Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schmidt garni This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Humboldtstr. 211, 45149 Essen, Germany

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Price-location-accomkodation ratio is okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the rooms, plus the rooms smelled a bit musty, not fresh. Shower changed from lukewarm to warm and back again...annoying

    Price-location-accomkodation ratio is okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not great.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are fairly basic but clean and well kept. Good option for Spiel if you don't mind a bit of a walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    6.3
    So la la.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture/facility is quite old/run down and would benefit from a refresh. Also, I had to wait to get a seat for breakfast, i.e, they do not have enough capacity for the amount of guests.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.9
    Good starting location for the Messe Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hair dryer in the bathroom. The room, even when we were in two, was quite small. The room really needs some more sockets and well working.

    Very nice personnel, always kind and helpful. They accepted to add an extra bed for just part of our stay. Very good and apparently safe location. Wifi ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    A home away from home. The couple running the facility were fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were amiable and the reception was warm. I would definitely come back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    the staff left us the keys, because we arrived later than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff left us the keys, because we arrived later than declared in booking.com.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    Basic but good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Decent acommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred to have egg and bacon...

    No egg and bacon at the breakfast ...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Spacious and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - weak internet connection in room

    - good breakfast - comfortable bed - easy parking - friendly staff - nice location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Kindness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very kind owners of the hotel. I forgot the card, and they brought it to the rail way station to me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    6.3
    Quiet, clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower lost pressure.

    Quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    6.3
    Staff and breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem with cold room, fact is that even I open both heater's It was still cold..

    Staff and breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.7
    Very basic but clean and we'll maintened.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facing the road and I have to keep the windows closed

    Very basic but clean and we'll maintened. Very friendly and nice breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.9
    Good location for visiting an event at the Messe, Essen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints. Maybe a cooked breakfast option would have been nice but there was a good selection of items for the continental style breakfast.

    Good location for visiting an event at the Messe, Essen. Choice of nice places to eat at reasonable prices within walking distance. Friendly staff. Parking. Timewarp 1960s/1970s style decor.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice comfortable hotel, good wifi, good parking, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Getting shower temperature correct is a challenge

    Nice comfortable hotel, good wifi, good parking, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelt damp, there was a damp stain on the carpet which was not very clean. But this is easy to correct.

    Breakfast was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    6.3
    the service of the receptist is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the wifi connection have some problem, the cellphone and laptop can not connect to the wifi

    the service of the receptist is very good.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: