Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Smetana This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schlueterstr. 25, Gruna, 01277 Dresden, Germany

#14 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1118 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread Rolls didn't taste fresh. Breakfast service very slow. Many of the service personnel don't speak German and therefore it's hard to communicate with them. You only get wifi access for 24 hours & therefore everyday apply for new access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) It's generally far from tourist attractions. (2) Price for our stay was quite high.

    (1) Good breakfast including good coffee. (2) Nice, clean and quiet room. (3) Free parking at the street. (4) Complimentary tea/coffee/cakes available whole day for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single bed a bit too narrow for my liking. Dining room staff quite formal.

    The breakfast was good and the hotel provided some complimentary food and drinks in the reception area. Nice quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delicious breakfast and you can even grab also some snacks at reception in the evening. After the all-day-long walking and sightseeing you can relax and recharge your stamina in the sauna (10EUR).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is kind of expensive, so we skipped it.

    We got a free upgrade for a junior suite =) Very nice and huge. Welcomed us with a glas of wine. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect

    Excellent hotel. Nice, clean, with really friendly staff. Close to the hotel there is restaurant Stresa - I highly recommend it, it is fantastic gourmet experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 21,30 o'clock and, because nobody opened the radiators, in the room was very cold. We opened but after two hours, the sistem was shut down until 6 in the morning. So, all the night was cold in the room. Anyway, the hotel has 4 stars !!! and we thing that this is not ok at this level of stars!!! In the rest everything was very ok!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's not a minus but I expected welnnes to be open longer than just until 21:00 very comfortable bed

    good location of the hotel very friendly staff, and helpful room clean and spacious and nicely furnished really varied and rich breakfast I would say that I felt good and definitely when the opportunity would be I come back here

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building has its own charm. There is special service in the evenings - free glass of wine with a snack. Location is perfect for the region where I had business ;-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was excellent

    Although we arrived late, Erik Eichler waited for at the reception with wine and tasty sandwiches . He was so nice, helped us a lot to be sure that our car is safe and that we are satisfied. He also showed us where to find Supermarket in the morning. Breakfast and service were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, would stay again, price very reasonable, lovely staff, super clean, good breakfast and thoughtful extras (sandwich/cake buffet in the afternoons, bottle of water to take with me when I left, etc.). The location was fine for me because I like to walk and the Grosser Garten is only a few minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room design is kind of outdated that is not in my taste. However, it is very much like on the pictures, so you know what to expect.

    With a small sweet corner offering cakes, fruit and refreshing drinks the atmosphere at the reception reminds of that of home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not that we didn't like it. I understand this is necessary, but the breakfast might be a bit cheaper. EUR 9 for a person seems pretty costly, but whatever it's not a major issue. What was for me was the fact that during check-out time at eleven there was no-one at the front desk, so we had to wait. We were not in any kind of a rush, se it was okay with us. But other clients not so much.

    The accomodation was really fine. It's in a pretty calm place, within a walkin distance of a tram station, which also means it's really close to the city center. The room was clean, bathroom was spacious and clean. Overall this is a great place, clean, roomy and for a great price. The clerk on the day of our arrival was really nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guy in the reception of the hotel, was always trying to convince me and my colleagues that all distance to everywhere was too short and that we could go on foot. I don't know, maybe he is an athlete, but it was not possible at all to go on foot to the Schillerplatz. Especially on that specific date, that is suddenly became very windy and rainy. I mean, your staff has to understand that the persons that pose questions such as "how can we reach Schillerplatz?" are tourists and probably are not so young to be able to walk than go by bus. He must learn to answer in a more clever way.

    The breakfast was perfect and so was the staff in the cuisine and the breakfast room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all - only down is the parking as it is on the street and I was parked a few 100ms away. There is a very narrow Innenhof for a few small cars.

    Very friendly and helpful reception staff, single room spacious clean and fresh. Lovely buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Also included a welcome drink, and daily Coffee and cake in the afternoon then offering open sandwiches early evening - loved these nice extra touches. It is not centrally located but walking distance is the tram stop direct into the old Centre. I was visiting Dresden for the weekend as my son was taking part in a school basketball tournament which happened to be 5 minutes walk from the Smetana. But if I visit Dresden again will definitely book here despite it not being central - the tram ride was straightforward.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room door is poorly located, when opened reveals the inside of entire room.

    Breakfast, cleanness. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Although they have very limited space in lobby and office, they didn't mind to store our belongings a couple of hours after we checked out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everyone has been friendly and polite, open minded, and offering support in a kind way without being obtrusive. Great service. Nice rooms. Fantastic breakfast. Well equipped and clean rooms. And in particular, the apprentices were very supportive. The sitting area in the foyer is a good place to relax during the day and to enjoy the small treats offered by the hotel. The restaurant collaborating with the hotel has a friendly service and great food as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only minor points - The room could have stronger lights and also the furniture could be a bit newer

    Breakfast was great, location convenient - close to tram by which you get to city centre, it is possible also walk but it takes longer, wifi with obtained password worked well

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    Staff were very helpful and were able to provide a 9 Euro 24 hour Family public transport ticket which enabled us to easily catch trams into the Dresden city centre on multiple occasions. The room was tastefully decorated & had everything we needed. There was a list of additional items they were prepared to supply free on request. Free glass of wine on arrival at reception was also a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful staff regarding lost baggage with the airline, nice modern bathroom. I enjoyed the availability of snacks and drinks, the glass of prosecco on arrival was a lovely touch

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working WiFi the 2 days we were there -no air conditioning and quite far out of town

    Staff were very pleasant and hotel dated but very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great. Afternoon complimentary snacks and wine for the hotel guests was nice surprise. Everything was great during our visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote from city center

    Clean Great service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So clean and the breakfast was super!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Split beds instead of one large.

    Friendly staff, clean spacy rooms, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very professional and supportive personnel. Welcome drinks AND sandwiches and snacks. Availability of sauna (for additional 5 EUR p.p.)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing specifically. A little bit old fashioned furnishing...

    good location, good value for money, friendly personnel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot..

    The staff was very friendly..There were food and drinks at the reception area..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't stay longer.

    Excellent service and the rooms were very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was fine; I would have prefered cooked on order eggs but it was still good. The choice for the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no such things!

    For cleanliness, breakfast, comfort and most of all the staff, they deserve - for sure - a big ten. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditio in the room. Very small parking - one can park on the street. Far avay from the city centre - need to get there by car or by bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room was really god. Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was fantsastic. It is really very good location to stay in Dresden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Friendly staff in a family run hotel. Quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast, one of the best in Germany quiet place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice shower comfortable bed great breakfast. We had a Jr. Suite very nice. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed had two different matrices and pretty huge gap between.

    Great continental breakfast, all is fresh there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Light in the room is not enough.

    Sauna

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not excactly 4* standard. Area is a little off.

    Very nice staff. Complementary coffee and snacks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast but it wasn't included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioner

    Friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast, nice style ...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 70 chf, ended paying 90 euros, that's expensive for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all to dislike in there

    Very nice atmosphere. Excellent breakfast. Snacks avaiable for free in the lobby in the afternoon. Place to park a car. Easy to access city attractions by bus or tram. Tickets available at the reception. Room was very very good. Friendly personnel.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was very nice and clean. The hotel itself has very interesting design. Breakfast was amazing, very good variety. Personnel was also very friendly and helpful. There is also a good sauna in the hotel. Definitely recommended!

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite far from city centre..8+ stops on the expensive Strassenbahn. Pity they charged extra for the dog

    Very Nice friendly staff.Comfortable modest,clean rooms.Very nice breakfast and good that they offer a free early evening tea etc.Wi fi worked well. On street,no cost ,parking was convenient.Good Greek restaurant opposite the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hidden charges: sauna (5€ pp per time) and approx 10€ city tax. Both the conditions are no where mentioned on booking.com. It's not worth to pay sauna in a four star hotel.

    Cleanliness, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some guests may be disappointed to discover that the elevator does not do away with the need to climb some stairs.

    My second stay at the Smetana. Both rooms have been excellent, the breakfast is good and there are various treats offered at the reception. On-street parking is plentiful and there are two tram routes within 10 minutes walk.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's quite far away from the city center.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room well equipped and clean. Free cakes & coffee in the lobby and wine in the room - GREAT idea. Breakfast was delicious. The area is really quiet.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is far from the city centre (about 5 km from Zwinger).

    There is free coffee and snacks at lobby after 12.The stuff is very friendly. Rooms are quite and clean. There are facilities for babies (cribs in the room and chair in the restaurant).

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    near hotel is under construction. so noisy in the morning. i could get sleep as long as i want to

    breakfirst is good. i can have many different type of food in the morning. staff are kind

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No complaints

    Nice location, very affordable, friendly professional staff, wonderful breakfast. We will stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    small room...but clean and had everithing that guest need

    staff was greate

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is far from the city centre but you can travel with tram.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast, very friendly atmosphere, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff, great invitation to the hotel, awesome breakfast, free wifi, very quiet area, excellent service

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air conditioning.

    Massive room with three piece suite. Comfortable bed, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel with helpfull staff good breakfst and modern comfortable accomadation.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very friendly atmosphere, helpful, informative and relaxing stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ulrik on the front desk was extremely warm and welcoming. Nice room with comfortable bed and bath. Wifi security and speed were outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing missing.

    Everything was so good.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Smetana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: