Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Steindamm 29, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#263 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1359 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Cheap accommodation for a very short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could see dirt outside the rooms, especially in the corridor windows. The area is a bit weird and very dirty.

    The staff is helpful and the room was clean. The breakfast exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Room was clean, good showering facilities and safe in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was on a busy street, you might want to bring earplugs as you can hear traffic at all hours!

    Room was clean, good showering facilities and safe in the room to keep valuables, passports etc for a €20 deposit which was returned on check out. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was very enjoyable too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    The room was practical, quite and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location of the hotel is very good. However, the surrounds and people are very confronting. Breakfast was a letdown, fruit salad out of a tins and bread rolls not oven fresh is not acceptable these days, even in a three star hotel.

    The room was practical, quite and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite shady neighborhood. Was a lot of drug dealing and strange gangs circling around the atm. Wouldn't feel safe walking around at night. The staff wasn't very nice, but I guess that's a minor detail. It was definitely overpriced, the area wasn't pleasant and it was literally the smallest elevator I've ever seen! We had to go two times just to get the bags up! It was also out of soap in the shower. It was a little tricky to find - squeezed in between a sex shop and a kebab shop.

    It was very close to the central station. Some cheap food with a lot of cultures around the hotel. It was clean and the view was nice. The breakfast was quite neutral, bread and yoghurt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location less than 5 minutes to central train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed that we got was very tiny suppose to be a doinle but it was not.

    The street where the hotel is located looks skechy, but it was safe. Close to the hamburg centrail train station. Breakfast was good I got a share bathroom and it was super clean It will be noce to have a standing fan for summer A plus to have an iron available for customer This is a basic,clean hotel, good location decent breakfast and good price If you are a special person look for another place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    A clean and friendly place to rest after a long day exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can be noisy on a night due to people mulling around on the street, due to what it is next to.

    A good location for traveling to places in Hamburg - close to Central Station (3 mins walk)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    This hotel is really close to the Central station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is really close to the Central station and it's a huge benefit for a day trip Bremen or other towns close by. But this part of the city was active late at night, overcrowded, noisy and didn't feel as safe walking back to the hotel at night (after 9pm).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not cleaned up properly. Even if we asked explicitly for a proper cleaning, the dust and the human hair from previous guests (from room table and bathroom) were not cleaned during our stay (first 2 days out of 3). Please see attached photos. The neighborhood; you might not feel safe walking after 11 pm.

    The breakfast was okay. The possibility to leave the luggage at the property before check-in. The location is very close to Central Station and Bus Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Close to the main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighboorhood is not pleasant. Do not recommend it for single-ladies. The room was quite noisy, one can hear everything that happens in the corridor and in the street. The breakfast is totally average, nothing special.

    Close to the main train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    The staff was exellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was exellent. The breakfast was good. Everything was clean. But - 155 €/ night was too much in that kind of surrounding. It was hard to find a german person outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and breakfast for a short family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street outside was a little hectic and crazy during the day, but settled at night.

    The breakfast was nice. The hotel was hard to initially find as it is a doorway that leads to the four floor of the hotel. It was above aa "World of Sex" store, so if you are prudish, you may look elsewhere. Overall, a nice place and experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little more smile at the receptionist's face!

    Perfect breakfast, very clear and comfortable room. Very close to the central station. Even if it was not a good neighborhood, we felt very safe. Very good price too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    proximity to main train station and theater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very busy street, sex club on ground floor, night receptionist did not respond to the bell which opens the front door for a good 5 Min while we had to wait in the rain amongst sketchy characters

    proximity to main train station and theater

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great variety of restaurants nearby (mostly kebab/Indian food). Area can be a bit intimidating walking around as a solo female at night. No kettle.

    Very close to central bus station and central train stations, good basic breakfast, lift,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.3
    Good value for a quick stay. Close to main station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating in bedroom not working properly. Needs to be bled. Minus temperatures in Hamburg at the moment. Bedside lamp not working. Breakfast ok but maybe a few pasteries ?

    friendly staff quiet room Good value Close to main station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Kids holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put up on the 5th floor last room..with a bad knee stairs done me in also no kettle to make a cuppa

    Ideal location...and the cleaner so polite an helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    very fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location at nights but considering the cost there are always some compromises to make.

    Value for money. Mr. Abidi's attitude at reception and the cheff gurl's welcoming approach at breakfast times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Good, convenient and clean hotel, in a horrible location (St. Georg)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue I had with the hotel was a male waiter at breakfast who would death stare everyone while they ate, it was really uncomfortable. The biggest drawback is that the area is not nice at all - the main shops in St. Georg are kebab shops, sex shops and betting venues. As a single woman travelling I was occasionally approached by men to and from the hotel who were looking for a prostitute. The area is definitely dodgy and not nice (loitering prostitutes, men looking for prostitutes, people drinking in the middle of the day on the street, beggars, drunks) so if you're staying at the hotel and looking to explore the area around the hotel I would get out of St. Georg and avoid the train station.

    The main thing that was good about this hotel was the location, just a short walk from Hamburg's central train station. The hotel was clean and the people at reception were friendly. Breakfast was good and there was a nice selection of food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    HH again..
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When cleaners came work morning before they have some "office" etc in floors they keep terrible noice (laugh&speak) behind room doors :) But quess its not big thing.

    Breakfast, Location, Room is big enough, Wifi, Most of crew its friendly..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    HH.. St.Georg..
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi its bit weak my room and need to be sign in several times inside 24h??? Annoying when you do something suddenly network is gone.

    Location, my room its really big i think family room alone :) Breakfast its good basicly when inc room price, crew dont disturb me when i have sign in door, and price what i pay its just reasonable for this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    We liked the location, the hotel is near the trainstation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the pillows in the room, they were very low, and the bed is not a good size for two persons. Also I felt very cold, even though the heat was on. I could literaly feel the cold wind from the window directly in my head while sleeping. Everything else was ok.

    We liked the location, the hotel is near the trainstation and the central part of Hamburg, so we did not have to use the car to come arround. The hotel is clean, and the breakfast was okey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel with good location and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street where the hotel is located was little bit creepy on the evening/night time, and there was some suspicious people hanging around on the street outside.

    Hotel was very good, homey and quiet. Location was perfect, because it was near by centrum, bus station and railway station. There was also lot of smaller shops on the street and a food market. Breakfast was delicious and there were lot of different choises of food. Our room was little bit smaller because we took room with shared bathroom, but it was good anyway and there was big closet and water tap on the room, so I'll give a thumbs for those. And shared toilet/shower was not far from room. I also liked those mynthons on the bed :D Staff was also very nice and helpful! And thumbs up for the 24/7 service! I'll come again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff and secured entry inside hotel because of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not suitable for baby with Kinderwagon or Buggy. Lift is too small in our case the buggy was few centimeter smaller than the area and luckily able to take it upstairs. The problem could also be with wheelchair

    Friendly staff and secured entry inside hotel because of surrounding area with door bell ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.1
    The location is very close to Hbf (central railway station).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door in my room had an extra electrical lock as is part of emergency exit. I always had to go to the reception desk and ask them to unlock it as mechanical key was not sufficient. Very annoying.

    The location is very close to Hbf (central railway station). Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated above a sex shop, the street is full of homeless and people on drugs at night is unsafe if you’re alone.

    Location great, 5 minutes away from Hamburg Hbf and 15 minutes away from Rathaus. Always very good wifi connection!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    not great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff is super unfriendly, breakfast is poor,"and you know you are at a great place when you take the lift to the 4th floor and to reach the 5th there is a flight of stairs.

    it was quiet, though I was staying on the 5th floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location but in a seedy area. Facilities are ageing and a number of damaged items in the room. En suite is available but not for the room I had.

    Central location. Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel with tiny rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny rooms. Due to the smallness not worth the money in my opinion.

    Great and friendly staff, possibility to check-in 24/7, possibility to leave the luggage in the hotel after check-out (e.g. if you have some spare hours before your train leaves). Rich breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    The Hotel was more then expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit rough.

    The Hotel was more then expected. Even if the location of the hotel seems a bit rough it really is in the Center of the city with perfect walking distance to everything. It is easy to find good restaurants and interesting shops around. Breakfast was really nice with everything to wish for. The rooms where really calm for us. People working there where very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.4
    3* hotel? Should be 2* 😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) awful location, sex shop next door, prostitutes, junkies, low-lifes and weirdos of all kinds hang around this area. 2)Sub-standard breakfast, little to choose from. 3) Noisy neighbourhood,(loud music) 4)Small room.

    The only tiny plus was the price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I find it expensive for what it offers

    Is located close to the railway station. A crowdy area, full or strange people, but well positioned to facilitate the movement. The room was clean and comfortable, the toilet was clean. The breakfast was quite rich and tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good value for that price. Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The streetlight came through the sides of the curtains quite a lot, which made it a bit difficult to sleep. The street the hotel is on is not too great in the middle of the night, but there are enough people on it to still feel safe as long as one is street smart.

    Easy to get to from the main train station. Great location for a tour through the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    2.5
    Choose another Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. The location was awful. The staff were the most unhelpful Ive ever come across and did nothing to resolve our issues.

    Nothing. Quite possibly the worst hotel experience we have ever had.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel, not so good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is situated very close to the Hauptbahnhof, but there are sex shops (one right next door) and other seedy businesses on the same block, which attract a colorful crowd...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    4.2
    A bit of a shock..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Pillow? a sheet of paper. -Carpet? looked really bad and old. -Location? horrible. -Price,? too expensive for what we had. -View? You mean the wall? -Noise? I thought neighbors were entering our room everytime they turned their key or walked in the corridor.

    Breakfast was good. Bathroom was good and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    2.5
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was the size of a closet, the wardrobe door was broken, it was noisy at night and cold. The neighborhood feels unsafe and dirty, full of people drunk (and under other substances). The hotel is above a sex shop (they do not mention that in the description). It is probably the worst location in Hamburg. The staff was completely unhelpful and rude. Due to a problem with our booking, the first booking was canceled and we had to re-book. By rebooking the room got changed from room with private bathroom to room with public bathroom but that was only mentioned in tiny writing which we did not see. And the price got more expensive! There are plenty of hotels in Hamburg, sure you can find something better. Even a dorm would be better than this one.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    4.2
    Far too expensive for the facilities provided - I'll not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture in the room was basic - a hard chair - nowhere to sit in comfort No character - cheap hard chairs also in the breakfast room

    The staff were polite and the room was cleaned thoroughly each day The staff in the breakfast room did their jobs efficiently

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Good value. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was weary poor.

    Breakfast was Very good. We booked the cheapest room. You share bath and toilet and bathroom facilities. But you are they only one using it. The others rooms have there own. Good value 😀 The place was in an area with sex shops and prostitution.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Stay in Central Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not very good and also some of the reception staff needed to go to charm school. The man on reception when we arrived was miserable and hardly said a word when checking us in. Also had problems with getting onto wifi and went to him for help but he was more interested in his personal call on his mobile than dealing with me

    Location was excellent being near the station and in general very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    6.3
    Lovely staff and breakfast, shame about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. In the pictures it doesn't show that the hotel is above a sex shop, little bit of a rough area. Wouldn't have booked it knowing this.

    Staff were very helpful and looked after us

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Great value within easy walk to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Very good continental breakfast selection. Cosy duvets. Had a room with balcony and view over Hamburg streets but not noisy. Luggage storage was very helpful. Great value. (Hotel is upstairs from an 'adult' shop but don't let that put you off. Location is excellent.)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful city, very nice hotel, vivid location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the place isn't quite comfortable. It is truly near the center of the city. But on some kind of poor Arab-African street. Thanks god I look like a guy that you don't want to mess with, but for someone more gentle it could be discomfortable, especially in the evenings. Me and my girl saw once a group of Arab guys harassing two European-looking girls, but nothing more happened.

    The rooms and service are great for this price. They have very decent breakfast. Nothing extraordinary, but some omelette, cheese, sausage, toasts, jam etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.7
    Preferable and cheap !!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disturbing that I could hear the people in the room next to me as the walls are not noisepoof. I could manage to sleep anyway since I was very tired :) And the district doesn't seem that safe especially after midnight.

    The advantage of the hotel is unequivocally it's location. It's very close to city centre, approximately 10 minutes away by walking. The location and appropriate prices make the hotel preferable. If you don't raise them, it will meet ur expectations ! :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    6.3
    Good central location in short walking distance to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ufortunately there was a strong cigarette smell pretty much everywhere.The staff wasn't very friendly. I don't think I would stay there again simply because of the cigarette smell.

    Good central location in short walking distance to the train station. The room was ok and against first expectation fairly quiet for the central location.the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Very clean, decent breakfast included & great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    charged 4 euros for opening a bottle of water that was left in the room.

    Very clean, decent breakfast included & great location close to railway station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    5.8
    Only location is good!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is too high for what I got! The room is tiny! very super small! I stayed there with 1 friend and it is hard to walk in the room caz so small room. Stuffs are not that nice (so so) so, dont expect for help there. Breakfast is normal.

    Location is good! Close to train station (about 5 mins walk). It locates in red light area but always a lot of people in the night so somehow I feel ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Surprisingly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings are not the best but no one will mess with you

    Rooms are quiet and clean The breakfeast is ok Very near to bus / train station Good price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.4
    Not up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only one pillow per person cold breakfast. Lock on door had to be fixed so it could be locked when you left the room to go out. wardrobe doors had to be fixed so you could get in to put your clothes away. Bathroom very small.

    the staff were helpful when faults were pointed out and got them fixed a.s.a.p.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.7
    Little Africa/ Asia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although location was in city center, we didn't really feel safe - very close to the train station and lots of bums and colorful characters in the area. The parking is a walk 5 min. from the hotel. It's difficult to stop the car in front of the hotel and leave the luggage. Once, we waited 5 min. for the hotel to open the door - access to building is restricted from outside; you need to press a button and wait for somebody to respond. Small rooms.

    Clean and nice personnel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    2.5
    I have never stayed before in such awful hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was awful, starting from the location - dirty outside surroundings and strange people which stay nearby the hotel at night (not safe to go at night). Hotel personnel is not professional, Be ready the check in and check out (invoice etc.) is made at least 30 minutes per person. Booking by credit card does not guarantee you the room in this hotel unfortunately, I was asked to go to another hotel of the same chain with even worse conditions. Room is absolutely small, like a cell, does not correspond to the declared price at all! If you want to save your nerves, I do not recommend you to stay in this hotel or any of the hotels of this chain!

    Nothing!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    3.8
    3rd Class hotel, had a very bag experience staying here, no air, you cant open windows, no fan,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nearly die in the room, no air, you cant open windows due to construction, i told them 4 time that i cant sleep due to heat, can i have a Fan but every time no one help me, 2 am i was sitting in the reception because room is boiling hot, 3rd class hotel

    Next to the Train Station nothing else

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    6.3
    Convenient for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being near the station, the area attracts all types of people - not always well frequented. Staff a bit cold, especially at breakfast. I am intolerant to lactose and kindly asked if there was different milk (soya), after a bored look I just got a "no" as response. Maybe it was a language issue but not nice. Breakfast is not bad being a buffet but frequently bowls were empty and it took a lot of time to refill them.

    The hotel is Very close to the train station and it is few minutes away from some of the main attractions. Wifi is working well and the room despite a little small (especially the bathroom) was comfy and not noisy (it was facing the main road so it could have been an issue)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    2.5
    Dont go there. Its the worst hotel ive tried and they have stolen my iphone charger..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont go there. Its the worst hotel ive tried and they have stolen my iphone charger..

    Dont go there. Its the worst hotel ive tried and they have stolen my iphone charger..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    4.6
    The hotel has room for inprovements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I never realised I booked a hotel room with a shared bathroom, which is unlike me, so I am thinking that this was in the small print, however this was my fault. Urine and faeces on the bathroom floor, couldn't use the toilet middle of the night it was disgusting. I waited until the morning to use the bathroom. I contacted reception asking for it to be cleaned at about 8:00am it got cleaned 2 hours later, meaning we wasted 2 hours od our morning. Came in later that night again urine over the floor and wet towels lying around. I tip toed around the urine for a shower, and the way the towel holder is designed, when I came out the shower my towel had fell on the floor. I felt dirtier leaving the bathroom than I did before I went in. I felt dirty for my entire stay. I asked if I could upgrade the room, but the cost was far too expensive. And he had no remorse that we had to shower in these conditions. We got no apology. He actually just said "well you booked a shared bathroom". Which I know I did, but hygiene should be a given. I asked if I could have an hairdryer in the bedroom rather than in the shared bathroom, which I wasn't allowed. Meaning people were using the toilet, it smelt and it was unhygienic and I had to stand next to it and blow dry my hair. There was no window in there, therefore the room steams up after a shower, I dried my hair in a room as hot as a sauna. And I was then sweaty and ready for a shower again thereafter. My request for having a spare hairdryer was just a simple "no". The pillows were that flat with no filling what so ever we couldn't sleep, we built them with towels and asked for a spare pillow the next day, which wasn't allowed. One of the reasons to book the hotel was for the Wi-Fi access, so we could navigate around the city, which was no existent. For the full stay there was no scrambled egg for breakfast, it was there but always empty, which is not a big deal, but why advertise it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.4
    Near to the main railway station but located in a dodgy part of the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay 50 Euros for a mislaid key which was left with Reception. This is now the subject of a complaint.

    Room was very clean & comfy. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff, substantial breakfast;
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding area was not exactly inviting for a walk in the evening. No daytime parking nearby.

    Friendly staff, substantial breakfast; room was small but clean and had all basic facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Perfect Location - 10 Minuten from Bahnhof
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t clean the room properly. Sometimes the receptionists were unfriendly.

    Perfect Location - 10 Minuten from Bahnhof

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Imagine the worst location to live with a child - it will be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Imagine the worst location to live with a child - it will be that hotel. i don't mean the hotel itself but the surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable trip to Hamburg will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small lift and bed a little on the hard side for me

    Good sized rooms, friendly reception staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    Room clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street full of porn shops and red light bars. No airco in room

    Room clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area isn’t great especially at night.

    Good hotel! Clean and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    It was fine. A bit noisy too. I would stay again though.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The milk was sour in the jug at breakfast.It put me off.

    Location was good. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    good breakfast, bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing bothered except the district which is not very safe.

    very good breakfast, good hot water, easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    close to main train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was not good. region around hotel

    close to main train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location! Location! Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Its close to everything we need specialy foods, markets and the central station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the room and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Breakfast and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Clean hotel. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel. Great breakfast. Sketchy neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Nice room. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    I must stop and this was the only reason why I choose this hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Breakfost was poor. Parking: you can park and pray for see the car the day after...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Quite hotel, friendly staff, big rooms, very central and close to Maine station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    - the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - pour breakfast - the room was smaller than expected - the bed was made from 2 beds, pretty unconfortable

    - the location

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: