Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rheinfels

Heerstrasse 69, 56329 Sankt Goar, Germany

#8 of 19 hotels in Sankt Goar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 717 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great Stay on the Rhein
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some street noise in riverview rooms if the windows are open. Sad that pets are no longer allowed.

    We have stayed at Hotel Rheinfels several times. The location is great, right across the street from the Rhein and the KD boat tour dock. We arrived at 7:30 p.m. after all of the stores had closed. The staff were very accommodating, providing us with beer, wine, nuts, and glasses to take to our room. We were so grateful. We had a double room with, balcony and river view (which we have stayed in before). The room is spacious and has a view of Burg Katz across the river. We also had a single room in the back of the building which was quite small, but very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was great- loved the curried scrambled eggs with vegetables. The coffee was good and there was a nice selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals, and yogurt. Paid parking is available across the street or further down the road at the large parking lot. We were once again very happy with Hotel Rheinfels and hope to return again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Great view of the Rhine River!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi / Internet connections weren't working during our three day stay, so we couldn't connect AND we had to get cash from an ATM to pay our bill.

    Great view of the Rhine River!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Stylistic Hotel Along the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no door to the toilet and shower room.

    This was an elegant hotel. The desks, wardrobe and chairs were of a consistent and stylistic design. There was a fan in the room which proved to be very useful for the hot summer night. Big dining room. Good buffet style breakfast with an ample supply of fresh fruits. A major plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would have been helpful.

    We got a room with balcony which was worth the cost as we could sit and watch the endlessly fascinating river traffic. Spotlessly clean hotel and a very pleasant host. But it was the balcony that made this otherwise quite ordinary, and slightly old-fashioned, hotel a great place to spend a few days. Big room, good breakfast. Fast and easy stroll with luggage from train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in St Goar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. The optional breakfast was a good value. The K-D boat dock was just across the street. We enjoyed our 2 night stay and would recommend the hotel highly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great location and a very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is wonderful, and I just thought it was a great value. I hope to return next year, and I'll pay the small extra amount to have a room with a view of the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Great location. Great hospitality. Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Rhine View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only have one complaint and that was not the fault of the hotel. Across the river they had a hard rock concert that went on until about 1 or 2 am which kept me awake.

    The owner of the hotel was very helpful and assisted me with processing the next leg of my train journey. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    We wouldn't mind staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no pleasant view through our bedroom window.

    The hotel is very nicely situated. Through the windows of the dining room is a beautiful view on the Rhine river. It was possible to get free parking. Our room was clean and neat and complete, and so was the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is very close to the walk way to the castle. We highly recommend to hike up to the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft and bed was a bit hard.

    The location of the hotel is perfect and right on the riverside. We had a room with river view and really enjoyed it a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Hotel Rheinfels is in the small village of St Goar on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel Rheinfels is in the small village of St Goar on the Mittelrhein...and a great location to explore the rest of the Rhine Gorge. Being the off season (late October) the hotel was almost empty, but we were given a key to the front door and the breakfast table was set and ready for us. With the ferry across the street and funky bike rental down the road, we were able to ride about 10 km upriver, cross by ferry at Lorch, then ride downriver back to St Goarshausen and ferry back home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could use some improvement. The eggs had an odd flavor (curry?) and the coffee was weak.

    Excellent location! Make sure and book a room with a balcony overlooking the river. The owner was very nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value and beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value rooms in an excellent location. Beautiful view of Rhine, and everything was very clean. Helpful staff, lovely breakfast. The single rooms are small, but still very comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Great room in a very quiet village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to get hot drinks ( or any drinks) and no in room facilities to make own

    Great room. Loved the balcony overlooking the boats. Very comfortable bed and very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    St Goar is a great town and Hotel Rheinfels is in a perfect location. Clean! Great Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in, parking advice was not clearly communicated. The front desk person was on the phone, so I think we did not receive what would normally be explained much better. We would still highly recommend this hotel.

    The hotel Rheinfels had a really wonderful breakfast with very personalized service. This hotel was very clean and in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Stayed two nights in Hotel Rheinfels--very comfortable and would recommend highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillows in the rooms.

    Rooms were nicely sized and bathrooms very nice, refurbished and clean. Good shower. The breakfast was wonderful with good selections of meats, cheeses, and breads as well as warm boiled eggs, cereals and fruits. The breakfast host (older man) was exceptionally friendly and accommodating--even providing a pot of coffee for your room if you went down and asked. Overall, a great place to stay! Location was ideal---near train station, on the Rhine, and across street from Rhine ferry docks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't get reserved parking. The room I got was a small single room , but this was expected or the price.

    Superb location; entrance facing the Rhine. Good breakfast with a great view of the river. Friendly staff. Convenient public parking area by the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location with a great view of the Rhine. Has been upgraded with more to come.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was not very close. The breakfast scrambled eggs tasted strange - curry? There is no elevator so the walk up to the 3rd floor was not fun with our bags. (They said an elevator is planned.) The street noise was not too bad. The top step on the 1st of 2nd floor had a slanted edge that could have been bad.

    The location was good and the breakfast was good. We had a great view of the Rhine from our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel at a convenient location in St Goar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is close to ferry, KD cruise and train station, all within 5-10 min walking. Accommodation is clean and accurate. Breakfast has pretty good selection of cold cut, cheese, breads and fruits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    We were surprised to find that our room was upgraded to one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a slur on this hotel but I found all pillows in Germany to be much too fluffy and unsupportive!

    We were surprised to find that our room was upgraded to one with a view of the Rhine - and it's a spectacular view! And the river is very quiet at night. Great breakfast too. Extra props to the staff who allowed us to dump our stuff early in the day and check-in a little early too, to help us get out of the rain!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    The welcome we had from the owner was warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather!! We had a terrific thunderstorm one evening, it was quite spectacular! This didn't dampen our spirits though! Everything about the hotel was great, and St Goar is a lovely small town.

    The welcome we had from the owner was warm and friendly. Our bedroom overlooked the river Rhine; it was clean and spacious with plenty of storage space for our belongings. The breakfast was a buffet style and there was plenty of choice. There are restaurants nearby, which serve a variety of dishes at reasonable prices. We enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved this hotel! Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door in back room did not close. A bit of mildew on shower curtain. Bathroom in river view room was tiny. My husband said it was very tight to take a shower.

    Fantastic location overlooking the river. We upgraded one room because the bed was too small for teen and parent. For only 15€ more got 3rd floor river view. Beautiful! My daughter and I stayed in room on back side of hotel. No view, but quiet an comfortable. Breakfast was good and staff was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Loved the hotel and staying in St Goar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    The accommodations were really nice. The view of the Rhine was outstanding and the people were super nice. Breakfast was excellent with many choices. Location right across from boat tours was super handy as well. I would totally stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Romantic stay on the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It rained the first day...nothing anyone could do about that.

    It was a cozy, smaller town. But with the option of going across the river (by ferry) to visit St. Goarhaus. The pedestrian street has nice shop and their castle is a short walk away (albeit uphill).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    View facing the Rhein river is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's better to have lift to carry the baggage easily.

    View facing the Rhein river is excellent. The breakkfast has variety with very comfortable space. The receiption (owner) is very helpful with enthusiasm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    We had a superior triple with a balcony, and it was worth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town of St. Goar lacks character and is VERY small, but our sweet balcony room at this hotel made our 4 night stay on the Rhine a highlight of our trip!

    We had a superior triple with a balcony, and it was worth the extra cost. The beds were very comfortable, the room large and spacious, with one bed on its own in an alcove so that person had some privacy. But the balcony was the best part! Sitting out drinking wine and playing cards overlooking the river with a castle on the others side, watching the ferry and many cargo ships go by--that was the highlight of our 2 week trip! Nice breakfast room and staff too. We stayed 4 nights and used as our home base to tour the area (without a car). Though St. Goar lacks charm and is VERY small, it was nice to be able to take the ferry across and access the other side of the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Booked a room with a balcony. Fantastic. Great to chill out and watch the boats on the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some English speaking channels on tv. No food facilities or bar facilities after breakfast.

    Location is fantastic. Great base to travel from. Really friendly staff and owner is a lovely guy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    The room was perfect- overlooking the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfect- overlooking the Rhine. This hotel serves a wonderful buffet breakfast which comes at a reasonable price. I liked the location, close to transportation and sights. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    A Friendly Hotel Where you'll feel at Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're looking for a Grand Hyatt or Kempinski, this hotel won't be to your liking. If you're interested in a clean smaller room in a super friendly hotel with a great location right @ the jetty for the tourist boats - this is it. Upon arrival you'll be personally greeted by the owner and others working there are also quite helpful. The breakfast is better than some 3* properties in which we stayed. We had 3 rooms one of which was a river view room: awesome. I'm happy to recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    A nice place to spend a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Rhine View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since it's a historic building there is no elevator or AC and the room was a little small and odd shaped. But nothing too bad. Parking in a small history village directly in the river valley sure is an issue.

    A very nice welcome by the owner and a spectacular view on the river Rhine. Nice Breakfast with very interesting scrambled eggs (Indian style) and great Croissants. All the sights can be reached in walking distance or by ferry (the ferry is a must)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay in Sankt Goar :))
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 12 nights

    An elevator would be very nice !! Tea & Coffee better be served all day & night !

    Nice hotel am Rhein. Clean rooms. Warm service. Helpful staff. Good breakfast :))

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Awesome view on the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New carpet would be nice...otherwise luv'd the Hotel.

    The view was awesome and the room very clean. Owner and morning breakfast staff were great. Price for value was awesome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Rhinefels and Sankt Gosr are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like all hotels we stayed in in Europe, the bath was too small and the only covers on the bed are big heavy comforters.

    Sanity Goar is a great location to explore the Mitte Rhine. Hotel Rhinefels is a perfect location. A day cruise dock is right across the street. Hotel is very clean and the breakfast is good. There a number of excellent restaurants within s few blocks. The interesting sights of the Mitte Rhine are an easy drive and Berg Elze should not be missed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Extra large rooms and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a great stay. no complaints

    Owner was wonderful. He was always very helpful. Breakfast was really good. The balcony view and large room was the best we had in Europe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    very good experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The are missing elevator but they have the plan to install one in winters. I saw the lay out plan for elevator and it was good.

    It is maintained as newly funished hotel , clean , with good overall experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice Room with A Great View of The Rhein River
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very accommodating front desk staff. The maître d'hôtel was especially attentive at breakfast. He managed every table with both style & elegance making our breakfast a memorable experience. The rooms were a good size & well appointed thanks to the manager who added a nice artistic touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Great relaxing place with great view of river
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator so a little tough with luggage although man at desk helped us.

    Room was big, great view of river with balcony (although too cold to sit outside). No elevator so a little difficult with luggage otherwise was great. Awesome breakfast. Would recommend this to friends. Very close to train station....5 min walk

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is very nice situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very nice situated. There is parking nearby as indicated as well as a free parking at 5-10 walking. There are plenty restaurant options within 5min walking. The ferry is also very nearby. Stayed at the back part of the hotel but didn't notice the train. The breakfast was really marvellous, most noteworthy is the broad variety of bread. In the room there was a small fridge, an unexpected pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities. Would have loved a hot drink in the evening and on waking.

    Reasonable cost. Bed comfortable. Good breakfast. Great to watch the river activity from your room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.3
    This does not reflect at all on the Hotel, but NONE of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This does not reflect at all on the Hotel, but NONE of the local, German restaurants are open this time of year. If we had known that, we would not have stayed in St. Goar at all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    This was definitely the best breakfast we had among the 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was definitely the best breakfast we had among the 4 lodgings we stayed at in Germany this trip. There was a full buffet that included fresh, tasty fruit, dates, an excellent omelette in addition to breads, cheeses, cereals, etc. The view of the river was excellent from our rooms. The rooms were cheerful, sparkling, appealingly furnished, and quiet (it was the latter half of October).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    A quiet place on the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator but perhaps this will be added with his planned expansion!

    The owner/manager is delightful and so is his property. Great breakfast and one of the best locations in this small town on the Rhine. Close to everything and the river is just out your door!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Perfect location to explore Rhine area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like most hotels in the area, a lift would have been a pleasant addition.

    Owner operator was very accommodating--we arrived late & left very early--he stayed late so we could check in & checked us out @ the same time. He even prepared a "to-go" breakfast for the 3 of us since we were leaving so early before breakfast would be served. Perfect location to explore Rhine area. Hotel literally across the street from Rhine River tour boat dock. Room was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    View From the Balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking took a bit of time. No lift made luggage a bit difficult.

    Location is perfect, beautiful view of the river. We paid a bit extra and had a balcony which was fantastic. Room was excellent! Breakfast was good. Wine is available at the hotel, and it was excellent with a good price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.0
    A perfect hotel for spectacular river views from your own comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no lift nor coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    The breakfast was extremely fresh, varied and plentiful. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and had excellent mood lighting. The bathroom was very clean. Our window view was magnificent. We spent quite a lot of time photographing the changing light on the Rhine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    4.6
    Terrible coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got ripped off due to being charged in Australian dollars when I specifically said that the card was in Euros . Coffee at breakfast undrinkable

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    The location was ideal for this popular part of the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was ideal for this popular part of the Rhine. Reception was friendly and efficient. Room was exactly as shown on web site, clean and bright. Breakfast of a good standard in delightful room. There was no lift but we were offered assistance with our luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Breakfasts were very good and offered much variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Rhine View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Sankt Goar DBahn train station is within walking distance to the hotel. I did not hear the trains from my room facing the Rhine. However, note that the Sankt Goar DBahn train station has poor access with 33 steps, but no elevator, lift, or ramp. The tourist bureau is fully aware of this situation.

    Breakfasts were very good and offered much variety. The room was very clean. Staff was courteous and helpful. Excellent location for Rhine boat trips.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    A wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got a little warm at night.

    Great scrambled eggs, a pot of coffee on your table, lots of variety in buffet. Location and staff were wonderful. Extremely clean and well maintained hotel. Responsive and reliable Internet. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    The sweet spot of St Goar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay here longer!

    Free, SECURE, WiFi! Owner/staff very friendly and helpful. Large room, full German breakfast included. Location right next to ferries, major road, near train station, bike rentals down the street, in town, castle within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Huge room with a balcony facing the river and the stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small. We had a shower over the bath and there wasn't a lot of room.

    Huge room with a balcony facing the river and the stunning view. It was great watching passing river traffic. The owner and the waiter in the restaurant at breakfast were both professional and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Perfect place for a complete relaxation & especially for Indians who thrive only on Indian food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Rhine View
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    Beautiful location. Grand spectacular view. Great Indian hospitality. Watch Rhine in the night & watch the different color shades thru the day. Easy accessibility with train station St. Goar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful room looking over the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    No a/c, but the breeze from the river was all we needed!

    We asked for an upper floor and got a beautiful room with 2 windows looking out over the Rhine river. Definitely recommend paying the very small upcharge for a river view!! The room was very clean and the staff was helpful, including directing us to a nice deli to purchase a bottle of wine. Breakfast was included and was very good!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel to enjoy the Rhine Valley!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very helpful and nice. I was running late due to a train delay and they kept reception open an extra 45 minutes so I could make it there in time. (I called to tell them I'd be late.) The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous property overlooking the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing missing that would have been helpful was an elevator!

    Fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, good bathroom, great breakfast. We had a river-view room with balcony, which was marvelous

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Possibly Europe's finest breakfast! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Rhine View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice hotel with friendly,helpful staff.The breakfast was the best I had in 2 weeks touring Europe! Half a dozen choices each of breads,meats,cheeses,fresh fruits etc.with a view of the Rhine from the dining room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    "Like visiting friends!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our third visit - like coming back to friends. Upgraded to balcony and enjoyed the location right in front of the KD line ferry, the many riverboats, both pleasure and working, would highly recommend the balconies!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    3.8
    The most disgusting stay - ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horrible, disgusting stay. I didn't sleep the 2 nights because of the smell in the bathroom. The smell impregnated in my clothes, can you imagine this? There was an open sewer somewhere, hidden by some loose ceramic or I don't know what. I was there just for sleep and could not do it. My 170 euros were thrown in the garbage and I felt disgusted after my stay (washed my things right away). Hotel Rheinfels used the fact that a festival was happening in the city and gave me no answer or solution to ease my situation. All the other hotels were fulled booked, thus was very easy for them to leave me this way. I couldn't go anywhere else. I, myself (shouldn't be the hotel doing it?), even suggested that I believe this could be a 1-room-situation and I would easily receive part of the money back or another night for free. I live in Frankfurt and this would be an easy solution for both sides. Well.. Surprise, surprise.. They didn't do anything about it, promised to call me and..nothing! If you are reading this review, maybe you'll stay there and be lucky... But if you have a problem (which happens often when we are traveling - we know it very well) you can FORGET that Hotel Rheinfels will make your life easier or give you a fair solution. Take your chances!

    Sankt Goar and part of the staff (The lady, receptionist, and the Mr. From the restaurant).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.1
    Basic but good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I took the slightly bigger single room without view. It comes with a bigger bed which is nice but is still a small room. Fine for me because I was there on business but I can't imagine having an even smaller room!

    Although small, the room was very clean. Breakfast was simple but nice. And shower and wifi were excellent! Bed was perfect (quite hard, which I like) and big for one person!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Great Base for Rhein River Cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Less than 5 mins walk from the St Goar train station & across the road from where the boat cruises run from. Room was very nice & breakfast was included. Lots of restaurants to choose from nearby for lunch/dinner/beer/wine. The internet woks well Great place to base yourself got a Rhein river cruise.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Most amazing stay. Five Stars! to the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Owner very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Room wonderful. Everything was the best.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very hard.

    The hotel was reasonable priced and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent little hotel overlooking the Rhein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great spot on the Rhein and a few steps from the railway station. Close enough to Koblenz to go by train for the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Close to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Rhine View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Great river view and very close to the KD dock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a refrigerator but no kettle to make a cup of tea or coffee.

    The room had a river view and was very close to the KD dock.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location near the KD warf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location near the KD warf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    View directly on the Rhine, literally two minutes from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Rhine View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside: only stairs

    View directly on the Rhine, literally two minutes from the train station, no need for taxi for those with luggage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Idyllic location and helpful staff made for a delightful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Rheinfels Hotel for two nights. Cannot beat the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    no problems - all was well and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night

    never got a second pillow though we asked about 3 times; - still slept well

    staff very friendly, nice big roomy house

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomfortable beds.

    Very friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Room was very clean, and we had a good virw of the Rhine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very clean, and we had a good virw of the Rhine river. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, clean, functional, and very nice breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room , but ok

    Great location, clean, functional, and very nice breakfast spread. A better view of Rhine cannot be found in town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean, pleasant hotel, comfortable bed and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good, plenty of selection. The staff was friendly, helpful and answered all our questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Very happy with the staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Rhine view and balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony is slightly wobbly when walking on.

    Really friendly staff and very good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Rhine view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My car was keyed and I got a parking ticket when I parked where I was instructed. Not a good thing to see at 8am in the morning.

    Close to the river

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: