Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Roter Hahn Garni This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofstr. 44, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

#26 of 36 hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Bank, Market, Restaurant, Coffee, Fitness Studio, Bus, Train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning room... they do not refresh it well

    Bank, Market, Restaurant, Coffee, Fitness Studio, Bus, Train, Tour train.. one for all game Nice breakfast, Super kind service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have a few small complains (I was in room 54): 1. The Wi-FI was very weak. 2. The bathroom glass sliding door did a terrible noise every time it was opened or closed. 3. There was no shelf in the shower, and putting shampoo and soap on the shower floor is annoying.

    Overall, I am satisfied with my stay. The room is clean, the breakfast is consistently good (the cakes were excellent), the pool and sauna are a great addition.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    STAYING IN THIS HOTEL, HELP OUR DESIRE TO GET A GREAT HOLIDAY IN GARMISCH.WE'LL BE BACK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Waxenstein
    • Stayed 10 nights

    In questionnaire, which I completed previous to arrival, I opted for a quiet room with a view to the mountains. The nr.16 was noisy ,with the balcony to principal street and the beautiful mountains view.

    Special thanks 2 all the stuff, Julie and Stefan primarily. Every information or desire were executed promptly and with professionalism.Super breakfast,moments of relax in modern, ,perfect , indoor swimming pool, the hotel creating a familiar ambience,full furnished with furnitures in stile. The best location for all the proposes of holiday. The cleanliness was beyond the expectations . The tranquility inside the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is ideal - an easy walk to the railway station and restaurants. The breakfast was better than expected, everything was very fresh and the breakfast room is lovely. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Waxenstein
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for just a basic room. Bottle of water provided on first night but not for subsequent night's. No change of towels over 5 night stay. One bulb in bedside light not working. Very basic soap and shampoo. I would have expected more for the cost of the room.

    Central location, and friendly staff. Cleaner too left room looking smart each day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Sommer holiday31july 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon’ noisy in the night we could not sleep our room was located in front of the main road we can hear all the cars passing by & there are people singing loud sounds arabic on the night

    Closed to all places we wanted to see like the Alpspix , train station & in the city centrum• Personale are nice & understanding in a way that my husband got a free coffee in the morning without extra charge• my husband dont eat breakfast just drink coffee• We have free parking at the backyard of the hotel which was very relaxing for us •

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    It's ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Waxenstein
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a disaster, squeaky, old and can't handle the weight of two people. The bathroom wasn't cleaned thoroughly

    The location The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Very nice staff, great location (5min from train station)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were hot(stayed in July) and there is no fan or airco. We slept with open windows, but the street gives a lot of noise so not ideal. We ended up buying earplugs and that worked great. Tbh we did not ask for a fan or for earplugs, they might supply it.

    Very nice staff, great location (5min from train station) and clean. It is a cozy hotel and you get what you pay for. The beds are comfy, shower was good, daily fresh towels/made bed. The swimming pool & sauna added value. Overall a nice middle class (family run) hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect - the hotel, the staff, the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for the GaPa card (every visitor who is staying at Garmische is entitled for a free visitor card which gives one free access to the city and regional obayerbahn buses) , there was no proactiveness from the staff and had to shell out extra money on otherwise free transportation

    Everything was perfect - the hotel, the staff, the room, the facilities and the location ( 5 min to the main train station and city centre). Go for it with your eyes closed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the smaller room is fine and works without issue, the bathroom was really small and it's layout was not convenient at all.

    Great hotel with friendly staff. It was located near the bus stop and train station, making it very easy to make travel around the town and the region

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Best holiday we have been on for some time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    Excellent location. A short walk from the station and the centre of town. Rooms were very clean and bathrooms were modern and well equipped. Free reliable bus service made it easy to travel beyond the town or to the start of the many well signposted walks in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was good value, different breads, croissant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was good value, different breads, croissant and Bretzel. Location of the property was perfect, close to the train station and convenient to get to the ski lift with the ski bus within 15 minutes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were told the room was small- it was as big as others rooms on our travel. Great breakfast. Staff ver friendly. Great location, close to train station, getting to the snow slopes, centre of town. Fantastic view of the mountains from the balcony . Overall great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    I want to come back there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet connection is poor and very slow.

    The staff is very helpful and amazingly friendly. And so many small treats and surprises - they are excellent in details! I'd recommend taking breakfast there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Very refreshing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit small and I found it a bit uncomfortable to work in

    The staff was so very helpful warm and friendly always smiling made my stay very very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Excelant 👍
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please you must fridge and microwelle in the room otherwise everything is good

    Hotale service excelent awesome break fast v good all people very frendlisch amazing swimming pool very enjoy full trip .i will comming nextyear same booking this hotail inshaAllah

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didnt get toiletries (soaps) every day. The dirty bath towels were not changed :( Breakfast was okey.

    Good location, walking distance from main train station. City center quite close from hotel. Friendly staff, indoor pool for relaxation. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.7
    The staff try and assist as much as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is dated and worn out in places. The hotel is on a main road near the railway station where youngsters with cars with loud mufflers race up the street.

    The staff try and assist as much as possible. Access to a private gym. Location to the city centre. Okay choose at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast, nice staff that also spoke strong English,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Waxenstein
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast, nice staff that also spoke strong English, decent wifi, solid hotel, though not fancy (which is just fine). Recommend for anyone in need of comfortable nice lodging in the area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Easy to find on Bahnhofstrasse almost opposite Woolworths -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All fine

    Easy to find on Bahnhofstrasse almost opposite Woolworths - parking behind hotel. Located in Garmish but also short walk to Partenk. Our room faced the street and had a small balcony plus free water and mini-Toblerones! Hotel has a swimming pool and wellness centre which we didnt use. Breakfast fine. Free Garmish-P card for use on public transport which would be useful if you wanted to explore a lot of the area. Receptionist had been there when we last visited 15 years ago and was extremely helpful with suggestions for things to do when weather not OK for Zugspitz and she was responsible for the best day of our entire holiday - a rural walk by a small river up to the Olympic Stadium in great weather and we had lunch there and it was SO relaxing - we'd never had found the walk ourselves!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Great place for stay in G-P
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent stay, good bed and quiet environment, easy access (close to train station and also easy walking distance to both Garmisch and Partenkirchen town centers). Friendly personnel, great breakfast. Pool great too!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    close to station and clean and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no early check out or late check in

    close to station and clean and cozy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Garmish-Partenkirshen wonderful holiday destination for walkers and cyclists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accommodation,comfortable and clean.Excellent breakfast and staff were friendly and helpful. Will go again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel experience in Garmisch Partenkirchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Waxenstein
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good and well priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restorant

    Very good location. Near to the trainstation and walking street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located, very friendly reception team and excellent value for money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice location. Clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice and quiet. Good for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room Alpspitze
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room was very used. Could consider to change it.

    Nice and clean place to stay, though the hotel was probably built in the sixties.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    Closeness to the slopes and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Waxenstein
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options could have included more hot options.

    Closeness to the slopes and train station. The pool was great too.

    Stayed in January 2017

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: