Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pension Messe This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Neue Kantstr. 5, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14057 Berlin, Germany

#549 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1252 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It offered the bare minimum that you would expect from a room not in a hostel. The price/quality ratio could be better.

    It was very clean both the bathroom and the bed. Aldo really close to the subway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom for 3 people was extremely tiny, packed, dark and stuffy. Our basin was choked when we first started using it, which was extremely unpleasant. When I tried to close the connecting door, glass from the door panel fell on my arm and cut me all over. The staff initially demanded that we pay for the broken glass, though it was obviously not our fault and we were the victims. We did not even receive any apology regarding this, nor any compensation for our medical expenses. It was only until later that we managed to convince them that we should not be the ones paying for the broken glass. We later also noticed that there were several more cracks on the other windows, which could potentially pose as a safety hazard! What if it had been a 2 year old who was injured instead?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and room a bit shabby

    Hotel is on the 2nd floor. Room was spacious but a bit shabby although beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean with a great shower! Parking is just outside on the street but we did get a space easily enough. Not much to breakfast but it filled a hole then we went to a lovely cafe just up the street. For a hotel in the city it was good value and met our needs for the night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit far from public transport. The room on the street side a bit noisy.

    Breakfast was perfect, coffee, tea, milk, cereals, cheese, sausage, boild egg, bread, cake... The room is big, clear. Also for longer stay is perfect. A good supermarket is opposite to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shampoo or shower gel, only small peace of soap packaged in a way that it was impossible to open it without scissors or knife; no place to hang your clothe in bathroom. Staff does not speak English

    Breakfast was good. Clean rooms with nice furniture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathroom is too small, especialy the shower cabin.

    overall it was good,clean,building is old.and we ware suppose to have studio with separation between them,instead it was 2 rooms 1 with 2 beds and one with doble bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wasn't expecting too much, but still was surprised that I could feel some of the springs in the mattress, the plumbing was so noisy we did not dare flush during the night. We were not permitted to use the kitchen beyond boiling water in the kettle, nor could we use the breakfast room to eat our dinner.

    Nice breakfast - The boiled eggs at breakfast were decorated beautifully for the Easter weekend, the receptionist helped me print our boarding passes, the room was large, lots of hot water, heating in room, wifi, close to public transportation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Building desperatly needs new doors and windows. Therefore is colder as it could be with new windows. No heating in the bathroom and when somebody flushes the toilet upstairs water is coming out of the sink. The matress is really bad, there was a hole in it, so my back badly hurt after 4 nights on it.

    Was surprised with the breakfast, I was expecting less. There are many different great restaurants in the neighbourhood, market on the other side of the street and a bus stop 150m away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no hair dryer in the room although it is mentioned in the properties. The bed sheets were not so clean. WiFi signal was very poor in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The whole hotel smelled like cigarette smokes, even there is written that they are family friendly and there is no allowance to smoke at all.

    Great location for ITB Berlin Messe and easely get to Tegel airport or TOP tourism objects Breakfast was a small choice but enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was really cold in the winter.

    I had to make a late check in, and there was not a problem with Hotel Messe. They prepared everything for my late arrival. The breakfast is really good with a great variety of food and beverages. The room and bathroom were clean. Great location, walking distance from Berlin ZOB and close to the Charlottenburg castle. A bit far, 10 min walk, from the subway station. The room´s decor is dated. But there´s everything you need in it, good and cozy bed, closet, table and chair.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very thin, like a camping mattress with that wipe clean plastic coating rather than a bed. Bit noisy in the front rooms, so take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

    It was warm, it was clean and well located. The lady on reception was lovely! The breakfast room has been updated compared to the photos on here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee could be better) Also you should ask how to deal with hot water.

    Nice staff, good location near S- and U-bahn. It is very quiet and beautiful nearby. Good breakfast. Everyday cleaning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cold room, no cream for shower, very old and poor quality, noice from street was very high, sound from pipes in walls was irritating during whole night, woke me up several times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom was rather small.

    Staff was very polite and at our service. The room was fairly correct, just according to the price. Bigger than booked. Cleaned each day. Bed very good. Elevator was really helpful (3rd floor).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom of room number 9 was scary (strange sounds by the midnight) (water went up from the sink hole). Room was with cigarette smell.

    Breakfast Ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the centre, 30 mins walk and subway Room was a little basic

    Good sized room, we each had our own bed (there were 6 of us) and en suite bathroom Breakfast was great, many things to choose from and staff helpful although they only spoke German

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a double bed and expected something comfortable but was checked into a room that had three "other single beds" in it (reducing space to move about in the room, and the double bed I was given was TWO SINGLE BEDS PUT TOGETHER. If you mistakenly roll over to the middle of the bed, then you get this uncomfortable feeling from the unavoidable divide between the two single beds "masked" as a double bed. Since it's called a hotel, I aspected them to meet what they advertised on booking.com

    The place was smelling fresh and the breakfast was good and a lot. Great location, about 7-10minutes walk from the bus station. Good deal to cut down on transport costs and time efficient because the first thing one wants is to check in a room fast (after a long trip) than waste more time checking where they should buy transport tickets/book a taxi and spend extra minutes traveling to where they should be accommodated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old building, not so clean and smell to cigarrete.

    Pretty decent breakfast, the staff was friendly and the location is good, near the U-bahn (30 min to Berlin Ctiy Center)-

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quite good but no veggies at all. For me it is a huge disadvantage.

    Location is really awesome, very close to metro station (Sophie Charlotte Platz) . Rooms a tidy and really clean, quite warm. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom very tiny, with a persistent bad smell. It wasn't a double bed, they put 2 single bed aside, and in 3 nights they never change the sheets or towels. The room was very nosy, because it is a pub/bar at the next door at ground floor, and at the first floor it was noise at night.

    The location was ok. 10 minutes walk to the metro station. Decent breakfast, the same every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unless you have things to do in the western part of Charlottenburg, it's quite out of the way.

    I booked this hotel as it was close to a friend's place and affordable for Berlin. Fast Internet. Friendly staff. The price (cheap) matches the facilities (very basic).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I took a room with private bathroom. I had it, but the bathroom was not directly connected to the room, I had to cross the main couloir! Wifi is not working. It was difficult to sleep properly because there was too much light (bad curtains) and you hear a lot of noise coming from the staff people who speaks really loudly. The location is correct you are 20-30 min from the city center with public transports.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the building is very old and the staff didn't speak English.

    Confortable, clean, good neighbourhood, direct transport to Alexanderplatz and Potsdamer Platz, shops close to the building, quiet zone, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small bathroom but we had a bigger room,it is okey

    Good small breakfest,clean and good facilities,Fast check in and check out the price is equal to the quality because many hotels in Berlin are much more expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroomk facilities in a "tired, old building."

    Great location for getting into mitte Berlin. Toilet/shower facilities awful. Staff somewhat helpful. For a business in West Berlin, the staff should have better command of English. Breakfast (only 1 of which we could take advantage,ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very scruffy and very old. The rooms are not isolated from external noise. The staff woke me up very early in the morning by chatting loudly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated, a little cramped in the bathroom (although bedrooms were very spacious!) and breakfast was a bit lacklustre but still adequate.

    Clean, warm and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful in organising late check in. Good location for the conference I was attending with reasonable access to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small. The pillows were too squishy. No tea making facilities or even kettle. Very old furnishing - cathode ray tube TV! The toilet kept making noises throughout the night.

    Very close to convenient store opposite and decent free breakfast. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water in the shower was not really hot. It was just a little warmer than the cold water. It was the only bad experience in this place, I hope they will fix this problem soon. All the rest was fine.

    Few steps (around 7 minutes walk) from the Convention Center (Messe Berlin), as well as from a train and a tube stations. A breakfast is included. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay when you visit Messe, this place is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was outside and all the time i need to take two keys, one for the bedroom and another for the bathroom. But everything else was okay.

    The location is good, also the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very soft, but not the end of the world!

    Very good safe location. Easy to walk or catch public transport to many destinations. Good breakfast provided. Clean room. Lift to 1st, 2nd, 3rd floor as well as stairs. Good bathroom and shower pressure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were literally two outlets in the room, which made charging electronics for 3 people a challenge

    The staff was really friendly and helpful - especially if you were looking for directions or transportation tips. The breakfast buffet was great and included in the price of our room. The rooms were cleaned and freshened daily, and there is a small lift (2 - 3 people at a time max.) if you have luggage or your rooms are on the top floors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not easy to park as the hotel is located in the city center. We still manage to park in reasonable and timely manner.

    The room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not fantastic, but only a short walk from Charlottenberg train station which had lots of trains more going to the centre

    Clean and friendly, good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the bathrooms could have been improved as well as the maintenance.

    Was quite good value for money, and the location is pretty decent for getting into town. There are two train stations nearby serving the U-Bahn and S-Bahn respectively, each being a 5 and 10 minute walk. The place was simple and did what is said on the tin.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First they charged me before free cancellation period ended. And after paying in full at check in they still have not released the money they took previously. Staff speaks bad English. The beds creak, there was no hairdryer, no complimentary shower gel. The breakfast was adequate to the rest of the standards set. The lift stopped working the 2nd day. The internet was horrendous, and the towels were near threadbare old. And when I contacted them for earlier check in they never replied so I had no idea what to expect as I arrived. All over a rather unpleasant experience. And the location is not all comfortable if flying to-from Schönefeld.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a basic room, but fine for 1-2 nights stay. I did want to change plan after reserving but did not notice the booking was non-refundable. Tried to contact hotel (would have accepted loss of a proportion of amount) but they did not respond. Was very impressed with Booking.com who sorted this out, although it was too late to get another hotel)

    Good location to walk to convention centre. Friendly staff and good continental breakfast. Bargain rate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite old furniture (but clean and sufficient, so it did not matter).

    Very good location. Very close to the bus station (Am Funkturm) and U-Bahn stations. Good breakfast. For weekend stay it was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy water system, no shampoo in bath, the door needs to be pushed really strong in order to close it with the key

    Friendly staff, good wi fi connection, clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds are not really the most comfortable ones and same goes to the pillows.

    Hotel is located in very nice and quiet part of the city. Public transport is very accessible, including two metro stations. It was really easy to get from the airport by train. Everything was clean and on place. Free WiFi was provided and signal strength was very good inside the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My main interest was in photographing the architecture of Berlin. A hotel in Berlin Alexanderplatz or Potsdam Platz would have been more convenient.

    Rasam, a restaurant serving very good Indian food is close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was really hard to find, we had to walk a long time and the car was not safe, the bathroom was really bad!

    Breakfast was allright! simple but fine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room has the deco from the 80s hostels. Some simple fresh up would maje a big difference. Shower and hot water below satisfactory level.

    Staff very welcoming and accommodating Simple but reasonable breakfast included in price. Location very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price vs. place / breakfast good - room was big, clean, stuff was nice, breakfast wasn't opulent but for that price good enough. Never problem to sit and woman was still looking if there is still enough. Comparing the price and servis fair enough. Parking outside, we were in the back side of the house, next to the park, a lot of spaces to parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is incredibly small (smaller than a Tokyo bathroom!) and equipped with a very noisy pump that pumps the sewage upward and leads to a very unpleasant smell. Parking in the evening is a challenge in the area. There are lots of parking spots close by, but none of them are free in the evening. Try to arrive early.

    It's cheap for Berlin. Very anonymous and quick to check in and out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit difficult to get into the building.

    The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Charlottenburg Train Station. We were lucky, because we got a large (four beds for two persons) room with a balcony overlooking the street - and into the neighboring room. Breakfast was surprising: not five star, but right.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I really didn't have any negative experience in this hotel.

    I traveled with my girlfriend and her sister. We booked room with 3 beds, and we got room with 6 beds only for us. We arrived after midnight and it wasn't problem because staff left us key in a locker behind the entrance door. Room was clean and big. Sheets were changing everyday. Private bathroom was ok. Women who works there don't speak English very well, but the are kind and polite.. Breakfast (buffet) was excellent. My girlfriend's sister is a vegetarian and she was also very satisfied with breakfast. Metro station is 10 minutes walk from hotel. A big shop is just across the street and hotel is in really nice area of Berlin. In my opinion this hotel has one of the best quality/price ratio in whole Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mentioned parking available, is just parking on a street for residents, so it depends on your luck how far you actually park from the hotel ... (200meters +/- )

    extra cheap, comparing other hotels, only 60 euros for 2 + breakfast in Berlin :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although I wrote the day after the reservation that I had to leave a day early booking did not go change and I had to pay for four nights instead of three.

    Cheap pension in the center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath room was really uncomftable the shower didinot fixed well the water was too cold or too warm and not easy to adjust Water passing hardly

    The hotel was quiet ans clean near to central bus station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. More choices would be appreciated. But then again I dont have experience with other properties so can't really say.

    Spacious and cozy rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid 104€ for one night, in a small single room, with a private bathroom around the corner, which would have been ok, but in the morning, when I wanted to shower, the water-heater was broken, and the water remained glacially cold, so I couldn't shower, and had to make do with a fast sponge bath. For the price I had to pay, this was totally unacceptable, and I will write to the hotel to demand a refund. The other difficulty was that the reception closes at 10 p.m., so if by circumstances beyond your control, you arrive late, you're out of luck. I wanted to hear a lecture at 7p.m., and because my train had a 90 minute delay (due to a "person-accident", meaning a suicide on the tracks) I was unable to go directly to the hotel to collect the keys, but had to go directly to the lecture with my overnight bag and all. Fortunately, a friend of mine was also at the lecture, so she drove me to the hotel afterwards to get the keys, and then we had dinner. The breakfast good, but not spectacular; choice of breadrolls or a whole-grain bread, joghurts, cheese, cold cults, boiled eggs, jams, honey, tinned fruit salad, cereals, coffee and teas--the usual in small hotels. In the big, expensive hotels the breakfast buffet offers warm dishes, eggs made to order, and exotic things like smoked salmon. Needless to say, the prices are triple or quadruple that of small hotels. The reason for the exorbitant prices at hotels in Berlin was an international Tourism Fair, which meant that the small, well-priced hotels where I usually stay were fully booked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite old but at the same time very pleasant. The room was nice and clean. Considering how little we paid, it was excellent. Breakfast was very abundant. We liked it. Would stay again;)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived and the room was not cleaned properly. The toilet brush was still lying in the toilet as if someone started cleaining and stopped halfway through. Didn´t pay much but also did not receive much. WIFI somewhat unreliable at times.

    Good breakfast and this was included in the price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed the stay at the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean. Personel was nice and helpful. Breakfast was very varied, it can fully satisfy the hunger. A great advantage is location-we had 5mins to the nearest underground on foot. I recommend this place to everyone!:)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quite far from center. Bedsheet with stains. Shower and WC are not in the room (№18), only the sink. No shampoo.

    Amiable staff. They printed my ticket for free) Good breakfast - flakes, sausages, cheese, fruits, yogurt, juice, bread, eggs, jam. Fast internet (the router was near my room). Very quiet, most guests are families with children. 6 minutes to U2 Sophie-Charlotte-Platz.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing (we both had to sleep in hoodies and extra clothes, shower door broken, shower either freezing or scalding- no in between. We walked around for approximately 40 minutes to try and find this hotel as it was not accurately located on Google maps, and there was a second hotel by the same name near by which was very confusing. Not great lighting or mirror placement for make up application.

    The front desk lady was very polite. Breakfast was tasty and contained a wide range of foods. Enjoyable walk to and from train station, including bridge overlooking walk and lake which was very beautiful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The linen were all fresh and spotlessly clean but a slight stale smell came out of either the pillow or the blanket or the mattress..

    I felt quite comfortable at that place regardless of the fact that the place is fairly old and the renovation was done with appearently limited means. The rooms are not incredibly charming but useful and comfortable and breakfast is more varied than one would expect at that price .The location is close to the fair grounds and the central bus station..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was not very attentive, early morning noise from the kitchen, small old style TV set, facilities a bit worn out, e.g. shower with unstable handle

    proper bed and pillow, breakfast was ok for this class of hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is not that clean and there is also a water bomb, that works during the night making your sleep uncomfortable. The water pipe in the shower was not working appropriately, what make necessary to turn off the shower during it and wait until the water goes away.

    The price is acctualy really interesting, localization is good and the Breakfast was acceptable. Excellent for one night for humble groups.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room for 3-4 people smelled like cigarettes as hell during the whole stay. I would prefer to sleep with fresh air.

    We liked the combination of quality, price and location. Close to the undeground stations and Charlottenburg. Friendly personnel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is just a walking distance to bus station and it's quite convenient for us to travel within the city. Good breakfast given as well and for me its worth the money that i paid. The staff came everyday sharp at 10am to clean your room and overall i think i would stay again here.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location,really close to Omnibusbahnhof (ca 10 min on feet), metro in the neighbourhood. Room was big and clean, beds were comfy. Breakfast - it depends on what you expect, generally nie so bad.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are `tired` and could do with freshening up.

    Great value for money.Basic but clean and cant complain for the price as brekky included which again was basic but plentiful for a continental.Only 10 mins walk from Charlottenberg Station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff doesn't speak english.They also taking money from your credit card without warning way before your stay("book now pay nothing" yea right..).They also cancell your reservation without warning -if they are not able to take all the money -even if on the website is written that you will pay on the day of arrival.Pure cheating.After mistirious cancellation all the rooms went up with the price next day.Coincidance?don't think so.Not recommending this one for sure.

    It was quite close to the arena but that's all from the great things about hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are very uncomfortable, you could feel the springs on your back, and the backache the morning after! This is not a hotel but a pension, everything dates back from before the war, and often there was a bad smell on the hall way that got into the rooms. I think you can get better quality in Berlin without spending much more than here, so if you can, get something better, you won't miss this pension

    Not far from public transport, easy to reach the metro and get to the centre in 15 min. Breakfast was correct, nothing missed even if going for breakfast a bit late

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and thin walls, so we can hear how loud our neighbor snoring. Also, the staff dont know english.

    The breakfast is ok. Location is good linked with public traffic, and you can reach everything easy. The bus station is on 100m, subway and rail on 500m. WiFi is ok. Supermarket is across the street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are not good. They are not accessible at all. They would not respond even if u raised alarm. Mostly, you will find difficulty if you arrive the hotel at late night. The staffs don't respond to the calling bell at the main gate and it will be locked from outside. We experienced waiting more than an hour outside the gate. Fortunately, some people who are staying at messe, were returning from dinner. So managed to enter the gate with the help of their key. Moreover, they dont provide neither water or glass. A group of ladies staffs are managing the hotel out of them many dont under stand English. We dont recommend you this hotel to choose.

    The room is of Average quality. Location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    Ease of access. It had everything that I needed and nothing more :) So, I cannot say that it is not ok. But it is definitely not modern and something that we are all used to find these days. For a short stay... I think it is fine. Price could be lower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, we had not expected luxury, but good basic cleanliness and comfort. This provided far less than we have received at campgrounds in New Zealand, aND was more expensive. The facilities bore little resemblance to the photos in their advertisement. The area is rundown, the building is old and very shabby with worn and patched matting (not carpet) on the stairs, bare walls with untidy layers of paint, cramped hallways, no attempt at making the decor attractive. The staff spoke no English and only a little German. We had booked a "family room" as we were a partry of 3 adults. The room we were given contained 6 single beds, 3 of which were not mad up but were covered with fabric off cuts in lieu of bedspreads. The bathroom was minuscule and not very clean ... would not be suitable for 6 people ... and the plumbing was very noisy. Aside from the 6 beds, the room contained one dining chair for sitting on, one bedside light for the whole room, a very small TV on a stand, one very faded cheap print on the wall, and no mirror other than the one in the bathroom. We weren't prepared to hazard the breakfast, but did look at it ... for the price it was limited in quantity and choice. We had booked 2 nights but checked out after 1. Staff still insisted on charging us for both nights, saying we should apply to Booking.com for a refund.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small and many are located on a very busy and noises street.

    Very good breakfast. Free On street parking is available in the area, but if you find a spot you better leave your car there and take a bus. On bus line runs down the street in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no decent table in the room. No chance, if you want to work with a computer. The private bathroom was a small, smelly room with shower, vacuum cleaner and other cleaning stuff. But the worst was the communication. Due to some error on the booking.com page, a non-refundable reservation has been made. The hotel charged my card immediately! I asked the hotel to be so kind to cancel ist. The hotel simply didn't answer! I contacted booking.com for help. Even they weren't successful. Such a shameful way to treat your customers. Pick this hotel as your last option only. The value for money is really bad.

    The breakfast was quite decent, as well as the bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was close to reception area and every morning I was woken up around 6:30 by the lady preparing breakfast. On my first night I was woken up around 1:30 by loud music, but this didn't happen again on my stay.

    The hotel is close to a bus station and in 10 min you are at Zoologischer Garten. Also, 10 min walking and you are at the train station, therefore easy to access the city center. Just across the street is a supermarket, which is opened until late at night. The room was clean, good size and breakfast was good, varied, but go early as the breakfast room is not that big and if all the tables are occupied you have to wait (this happened to me once).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Budget accommodation A little dark Hotel looks a little neglected Staff unsmiling Was told I need to pay cash Despite saying' private external bathroom', this is in fact misleading, it should be: 'shared bathroom'. I was placed next to the toilet, so I could hear the respective guests doing their essentials :( Internet kept disconnecting There was a free breakfast on offer, but could not enjoy this privilege, as I had great difficulty in the morning trying to find a cash machine in the local area! Creaking floorboards - difficult to sleep!

    Relatively clean Had a wash basin Comfortable single bed Free wifi Free breakfast on offer

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Pension Messe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: