheese, fruit and bread. They also gave me 10% coupons for use at dinner and lunch, but I always away and didn't try but the restaurant was always busy during dinner and lunch hours. I went during December so it was a really short walk to the Heumarkt Christmas market, as well as being a less than 10 minute walk from the main train station/Hbf.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    Excelent location at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great. The restaurant is very nicely decorated in december. The breakfast didn't have too many options, but they were very good. I am very happy with it. I had a tiny single room on the top floor and it was very interesting to stay in so little space, I really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    I’ve been overcharged without notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve been overcharged without notice. As the reception explained, everyone accommodates Cologne has to pay 5% ‘city tax’. Amusingly as booking.com mentioned in my reservation, 7% VAT is already included. No matter what it was, what I felt it was compulsion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    I love the old-fashioned charm of this hotel, and would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a vegan, it was a bit challenging. I had to settle for a veggie evening meal, but breakfast was fine.

    Excellent location, charming restaurant, good service, bilingual menu, clean room and bathroom, nice and quiet in my room with an opening window so that I could regulate the temperature myself. There was only the promenade between the hotel and the river, plus it was an easy walk to the opera house, which was then main reason for coming to Cologne. I think I was fortunate to find a hotel which suited my quirky disposition - and at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay as usual
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I should have read the room spec more carefully - private loo & bathroom was across the hall - exactly as the confirmation stated.

    Comfy traditional hotel in stunning location on banks of Rhine, short walk from the station and the Dom (cathedral), in the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    The staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i got nothing to say, they were helpful.

    The staff were nice. I forgot their names but they definitely care their customers, like they letting me borrow a phone charger during my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. Perfect for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only weak point is the external bathroom (too small)

    Excellent position (5 mins walking from the Dome), very clean room (maybe a little small but comfortable), friendly staff, strong wi-fi signal, and an elegant restaurant by the river Rhine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were completely taken aback by our view! We didn't know for sure if we'd be able to see the Rhein from our window and as it turned out, we could! We walked in and it just smelled fresh. I walked over to the window and there was the city! It was so wonderful to be able to be in the "hub" of Cologne for the price that we paid! We went to the restaurant for a bit early before heading out to explore more and enjoyed an exceptional meal! And we were provided with 10% off coupons for their restaurant as well which just added to our wonderful stay. I've already started planning my next stay here with the coupon they provide for your next stay with them in the final payment statement.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being offered a complimentary drink on the last evening (we wouldn't have had it at that point) only to find it on our bill.

    Great location, everything was within walking distance, plenty to do for our short break, relaxed atmosphere and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointing stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in my room the last day of my stay. told staff and they had no solutions. Not the fault of the hotel but area is very noisy even during the week. Tiny room.nothing like a normal 3 star hotel

    Good WiFi,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast, so much choice from traditional,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic breakfast, so much choice from traditional, continental and local cuisine. My partner would have liked air conditioning in the room, but the fan provided was a nice touch. Brilliant location, lovely to have a room overlooking the river and within walking distance to all the sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    cozy, but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super noisy, window facing street with restaurants and bars, people drinking beer and yelling all day. far from train station and the road are all bricks and rough, very difficult to walk to when dragging a suitcase

    cozy bed, close to the river, well furnished

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Location for visiting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All to small when you are 1.90 cm. I couldnt almost close door of toilet because my knees didnt fit in the toiletroom and at night very much noise because of live music in clubs around location.

    Location for visiting city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    location close to the center, cosy room, friendly staffs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are accessible with stairs (maybe not the best when traveling with heavy luggage) and the water pressure in the shower was so high

    location close to the center, cosy room, friendly staffs, and restaurant & bar on the first floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Small but clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too warm in the room but not able to leave the window open at night due to the noise of drank people and also some sort of machinery sound (air conditioner or ventilation?) from the street.

    Small but clean. Great location. Walking distance (9mn) to the central train station. Great value for the little price. Clean shower and sanitaries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, small bathroom, extra large pillows, no view from the room.

    Clean room, good location near the river, convenient to have a bar downstairs open until 3 am. Good for a short stay just for sleeping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Centre for Cologne Pride
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was good value for money, but things were a bit dated, which is also part of the charm.

    Very convenient to most of the things to see and do in Cologne. The restaurant was great with good service and food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    The perfect hotel for this price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a little bit too warm in the room, because one of the wall was heated. During the winter time it would be an additional positive point, but during my stay the weather was quite hot...

    First of all, the location of the hotel is great, it's just 5 minutes of walk from the main station and from the Cathedral, moreover it's loceted just near the embankment of Rhein, wonderful! The room was very clean, and there were everything that might be needed. The staff was friendly and always tried to help if I had any problems/questions. On the ground floor there was a lovely restaurant with tasty food, and as a guest of this hotel I had a 15% discount for the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Overall good, but noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is a unstable. It is quite noisy till late night because it's located above several bars.

    The location is very good to access the main touristic attractions. There's a nice view to the river.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is very central, ideal if you want to visit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the front of the hotel which had a nice view on the Rhine but was very noisy at night when people were still outside eating/drinking.

    The hotel is very central, ideal if you want to visit the Altstadt and the Dom. The central train station is very close too. The room was very nice and clean. We had a lovely view over the river Rhine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    All facilities were clean and it was good enough to take a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though location was not that far from central point of cologne, there was not proper public transportation to reach the hotel. U bahn, tram, and Dom BHF were little bit far from hotel. It was sorry that hotel Wifi does not work on the time.

    All facilities were clean and it was good enough to take a rest. Hotel gave me discount coupon for their restaurant. I can enjoy active circumstance near the Rhine river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Great view and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator

    It takes about 10-15 mins walk from the main train station. As it doesn't have a elevator, we have to walk up the stairs on the 3rd floor. The restaurant serve great local German food and its very popular among the local and tourist. The beer is great too. So are the breakfast. Around the hotel, there's plenty of other choices of restaurants. We have a great view from our hotel room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Good accommodation for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Small room - The bathroom was within the room, there wasn't a division between the two

    - Excelent location - Friendly staff - Restaurant with terrace in the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Very lovely hotel with authentic atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy area due to the amount of restaurants/bars around (with the closed window had no problems)

    Very beautiful paintings on the walls, nice and comfortable bed, great location, nice facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    3.8
    Broom closet sized rooms with unfriendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff absolutely not helpful with the luggage. Once I asked if one of the waiters (Dieter) could help me carrying my suitcase to the top floor (no lift!) - he just shouted that he wasn't a hotel bellhop - absolutely terrible first impression! The room was not bigger than a broom closet - you basically enter the bathroom once you open the hotel room door. Unfortunately there was not even a heating in the bathroom - even though it was -2 outside and therefore very frosty in the entire room! Can't recommend this hotel to anyone really!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    In the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are parking places around for the car, but you have to pay. Late check-in.

    The location! The view from the room. The interior decoration of the hotel. Good breakfast for a decent price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Cologne - a gem on the Rhine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Christmas markets should not close before the end of year. There was only 1 open market, but very nice and we visited every evening during our stay.

    Excellent service, wonderful staff and brilliant city with loads to see and do even for kids. Hotel Lowenbrau is a charming, cosy hotel right in the middle of the city. Will be definitely back xxx

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.1
    OK place for one night near Cologne Main Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant manager who does late check-ins pretends to know how you log into wifi, but doesn't. I had to go back downstairs three times before discovering a card in my room with correct instructions. Had to turn off noisy dehumidifier(?) in hall. As soon as you stopped moving in hall, lights went out (timer broken?), which was unpleasant when repeatedly locking and unlocking doors to go between room and bathroom. Bathroom cold in morning. Bathroom so small that bath mat lies mostly under toilet.

    Quiet room within in big sink with exclusive-use bathroom across hall within short walk of Cologne Main Station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.9
    It was very nice trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's some night club beside the hotel. For a single girl trip~it's just a little nervous. But not totally unsafe.

    Breakfast is very good and rich. Also the employees are very nice and warm

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was well equipt but so small! No tea-making facilities in the room (small thing really).

    Lovely rustic, quiet and excellent location. Restaurant had great range of food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.0
    The room was nice, cozy and typical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had two big and really heavy pieces of luggage, my room was at the 4th floor with no elevator and nobody in the staff even offered some help!

    The room was nice, cozy and typical.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.5
    The location of the hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a single room with a separate bathroom (not shared) across the floor, which was a bit narrow.

    The location of the hotel is amazing. Also the restaurant in the ground floor was great. Anytime again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    All in one :)
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really small as it is converted from an old cottage.

    Cosy miniature rooms ( to save you from an initial shock :) ) but very friendly team, fabulous location. Both partying and beautiful rein rive trees and parks & nature in one package. Walking distance from shopping centers, main train station, chocolate factory, sunday flee market, restaurants and bars. Yet You are already in a bar and a restaurant if you are staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Ideal for a short stay in the most active part of Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smallest hotel room I've ever been in (which was okay for me actually).

    Was here for the marathon. If you don't expect the room to be anything else than a place to sleep, shower and keep your stuff: great hotel. If you need a little more space and actually want to spend time in your room you might want to look further. For me it was perfect as the location was ideal for going into the city center. Friendly staf, decent breakfast, hot shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay for one night stop over in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in koln
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The set. It seems like being on a wes anderson set for a movie he didn't make yet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent and it was so nice to have a view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent and it was so nice to have a view of the river. Having two bathrooms was also great! The breakfast was enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    What you see is what you get. No hidden issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean room, excellent breakfast...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, Friendly staff, Excellent service, Great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit small

    Perfect location, Friendly staff, Excellent service, Great view of the Rheine from the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    SCHöN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Accessible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location at Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location at Cologne. Friendly staff, breakfast next to Rhein

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location at Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location at Cologne. Friendly staff, nice breakfast next to Rhein

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location near river but very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    Location near river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Had an awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Had an awesome stay. Good location. Good food. Good all round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: