Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zur Post This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Gestade 17, Bernkastel, 54470 Bernkastel-Kues, Germany

#23 of 30 hotels in Bernkastel-Kues

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of cigarette smoke came into our room during part of the night and in the morning, most likely from a room below. We had to open the windows during the night, which made our night noisy and cold. The reception said the smell likely came from outside, but that is extremely unlikely.

    Room 10 was small but clean. Breakfast had a good variety of food including boiled and scrambled eggs and fruit. Beautiful downtown Bernkastel is 3 minutes away on foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drawbacks: No parking but for 5 Euro you park right across the street, so this is very minor. Biggest drawback was the lounge allows smoking and the lounge is small...very nice to get a late night drink but again it is small and the smoking was a bit overwhelming. Kept us from going back after the first night.

    The hotel is in the perfect location. Right on the main street and easy walking distance to everything. Also right on the river so access to the ferry, simply. The breakfast is good standard European breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has an old world feel in a beautiful old world town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large public parking lots fill up in the middle part of the day when the town is full of cruise ship passengers, making it a little challenging to find a spot.

    Parking is available in the large public lots (close by) using a three day pass that I believe cost 8 euros. Check in was easy. Our room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Breakfast was served in a very pretty room with decorative wood walls and ceilings. Large selection of items of good quality. Location is easy to find and very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took a long time before the staff could help us to dry our clothes (we came on bicycles after a heavy rain). The bath and the toilet had hairs of the previous guests. The bathroom door could not be closed - and that was not (and in reality could not have been) fixed. And this was the most expensive stay of the trip from Trier to Koblenz on bikes

    The staff was extremely effective in solving the problems that should not have arisen in the first place. The breakfast was varied (bread, eggs, ham, cheese, eggs and the like) and of very good quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More parking on the hotel premises would have been good. Tea and coffee or even water that you did not have to pay for in the room is surely expected.

    Breakfast was good, In a nice setting/ dining room. The shower was excellent. The hotel was well placed and quiet despite main road and being full of guests.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay at Hotel zur Post was too brief.

    Everything was clean and spotless. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Plus, the hotel was within a short distance of the major market places and shops. It was a wonderful stay. Thank you Hotel zur Post!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only drinking water available in the room was a medium sized bottle at a price of 2.50 euros and there was no kettle. The wifi didn't work in that particular room.

    The hotel is in an excellent position, close to shops and restaurants. It has a very traditional feel which we liked and our room had a balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities says that they've got a fitness center, which was the only reason why we chose this hotel, but they don't. So the information is false.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely hot when we were visiting and there is no air conditioning. I'm a Florida girl and need my air conditioning. There is parking right next to the hotel for unloading the car but then we had to move it to public parking across the street along the river. It wasn't hard to find parking and we didn't need the car during our visit.

    Darling German town. Good food to be found. Hotel staff were excellent--very friendly and helpful. Location was great. I had a hurt arm and they were very nice about giving me ice for it. Also an elevator, which was nice. Next door to a great winery, Dr. Pauly Bergweiler, that you should visit for a tasting. The wine was surprisingly delicious and the tour guide was very friendly, informative and gracious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is ok, we paid 160 euros for one night (room for 3 persons) and in my opnion that was too much for the room.

    Great location, near the river and the city center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The waiting staff don't seem familiar with their own menu. We ordered a dish as a starter option (in German), got the main course portion without realising and were expected to pay full price upon settling the bill.

    The hotel has character. The dining room is very characterful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised to have wifi, but only was able to access it from the lobby. Also advertised available child cots/pack n' play/cribs. Annotated one would be required but arrived to find none available (and without prior notification for planning). Advertised breakfast included but received an additional charge at check-out for having a family of 4 when only booked in a room to sleep 3. Our 3rd and 4th bodies were a 2 and 4 year old who barely would assemble an appetite of 1 full-grown adult... so the surcharge policy is logically flawed and the staff would not reason with us at checkout to remedy.

    Can't beat the location. Staff was friendly and worked with English speaking guests.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was very little we didn't like to be honest, we thought it was great The Wi-Fi was a bit difficult to connect too but did work when you found the right spot. Sadly the restaurant and bar were not open while we were there, but we were out of season and there is plenty very close by. A kettle in the room to make hot drinks, especially at this time of the year, would have been nice also, but we managed.

    The breakfast was amazing, the food was plentiful and fresh each day with a selection of cereals, cold meats, bread, fruit loaf, eggs, tea, coffee and preserves. The rooms were really nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. The water was always hot and the temperature could be controlled by radiators in the rooms. The lay out was great with space for cases in each room hanging space and an umbrella provided (not that we needed it) which was a lovely touch. The hotel itself was very traditional with wood beams, character and style, it was beautifully decorated for Christmas when we stayed. The location was perfect just a couple of minutes walk into the town, parking was just across the road and was subsidised to 5 Euros for the 3 days we were there. The windows opened allowing fresh air into the rooms which was fabulous. The staff were all really friendly. Thank you so much for a great stay we will come again if we are in the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was out during our entire 4 day stay and we were on the to floor. We weren't offered a lower level room or any compensation.

    Breakfast was wonderful and bathroom in our room was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasnt at hotel. Had to find parking. Room was hot, small window. WiFi didn't work. Went to receptionist to get code and it still wouldn't work. Shower was either too hot or too cold without touching the knob.

    Excellent location. Normal german breakfast. Parking was only 5€

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely stay, this is our second time here. Staff were welcoming and our room was beautiful. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoke in lobby and hallways

    Breakfast was good as well as location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Choice in the restaurant, however, there are plenty of good restaurants within a few minutes walk.

    convenient location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location and good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell! Kitchen smells permeate the building & smoking in bar makes a very nice hotel unpleasant..

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and complicated Wifi

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was very small: no problem for us, but could be for a larger person.

    Excellent location. Very comfortable beds with good reading lights. Good breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom drain smelled a bit funny. The room was very clean but I think the drain needed looking at.

    The location was perfect for exploring the town. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very cold in the room. The heat was turned off after 23:00. The restaurant could not serve food after 21:00, after we had arrived.

    It had parking and well situated in the city.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had rooms which faced the main road below, and, as the rooms have no Air Conditioning, we had to leave the balcony door open as it was very hot during the night, and due to the very heavy early traffic ( from 5am) it was very noisy.

    The Hotel is a typical German Country Hotel, typically very clean and Tidy, with a very elegant dining room, the Buffet breakfast was excellent and more than adequate, whilst we didn't use the evening dining facilities, I would think the Kitchen would provide excellent fair.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean rooms and bathrooms. Comfortable. Friendly staff. Personal touch with Easter baskets in each room. Good breakfast. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly hosts, great breakfast, clean and cosy room, fantastic sauna. Ski in/out location.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very limited parking, poor pillows

    Friendly staff, location. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Works outside

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection very spotty and temperamental

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was very nice and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were difficulties with wi-fi.

    lovely comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, good food

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the noise from the main road in the early morning no air con/fan

    restaurant proprietor

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy road

    Good location near old Bernkastel town

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice people, good admosphire. Good food. You name it, it was good

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    freindly staff welcoming and ready to help, good breakfast, excellent location

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel zur Post traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: