Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monopol This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Mannheimer Str. 11-13, Gutleutviertel, 60329 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#127 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2706 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad internet connection in my room.

    Best deal in town. Good location. It has easy access to transportation and is at walking distance to the city centre. Free minibar and everything tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air conditioning, thats the biggest drawback specially in the hot weather in frankfurt. a pedal fan was provided which was not enough.

    clean hotel with a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is just off the main train station, which made travel very easy, and the areas we wanted to see began close by. The room was very spacious, and quiet despite being on the street side. Included breakfast was satisfying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No coffee or tea-making facilities, faulty WC water tank, let without water after servicing on the last day of my stay

    Nice single room facing away from traffic and any noise, very spacious, well-appointed bathroom with a bide, free of charge mini bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot complain about anything perhaps the weather?

    I can’t comment on breakfast since I didn’t use it, but I found the hotel a jewel in the crown. Built in circa 1907 exudes aristocratic charm outside and inside. Furthermore, my single room was very spacious compared to closet sized rooms in Germany. Location within 2 minute proximity of railway station and for local transportation and safe neighborhood!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the hotel over expensive for the size of the room, even though it was during a fair period. There was no coffee/tea machine in the room, neither a safety box.

    The hotel is located across the road from frankfurt central station which make makes it very easy to move around. The staff is amazing and the hotel extremely clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my go to hotel when in Frankfurt. Right next to train station and walking distance to just about everything. No AC but the staff brought up a great fan that we put in front of window during the night and it did the trick. I love the free mini ar that is well stocked and the cake and beverages that are available in the lobby all day. Very good breakfast as well. This was my fourth visit to this hotel because of location and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs some modernising - not much evidence of the 21st century

    Acceptable in all areas, and lots of normal extras were free (minibar etc., and very retro and at the same time good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom furniture and bed were a little below standard,

    Great breakfast, good location beside the railway station, a comfortable and clean budget hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome from reception staff, tried to help for any questions, free minibar, free tea all day,wish can hotel have small Rome for GYM in future!!! I recommend to stay in monopol when visit Frankfurt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did have a big bug in our bathroom but staff came up and sprayed

    Third stay here and not disappointed. Breakfast is always good and staff very friendly. Unusually hot when I was there and staff promptly brought up a nice fan . Great location too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every month i book more than 1 night, and still i have to fill the application for check in, witch is very bad, my data should save in there system

    It was nice to offer free coffee and cake in loby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft and no A/C.

    Friendly atmosphere, high ceilings with opening windows, because no A/C. Very polite staff. Free mini bar, good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable.

    The location is excellent, right by the central train station. The hotel has a lobby and a 24-hour reception - something that has to be mentioned these days...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C in the room.

    Great location, 1 min from main train station. Good breakfast. The free minibar in the room is a great option. Coffee, water, tea, fruits and cakes are always available in the lobby for free. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything ...

    Terrible experience .. The room was not cleaned on a daily basis ... The bed was small ... You could hear everything that was happening across the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were welcomed by a cockroach in the bathroom, despite request at the time of booking, baby cot wasn't there at first night and limited options of breakfast.

    It is very close to the main station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost everything. The room was dilapidated. Regarding payment they had already debited the room from the credit card I used to secure the booking whereas I wanted to pay with another card.

    The room was cramped and some of the furniture, for example the door of the mini bar, was broken. The bed was touching a radiator.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit aged but we didn't mind it to much.

    We checked in earlier without getting charged extra which was really great because we just had a long distance flight. The minibar is for for which is lovely as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location for train travel, easy to explore old town. The staff were amazing - so helpful, and even though they spoke English, they let me practice my terrible Deutsch!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a tired hotel, the bunk bed was squeaky, the two single beds (we requested a double!) weren't very comfortable and it didn't look as good as the photos said it would! We were there for a one night stop over due to awkward flight times, but due to an unforeseen local festival taking place it was completely over priced.

    The breakfast was great and the hotel is located in the heart of the city. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expectations had been exceeded. Clean modern room with mini bar included. Mini bar restocked every day. Little desk allowed working without problems. Quiet at night and a good bed. Will check when next time in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly welcome by the staff. Room are decorated slightly traditional, but extremely clean. Breakfast was included and very nice. Highly recommended to book this hotel!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One single very flat pillow on the bed. Bed not made, just bedding dumped on it. Place badly in need of a redecoration. Shower very small with thin curtain that clings to you! Room very small.

    Free mini bar - 2 beers and some soft drinks. Convenient for the station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like all railway stations in big cities, the area surrounding is very seedy.

    Top position beside Frankfurt HBF main station. Easy access to all the top tourist spots in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very good breakfast. Free tea-coffee with refreshments in the reception area. Comfy bed with clean & fresh linen. Free mini bar. Centrally located near Main Train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was too small, but considering the price i paid it was acceptable value for money.

    close to the main central station. very convenient to travel to the airport or other places. 10 minute walk to downtown. Free mini bar was also a good surprise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room does not correspond the announced 4 stars hotel. Furniture, bathroom are really old and rather sh@bby.

    I would like to express special thanks to both Gentlemen from the Reception who worked at night upon our arrival and departure from the hotel. Very kind, supportive efficient to help us with accomodation and parking. Many thanks indeed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Free drinks available in the fridge and there breakfast includes asian cuisine which I like a lot and there breakfast started so early and it's convenient for my family because we wake up around 5 am for a trip. Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chesterfields in the lounge; meals available from the bar; chocolate on pillow, very wide range breakfast catering for every taste, from Miso soup to German "Brötchen" (rolls); tea cup with saucer (instead of mug) with tea making facillities; free mini bar, lots of national and international newspapers; sky tv free of charge and all those radio programs to listen to ... couldn't be better if you like quaint old-fashioned traditional places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff

    It was clean and family friendly, but very noisy and it was not possible to sleep. Street and party above us. Food was ok, but if you like western breakfast, I would not recommend this. Parking was a joke, we could not get out again, because 2 cars managed to park us completely in. Expensive and definitely not worth it for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is slow and not secured.

    Hotel is very close to the train station. It needs a little bit refurbishment but my overall experience is fine. I am very pleased with the reception staff, the breakfast starts from 5 till 11 a.m. and has varieties of food and drinks. Free minibar and refreshments in the lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby area was old and run down looking. The room was clean enough, but it still felt like an old building that was past its prime.

    It was close to the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was very good. Yes the hotel does look a bit tired for a 4 star but the room was clean with a free minibar. As we were on business we were not in the hotel for long periods but it is centrally located. It suited our purpose for visiting a trade show and was fairly priced compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The easy access to the railway station, easy walk into old part of Frankfurt. Enjoyed the complementary afternoon tea in the lobby/bar area. Enjoyed the complementary mini bar. Very happy with size of the room for two people on an overnight stay. Great breakfast and lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room tiny, lack amenities. No save deposit box, no water kettle, no free breakfast (while most hotel provide)

    Location is good but there are plenty of choices nearby, and many competitors are better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the place is clean and the lobby and the breakfast room is vintage style. The staff is great, helpful and friendly. It's the location why I came back, although the price is outrageous. I certainly will look for something better, the next time.

    The room has the flair of a transient hotel, rather noisy and run-down.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had trouble with the hot water and noise from the next room. There is no tea coffee facilities in the room. Parking is an extra fee.

    We liked the breakfast, free afternoon tea and minibar. The family room is a good size and fitted us easily with all our luggage. It is across the road from the station, has a shop next door for supplies and many varied restaurants close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room was really small.

    The room was a bit small but overall my experience at Hotel Monopol was great. The location next to the train station was perfect as I had to travel to Berlin after one night in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky doors, spring mattresses and small TV laterally placed to the bed (very odd)

    Location is unbeatable! Excellent breakfast with dazzling variety!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't seem like a great part of town. Nothing special about the hotel , but nothng wrong wirh it either. It was an ok stay.

    Right across from the train station. Staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe deposit boxes in rooms...

    Very clean, generous Hotel, free water / tea / cakes / all day long, free minibar, excellent breakfast! Very helpful and kind staff.. All over excellent value for money hotel...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some receptionist did not understand English and it was hard to talk to him.

    I like that the minibar is free. Even though there is no kettle in the room to make some tea, they provide the hot water in the lobby. Coffee and tea is available at the lobby most of time. The staff help us with the hop on hop off booking. The hotel is very near to the train station and there are many halal restaurants in the walking distance area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos of the hotel as used in booking.com are not what you get. The rooms are very outdated and could do with a good revamp, bathrooms as well. In relation to cleanliness, we left an empty plate on the table for the cleaner to take, this plate was in the same place for four days. We did not say anything at reception until checkout as on the first day we thought it was an oversight, then we started counting days. When the beds were made pj’s were left for us in a ‘ball’ on the floor rather than placed on the bed as we ourselves left them. Never seen this in any other hotel we have stayed. When we spoke to the duty manager whilst checking out he was very apologetic and informed us that he would speak to the Manager and revert to us via email the following day, to date four days later, we have not received any email from them. We had two rooms booked as we were traveling with our grown up children, the service in their room was exactly the same as ours, empty plate and pj’s on floor included.

    The staff was very helpful, they endeavor to assist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Business center had no printer.

    This is a transit hotel right by the train station. EVERYTHING about the hotel was 4 star. Good staff, very quiet, lovely breakfast, free water in the minibar (beer too but I'm not a drinker) comfortable single room. good wifi (NB login is case sensitive)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I slept 1 night at this location to give a training the next day, in one of their meeting rooms. The Staff really did their utmost best to make sure my training was a success, especially in helping out in technical difficulties I had with hooking up my Apple Laptop to the Beamer. Great service!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to central main station and central bus station. Just a short walk to Christkindlmarkt. I really enjoyed my stay there in my warm room with free mini bar! Truly star service with fruits, cakes, beverages all day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms had wooden floors which caused a lot of noise from the room above. The room décor was a little tired but clean and functional.

    The hotel was great value for money. It is located opposite the main railway station making it easy to travel around Frankfurt and to the airport. The main attractions and shops were not too far away and there were many good restaurants close by. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was chilly and the bathroom that cold you couldn't even take a shower. The reception staff was really nice and helpful and changed our room with another one (this one had the window somehow broken and didn't closed well ).

    Great breakfast, the reception staff and the plumbing person- thank you so much for your help! Clean rooms, a plus the free minibar and free cakes, tea and coffee in the lobby (even though we haven't had the time to try them)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent, breakfast exceeded our expectations, free mini bar. The staff was helpful and polite. Location is next to Main train station, Interior is a little dated, but great service and free stuff well cover for it. If you’re looking for a budget hotel with a great service, - Monopol is the one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (Maybe it's only for some rooms) the toilet is a bit narrow

    Great location, wonderful breakfast time (5am-11am which I think suits many people's needs), staff helped tidy our room greatly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t like wooden floors , prefer carpet . Tv too small . No English channels on tv especially BBC news . Needed a lick of paint especially at entrance , rooms were a little stark , needs happy pictures .

    Cost was fair considering the location . It was quiet and hassle free, staff were nice , didn’t try the food though

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building with character in a good way. Good breakfast, excellent location right across from the main railway station in Frankfurt. Sketchy neighborhood, but that's part of the package.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a family room and I had the bunk bed - mattress wasn't very comfortable and very squeaky.

    Breakfast was awesome, croissants were so fresh and delicious. Good value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little noisy

    so close to the train station .There is a mini bar in the room ,it's very nice .it's very convenient to go to Frankfurt Airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the most horrible hotel I ever had. First the girl in the reception gave me the card which doesn’t work. So I went back to ask new one. And went to the room she gave me new card. When I opened the door, i thought room was not cleaned but actually it was occupied by other person and someone’s luggage was there. I went back to get the new room. Even I was there first to wait on a queue, she ignored me several times and giving the advice on restaurant to other customer who came later then me. When I start complain, she blamed me that I went to the wrong room. But it was totally her fault that gave me someone else’s room. And I have her handwriting that she gave me the wrong room. At the end I got the “room” which is not 4 star. Even a one star hotel room. Bathroom is so old and no hairdryer, no kettle, no sleepers, no locks on the toilet, lighting doesn’t work. So many other complains. I would pay little more to go to “real 4 star hotel” than have free minibar. Such a unpleasant experience. When u made mistake you should apologise first not blaming your customer instead!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall is not sound proof. When rooms next to me talked too loud it was disturbing. My last room here the next door room showered in the morning at 5 woke me up.

    It is very near main train station easy to access to train to airport and city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk was terrible especially the guy name Mr.HOCK. Please request for all receipts if you want to stay here, they will not produce receipt so the hotel can evade tax. booked for 2 room only allow to stay one room and one of the room was cancelled but charged to credit card, but no reciept given. Worst service. My humble opinion and you have been warned beforehand.

    I never written a bad review before but this i should highlight. The room was old, the carpet was musky smell. Please go for other hotel possible, hotel Monopol and Hotel Exercisor both are side by side and possibly runs by the same company as inside hotel Monopol there are wording of Hotel Exercisor. Many hotel you could get a better service and better price. One good thing is breakfast was ok. Otherwise won't recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having kettle in a room would be better.

    Very good location. Breakfast was very good. There was free drinks and fruits from 11 am to 18 pm. After 18 pm tea and coffee available by 23 pm. Free mini bar with drinks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat and thought.... Partner agrees: Nothing negative!

    Everything AMAZING at this hotel! Location to train station,high customer oriented front desk staff. Breakfast was amazing. Could have easily spent the day nibbling on such a varied offering. Asian English, German, French....all foods included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in First impression made us want to leave but because it was too late to cancel we had to grin and bare it Very old building,high ceilings and lacking in warmth or ambience Totally depressing in every aspect and extremely overpriced Room was like a prison cell Attempts have been made to renovate the bathroom but different tiles not matching on walls and floor Shower head wrongly positioned so entire bathroom is sprayed Toilet roll holder relaced but holes in wall where previous one was removed Toilet wouldn't flush Outside on the street lots of noise at night and ambulance sirens Somewhat sleazy and sad to see so many people living on the street

    Directly opposite the main Frankfurt Railway Station but not a good enough reason to stay at this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very hot no air con, Bathroom also extremely hot as no exhaust fan. Had to leave room window open all night which was very noisy and at 8 am workers outside starting drilling. This was not a problem as we were already awake by 8 am.

    Lovely old Hotel , lots of character , big room, big bed , excellent bathroom. Breakfast was very very good. Free mini bar was a bonus . Also coffee and cake in Lobby. Short walk from train station to Hotel ( only about 15 minutes to airport and Staff provide directions in English ) Lots of restaurant near by to Hotel, nice Staff. Highly recommend the Monopol Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nosy as it was next to the lifts. The breakfast was the exact same thing everyday.

    Free mini bar. The room was comfortable and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old, tired facility with musty smell in rooms. Filthy carpets. Windows wouldn't open properly - so getting air in was problematic for us. Door to BR wouldn't close properly. WiFi didn't really work well for us. Single beds ( maybe we booked the wrong thing??)

    Close to train station. Elevator. Large rooms. Friendly and efficient staff. Coffee/tea in lobby. Great breakfast with good hours (starts early). Comfortable beds. Good value for that area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room with a very comfortable bed and huge bathroom with bath tub,and bathrobes and hair dryer. Breakfast plentiful to suit everyone Great location across from the train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures are completely different from what it is. The thing I hate the most was the breakfast, they did not even take the time to peal nor cut anything, the offer is really poor and bad organized, everything is in dispensers and ugly (even the dispenser of "Nutella" tasted bad and the eggs tasted also really bad). Nothing was fresh, the only thing we managed to eat was a toast and an orange because the rest tasted awful (even as the breakfast is supposed to cost 15€!!!!) It's definitely not a 4 star hotel, it could be from 2 to 3. The hotel is ugly, the rooms are ugly, and the bathrooms a real problem: not only super old (the lamps are even grey) but it's imposible to adjust the level of the water, the soap they provide is actialy a "multifunction", in a dispenser like in a public place .. quite ugly and disgusting.

    the personal is helpful and nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite out-dated hotel. employees can be a bit more customer friendly, some employees english level could be improved. Breakfast was not the best..

    Good location close to main train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi connection was rather slow and sometimes unstable, resulting in a sub-optimal experience. The breakfast table could benefit from some more options of cereals and fruits, however, It did not have a significant impact in my experience at the hotel.

    The hotel was clean and the room was spacious. Comfortable beds with free access to mini-fridge in the room were appreciated. The location is very good, within walking distance of the city's main train station (Frankfurt-am-Main Hauptbahnhof), with many shops around and easy access to touristic attractions. Availability of extra tables and chairs in the room (business class) made both work and leisure easier. All in all, I do recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked into funky courtyard and pigeons were sleep on the window ledges. I have a bird phobia so it freaked me out because my husband likes to sleep with the window open. The breakfast buffet was very generous, but none of the food appealed to me.

    The old hotel had lots of quaint features. High ceilings, lots of room space. Many nice touches such as free fruit in the room and free beverages in the mini-bar. Big, fluffy bathrobe on the bed. English speaking TV channels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with being upgraded in terms of the decor and bathroom. It is also very close to the ref light district and some very dodgy people close to the hotel. The corridors looked like something out of the shining

    The hotel price was fair.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been organised better. The TV was faced toward the closest not the bed.The rooms are also a little basic.

    The breakfast was the best part. A hot breakfast with all the sides. I also liked the location just outside the door of the train station. The free mini bar was also great. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big thanks to the very friendly and helpful receptionist for the generous help to my parents and their friends who cannot speak any English or German. I was worried for their check-in but it turned out to be very smooth. They praised the receptionist so much for helping them with getting on with and changing the rooms to be close to each other. They like the breakfast and the convenient location to the train station. It was not noisy in their rooms at night. Although the hotel is not so new, it has a style. Apparently this is appreciated compared to modern plain hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old, the room does not look like 4 star the wifi service is poor it always ask to reconnect or re authenticate after an hour of use.

    I like the food and the free stuff from the mini bar. The location is only few meters away from the main train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (a mobile) Airconditioning would have been nice for the temperature as well as the sounds from outside. Mattress is very soft. Noise/people from outside went on till late. No sounds of the trains though, nor the neighbours or their doors slamming, so that's good. At 05:00 AM the smell of sausages arrived. This because the window had to be open because of the temperature.

    Located next to the main train station, short stroll from the river and innercity, very convenient. Hotel from 1907 so high ceilings and wide halls. Reception and staff are very helpful and friendly. Lots of information and maps. Newspapers. Room had TV, desk, wardrobe, shower, bench for your suitcase. Best surprise was that the minibar was free of charge. And the breakfast is great: hot and cold, sausages, cereals, salads, fruits. All in all very good value for money and recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around the station and hotel is less than salubrious.

    Good clean and tidy hotel. Friendly reception staff. Spacious rooms. Convenient for the station. Good for a night while in transit.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Monopol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: