Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Restaurant & ****Hotel HÖERHOF This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Obergasse 26, 65510 Idstein, Germany

#1 of 5 hotels in Idstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel exceeded our expectations. This is a hidden gem, a haven of peace and quiet with a charming atmosphere. The staff were friendly and attentive, the room and facilities fantastic in terms of comfort and attention to detail. The character and interesting features in the building and decor were very special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closes too early (around 10 pm). There were a few big spiders in the room, but it's kinda expected in an old building ;) Entrance to mine as well as my colleague's room was straight from outside, what could be nice in summer but is less convenient during cold & rainy season when the only path to the reception and breakfast place/restaurant is through the open air. Android tablet with customized hotel's application in the room was a modern twist, but it wasn't working properly on some links, e.g. photos of the town to be exact.

    Most beautiful location you can imagine, thoughtfully renovated ancient building, cosy atmosphere, simply but comfortably equipped & quiet rooms, nice courtyard. Individually served breakfast was OK, but too limited for a vegetarian, who does not eat eggs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a beautiful and convenient location when staying in Idstein. We really enjoyed the food and they were very accommodating with our early checkout.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double, 22m room for single occupancy but the only room they had was in the roof, very low head banging ceiling and less than half the size I booked. No sitting area, no safe, no desk all advertised.

    Breakfast staff and food superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is closed on Sunday's so rather complicated procedure to find the right entrance and get the room key. Felt very frustrated after a long drive and heavy bags... This is my second stay in this hotel. First stay I wasn't very impressed with the room, so decided to book a different room. Lots of stairs to climbe, small windows, but room was clean. Could do with a new shower in the bathroom, it was very hard to get into. Staff needs to improve their customer service I think. Breakfast should absolutely be optional outside (when weather is good) in the courtyard without "ok, we make a special favor for you to eat outside" ...

    Location is great, right in town close to everything. I really like the sink and hand soap in the bathroom. Floor lights in room was a nice touch. Parking very good. Breakfast was also quite good, but it wasn't made very clear by the staff what you could order. Saw some people had some müsli for example, I found out I could order yoghurt after a while ... good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and bathroom old. Pillows not very comfortable and windows were covered with "sheets" to make room dark at night. Windows on "street level" so hard to leave open to get fresh air in at night. Room a bit stuffy... Wouldstay again but ask for different room for sure

    Great location. Great parking. Nice "personal" breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was all great.

    Wonderful stay in a 400+ year old hotel. The rooms were contemporary and tasteful, the place was historic. The town of Idstein is also a hidden little gem. I had dinner in the restaurant the evening of my stay and it was phenomenal - a fantastic and sophisticated gastronomic treat! The staff was wonderful too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ** The beds were not all that comfortable - but that's a personal preference ** WiFi was slow

    ** The restaurant is first-class. We had lunch there and the food is awesome! ** The place is a renovated/modernized 400-year old villa - that has it's own special charm. ** Location is great - a two minute walk to the old town. ** Staff is very knowledgeable about the area and very friendly - left us a nice, hand-written good night card. (I'm probably old fashioned, but I really appreciate that personal touch).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an English language in the room but not in the restaurant therefore we struggled to order dinner. The staff however did their best to help out.

    Friendly staff, comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel near Frankfurt!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing~!

    Perfect~!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room slightly old fashioned.

    Lovely building in a nice area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great room, great breakfast and excellent staff especially the girls who do breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh the bed! Perfect nights sleep after a long day travelling.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The next morning, when we checked out, the person at the reception, presented us the bill of the dinner the night before. When we said we already paid the night before in cash, the waitress of yesterday evening was called. She could no longer remember that we paid, checked the wooden box, which seemed to be empty. The person at the reception then said that it was an internal issue and they will find the money ... It was a bit of an anticlimax, after a nice dinner and a nice overnight stay !

    We had a superb dinner on January 23th at the Hoererhof restaurant. We took the menu nr 1 and the wine tour proposed by the waitress. The food and the different wines were indeed a perfect match, and we enjoyed all of it. We paid the bill in cash after dinner by putting the money in a wooden box and did not take the invoice with us.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to the hotel car park is via a complicated series of back streets because of the large number of pedestrian zones, one-way streets and no through roads.

    Proved a very good place to break our journey from the Netherlands to Munich, being close to the Autobahn. Hotel is a lovely old building within walking distance of the attractive old town. The in house restaurant is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately there was a wedding party on the night that the we stayed and the loud music kept us awake until the early hours of the morning.

    Interesting building with real character. Very friendly staff and good food.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be good

    Period hotel. Very friendly staff and a great location for visiting the beautiful town of Idstein

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is great to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower rather difficult to use

    Very comfortable - excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our dinner was delicious! Exquisitely prepared and served with delightful gratis add-ones like a small appetizer and a truffle brought to our room.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not good

    Nice, charming hotel. Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hospitality. Dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely complicated to take a shower. Very small.

    location is great!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant is over priced

    excellent service and accommodations

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the room was too small to put an extra bed for my son.

    The food in the restaurant is superb!!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Restaurant & ****Hotel HÖERHOF traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: