Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski 5 stars

Taschenberg 3, Altstadt, 01067 Dresden, Germany

#6 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2914 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Second time in this hotel and second time a wonderful experience! We had a free room upgrade,the room was huge with amazing opera view, big bathroom ,great wi-fi connection. Breakfasts are very tasty and totally worth the price.Very friendly and helpful staff.One of the greatest hotels I've ever been to and I'm a very frequent traveller.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was quite unpleasant, the room was outdated, the breakfast at 33 Euros nothing special. The top was the charge of 1 Euro for a coffee capsule in the room.... that says it all.

    Location, cleanness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1)TV set is located between living room and bathroom, flow line is not good, so that room does not look spacious 2)Number of amenity(shampoo, conditioner, lotion like that) for guest is less. Each one item for two guests?

    Breakfast is super, I reccommend it to other tourists.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. I ordered a receptionist to bring newspaper next morning but there was no newspaper. 2. There is a dirty cloth left at the bathroom when we get in our room.I am afraid room attendant forget to take this out.

    Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not good to use.

    Beds are Extremely Comfortable, staffs are Friendly and helpful^_^ Location is excellent and convenient. Near the Hotel have a lot of restaurants and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nespresso coffeemachine in the room, but no facilities to make tea.

    beautiful room for affordable price. we skipped breakfast (€33 p.p.), took breakfast nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room door looks like not good and leaks the water outside the floor.Hope to repair and improve it before we are going to stay with you next time.

    Everything is perfect,especially that grill & chill for barbecue lovers on Friday. We quite enjoyed a lot of culinary delights ... delicious foods,light musics,kindly service,reasonable price...what an amazing weekend evening in the center of the old town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived when a filming was taking place and the hotel staff did not let me aproach the hotel. The room is ancient regarding some comforts. The air conditioner did not work in the first room. The facilities are not good as advertised.

    Beatiful hotel and in the middle of the city atractions. The second room was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast staff was almost rude, not very nice at all. in total the breakfast was nice but for that price i expect better service with a smile. We had to ask for coffe 3 times.

    Great Service from the hotel staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were No USB charging points in the Superior room, all power points were on the floor so very difficult to get to - not what is expected of a Hotel trying to be **** Star Status. Everything in room in German no English - surely as tourist hotel English should be available for non-German speakers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the bar allowed access to the dog. It would have been nice, if at least one of the restaurants in the hotel allowed dogs. The Brasserie used to do it some years ago.

    Nice room and extra attention to the dog appreciated. The unloading of the car went smoothly ( we travelled with a lot of luggage) as did the reloading. The staff was friendly and smiling and efficient. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is absolutely amazing and superlative position in the best area of Amazing Dresda, very close to the best attractions. We were just little disappointed when we know, after our arrival in hotel, that the Spa was closing for renovating. Anyway they were friendly to give us a free upgrade of room with superlative view of the city. The staff are generally very friendly but it’s simply unbelievable that in a Kempinsky luxury hotel the nespresso machine inside room is not free of charge but costs 1 euro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Best price / performance hotel in Dresden. - The location is phenomenal. They were really kind to consider our wish, a room with Zwinger view. - Breakfast was really good and selection was enormous. - They have started to serve afternoon tea, which was also lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly the little things a guest looks for during a stay at such a hotel. Great staff that values guests and make your stay a pleasure. I enjoy that the room is prepared for the night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Information that wellness-area is in revision, Although be booked a room near pool. Restaurant not very good. Ratatouille with speck - german invention but a no go

    The location and the bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location in the heart of Dresden. Historical building and modern chic. Very friendly and supportive personal. View from my window and balcony was magnificient day and night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Cannot fault this hotel

    Beautiful and impressive building in centre of old town. Unfortunately the pool was closed due to renovations but had used the swimming pool last time we had stayed and it was superb. Bistro pub is very popular with locals and guests advisable to book a table if staying at weekends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for coffee (nespresso capsules) but it was not much. Breakfast too expensive, toiletries we're not as expected.

    Location is perfect, staff very friendly, room size is amazing, if you can get the one with balcony it would be a plus (353).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is not that good! The room is not that clean: you still see the long hair from previous guest!! The most serious problem is the WIFI! We got annoyed by it all the time!! You can not play any video, and so often you can not open a webpage... When you tell the staff the WIFI was very bad, one female employer said it was my mobile phone's problem!!! She said they never heard other guests complained about the WIFI! But I don't believe it, since from BOOKING.COM, you can see enough complaint about their WIFI! Anyway, bad WIFI in the hotel is really a big problem! The way of the staff to solve the problem is also not professional!

    Good location! Good bed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed at the Kempinski in Berlin we expected the same choice of food, Although very nice, breakfast was not as good as their Berlin Hotel

    The room was perfect, right where we wanted to be for location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room was overcrowded and we got the impression that the Hotel was trying to pack as many people as possible in every possible corner. We therefore decided to skip breakfast in the facility the second day The service and cleanness was, due to the above mentioned issue, poor.

    An excellent location and a bright and sizeable room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Location for Semper Oper in Dresden is perfect - just put on your dinner jacket and stroll to the opera across the road. A very classy hotel for a very classy opera house. Bistro stays open very late for after-opera supper.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the gym was a total disappointment - three machines in a room next to the elevator, no water provided, smell of the pool in your nose

    Spacious rooms, nice design elements, old fashioned but in a good way, nice small touches like a Nespresso coffee maker in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is behind its zenith. It can be seen how much maintenance is needed. Bumped corners, carpet threads, breakfast room is depressing. Absolutely does not correspond to the ratio value / price. The hotel told us a few days before arrival that it is not possible to accommodate an 11-year-old child on an extra bed. For sleeping on one big bed we got a blanket for a baby 0-3years. With teddy bears:D

    Bed, assortment of mini-bar, varied breakfast, breakfast on Sundays until 11,30.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The miscommunication in quoting my charges. Everytime I went to pay something it cost me about 40 euros extra for the room. They should include taxes in quote so you know what to expect instead of base quote and then add a deposit which they say will be returned at checkout, then tell you you don’t get deposit back but you owe another 30 euros on top. Another anoying service that needs remedy is the hotel’s pay for Television movie channels. I want english movies, On their german/english cinema I only found German movies. On their package channel for children/cinema/sports/erotica I got a blackened out screen with porno sounds. If I want to hear heavy breathing I will write my phone number on the wall of a public toilet and not have to pay for it!

    Location, cordial staff, comfortable bed, large room and bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room for improvement in cleanliness: Nothing major though, just details, such as dust on the table, circles from glasses on the coffee table, fingerprints on the bathroom door. Overall, the room was very clean. It would be nice to have original nespresso caps for the nespresso machine. Also, I think the pastries at the breakfast should be fresh, not defrost.

    We got a free upgrade to a very nice and spacious room, which we loved and wished we stayed longer. The staff was helpful. Beds were very comfortable and as usual in Kempinski hotel, cleaning took place twice a day. The breakfast offers a great variety of food. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To be charged for Nespresso doses available in the room. This is really petty for a place of this level.

    Location close to historical centre and Christmas Markets. Style of place. Friendly and efficient staff. Pool and training room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is expensive, but there are plenty of places locally to get a fine breakfast and a better price.

    Location for Christmas markets, museums and restaurants central in the old city. Service was impeccable - we had to mail a package home and the concierge took care of everything. Room was spacious and comfortable. Everyone very friendly and professional. Have stayed here multiple times and always very pleased.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wifi, the swimming pool and spa were closed and we were not offered anything to make up for this even though we booked the hotel so we could use these facilities. Rather disappointing.

    Lovely locations and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 minute walk to the brilliant Alex restaurant. Get your breakfast buffet (or lunch/dinner) there. Although you need to always book...or accept waiting for 30 mins to hopefully get seated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy at Night from bar across the Street. Poor Customer Service at hotel and booking.com

    We were charged for four nights but only stayed three nights. We called many times to Booking.com Customer Service and explained the situation and to the hotel. We spent an hour in advance at least trying to cancel the last day due to family emergency in Germany. Our Son and Daughter-in-law are in the US Military and had to leave and my wife had to travel with them. The hotel kept referring to booking.com and booking.com Customer Service kept referring to the hotel reservation manager on the decisión but in the end no one would make a decisión so we were charged for a Night we did not use at all. We will never stay again or book anymore with Booking.com unless we are reimbursed for this fourth night. The hotel and booking.com have wasted enough of our time!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only a coffee machine in the room but not even a kettle,and we drink only tea. The layout of the furniture etc could be more user-friendly. One day we found some cleaning cloths in the room after housekeeping.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi Internet was very slow. The Junior Suite had amazing view of Dresden but the ceiling was very high (maybe 6 meters high) which gave it an awkward look/feeling. The TV set was small.

    Amazing place to stay in beautiful Dresden, the Hotel is nicely decorated and feels luxurious with great views. The area around is central in Dresden but quiet and peaceful enough later at night. The have excellent restaurants and Palais Bistro is recommended. They offered me to upgrade my stay to Junior Suite with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The short stay there.

    Excellent hotel, in the best location to visit the old town and shopping .Beautiful room ,very nice and helpful staff ,great breakfast , great massage in spa. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Of course this is expensive, and then it's a bit irritating with the habit of charging extra for small things like high-speed internet, coffee in the room etc. Services like massage are also overpriced.

    Perfect location. Nice and classy hotel, with excellent food in all the restaurants and nice ambiance in the common areas. Spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    .... eastern culture is different (china,vietnam,thailand) and I sort of prefere their attitude:_)

    The hotel is a very good place for a conference. Room service was AMAZING. I've been in multiple 5 star hotels this year. This room had the best room service hands down. When night comes they shut the curtains; place the tv in the right position toward the bed;replenish all of the bath-tubes etc. replace bathrobe with a fresh one. Good WiFi included as a Genius perk; I highly recommend this hotel. I arrived for a conference; the way they organised the final evening party was just.. once again... AMAZING...you would need to see that to understand. They way they put the dishes in a synchronised manner on the tables:) If you are in need for a conference hotel in Germany .... loook no further... I've been in multiple 5 star hotels for a conference this year... hands down the best organisation was here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was truly first class - location could not have been better. The breakfast was phenomenal. I've already recommended the hotel to many friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress sagged in the middle. Difficult to find socket (there is one on the pedestal under the desk) Hard edges in floor - carpet between wood is too low. Even in a DeLuxe room, one walks out of the bathroom straight into the bed. No conditioner.

    Location is absolutely magnificent (it was built as the palace for a king's mistress, so next to his Schloss) And although it is a reconstruction, I struggle to think of a better facade for a city-centre hotel. We had view facing the Zwinger - the best I can remember from any hotel room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel with professional courteous staff we received an upgrade and our room was huge. The bath was wonderful. We wish we could have stayed longer

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was large, but the windows were high and you couldn't see out unless you stepped up. Also our bed was not a king; two twins were put together.

    The breakfast buffet is amazing. It is rather pricey as it is not included with the room, but well worth it. The location is within walking distance to everything you want to see.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fitness center is too warm being at the same area of the Spa, it's rundown, poorly equipped and poorly maintained. The electrical sockets in the room are turned off when the main switch is off so you can't charge your phone during the night. At least this was the case in my room.

    The hotel is located in a perfect area in Dresden, renovated palace. very beautiful. Rooms are large and comfortable. Value for money is ok but not great. Breakfast is nothing short of superb. Valet parking service is good. Beautiful view from the rooms. The bar is really nice and the drinks are good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of a thing!!

    This hotel was amazing!! Cannot say enough positive things about it!!! Rooms were exceptionally beautiful and comfortable! The location was beyond perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The position: next to both the Zwinger and the Schloss. We loved the luxurious bathroom and we prefer baths to showers and this bath was huge! The room was cleaned and arranged twice daily. It really was a 5 star experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room only rate which was fine as the breakfasts in the hotel were very expensive compared to the excellent offers available nearby in the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. If anything: in a similar hotel category in Asia you would get a few more smiles. But that's probably German (I am German myself)

    Perfect location, 1 min from Semperoper, Zwinger, close to Frauenkirche. You can walk everywhere. Beautiful First Class hotel, rebuild 1994 to match pre-WW2 appearance. Good room size, quiet, high ceilings. Excellent bar (Karl May bar). Good breakfast, but despite Asian guests a rather continental choice. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In all honesty, nothing. Had there been something I'm sure the staff would have solved it.

    From the moment you arrive you are made feel very welcome. From the valet taking your name when you arrive and being greeted warmly at reception by very friendly staff. The room we had for our short stay was nothing short of incredible. Most certainly a room with a view; a view of the main square and opera house. Reception staff, bar staff, room service staff and cleaning staff all greeted us throughout our stay with a smile. I got the feeling I could ask for fresh authentic coffee from South America and the Kempinski in Dresden would have made it happen. Complimentary water was waiting for us in the room when we arrived. The burgers we ordered from room service were delicious. Hands down one of the best I've ever eaten. I can't recommend the Kempinski in Dresden more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Fantastic location, wonderful hotel. Rooms well furnished, comfortable bed, plush towels and toiletries. Very professional, knowledgeable staff. Good value!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little high room price.

    Excellent location near old city center. Luxury docaration and furniture. Our room was upgrated to have great view of historic landmark. The staff was very kind. The breakfast was very good with champagne.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *Pool and spa area closed for refurbishment (not made clear by Booking.com) *Receiving an email claiming charging error on final bill- when there was no error and having to, repeatedly, write emails to have this extra charge refunded.

    *Valet parking *Room on third floor with great views *Location *Wake up call with coffee and pastries *Extra amenities provided: coffee and tea making facilities *Happy hour cocktails *Friendly front of house staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym area poor: small area, only 3 machines, very warm, no cooled water available, no toilets

    Very good location, being in center of old town of Dresden. Also, verious restaurants and bars in hotel of good level and well varied.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed more modern electrics (e.g.USB charging)

    Restaurant Intermezzo was excellent. Great ambience, first class cuisine. Central courtyard bars / restaurants was a great feature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cost adding elements like parking, breakfast not clearly mentioned before

    Perfect hotel at the perfect spot in Dresden. Loved the view and the clean rooms. Loved the quality furniture and the double bathroom very well suited for two persons.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautifully appointed and was a nice size, but unfortunately felt very small because it was quite crowded with furniture. Too much furniture! I wish it would have had a coffee/ tea maker!

    Spectacular, beautiful, big hotel. Very nice classical architecture... truly grand! The front desk staff was very helpful and welcoming. Did not choose to dine in the hotel, except for drinks and snacks in the bar. Excellent service, pleasant, friendly waitstaff. The pool on the 5th floor is quiet and very lovely!! Our room had big windows and great views! Hotel is across the street from the Palace... amazing location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was too hard and not really comfortable. However, there are rooms with Tempur mattresses available that adapt to body shape- make sure to put in a request when you book (unless you prefer a really firm mattress)!

    Beautiful property right next to main sights (Zwinger and residence are right opposite, river and Frauenkirche less than a 5 minute walk away). Elegant former city palace, renovated and with a pretty courtyard. Rooms are spacious, stylish, comfortable and very clean. Hotel is quiet and personnel friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in the reciptionist attempted to take 300 euros from my credit card even though room rate was 140 something euros, it seems the hotel wants to make interest on my money while it's not in my account. This quite wrong I think, It seems to be routine across Germany taking money from your card just in case you spend on your room. Also, probably a fault of the age of the hotel I think, if your unlucky you will have a two minute walk to your room when you leave the lift, many twists and turns, a bit confusing.

    Really nice old mature hotel, very handy for cafes and bars. Valet parking was efficient and reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an extremely luxurious hotel. It is actually a former palace. Staff comes to greet you at your car in black tie ant top hat. It felt a bit out of our league but its was worth the experience of staying in a palace. I won't even go further on comments on impeccability.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything seemed to cost extra on top of the basic accomodation...anything other than basic broadband, very basic TV channels...there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room (or if there were, I didn't find them!), the restaurant prices seemed exorbitant even by swish hotel standards. It all felt a little stiff at times...needs a few more creative/artistic types staying there to jazz up the atmosphere a little and to make the most of what the architecture and ambience offer.

    The Taschenbergpalais was delightfully opulent in keeping with the artistic and cultural history of Dresden, so it felt very pleasurable just to walk through its airy spaces. I had broken the bank in upgrading to the Palais room for an extra 20 euros per night ( a special offer!) which was rather foolish, but boy, did it feel special. I would quite happily have spent the night in the bathroom alone. I was staying in a twin room with my 13 year old daughter who was suitably impressed, although rather scornful of my extravagance. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, the towels, bath slippers and bath robes luxurious, the writing paper and cards on the marbled desk were too good to resist writing a letter (as if re-enacting a scene from Anna Karenin) just for the hell of it. The temperature control was great, so that I didn't freeze or feel stifled in the night. The swimming pool and sauna on the 5th floor added a further sense of indulgence to the whole stay. The housekeeping staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel itself could not have been better located for experiencing the best of Dresden's culture on the doorstep...everything was within walking distance. On our departure very early in the morning, the night manager was charming, and arranged for us to have a coffee and a juice for my daughter before we left...it was a fine way to bid us adieu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location was unbeatable...property sits between Residenzschloss and the Zwinger, and is short walking distance to most sites and places of interest! Staff were courteous and very helpful. They listened to and granted all our requests...early check-in, room close to lift, and late check-out. We truly appreciated them. Best of all, they upgraded us to a suite which was front and center of the hotel with the best view ever!!! Thank you, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my 2nd stay, and the a/c worked perfectly in the previous room. This time, it got a bit too warm

    Wonderful room with great view, warm welcome and check-out, best location I can think of, atmosphere in building, separate shower/bathtub (in superior rooms and higher categories), silent - one of the best hotels I've stayed in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving in the access road/ bridge across river is now - car free- not updated in google! As gps keeps trying to direct u in this way. Some limited pay parking on street but parking garages around hotel.

    Nothing to dislike. Very grand & elegant hotel. In the old town . Walk to everything . All the historic points buildings , square with Restraunts /cafes . Friendly and helpful staff. Shopping complex - walk behind hotel . Open 7 days 1000- 2100

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main elevator seemed very old and rusty. On the other hand, it remined us about the times before 1989 and it was very interesting. The lobby entrance could be made more friendly looking but it is not such an important issue.

    location and view from my room (The Semper opera and the Zwinger side on the 3rd floor). Delicious and lovely bistro restaurant and cafe. Excellent service (ex. when the taxi came, the hotel staff immediately pulled the seat next to the driver in the front- to the front so that my mother had more space in the back). These excellence are either the excellence of the staff himself or it is the education of the hotel to their staff. In any case, it was impressive and we really were grateful to receive such service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standerd room the offered was below par, too small for 2 people and the shower was in the bathtub ! Not up to standard for a 5 star hotel . After complaining a different room was offered , however with a small up charge . OK but this room has scaffolding blocking the windows and was above the loading entrance for the laundry service truck , waking us up at 4 and 7 in the morning ! The quality of the food in the Bistro of the Hotel was a shame , offering no value for money at all .

    The Location of the hotel is excellent , but very noisy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautiful furnished rooms, charming staff always helpful. Being right in the middle of Dresden was wonderful most of the places of interest were only a few minutes from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor, last 4 hotels was much better. No vegetables - only slices of tomatoes with mozzarella? Slow and bored service. Also nothing extra, normal continental breakfast. No deserts at all, only some semi-finished products. Parking was also without porter for us, without informations that its paid extra and not include in accommodation(we have that in every single hotel in past), we paid in advance and want to paid in advance, but when we check out - we have to run twice from garage to reception, first for taxes payment, that wasnt charge in advance payment, second with parking ticket...Next time diff hotel for sure.

    Great location, Dresden is so nice! Beautiful, clean and cosy rooms. Perfect pool and sauna.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in an excellent location. It is just opposite to Zwinger and a few hundreds meters to Semperor and Green Vault. The staff was nice. The room was clean. We stayed on the fourth floor and can view Dresden from the windows. The hotel also has small swimming pool and sauna for you to relax your day. Overall I was satisfy with this five stars hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ate in the bistro one night and there was a forty minute gap between courses owing to pressure from a different restaurant in the same building. Having said that, the food in both the bistro and the premium restaurant was superb, so that was the only reservation we had.

    The location is unsurpassed and the staff a model to us all in courtesy and efficiency.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some things are missing in the room; such as kettle, coffee machine, cup or mug, tea and coffee, sugar and spoon. While booking the room, we requested a double bed but came up against two twin beds so ended up combining them.

    Thr hotel is very classy and its location is fantastic, just near Zwinger and very close to old town (just around 500 meters). The standart double rooms are quite large even with an extra bed and quite enough. The beds and the armchairs are comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel couldn't be better. We had a view of the palace from our hotel room. We loved our upgraded room from our previous visit so much we requested it again and to our pleasant surprise found it was to be our room for no additional charge on arrival. The staff are efficient and friendly and the hotel itself is beautiful. It's like living like royalty for a week!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 447 so hot, AC did not worked at all, fell off the wall. Shower part fell off into bath. Toiletrolls get falted every day, yuk even more germs from hauskepping. Toilet was smelly, very old toilet. No breakfast reservation for the old and handicaped people! Young people were placed direct at the buffet and old people with walking disabilities and crouches at the end of the room miles away from the buffet, how considerate it that! During breakfast on Eastersunday was a permanent knocking and vibration! So loud and noisy, that it made our breakfast not enjoyable at all. We found out that the chef had to make schnitzel! 5* hotel ??X

    Check in excellent! But did not advise that a booking for dinner at the hotel restaurant was required. Breakfast buffet very good, except for chef making such a noise on Eastersunday morning prepairing Schnitzel for Lunch, so bad!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a bit too soft .... - but for such a short stay - it will not be a complaint - just a fact

    Staff was VERY competent and friendly - the Hotel has an excellent atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When it turned out there was a fault with the heating in our room, it took a while to reach a suitable solution; Ultimately a satisfactory alternative room was offered, but it would have been better if we hadn't been shown rooms that were inappropriate due to also having hot radiators that junior night staff wasn't sure could be switched off, being too noisy and/or having scaffolding outside the window and work being carried out in the morning. Personally not a fan of memory foam mattresses. Overall, despite the little 45 minute switch of rooms debacle, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. Our tip: do check the heating though as soon as you arrive to avoid having to switch rooms after a long day sightseeing.

    The rooms we stayed in The location close to the key museums The building / general ambiance Most of the staff Flexibility shown to extend our stay with a day in the same room for the same rate Surprise plate of chocolates

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When it comes to advising guests on e.g. how to use individual heating, the staff should be as pro-active as in all other aspects.

    Apart the excellent location of the hotel, the Taschenbergpalais is a true gem: staff, rooms, food, service, all impeccable and well worth a stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had some challenges with the reservations department due to the fact that we booked a non-changeable rate. It took some time that we found an agreement on room assignment but after a few calls we agreed on pre-arrival topics. I wished that the reservations team listen more carefully to our needs. At the end we had a high spend at the hotel and more flexibility was appreciated. The complimentary WiFi is very slow and I feel that asking a charge for high speed internet is still common.

    The hotel has a magnificent location and located in the old town of Dresden right in the center and next to all historical buildings. From almost every room you have a great view. The restaurants are great and the SPA is absolutely worth a visit. The rooms we stayed in are very spacious, located on the piano nobile, with all amenities needed. The bathrooms are spacious as well and have floor heating. Hotels Front Office, Room Service and Housekeeping staff has been very friendly during our stay and made sure that we feel home away from home. The hotel has specific mattresses in the rooms, would be great to verify during check-in regarding guest preference.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wellness area was fine, but the fitness studio does not have the best standards/equipment really.

    After a nice welcome, I became member of the club, to make the best out of my stay, free fast WiFi, etc. so that this luxury hotel became really a great experience for both work and fun.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like a gentleman concierge. ( lack of knowledge)

    Great breakfast with free sparkling wine!! Nice swimming poll. Fantastic position of the hotel!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: