Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel 2962 - Garmisch

Partnachauenstrasse 3, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

#34 of 36 hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1107 hostel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Its an excellent location to stay when you have more site...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its an excellent location to stay when you have more site visits. Because it is 5min walk away from Bahnof. Good Restaurants including Indian restaurant nearby to have a good meal. Recommended 100%, sure the people who opts it feels grateful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staffs were not at all helpful. They are too serious and not ready to provide more information about the place or etc.

    The location of the hostel is good. Everything is nearby. As they mentioned it is just 10 minute walk to the main railway station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.2
    Rude receptionist, unexpected overcharging, poor price-value ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price-value ratio was quite poor and the receptionist wasn't polite. He inflated the price by almost a third when we checked out by the cleaning fee, which wasn't clearly mentioned at the time of booking and wasn't written on the Booking Confirmation Form either.

    The spaciousness of the apartment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Near to the train station, super accessible, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it was a budget travel, so cant really complain much but the hostel could have better signs of bathroom to be honest! BAD WC = bathroom with WC!!

    Near to the train station, super accessible, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Only booked this one because every other hostel was fully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only booked this one because every other hostel was fully booked. Did’t had any facilities to make quick food or prepare some foood for long hikes.. really only it was a bed with bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Good Place for Hikers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers and bathrooms in the hostel were always flooded which was really gross. The following is not the hostel's fault, but be careful, the bus passes provided to anyone who stays in Garmisch do not go work on the most important bus which can take you to Hammersbach or Ebisee. You will still have to pay for this bus. TH

    This hostel has a very cozy feel and the breakfast is very good. It is very close to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mildewed shower curtain, malfunctioning shower head, broken tub faucet, grime in the corners. Staff acted like every question was a bother, and refused to allow us to use the vacuum cleaner to keep the apartment decent. We will NEVER stay here again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    It was really close to the station and they did try to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a bedbug in my bed. They moved me rooms but it was obviously very uncomfortable after that experience.

    It was really close to the station and they did try to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    lockers in the room were very useful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi signal was too weak to be able to connect from the room parking wasn't very big, it could fit ~3 cars

    lockers in the room were very useful free parking on premises

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Avoid!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convienent location. Walking distance into city center. The staff, skinhead who ignored the coloured people, hmmm not so much. Looked straight out of Hitler youth, acted it even better. Should have a sign outside like the old days, no Irish no dogs and no blacks. My other 4 friends of a lighter skin tone were treated brilliantly, if that helps.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Good but rather expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small balcony with poor furniture, no parking facilities, weak wi-fi and no staff available.

    Nice location, and enough room for a small family. Clean and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and a good loaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty noisy, as you might expect drom a hostel in the hours leading up to 10 pm.

    spacious room. we had a room for three at a great price. Location is decent in that you are a 10 minute nice walk along a river to the main part of Old Town. The hostel was quiet after 10:00. Breakfast was a reasonable price for what was available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Apartment was very spacious, good kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the apartment, only at the reception.

    Apartment was very spacious, good kitchen. Very accommodating staff in case of a late arrival. Maps and guidebooks available at the reception. Common room and outside space to relax.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Everything amazing except staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy working in the mornings is really not welcoming and standoff-ish which dulls the atmosphere and travellers first impression of the place...

    All the facilities were quite modern and very clean, loved that. Close to the bus and train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and comfy hostel in Garmisch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff: not friendly and not helpful. You supposed to be kind and provide useful information for the guests.

    I booked this place last minute as I just decided to go further to Garmisch. Of course I arrived a bit late, but the hostel provided me information how to get in the room effectively. My room was comfortable and clean with ensuit bathroom. Location of this hostel is just perfect, only 5 minutes walk to train and bus stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    terrible stay, rude host
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rude receptionist spat in out faces by the way of greeting: "you still have to pay 6 euro more" (tourist fee). As we requested our city cards normally available for the fee, he got angry (he obviously wanted some tax-free money to stuff his own pockets) and seemed not to be able to print them out correctly. He complained that he had wasted enough print paper already and as I suggested checking the spelling of our names he yelled at me "I'm the owner here since 12 years, you're not going to tell me how to do my damn job". There was no point in arguing with him, so I shrugged and retreated to the room, which was a cold, foul-smelling place with a tiny "bathroom" (leaking toilet and old shower with musty curtain). Some old covers on the bed, supposedly the guests were to made their beds themselves upon arriving. Some cheap furniture with chipped gold paint. We were there only for one night, but needless to say that was too much already. Never again.

    Everything important is in a walking distance, bus stops, the city center, a couple of nice restaurants around the corner. Unfortunately, this is all to be said about this place without getting to the negatives.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Fine stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear neighbors behind the wall.

    As it was a hostel it was fine. For one night stay it was good but if I would go there for a week for skiing holiday then I would prefer bigger apartment and possibility to dry clothes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Stay was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception service was not really friendly. I usually avoid giving negative reviews but the guy at the reception was a bit too harsh with my friend. There is way of doing things professionally at the very least, if you don't want to be friendly.

    Stay was fine. The hostel has decent facilities and is very cost friendly. Good for spending a quick night on-the-go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    We booked a double room with a shared bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite noisy and not very comfortable.

    We booked a double room with a shared bathroom. They upgraded us to one with attached bathroom:-). barely 300m from Garmisch partenkirchen train station. This room has a spectacular view of the mountain from our private balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Quiet location and not far from the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked apartment for 8 people but there were only beds for 5, others were mattresses placed on the floor: mediated in exchange for towels. Under a bed found a dirty sock, a lighter and a coin. No car parking.

    Quiet location and not far from the center. Well-functioning fridge and hob. Acceptable bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    The rooms are very dark as there are almost no windows, half...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very dark as there are almost no windows, half the lamps didn't work. The apartment is big but depressing and filled with very small rooms, so the price was completely inappropriate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Decent hostel with compromised facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a hostel without a kitchen and storage cupboard in the dorm. How can they expect most of the backpackers to stay for a week without cooking and security of their stuffs. They keep emphasing that they don't take responsibility of belongings then at least provide a cupboard. Bed:dusche/WC ratio is too low. Comfort for a long stay is doubtful. I was there for few hours

    Location, clean and each dorm has balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Conveniently located to train and bus stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was a kitchen it would be perfect!

    Conveniently located to train and bus stations. Staff helpful, single room very comfy. Pleased with my stay, would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff, location easy to reach anywhere. Parking available, very quiet. Good Wi-Fi if needed. Simple yet nice room, can only recommend. Would certainly come back on a trip to Garmisch-Partenkirchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for those traveling with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding was thin and worn.

    Excellent value for those traveling with children. Lots of space, nice bathroom. We could walk downtown. No parking on site, but we were able to park in the street without a problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice, tidy and cheap place to stay. Would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wardrobe and some coat hooks would be nice.

    Hostel is well and centrally located. Room and facilities were very tidy. Facilities were cleaned everyday, thus they smelled fresh and good. Met nice people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.2
    Not advisable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - They did not make our beds, even the first day, our sheet were just there unmade. - The towel they provided me was from 20 years ago and it was broken around several parts - The breakfast is very poor - The receptionist is unfriendly - Very poor hostel, especially for the incredibly amount of money paid

    The place was very close to the station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Awesome hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast would have been awesome.

    Beautiful view from room, bathroom on same floor as room, room was decorated and thoughtfully arranged. Cubbies for backpacks and a shelf for belongings. Table and chairs in the room to eat. Private deck with a beautiful view. Sink in room so we didn’t have to walk to the shared bathroom to brush teeth. Great location 2 minutes walk from bus stop and train station. Receptionist let us store our luggage for free for a few hours after we checked out so we could go see AlpspiX. We were only in town to see the AlpspiX and were pleased to find that bus fare was only 1,90 each way to AlpspiX cable car station on bus line 2. We couldn’t have picked a better starting point for our adventure in Garmish-Partenkirchen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not use the facilities so much so can't really comment there. We booked for one night when we were skiing, Got a nice sized private room with ensuite. Room was clean and comfortable and had heating . The lady checking us in was there friendly and helpful The location is great, short walk from the train station and bus stops. Perfect if you are coming to Garmisch to go up the mountains. shops and restaurants are close by. Would definitely use again next time I come skiing in Garmisch. Also they have free parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    - perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - just a few slots for parking - almost no dishes (no pan, no pots)

    - perfect location - great value for money - friendly staff - clean and spacious apartment - good wifi connection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Poor value for your money. Look somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly, unhappy staff had no clue of surrounding area and made it very clear they were not going to move a finger to help you out. Info about a hike? "No hiking in winter." Need to leave your luggage in storage for a few hours? "No, I don´t want to be responsible for that".

    Fairly clean hostel (you do have to make your own bed, even in a private room) in a good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    2.5
    Crap. Far below expectations for 140 euros!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sense of humor of the receptionist. He first makes fun of his guests... No curtains in the room. You get up with the sun... The bed was not made for 140 euro... DIY! Bad bed or great trampoline! Limited light in the bathroom.

    Nice location close to the river. Terrace and spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    This was my first stay in a Hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot really think of anything that we did not like.

    This was my first stay in a Hostel. There are four of us so we had a room to ourselves. The toilet and shower were on the hall and it worked just fine for us. There was free parking on the site right by the building. No charge for parking and we did not have to drive around to find a spot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.0
    Definitely not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff at reception, with poor english and unwilling to communicate, extremely unhelpful. Althrough i already paid the city tax, but i didnt receive any visitor card. It does not worth the price. Definitely not recommended.

    Good location, very close to train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Overall it was okay but not worth the price. Beds are VERY uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Described as a 3 bedroom but turned out to be a 2 bedroom (the living room being included as the 3 bedroom). The beds were extremely uncomfortable. It felt like we were laying on the most uncomfortable hospital furniture you could think of. The hostel also offered WiFi but it was not available in the rooms on in the lobby (at least for our room and we were on the main floor). They only provide drying towels so make sure to bring your own washcloths and body wash. There were also no blinds or curtains in the bedrooms so you could see straight into our rooms.

    First time staying at a hotel so we weren't totally sure what to except. We stayed in the apartment located on the property. Clean, lots of space for our 10 person group and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Near to train & bus station, Not so-friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in-charge at the counter was not very friendly on that day. Although we already booked it via Booking.com, he was very unsure of it & asked for the payment. Thanks God, I have electronic receipt by Booking.com that stated I've already made all the payment via online. Apart from that, we were not offered Garmish-Partenkirchen (Ga-Pa) Visitor card, although we already paid city tax. I have to request for the card from the counter as I was reminded by the officer at Garmish Tourism office early on that I am entitled for this card if I'm staying in Garmish.

    The location of the hostel is perfect. Strategic and very close to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    Bad. i dont recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked out early at 730am to catch the first train to Zugspitze. However, The hotel doesnt allow us to park on the check out day even the original check out time is at 10am ( we promised to come back before 2pm - check in time). the staff were unaccomodating and gave a harsh statement. The hostel has no kitchen and not offering breakfast. basically it is just a place to sleep.

    The location is perfect for those plan to go skiing or just have a day visit to the alps.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Cheap tidy hostel close to Garmisch railway station with free parking on street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was a little bit unfriendly, for me wasn't a big issue

    The hostel is very clean, the bunk bed was really comfortable and bed linen were provided. Breakfast for €4 was plentiful, coffee good. Fruit juice is made of concentrate or powder, but was not a big issue for the money paid. The common shower was also clean, but I guess in high season it can be very busy with long waiting times. There was a sink in the bedroom though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Very close to Train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed frame was cranky and made huge noise even with a slightest adjustment, shower drain was damn slow , always had to wait for the water to drain before taking next shower.

    Very close to Train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was not offered on the last day of stay because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not offered on the last day of stay because they said I was the only person. I told them that would have been okay if they had told me in advance but they had not. They nodded their head in agreement.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice place for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Top floor apartment. For a 70 year old, dragging two heavy suit cases was not easy.

    Rooms were clean, breakfast was great and staff was very helpful. Very short distance from the train station. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    The accommodation was clean, had enough space and a sink in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit outdated and sober, but still ok.

    The accommodation was clean, had enough space and a sink in the room. It was good for the price. People were friendly and late check-in was possible. Ice-hockey themed room was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A male staff member was extremely rude and yelled at us after which we no longer wished to stay there. They don't refund any money or ever allow you to cancel a reservation. Beds were not made and we were given beach towels. Our "balcony " attached to our room was public and anyone in hotel could access it. Our room window looks right onto it. Not so much privacy. Beds are hard and pillows were a joke. Wish I could give it a 0.

    Linens seemed to be clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    Staff just sending us off like that ruined my friend's picture of Garmisch. Don't recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff mumbled and got angry as we didn't understand (english or german) after we paid we got the key and that was it no explanation where either the room or anything else was. When we asked if there was washing the answer was just no. After I asked where we could wash our clothes we just got told 'train station' and that was it! The room was plain! There was an old bed and a table nothing more didn't feel homey at all

    We booked a private room for 3 people which had a really good size !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price at the time we paid 100 EUR for a double bed for 2 (I assume because it was during Oktoberfest) was NOT worth that room in my opinion. I'm sure when it's not Oktoberfest it's much less and totally worth whatever they charge.

    The location was perfect and the hostel is very nice and close to the train station. I was happy to find it because everything was booked up in Garmisch. However, it was a very nice, cozy room and the bathroom and everything was clean and the hostel was very nice. The balcony in the morning is the highlight. I thought the bed was comfy and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend if you're looking for a hostel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    It's horrible and I will not return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ITS NOT A HOSTEL. There was no kitchen nor coffee machine not to mention water cooker. I simply wanna have instant noodle for dinner and I couldn't even make it. Moreover, the social room is always empty like it's just a cheap hotel not a hostel. They do not even rent lockers. The staffs are rude and did not even tell me which floor I should go to.

    The location is really good. It was just 3 min away from the central station and also the Zugspitze station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Pretty close to the train station, good view of the glacier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish the staff was a bit more friendly than the way he was behaving...

    Pretty close to the train station, good view of the glacier from the balcony and all in all reasonably good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    good location, clean but unfriendly staffs ruined our day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staffs at the front was really unfriendly, they seemed like they don't want to work

    the room was overall clean and the hostel located few minutes from the main station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    nice location but very bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was really poor but charged us 6 euros per person. There were only some bread, jam and hams, no eggs and the coffee machine was broken....I strongly do not recommend the breakfast. The price is a little bit expensive because it is a hostel and the facilities were not so nice.

    close to the train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didnt have common kitchen, they should have one so family with small kids can warm the milk or food. Room was very hot...Should have ventilator or fans in summers....

    Comfortable beds, good bathrooms, clean...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.5
    NEVER AGAIN! TERRIBLE!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very rude. The woman at reception did not even look up from her smart phone when answering my questions. To make matters worse, when I checked out, I handed my key and towel to a man at reception and asked if anything else was needed from me. He said no but now their is a 25 euro charge on my credit card that the hostel claims was for not returning my key at check out. They have been very slow to respond to my emails and reluctant to remove the fraudulent charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    3.8
    Bruchbude,Betten mussten wir selbst beziehen, Balkon sehr...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bruchbude,Betten mussten wir selbst beziehen, Balkon sehr schäbig. Personal sehr unfreundlich. Viel zu teuer. Waren Russen oder Tschechen. Wir waren alleine dort. Ist ja kein Wunder. Hat im Internet nicht schlecht ausgesehen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    Would not recommend this accommodation - not much bang for your buck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No selfcatering facilities to kitchen existed. No furniture in quadruple room apart from beds. Given two plastic garden chairs when requested for 4 people who were booked in for 5 days. Shower nozzle and curtains fell down on a few occasions. Way overpriced paid 722 Euro including local tax for 4 people for 5 days. WiFi connection very poor.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WIFI seems to have a maximum number of users that can connect to it at the same time. I stayed in the hotel with 4 other friends and only 3 of us can connect simultaneously.

    The location is extremely strategic, just ca. 200m away from the main station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Close to train-bus station / good staff / cheap breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom not big enough and lot of people share the same bathroom for which we have to wait sometimes

    Close to Train and Bus station. Staff person is a good guy and gave us discounts on breakfast without even asking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Mica, one of the workers at the front desk, was very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mica, one of the workers at the front desk, was very helpful and kind. She was willing to help me figure out what I wanted to do while in Garmisch, and the easiest way to do things. She was excellent and friendly!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Great place to crash and move on to your next destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was covered in water from the sink that leaked.

    Location was absolutely key for this place. Whether it be food, drinks, or sightseeing, this place is within walking distance. My girlfriend and I stayed in a double room which was clean and comfortable. Well worth the money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.0
    Not what I hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled; door did not work well. View was not good; breakfast poor and staff tried charging me double when other hotels did not.

    Room smelled; door did not work well. View was not good; breakfast poor and staff tried charging me double

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Good hostel for those looking to spend time on the slopes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hostel was very cold. More so in the halls than in the rooms. Shower setup made for wet floors and slipping hazard. Great pressure though. Also, the Russian fellow that worked at the front was quite brusque and seemed to quote me a random price for breakfast. Lockers were too small for my pack.

    Great location near the train station. Reasonable price and quite comfortable. Breakfast was good. Excellent shower pressure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    3.3
    Bad Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy at the front desk had a very bad attitude,rude, and sarcastic. It is sick that people travel from around the world to have this crappy service from this guy. I don't recommend this hostel to anybody regardless of price and location. Very Disappointing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Really worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, the guy at the reception wasn't very pleasant, but maybe he just had a bad day, because the next day he was very helpful. The WIFI didn't work in the room.

    The private room was very nice and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it's hotel business, expected a lot more politeness from the receptionist (met only one of them though).

    We booked at the last moment, however it cost me around 53€ which is very economical considering the easter weekend. We've liked everything (room, location etc.) apart from the behavior of the receptionist. Since it's hotel business, expected a lot more politeness (met only one of them though).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.1
    Location and price are very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a few and small bathrooms, you need to improve them.

    Location and price are very good. You have to pay an extra local tax, but you get a transport ticket and even an entry to the local pool. Great balcony with superb views to the mountains.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.0
    a bit spartan - only for budget travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Guy at the reception was really unfriendly and not willing to help at all! For all our complaints he had two excuses - "other guests destroyed/stole it" or "for such a low price you can't expect more". I booked a bed in dormitory - there were lockers in my room, but all without keys - so completely useless. One out of two evenings I spent there, there were no warm water - whole evening (!), so I had to take shower in the morning next day. No kitchen, fridge, microwave oven, crockery available - forget about preparing food - they had just a kettle.

    Good location - very close to railway station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    3.8
    An impersonal and racist experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The Eastern European racist man at the reception (racist only towards dark skinned guests) 2. The "private" balcony attached to the double room is also accessible by people in the corridor (i.e. if your blinds/curtains aren't closed, forget your privacy) 3. The 5 sq.m bathroom Pls. stay here only if your are white, a solo traveler or the other alternative place to stay is hell.

    Location, early check-in and luggage storage

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    3.3
    Worst acomodation in my trip to Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - poor english, when we ask someting seems like a favor to answer. We booked a private room, ecen in hostel for me it meens room service, but there ia not! We run out of toilet paper by the end of our second day, we asked for more, the women in the front desk told me that is going to bring to the room - I'm wainting until now!!! Security - I couldnt feel well with the facr that the key ooen the front door and the room door. It means that all the keys open all the rooms! Bathroom - it was not that clear, the towels were old! Ambience - the hostel needs a good refresh in everything! It is old, with carpet Noise - at saturday night a grouo stayed at the front of the hostel drinking and talking loud. My room was to the front and I couldnt sleeo was until 4am!

    Good location - next to bahnhof and the way ti the mountains, in a calm street with the river. 15 minutes walk to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    3.3
    The property is close to the main railway station, thats the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was ok, BED was not comfortable, wash basin was clogged, no friendly welcome, no value for the money spent.

    The property is close to the main railway station, thats the only good thing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.3
    Fair hotel near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff wasn't able to give us information about nice places around, where we can eat good food or what else we can visit. We had the feeling that we are disturbing asking questions. In the afternoon they put a paper on the door to the shared bathroom that taking a shower costs 1 euro. No one told us about it before that we would have to pay extra for taking a shower. Shared shower and toilets were very small.

    The place has good location near the train station. The price for the room was fair. The place was clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    3.8
    Inaccurate description of beds and rooms on listing! Aggressive staff member
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment description is either a) not accurate or b) I was not given the apartment I rented. When I tried to approach the staff, no one was available until the next morning. When I spoke to the front desk gentleman about the inaccurate description, he was very aggressive and confrontational, claiming it is the fault of booking.com that the description of the apartment in inaccurate. We had fewer beds and bedrooms in the apartment given to us than the apartment I booked. Also, there were beds for 6 people but only 3 forks, two small spoons, and two knives. We were not able to eat a meal together as a group.

    Free parking, large apartment

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    2.5
    Very poor organisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 6 people, key was waiting for us outside as we arrived after 8pm Went to room and there was one bed available in a room of 4 No contact number for after hours reception Staff were rude to us when we checked out

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Great hostel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and very helpful. I went with my family, it was a total of 5 of us and stayed at thr Garmisch Apt and it was big amd spacious. It had a small kitchen and kitchen table to sit as a family and eat. There were no TVs in any of the rooms but I didnt mind this at all as it gives more unity to the family and going out and walk around town together, instead of people wanting to stay in and watch tv. I loved it and will come back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    5.8
    Good hostel for a short stay in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities could have been better. The rest room was under maintenance and had to use the one on the other floor. There was only one for entire 3 floors which was a disappointment. Also, cleanliness is worth improving.

    The hostel is in an excellent location and very close to the train station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Could have been better for the price we paid. - We were given the visitor card only after we asked for it. They should've given you without you having to ask for it because you paid for tourist tax. Tourist alert.

    - Location near to train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.5
    Room and location were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a city tax, which was not shown when I booked from my handy. When I told to the receptionist that i was expecting a lower price he replied very rudely that Im not able to read. He said it a couple of time. We figure out he is also not able to read something which is not shown.

    Room and location were perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only 2 toilets and 1 shower room for the whole floor wher our room was. Nevertheless, we didn't have to wait to use it... :) The free Wi-Fi was not very good but you can check your mail...

    It's a hostel and it cannot be compared with a hotel but the staff was nice and price - of course much lower than for a hotel in Garmisch :) The location was nice and convenient, too. There's free parking opportunities.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: