Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of a&o Hamburg Reeperbahn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Reeperbahn 154, St. Pauli, 20359 Hamburg, Germany

#302 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3751 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the lobby while talking to my friend, someone tried to steal my wallet. Just in time, I realised him and saved my wallet. Please beware of pick-pockets!!!

    The location was great. 50 meters away from SBann trains. There are supermarkets, cafes, restaurants and adult night clubs around. The check-in and check-out were fast and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dorms were definitely too basic, and I couldn't find plug points anywhere. The single rooms are much better.

    The location in relation to the underground train and where I needed to attend a concert.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hostel was horrible. It was in the middle of unappropriate shops and services. If you want to rest and sleep at night it is impossible because of the loud and disturbingyoung visitors (they knocked our door at the middle of the night, too.) And the management didn’t do anything about this situation. The bed was so uncomfortable and the doors were not looked safe. In summary, this hostel is not safe for only woman visitors or families.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locations, shared bathroom where disgusting... the images on booking.com where far different, no discussing bathrooms, no smelly, dirty entrance and certainly no window view of closer red curtains!

    The staff where friendly and spoke good English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other guests in corridors not checked by hotel staff. Extremely loud late at night inc banging of doors etc.

    Location is perfect for a "lads break". Situated on the Reeperbahn,200M from a S-baht stop direct to the main train station and the airport . Nice breakfast for €7 extra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very much a hostel-style hotel where "free parking" is limited to a very few spaces that we were informed on check-in have to be pre-booked. The staff were also indifferent - getting directions to a nearby parking station produced no meaningful results so we ended up parking on the road a block away.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise caused by people shouting and banging in the night. Not addressed or reprimanded by hotel staff.

    The location is ideal for people on a break for a stag do etc. It is located on the Reeperbahn with easy access to all the local attractions that the area has to offer. Breakfast at €7 is fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    And that hairdryer is the only one power outlet you can try to use. There's none outlets in room. Not a new building, but it's fine.

    It's surprising there's a spacious bathroom with the room, hair/body wash included, and even a hairdryer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to walk to a communal shower and toilet that werent clean. Dreadful experience.

    Had to walk to a communal shower and toilet that werent clean. Dreadful experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t spend enough time in room to dislike anything. Perfect hotel for going out on the sesh or if you are going on a sex holiday.

    Price and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Note: wheelchair accessibility limited. Elevator only in an extension that can be reached after climbing steps. Exterior could do with a bit of freshening-up.

    Low price, so don't expect luxury. Yet beds, rooms, etc. all perfectly clean. Beds good for a few nights. Breakfast: enough variety & quality. Staff: polite, professional, helpful. Hotel's exterior appearance, surrounded by Reeperbahn's filthy environment, raised doubts with me, about my decision to book here. Fortunately product delivered was simply: good. A relief from squalid surrounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The remote access to the parking lot was not functioning, kind of inconvenient. Had a fire alarm was not impressed with the response of the fire dep. and police, were late and not informative, looked like the keystone cops.

    Sorry we went out to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the desk was more busy with her phone then checking me in. Toilets and showers cannot be closed, so someone can walk in when you're showering.

    The location is super!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad experience! Extremely small room and not well cleaned. The shower didn't work. It was very hot and I had only hot water to have a shower.

    Good location! That's the only good point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms on each floor were not clean. The recaption guy charged us extra 5 euro by check-in. We noticed only later ,so I still don't know if it was a mistake or deliberete. Had to pay a fee for parking and for our dog.

    The location is great if you want to enjoy hamburg's night life. It's difficult to find something in that price range around there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Conditions of the bathroom were horrible. -Unkind and uninformed staff at the reception.

    +Location. +It's ok to stay for a short period of time. +Parking place (however extra paid; 8.5€/day).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. I have been charged twice for the stay. Once by booking.com and once at the hostel itself. I even gave them proof of my transaction. The person responsible at the reception tried to help but could not do much. 2. The first room alloted had bed bugs on it. 3. The wifi doesnt work in the rooms. 4. The shower was broken and was zip tied. There was no chance of taking a shower. I have pictures and videos to prove all. A big no for this place. Mistake once done will not be repeated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shared toilets and shower wasnt ideal but you get what you pay for

    Cheap as chips basic accomodation. was clean enough and perfect location for the Reeperbahn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very ugly and old hotel. Small ugly bare room, I find it expensive for 60€ per night. Curtains on the window are joke, when sun comes up not possible to sleep any longer. Not soundproofed at all. In the center of nightlife district. Mattress has some plastic dress which makes u wet after 30min laying on the bed, what is very uncomfortable to sleep.

    Good location, very close to train stop. WiFi worked well, easy access, clean rooms (although corridors are dirty). Good and tasty breakfast. Good heating sand bed was good to sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no possibility to rest and sleep. Very loud, very noisy but not from outside of hotel. Everything is old, broken and dirty. Between door and floor there is 5 cm of space so you could see outside your room. Be with some nylon under sheet, very very uncomfortable. Between window and wall there is a hall, so you should move your bed because of cold air flowing inside room above your head. Never again!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, no electrical sockets in the room. Very closed in without the opportunity to open the window. Bathrooms very bad.

    Possibility for late checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise level was astronomical. The central heating was too high and could not be adjusted and leaving the window open was not an option due to the street noise. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. Too bad Motel One was booked out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in the room, although there are some in the lobby.

    For a hostel, it was amazing. Me and a mate stayed in a twin room for Easter weekend for a guys weekend away. The room was clean, there was a bar, pool table and the staff were friendly. It wasn't luxurious, it is a hostel in the entertainment district afterall, but for a weekend away with mates it's perfect, walk out the door and the bars are there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What isn’t there to like? I didnt get anybody to stroke my forehead when I woke up and was in need of reassurance that I wasn’t dying. This couldn’t be a beneficial service they could offer

    A group of 10 lads went to Hamburg on a stag do. If you can actually make it back to the hotel following a night on the Reeperbahn, the softness of the pillows or the quality of the cornflakes at breakfast is the least of your issues. Hotel more than serves a purpose what we needed and I wouldn’t hesitate stopping here again. Just don’t take the missus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much to complain about but the shower took ages to produce warm water and maybe an extra pillow wouldn’t go amiss

    I often use this hotel when attending gigs in the area. Cheap and cheerful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we changed our booking from originally due to one dropping out but we were still charged but hopefully Booking.com is on the case

    the location is really good transport links to the centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, it could be cleaner. In sum, you better pay extra 10-20 euros and get betrer servixe and accomodation somewhere else

    Nice location, luggage locker in the hall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The downside is no Lifts/Elevators so if you are on a higher floor you will be negotiating quite a few flights of stairs. Ask for a lower level room

    All about Location Location Location.Bang right in the Reeperbahn so access to the nightlife is a stone's throw away.Rooms are basic but you can get a good price if you book early enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, it is too close to a bunch of brothels and adult nightclubs, unless you are fond of such places, I’d advise you to stay away. Tons of weird people in the hallways. The bed sheets were dirty and smelled terrible.

    There’s not much that I liked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    THE WHOLE SITUATION , THEY FREELY ADMITED THE ADD WAS A LIE , NO DOUBLE BEDS NO WIFI NO TV , i was harassed every time i left the hotel by pimps and prostitutes .

    Nothing is correct the advertising is all lies , there is no comfort no WI-FI NO TV AND NO SAFETY IT FELT SCARY .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room reeked of cigarette smoke and had a very pronounced slant to one corner.

    We were here on a stag. Perfect for a group like this. Adjust expectations accordingly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are so many things that need to be improved here. First of all, the type of the room (mixed, female or male) should be written somewhere in the confirmation. Second, I can't understand why there was no locker for the bathroom and toilet. The room that I've stayed in was mixed one, and there was no locker. There was no hanger for the shower, and the water system was not working properly. Water was either extremely hot or the opposite.

    the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Right in the middle of where we wanted to be be with me being on a stag do with thirteen others and was good for us seeing the sights and for getting a drink .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water at the showers could have been a bit hotter. Right now it was rather lukewarm and in January one would prefer hotter water, otherwise it's a bit chilly.

    The place was really clean - the room, the showers, the toilets, even the staircase was clean. The room had much more for a hostel, namely a sink, basic furniture and even a TV. The sink even had a small water heater.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception guy was quite slow (so we waited in a queue). We had a double private room on the ground floor. The walls and furniture looked old and untidy. I saw no dirt but everything was really "worn out". There is a washbasin in the room but only cold water was running. In the morning we were disturbed 3 times by someone from the staff knocking and opening our door. It was an hour earlier check-out time.

    Nothing outstanding was expected. We had a roof and a bed) The hostel itself is big. A bit hard to see from the Reeperbahn street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the fact they don’t have a kitchen as A&O usually do.

    The location is amazing, the room is spacious and the staff is really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO, HOT FOOD AT BREAKFAST.

    AS MENTIONED ABOVE IF YOU ARE OF A CERTAIN AGE LIKE ME, I WOULD AVOID BOOKING A SATURDAY NIGHT, AS IT WAS VERY ROWDY SO WE DIDN'T GET MUCH SLEEP. HOWEVER, MY 21YR OLD SON AND HIS BEST MATE WERE IN THEIR ELEMENT. AND CAUSING THE NOISE!! LOL SUNDAY WAS PEACEFUL SO WAS THE REST OF OUR STAY. GREAT LOCATION. 3 EUROS AND 30 CENTS TRAIN RIDE FROM THE AIRPORT. BREAKFAST WAS SO SO. COLD MEATS ETC NOTHING HOT. BUT YOU ARE SO NEAR OTHER PLACES TO EAT, IT DIDN'T BOTHER US. AND IT'S SO CHEAP. ALCOHOL TOO. AND IF YOUR A SMOKER. YES, YOU CAN STILL SMOKE IN PUBS!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic facilities but its a hostel style hotel so that's to be expected. Could be a bit noisy give its location and the fact that its likely to be younger people staying here who are out late.

    Brilliant location to explore the Reeperbahn. Clean and open 24 hours.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet/bathroom had no locks, thus no privacy. The entire facility looks untidy but not dirty. It is the worst A&O Hostel facility i have ever used.

    Leider keine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My lap tap could not access to internet but my cellphone did access.

    It is clean and the hotel provide clean towels, bed sheet, blanket and hair dryer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a booking of 4, 2 bedroom rooms, would of liked the rooms located closer together, but this was not a big deal.

    Perfect location for stag party in hamburg, role straight out the club's into bed, good powerful showers and coffee from the machine in reception was really good. Great value and perfect for stag/hen or large group parties.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location excellent, the place is nice, with big areas to chill, the rooms are clean with own bathroom and tv. The staff was definitely the bad part, the receptionist can get some training on how to treat people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were certain places within the building, other than the toilets, that didn't smell very nice. Granted I didn't stop too long to take in the aroma, but it really wasn't pleasant to walk through.

    The location and the value. Also took up the late check in offer which was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You get what you pay for. We only used the room for sleeping. And the beds was comfortable, the room ok clean. It was easy to hear the surroundings, and unfortunately, the was a lot of noise during the nights.

    Parking near by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    open the room door before 7am by knocking the door without answering. the toilet door is broken for whole staying . even i already told the receptionist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in our first room water wasfelling from the ceiling and the the bathroom plumbing was damaged! They gave us another room . it was quite noisy during night time.

    the location is perfect, in the centre of st pauli district, very close to the train station also.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite scary to get there at night since there’re a lot of drunk and high people around. There’s been 3 men snoring in my room so loud that I couldn’t get to sleep all night, when I came to make a complaint and ask to move me to another room (I was ready to pay extra fee), the stuff member (drunk I suppose) told me that there are no vacant places and that he’d come with security to discuss this problem with the snoring guys. Guess what happened? Nothing, he never solved the problem! And that was a total lie about no vacant places - there was at least one in my room! That’s a very poor attention to the client. It really ruined all the impression.

    The location is in the centre - it’s the red lights district (which is not my thing) but quite close to the main landmarks, really easy to get there by public transport. Shower’s in the room, which is very convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not well furnished, the walls between rooms is very weak and can hear everything in the next room , the paint is look like before 10 years, the lamp in the room very bad gives gloom instead of light , the toilets was 🙈 really bad at first but at morning we found them fine

    Nothing can be liked here, its not worthy to give %50 of its price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy place, not very clean, the pictures on the internet are FAR from reality. If I knew how it looks like in reality, I would never book it. But I didnt, it looked well enough, so I booked. Only there I realised it is a trap!

    location, relatively friendly staff. literally nothing else

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was way too loud from the street and couldnt sleep well, it was cold so couldnt sleep well, there was mold in the bathroom.

    the staff was nice, it was close to the stations, there was tissue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it looks like a motel where you take hookers... right behind red light discrict. walls are really thin so you have basically 0 privacy and although chceck out time is at 10 you get kicked out at 9 because they want to clean. (unless you pay). overall do not recommend

    its located quite near center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Surrounding area is what I imagine will be left of North Korea after Turmp blows it up, but with more prostitution, hard drugs and MacDonald based brothels.

    Great little hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    apparently some smashed the fire alarm dohat 3am sunday morning the hotel was evacuated no one knocked on my door and i slept through the whole thing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accidentally booked a room with shared bathroom. Accomodation was old, TV was not giving a usable image, hotel is noisy and bathrooms (shared) are old and outdated.

    Due to high prices in Hamburg the hotel seemed very reasonable priced, however for what was offered this turned out to be a room with a shared bathroom. With regards to that an the comfort this would not be a hotel of first choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Discussing bathrooms. In the room the bed sheets, towels and sink were clean but the rest of the room looked pretty bad. Staff weren't so rude but not nice either. View on dodgy parking in red light district.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can be a bit noisy at times - sometimes other loud guests in the corridors or club-goers outside late at night - but this is expected from staying in a hostel right on one of the busiest party streets in Hamburg. Overall the noise wasn't too bad.

    My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at this hostel! We had to travel around quite a lot, and all three times we needed to come back to Hamburg for a night or two, we chose to stay in A&O Reeperbahn. We got the twin room with private bathroom - the rooms were quite good size, and bright with a big window; nice showers with soap, towels and a hairdryer provided; the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. It is a very simple, no fuss hostel. The location is perfect for those who want to explore the eclectic, grungy, party scene of the Reeperbahn. Lots of bars, clubs, cafes, bakeries, and fast food places. St Pauli is also a trendy neighbourhood, and it is in walking distance of the Harbour. 2 minute walk from the S-bahn, which connects you to the airport, the main train station, and the rest of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy teenagers arrived on a trip but no time given to keep noise down or curfew

    Great location was within easy reach of the harbour and subway, clean rooms and surrounding internal areas and friendly staff. The location is in the red light district but all kept to themselves.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On first viewing"What have we come too",but central to all the area and lots of school parties arriving for sightseeing holidays so that says it is very popular,reasonably priced & clean.

    Clean,comfortable and central to the area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is blood on the pillow and blanket:( The bed sheet and pillow are extremely yellish...like they hv been used for over ten years. The toilet was clogged, when flushed the water, water flooded out!!! Terrible. There is a largr key hole on the toliet door which u can easily see the people inside.

    Cheap. Hot shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea making facilities in the room.

    Great location for local Bars & restaurants, nice and quite at night. Taxies where always available outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers and toilets were communal on the same level and w/c facilities ok but the showers were dangerous as one only working exploded with boiling hot water and I couldn't turn it off, the floor is bouncy and became flooded after a few seconds, the other 2 showers in the room didn't work at all. Poor shower facilities.

    Very basic room, clean and comfortable with a sink, a wardrobe and a table and chairs. View was over rooftops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To say it's a 'hostel' the bed was comfy and the bathroom was decent enough. Exactly what you need for this type of trip, if not better (stag do - partying in Reeperbahn)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact there was no fan provided and it was extremely hot. I had to have the windows open and the loud music downstairs along with the traffic noise. Difficult to be comfortable. Being a VIP Customer of booking.com, I have booked 1000 of hotels around would expect better comfort.

    OK for couple of days of stay. Nice supermarket and close to the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property charged City Tax. So i paid 10 Euro more than it had been booked with booking.com. My travel was biz trip. As i know i must not pay city tax in this case? The recepcionost didnt give me any documents confirmed the payment. I paid cash. Completely unfriendly lady at the reception. Never book again! Never suggest to anyone. Its a hostel, might be. But as a hotel is very low quality and service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaking sink in our room. Largely demolished, dirty or disfunctional toilets on our floor. Poor presentation overall of the bathrooms and hallways.

    Convenient location with a decent bakery around the corner. Rooms are pretty spacious and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Do not disturb" sign means just that ... not knock and let yourself in while I'm still there!

    I had a quiet single room considering where the hotel is located. Cheap rate and fairly clean shared facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room resembled a prison cell, the room wasn't cleaned before we arrived, bed not made bin not emptied rubbish on the floor, the beds were hard and uncomfortable and the receptionist when we arrived was hostile and angry and seemed like he didn't want to be there. Not a good atmosphere. After arriving at 8.30 that morning we asked the man if there was any chance for early check in he said no and when asked what time we could check in he just shrugged his shoulders and walked off. Not happy. Wouldn't recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Research before going, reeperbahn isn't for every one. Noisy broken bed, my girlfriend had to sleep on the floor.. Parking and breakfast is not included in Booking.com price, additional 20€ pr day

    It was cheap and vokse to the City center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd expect something much better for the price of the room. The mattresses and windows were obsolete. No remote control for the TV provided. The whole atmosphere was bleak.

    The location is close to the harbor by foot. It's lively with entertainment options, though mostly better for the under-30 and males looking for sexual amusement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they would not let us pay a mixed payment of cash and card. The guy behind the desk was very brash. The room was nothing like the photos on booking.com. The toilet was not fixed to the floor and everything was a balancing act when you used it. The shower head you had to hold it as the rail it should be fixed to was broken. They told us we had not paid for b&b when we had, which was not the best really. All in all I would not advise anybody to use this hostel it is a dump!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside really were the mattresses. Those weren't comfortable at all.

    It's in the backyard to a group of houses on Reeperbahn. The gates are beneath the sign but we didn't see them right away (we did arrive in the dark though). It's got a casual hostel air to it but doesn't look cheap. Despite being right on the Reeperbahn, it wasn't loud at night. The staff is friendly and helpful and speaks English well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't too clean and the toilet was a little broken. The position is pretty bad, in the middle of the red light district, and you could meet weird people around. At least it's better than Google says.

    Fortunatly a quiet room, not on the street. No problems with the roommates or the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the shared facilities did not have adjustment for hot/cold, only open and close. Took quite a while for hot water to come but when it came it was so burning hot I couldn't stand under it. Had to use cold water still in the pipes from the 3 other showers!

    The room I had was nice and quiet (it did not face the street). The place was in general nice and clean and was great when all you need is a place to sleep and don't bother about fancy looking rooms etc (why would you want that any way, it doesn't make you happier any way)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a seedy area so not for all. Bed is not that comfy and covered in a plastic sheet. Not so nice and no AC in the building.

    Great location if you want to hit Reperbahn. Its a hostel and quite noisy but if you staying in Reperbahn you probably expected that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The male bathroom toilets and urinals was broken. the toilets was leaking water and smelled. and the urinals didn't "flush" the water well enough. Our room also smelled like sewage, no matter how long we opened the window for...

    Perfectly located. Easy to go out to the bars and easy to go home. Right in the heart of Reeperbahn.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse a&o Hamburg Reeperbahn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: