Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schillerstr. 11a, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#235 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1567 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    fair
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the street is disgusting a mess,bordells,casinos,dirty shops,probable drug abusers,beggers,literally disgusting

    the staff working at the reception and the location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.5
    Pleasant, would go again to this Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing, very noisy, loud music, although, it was the start of Octoberfest, better soundproofing would have made the stay more enjoyable, Wifi was not very good, hit and miss, but we were on the 6th floor, however, overall, a pleasant nice Hotel, with good helpful staff.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful, room was comfortable, overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location for city tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Near to red light establishment and night clubs and bars. Club music were audible in the late night silence.

    Location near Munich Main Station, very easy for train travelling out to other city. Many eateries nearby and in the main station. Good for Munich city tours.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    We stayed there for 5 days and we were extremely pleased...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed there for 5 days and we were extremely pleased with the hotel and the central location. It is close to trams trains and bus stops and saves a lot of time. Breakfast is awesome and very very enjoyable for 9€. The staff were pleasant and helpful. If you need more than one fan in the room please ask as we did and got it. The location because it is central is a bit of a downtown market area so be prepared for nothing Posh, many good and reasonable places to eat around the Hotel and Marienplatz is just 15 minutes walk. We had read about loud noises from the club down the street and drunken men but we have not faced any issues with that ourselves. Even 11 o clock at night did not pose any issues. Th hotel is very safe and pretty good for the budget. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Royal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    The hotel spoiled my enjoyment of Munich, which is a beautiful city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Terrible area of the city; the hotel is right between two red light bars. Drunken people and prostitutes all around. Noisy rooms, especially those facing the main street. Also, the cleaning staff make a lot of noise and slam doors already early in the morning (~7-8 am). No air conditioning, no mini-bar in the room. No breakfast included even if the room was expensive.

    Comfortable bed. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.0
    Had awful nights because of the heat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel finally and the situation around.

    the staff was very helpful and breakfast was ok for the price. Location was also ok at 10 minutes from center by walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Central location but no well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What I really didn't like was the street where hotel was located. It is true that is really close to the city center, however the street is full of burdels, prostitutes on the street asking everyone. Noisy at night. Not recommended for families

    Hotel staff was always kind and helpful. The city center was just a few steps from there. Near to central station, metro, tram, restaurants and supermarkets. Security at night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfasts were great, everything from vegetables, fruits,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a little bit...uff (prostitutes, busy street in night)... More looking like a hostel, but the rooms were comfy and they cleaned-up very properly.

    Breakfasts were great, everything from vegetables, fruits, to ham, cheese, even salmon...and those würstels:) Staff was kind and friendly, very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge No air conditioning which makes it sometimes a bit too hot in summer

    Location is close to the city centre Clean room Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Safe and comfortable hotel in seedy area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Safe and comfortable hotel in seedy area. Short walk to train station, dropped off luggage and went to explore. Most city attractions within walking distance. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower too narrow and water control takes too much space so not possible to have a simple shower.

    Nice comfy hotel, feels like at home. Room is good size and well planned. Very clean and quiet inside the building. Close to train station. Friendly staff and fair drink&breakfast prices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location close to all local transportation. Ignore the concerns about the street everyone was very friendly and we never felt unsafe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.2
    Awful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible location, rooms are extremely loud, it’s literally impossible to sleep there. Also there are not any air conditioners in the rooms, so in the beginning of August rooms were super hot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is NOT a complaint because we were well informed before booking about this but theres a loud night club downstairs and the strret is also busy in the morning with rubbish truck, traffic etc

    The staff continued breakfast for the guests that were still eating and politely asked everyone if they were done before starting to clean up even though it was well after 10am.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and no fridge. Street noise due to strip joints went until 5 or 6 in the morning.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    A few minutes walk from city center and the train stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a less busy street. The hotel tends to hold an amount from your credit card even if the site says FREE cancellation. I still don't have an idea if the amount has been credited back to my card.

    Walking distance from the station, Marienplatz and the city center (shopping areas). Its on the street with a lot of people as there were plenty of budget and business hotels in the area. My room was comfortable and the bed to my liking. I did not try the breakfast as it was not included in my room package.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Close to central train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is up to 6th floor. Need to carry the luggages if you stay on 7th floor. Not that convenient if you have elder travellers in the group.

    Close to central train station. Reception is on the first floor. We feel quite safe though there are bars and strip clubs in the street. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Location is very good to get around, its just too bad about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are uncomfortable. No AC it was too hot so we found it hard to sleep.

    Location is very good to get around, its just too bad about all of the strip clubs around the hotel. We felt safe regardless. Very friendly and helpful staff, room was clean and nicely decorated. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    Avoid it if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too small room, bad bathroom, staff was not friendly at all, the street is one of the worst places to stay in Germany.

    Everything is bad about this property, but at least is 3 minutes walk from the main station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff, room was clean and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition, only fan and sun was shining to the room all the day. Location of the hotel is near the main station but this district is full of immigrants.

    Nice staff, room was clean and cozy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    good location, close to subway and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge and air-conditioning. The room was really hot. They provided a fan but it didn't help that much. All chocolate we bought melted.

    good location, close to subway and train station. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but for the expense, I could do without the sex shop and strip clubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I realised we were close to the Hauptbahnhof but I didn't know it was so seedy on that particular street. The hotel is sandwiched between two strip clubs and a sex shop. There were too many men hanging around the street and as a female traveler with her daughter, this made us very uncomfortable. We had two rooms - one on the inside on the building which was quiet but very hot in the sunshine. And one on the street side which was very loud.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The breakfast room was nicely done. The hotel rooms were spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Hotel by Central train Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really the hotels fault but located on a noisy street with table dance clubs, strip club etc. A main road, with other budget hotels so generally feels safe but may not be the best area for everyone.

    Nice budget hotel close to the central train station. Very friendly helpful staff and good breakfast. No air conditioning but a fan provided in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Beds were comfortable & staff was kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location...pass 3 strip clubs & a casino, not family friendly at all, made my daughter very uncomfortable. No air conditioning- hot, sweaty, miserable sleep with a small fan.

    Beds were comfortable & staff was kind

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Happy with this hotel. Will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathrooms but was expected. No air conditioning so was a little uncomfortable.

    Great breakfast. I requested for a quiet room albeit without a nice view of the city and was happy with it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great value for money and in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night but didn't disturb my sleep.

    Lovely and clean, very helpful staff, very close to Hbf and Munich Central Bus station not too far either. Walking distance to Mariansplatz

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay in a lovely hotel located close to the main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being near the station the hotel is not in the best location in the city but this was not a problem for us. There was not air conditioning in the room but a very large fan is provided, this could be in problem in very hot weather.

    Very conveniently located for the main train station. Room immaculately clean and third bed was a proper bed, not a sofa bed. Breakfast excellent, great selection and very fresh. The room was at the back of the hotel on the 6th floor and was very quiet . Staff all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not hotels fault but a lot of homeless p,drunks and druggies in street.Also very dirty streets.

    Good location to main train station,good check in staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very convenient which is just 5mins walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night drainage was not so good inside the bathroom, but it’s getting better for the rest 2 days of my stay.

    The hotel is very convenient which is just 5mins walk from Central Station. It is clean, cozy and comfortable. The staff is helpful and nice. Lastly, they serve good breakfast which is definitely worth trying!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stuff and price / quality ratio
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First I want to thanks to very kind and helpful stuff! Everybody in this hotel was very professional and serviceable! In my case after check out in the room I forgot something for me very important and they were so kind to send it to me. As for hotel it is very central located next to train station. Room, towels and linen is clean and room was cleaned every day. WiFi is free and stable. If you are single business traveler in Munich like me this would be perfect choice and excellent value for money. And what money can not buy is trust in hotel stuff and help which they provide when you are in need. Thank you again and see you next time in Munich!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Family trio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were very small. Or was difficult to brush your teeth and shave in the shower.

    The location was very central to most everything. We walked everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good stay in city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location just three minutes from main station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean, bathroom a bit small, but adequate for "normal" weighted person...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Close to the main train station with comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast buffet available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a hotel for a quick night in Munich before we headed out to the Bavarian countryside, so this was perfect for us since we were arriving by train and it was a 5 min walk from Munich's main train station. We ended up arriving around midnight due to delays on the train and we felt safe walking to the hotel (and reception is open 24 hours! Thank goodness). Of note, there are some "late night establishments" open nearby that we saw on our midnight walk to the hotel. They also have a lift/elevator, which was great for us since we had been lugging our heavy suitcases up and down flights of stairs during our Europe. The room itself was clean and comfortable, with the bathroom being separated from the room through an entryway (still connected to the room). The BEST and most memorable part of this hotel was its delicious breakfast buffet. It costs 9 Euros per person, but it was ABSOLUTELY worth it and the best hotel breakfast I've had.... ever. There was the usual European breakfast spread of breads, deli meets, cheeses, yogurt, coffee and juice... but also eggs, sausages, fresh salmon with dill, tomato and mozzarella and basil, cornichons... I am still dreaming of their breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very Good Choice for a Budget Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are table dancing businesses in the same street but we never felt unsafe, even when returning to the hotel after midnight.

    The Royal is very close to the Old Town and the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    The Hotel Royal is in a very good location, a 3-minute walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel Royal is in a very good location, a 3-minute walk from Munich Hbf station. At first glance hotel looked nice and so did the room until there was a yellow puddle near the toilet, as the bathroom was very warm it had evaporated by the time the staff came to check, we were asked if we would like another room however the elevator would not reach the top floor and we were staying one night and thought it would not happen again. In the morning the same thing happened and then we realised the toilet must be leaking. Upon checkout we told the staff at reception to be told ‘these things happen’ as well as the toilet constantly draining which was disturbing. This response was unacceptable and again they went to check and stated it was just water not anything else. In future I will take a picture to show this as not a pleasant experience at all. To feel like I was indirectly being told that I was lying about this when I was trying to explain to the staff it needs to be fixed and also to be told no compensation will be given as its not ‘broken’ was odd as to me if it does not work properly it is broken.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok , 2.5 to 3 stars is about right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was tiny, I mean a phone booth is bigger. I am 6’ , 200/lbs and it was an adventure trying to shower. As other people have mentioned the district is a little shady, actually pretty rough. Not much for amenities, no laundry or exercise area .

    Location from the train station is excellent, rooms are a good size with the exception of the bathroom. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Extremely noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely noisy. Impossible to sleep. Places in the street are open 24h out of 24h. Mattress extremely soft. Website states that you can park, which does not turn out to be true. In reality, this hotel has an agreement with 1 public garage for a discounted rate (which is not the closest one and not the one, one would obviously take when arriving), but this is not communicated clearly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Room was a little small, compared to similar hotels in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was a little small, compared to similar hotels in the area which I also experienced. In general, it is good for what you paid and location is very much the star.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in a reasonably priced hotel with above average staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t bother me at all, but was noisy down on the street below. It is a busy city centre hotel though, not a small village inn! It all added to the atmosphere.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient for transportation but beware the street noise in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise

    The hotel is very close (1 min walk) from the main train station and that is why I booked it. However, this is a very noisy area and if you are sensitive to noise and your room is on the street side be prepared to sleep with earplugs in as I did. Otherwise, the hotel was an excellent place to stay for my needs, which was to spend the night in Munich between a late-night flight arrival and an early morning train. For that, it actually exceeded my expectations in terms of facilities and cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cheap hotel to stay for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is a little bit small. No fridge, tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Very good hotel to stay for a few nights. Short walking distance to train staition, discounted garage parking nearby (12euro) for travellers with car. Walking distance to city center. Clean rooms. Rooms on the 6th floor have a balcony and quite enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Very clean, handy location, friendly staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the people on the street going to the bars.

    Great breakfast. Very courteous, thoughtful front desk staff who rearranged our room so that we could have an early check in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean Hotel near the Hbf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow is super large and tall, it is not comfortable. The cleaning staffs opened my door at 11 am, that is very early. But she was very polite. I hope they can come later. The bed is small (no larger than the twin size.)

    The room is clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t stay here again ever or recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a sketchy street with 3+ strip clubs. One right next door. The street is very loud all through the night and the morning. The bed has two oversized pillows on it that are impossible to sleep on. The hotel staff did not replace our dirty towels that were on the floor, but instead hung them back up as if they were clean. Very gross

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location and value for money. Adequate for single guests.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One morning the elevator didn't work. I approached the gentleman in reception and asked him to check. Amazingly after a night shift he was reluctant to get of his chair and check the situation. Totally ignorant person.

    Stayed here twice in the past month. Varying experience. Room 57 urgently needs renovation, looks very old, with hardly no water pressure in shower. Then stayed in room 50 which was by far better. Hotel staff was very kind, with one exception (see what I didn't like). Location is very close to central train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    Very seedy area and no sleep can be had with the noise levels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a very seedy area with strip clubs and cabaret bars all along the street. The noise at night time is absolutely terrifying and prevents any sort of sleep, whether you are a light sleeper like my partner or a heavy sleeper like myself.The rooms themselves are decent, small and clean and what you would expect for a three star. On our third night the noise was so unbearable (we were on the fourth floor) that we rang reception for a resolution or ear plugs. We then went down to reception and we were told 'well that's why they have rooms on the court side and we would need to pay extra'. My response being you shouldn't need to pay extra just to be able to sleep! Do not stay here if you intend to sleep on your trip!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Only stayed here for one night on a last-minute business...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed here for one night on a last-minute business trip. Nothing fancy but doesn't pretend to be. Staff friendly, right by the train station. Breakfast was an additional cost but wasn't relevant as we left early anyway. Handy enough for short stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    We enjoyed our stay and found it to be in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There weren't any tea/coffee making facilities, and the pillows were very large and not very comfortable for sleeping .

    The room was small but comfortable. There was no noise . The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was well worth the money .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful staff and clean and comfy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments about the staff or the room except that our room backed onto a busy little area and we had to keep the curtains drawn.

    Christiane Mayr especially and all the reception staff were very helpful and kind. We left munich and checked into a luxury hotel in Prague the next day and the staff at Hotel Royal were superior!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Economical. Great location from the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The charge for breakfast was a drag. (overpriced) but, pretty minor isssue.

    Staff was accommodating and pleasant. Great location from the train station. 5-10 min walk from the main square. The beer for sale in the lobby was convenient!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was fabulous and excellent value for money, the hotel was very comfortable and clean and also very warm. Staff very friendly and knowledgable .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    good value in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow on the bed was too large and firm making it hard to get it flat enough to sleep. Quite a lot of noise from the front Street.

    Breakfast was very good and rooms good for the price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Great location, clean, friendly and optional breakfast really recommended! I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there had been a kettle for coffee making. Shower was a bit awkward as it was easy to knock the temperature handle by mistake and burn yourself with hot water. The area was a little seedy at night but it was only a two minute walk and as a solo woman traveller, I wasn’t uncomfortable.

    Two minute walk to the station, where most excursions commence from also, as well as direct links to the airport. Staff very friendly and breakfast was amazing and excellent value. Great budget stay for a city centre!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    A perfectly adequate hotel for a long weekend, situated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The amount of Eastern European homeless/beggars, within the vicinity. However, all is clear once you're in the Old Town.

    A perfectly adequate hotel for a long weekend, situated within a short walk from the train station and about 10-15 Min walk to the Old Town (Hofbräuhaus approx 20 mins walk). I would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    I was very pleased with my stay, for a business trip it was the ideal hotel in the ideal location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the street was audible although my room was on the 5th floor. No heating in the room, but only in the bathroom.

    Clean Comfortable Central in Munich Good breakfast Within walking distance from good restaurants and points of interest Very helpful staff, especially in Reception 24hr Reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    good value for money but do not expect a glamorous place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street of the hotel is not very glamorous (expected as it is close to the central station) and it feels a bit unsafe. The reception of the hotel is a bit hidden. In order to reach it it is necessary to enter the building and reach the first floor. The room was not fully soundproof. Traffic and street noise can be heard from the inside.

    The room was tidy and clean. Very good breakfast. Location very close to central train station and city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Munich; we've been staying there (when we were in town) since 1998.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst thing about the Royal is that the lift (elevator) is too small for more than two people with luggage at a time.

    It is close to the main train station and to the center of town. Don't let the approach on Schillerstrasse turn you off. You will feel comfortable and safe in the hotel. You pass a couple of night clubs but you also pass nice jewelry stores and other shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    I have stayed here before and always feel comfortable.....that's why I return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy up over the street....nightclubs etc. going on til all hours in the night.mattress on bed could be a bit better.

    convenient location to train station. good breakfast. nice clean room.friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and no air conditioning. No top sheet - just a too heavy comforter! WAY too hot to sleep and it wasn't that hot outside.

    Very clean room. Not the greatest neighborhood but convenient to train station. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A basic hostel in a center location Althought the filling was bit uncomfortable in tbe neighberhood , lots of foreigns Dont take a room that fronts to the street! I got a room fscing the street, lots of noise, i asked to change but i got an answer that everytgings is "full" I had to sleeep with ear plugs If u have a side room the hotelbis ok for a short stay

    Location is great.crew is super nice. Bed is very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Average hotel in very unpleasant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street below the rooms is very noisy all through the night. Not well soundproofed making for a very uncomfortable sleep. Had to upgrade to "quiet room" facing inner courtyard for an extra 25 euros per night. After that it was far more comfortable.

    Clean hotel with pleasant staff. Decent breakfast for 9 euros.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One, very old pillow - sheets and pillow covers looked very old and unclean. The location is horrific if you want to sleep, constant screaming outside in the street every night all night.

    Free printing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Overall it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the location, not a very nice area. The reason I chose the hotel was because it was close to the train station in Munich and within walking distance to the Oktoberfest grounds.

    Room was good, staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Bed and pillows super uncomfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and pillows super uncomfortable. Even though the hotel is not far from the Oktoberfest (15 minutes walking) the street have a lot of strip bars and clubs so it was too noisy until 5am. It was Oktoberfest week so the price was way to expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location close to the central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer didn't work because the electric wiring in the bathroom was not working. Wifi was not strong and stable.

    Good location close to the central station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.6
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Severely overpriced for a third rate hotel in a red light district. Breakfast soggy, coffee awful, no pillows on the bed (just a duvet wrapped up roughly in a pillowcase), no proper bedside light.

    Nothing much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    Never again neither in that hotel nor in that area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible location. The area where the hotel is located is full of hookers, dealers, drunk people and what not. Even the ground floor of the hotel building is a hookers' bar! I would never stay there with a family or a girlfriend. It gets quite loud even during the day. There was no air conditioning at all. Imagine staying at the top floor when it is 31 degrees Celcius outside. It gets burning hot inside. There was a fan, but it is not possible to open the windows at night because outside is very loud due to the bars working all night long. The person who checked us in acted more like one of those dumb and arrogant security staff of a cheap night club than a hotel receptionist. Don't know why such a person would be hired for a job of receptionist which requires kindness and patience. When I left the building during the night time, I first tried to see if I can open it back with my room key. Thus, the door was open for about 30 seconds. Here is the dialogue we had with that receptionist: Him: "Close the door behind you!!!" Me: "Ah, sorry, I was trying to see whether..." Him: "No, No, close the door behind you now!" Me to myself: "What the hell?" So, it wasn't a very pleasant experience at all. Would never stay there again.

    The room and the bathroom were clean. The receptionist when checking out was a really nice lady.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    I return to the same property if I am back to Munich for 3rd time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather large pillow which was not comfortable for my neck.

    Quiet room, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff and very close to all amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    No air-conditioner.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioner. The lift does not stop at top floor where our room located, so we have to take stars with out large suitcases. The night man was unfriendly with a cold face.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Great valu e in Central Europe, helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrow had a few girly type evening entertainment options at night , but felt safe

    The buffet breakfast was awesome , hot and . Cold items lots of choice . eggs made 2 ways many items good value i

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Good overall
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the middle of Aug., and our twin room was on the 7th floor and no lift after the 6th floor. Very strong sunlight started coming through the window in the morning and the room temperature rose quickly and stayed high till the evening. Unfortunately there's neither air-conditioner (but there's a fan) nor a mini-bar for cooling drinks. Better to read carefully the provided information on room equipment beforehand.

    First of all, we're thankful to the very friendly and kind hotel staff, they were so nice. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast, great cleaness of the room which made us feel really relaxed. Also the clever positioning of furniture helped our stay a lot. The big-size trash bin was also helpful to keep our room clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    So good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - In the night, streets around the hotel are a little bit scary

    - 2 minutes walk from central station - Friendly staffs - Good price, big room - Various choices of breakfast - Elevator facilitated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for solo traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is filled with strip bars, so a bit uncomfortable of with family.

    Very close to main train and bus station, also close to city centre and sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Great proximity to Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was disappointed that accommodation for children under 13 years meant sharing adult twin or double beds.

    Great proximity to Central Station. Tucked away off the main street. Exceptionally clean. Staff helpful and enjoyable breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Very close to the main train station, to many restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very crowded area. Very noisy streets around the hotel rooms. No air conditioning.

    Very close to the main train station, to many restaurants and to other places to visits in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Royal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: