Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zum Kuhhirten This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kuhhirtenweg 5, Neustadt, 28201 Bremen, Germany

#6 of 65 hotels in Bremen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never could imagine that there are rooms withour aircondition in center of Europe. You should write about it with red capital letters!!! The Summer is comming!

    Nice place, but bit far from city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I could think off.

    The hotel is nicely located near downtown. It is a clean and quiet location with no traffic. The staff is very friendly and caring i.e. I run in late and I received a friendly call providing me details where to find my key and other useful information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    The Hotel was within walking distance of the historic centre of Bremen but without parking problems. A private car park was an added bonus. The breakfast was excellent and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel next to the central district but in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by summer houses. There is a big restaurant next to the hotel, parking is available in its backyard. I would stay there again when in Bremen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit unconvenient to treat stroller with baby because of steps in the hotel.

    The location of hotel is around 1.5 km far from the center. However, it is nice to walk along the river to visit the center. It is worth to do that to see beautiful riverside. All staffs were very kind and friendly. Breakfast was also very nice with good quality. Wifi was also perfect to use during staying.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower room was very clean but unfortunately the shower pressure was a bit weak.

    Very clean and comfortable beds. Having its own free parking area was a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    an awful smell in the hallway, mold? The whole place looked as it could use some renovation, noise from other apartments. We thought they had free parking but it was on the street where it was impossible to park a big car. Then we were offered to park in front of the reception for 5 euros a night. That was ok. Booking.com should not allow hotels to advertise with free parking lots if they are on the street!

    Breakfast ok, nice lady in the reception :), Easy access to the city centre. A very big apartment with kitchenette if you need that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charges are a bit steep ????

    Welcoming personnel Quiet location,within walking distance to "Altstadt" Very clean Huge choice for breakfast,really impressive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvets too small

    Location was perfect. Facilities were adequate for the price The duvets on the bed were too small for a 6 ft man. Check in was great. Parking was convenient but there was a charge. WiFi excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!!! This accommodation was perfect for us in all respects and I can offer no criticism of it.

    We found the bathroom facilities especially nice, the underfloor heating was superb and the shower exceptional. The bed mattress appeared to be of memory foam and was perfect. All staff members were helpful and kind. We were made to feel very welcome. A walk of only 20 minutes took us into the heart of Bremen and if like us you are a cyclist, this is a perfect hotel, with a bike store.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in time was at 3pm .. should be little earliest..

    All was excellent, comfort and clean.. the breakfast was amazing and the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubical too small and water temperature fluctuated from cold to hot.

    Was a nice hotel in a fairly residential area bice breakfast staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the hot summer the rooms needs an AC.

    Very nice affordable hotel in Bremen. It is 15 minutes walk to the city center. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Even though it takes about15-20 min to downtown but it is in quite space. And room is clean and quite big. The staffs are very nice. Parking is just behind the building with security camera.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi-signal was not as good as i wanted it to be.

    Great room, good beds, easy and secured parking, restaurant nearby. Very quiet surroundings. Perfect if you plan to do some running in the evening along the riverside. Good chairs to sit in and watch some television on the huge tv-screen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff spoke very good English and were very helpful in directing us to what to do in town. The attached restaurant was fantastic and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us with a heavy family suitcase the second floor with no elevator caused some problem.

    Very nice location if you travel by car . Breakfast was good and room was decorated nice . A good parking area as well as nice and full mini bar included. Some small area outside is wonderful to spend some time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we had stayed longer !

    Really friendly, extremely relaxing surrounding area and hotel. The breakfast was great, I particularly liked the hot chocolate ! It was good to be able to order a picnic lunch. We caught the local ferry across the river to walk into the city centre. The ambience of Bremen is good, we arrived on a public holiday so all the bars and cafes were busy leading to a good ,happy, atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of!

    Beautiful location on an island in the centre of Bremen, lovely and relatively quiet (the airport is close by, so you can hear planes if the windows are open), within walking distance (about half an hour) from the old town of Bremen. Nice large room, comfortable bed and and great breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome. Internet was fast and free of course.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful surroundings, very green and peaceful area with a lot of possibilities for recreation. Even if the hotel is a bit distant from the city centre, it is still in a walking distance and there is a small ferry boat that takes you closer to the centre. Really great place for an active break!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cozy....the beds very comfortable. Super breakfast buffet Lovely surroundings, with a large park closeby for walks on the waterfront. We took a the local ferry across to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room with a sofa and a huge tv-screen (unfortunately it's all in German), but because the wifi is good, i enjoy my Netflix account on my laptop. The restaurant which is next to the Hotel (different owner) is also very relaxing and informal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not so good as the neighboring restaurant owner of Der Kuhhirte runs a club with DJ and loud music on the weekends until 0100 in the morning which shake the walls of the hotel and you can hear the constant thump of the base constantly between around 21:00 and 01:00 from across the courtyard from where it is being played. So loud that the owner of the hotel had to get the owner of the club along with the DJ to come over to our hotel room so they could see for themselves how much disturbance the club was making for the guests of the hotel. I commend the hotel owner for getting involved in helping us, and would encourage every guest to let the hotel owner know immediately when the restaurant owner of Der Kuhhirte is clubbing/entertaining and making excessive noise from across the way. If all else fails call the Polizie if the music from Der Kuhhirte continues past 22:00. German quiet hours (Ruhezeit) need to be enforced on the owner of Der Kuhhirte. If Der Kuhhirte bothers you at night due to the excessive noise and you can't get any sleep, you may want to try boycotting the establishment. P.s. Hotel is fine the problem is the establishment next door i.e. Der Kuhhirte restaurant.

    Reception staff and owner are amazing and helped us with our needs while we were there. Beds are great and breakfast was amazing. Owner went out of his way to make our stay a better one.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was small..I can say that it was tiny.. But for few days that can't be a Big problem. The only thing I did not like Was the fact we had to decide precisely the date 15 days before the arrival... If something happens in the meantime you should loose half of the prize or the completely amount of money.

    The hotel is near the city center. It is easy to reach the city center with a boat (it doesn't cost so much: 2.30euro to go and to come back). So you shouldn't move the auto if you don't need. And you don't have to spend in the private garage of the city. The hotel is near the beach. Our room was very big and very full-equipped. There was a stereo and a fridge. Breakfast was good and very well organised.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, the room (three people), the friendliness of the staff and the great breakfast in the morning. A perfect stay to visit the City of Bremen.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was alittle small and in the basement

    Very friendly welcome and service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super location, clean and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and perfect place for family stay and quite close to the down town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant in the hotel or nearby unless you have a car

    Room was clean and well apportioned

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was a bit too weak

    Excellent location! Nice, clean and comfortable bedroom. Lovely and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Safe parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice family run hotel in a quiet nature park area. The city center is reachable by short ferry ride across the river and 10-15 minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent! Hotel surroundings were fantastic for walking / jogging.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful personnel. Beautiful area and very nice garden around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spot on one chair.

    The breakfast was very nice with lots of variety and a very good attendant. The person who welcomed us was very kind, too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was very poor

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location is a little bit off-site, even it's only 5 min driving from Bremen downtown. You definitely will need a car, if you wanna stay there.

    nice place for reasonable money. rooms are more like small studios. breakfast was pretty nice!

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had very inconsistent wifi. After several days of no wifi I was hoping to connect at this hotel. I don't know if it was because of the location of my room?

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Super comfy bed and clean facility with free parking. Easy ferry ride to the Weserstadion!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet connection was unfortunately poor

    Nice hotel in pleasant location, 20 mins walk from city centre. Can exercise a pet in nice park nearby. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have been coming here for over 10 years. Everytime travel takes me to Bremen this is the place to stay. Lovely area and appreciate the family hosts. Thank you again.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wanted to ask to get an extra 30 Minutes late check-out but was shot down before I could finish my sentence by the lady serving the breakfast. This was on a Monday morning and at the time when the hotel was filled at most at 1/2 capacity on the Sunday night before. This seemed petty and inflexible.

    The room was basic but cozy. We had a nice view from the second floor

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel could use some updating in some areas.

    Very helpful and attentive staff. We got some tips as to where to dine in Bremen city. We asked for and received a room without carpet.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The gluten free bread I asked for breakfast was not heated and quite hard, but they were really kind to buy the bread for me and try to heat it up the best they could

    The bed was one of the best I experienced so far in a hotel!

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No lobby for a gathering place.

    Croissants were excellent, breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location, friendly staff. No problem if you have a late arrival.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No lobby.

    Croissants were excellent. Hot tea was tasty. High chair available.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly & helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    All was great!

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: