Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kastanienhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kastanienallee 65, Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany

#97 of 598 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 719 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful first-time introduction to Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely quiet room in the rear of the building. This is a true pension. Good service, very clean, lots of storage space ... we could actually unpack and find a spot for everything within easy reach. As avid eaders, the high intensity bedside lights were the best! The location couldn't have been better .... on two tram lines and within easy walking distance from the Ubahn and restaurants and cafes galore, yet quiet and not touristy. Would definitely return!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor is a bit dated. The room was quite warm at night but had no air con. But when we kept the windows open, the trams were very loud. No teabags with the kettle provided.

    The staff were friendly. The location was great with lots of nice cafes nearby for brunch. The minibar was a plus!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively small rooms. Those to the street are pretty loud if you need to keep your window open (no A/C)

    Traditional hotel in a great neighborhood. Excellent food from Berlin in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Simple, old-fashioned small hotel to sense what radical Berlin must have been like 20 years ago
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in an interesting part of Prenzlauerberg, with relics of the days when Berlin was radical, plenty of independent small cafes and restaurants. Feels like a good old-fashioned small family-owned hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, i has very satisfied and would absolutely stay there again.

    This place exceeded my expectations by a large margin. The staff was super friendly and helpful. It was clean, room was spacious. It was quiet. They responded right away to email requests for booking changes. It's located two metro stops from the center of town, in a funky "real" German neighborhood. We chose this location on purpose, but others might want to be closer to the tourist section.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    the area, the "historical"pictures, the parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for me it was too loud - but that's how it is in a city. For breakfast I missed a wider choice.

    the area, the "historical"pictures, the parking, the blossoming Kastanien

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel with easy access to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel. We had a standard room which was huge. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel is very quiet. The hotel restaurant is excellent and there are lots of great cafes and restaurants nearby. We loved this area as it was very relaxed compared to other parts of Berlin but easy to get to all the sites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel in central location - value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only (small) downside was the bed mattress which was a little over used and too soft for our taste but nothing big really

    Great central location on a nice street full of cafes, restaurants and bars. There's a lot going on around the hotel and it's always interesting. Very good connection to public transports means - ubahn (5min walk) and tram (right in front of the hotel). Staff was very helpful and polite. I can highly recommend this hotel for your Berlin stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    overall I was happy with the stay and the people in th ecity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no english translation on the Trains / trams or in the shops,

    the staff were very friendly and helpful to our requests for information about Berlin # the restaurant was better on the first night and the staff on duty very more helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    Pay a bit more and stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wouldn't recommend this hotel. Nothing was good about it. The wi-fi wasn't working in one of the rooms and when we asked about a room change/help they gave us they said they couldn't do anything about moving us, just move the modem closer which didn't do much with the wifi. Breakfast was average. Rooms are very old. Location is kinda out of the way.

    Rooms are bigger than normal - but still super old.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    One of the worst hotels we've been in. Never going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV didn't work. We asked if it could be solved but they said it was not possible. But the worst thing was that though it was freezing and snowing those days, we left the heat on when we left the room in the mornings, but someone in the hotel came in and turned it off every day, so when we arrived each evening the room was very cold.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only slight downside was having to pay each time you used the safe, but we did see later on it was possible to get a key from reception, we just failed to see the notice. There is a light fitting next to the bed on each side that we kept banging out heads on, and could do with being moved, so take care with that.

    Perfect location - very close to an underground station and with two tram lines stopping right by the hotel. It is on a main road, though quiet, and there are loads of cafes, bars and restaurants close by to suit most tastes and budgets. The rooms are clean and comfortable, of a good size, and the mini bar is stocked well and reasonably priced. The staff are efficient and friendly. There is breakfast available, but there are so many lovely cafes close to that we wanted to go to to sample different atmospheres, so we went of just the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very central; comfortable and convenient hote!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant next door (AUSSPANNE) only offers food from 6pm on....

    The staff goes the extra mile; very flexible - we asked for some milk for the first morning coffee in the room and the lady organised it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Strong value for a good quality hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one thing: a kettle and cups but no tea bags or coffee in the room! It wasn't a big issue and I'm sure they'd have given me some if I'd asked (I kept forgetting) but if the hotel is reading this I'd suggest it's a nice touch to provide them automatically - especially as other facilities were so good.

    I couldn't find anything else like this for a comparable price. A good standard hotel in an excellent location: lots of bars and cafes nearby and the very centre of Berlin is within easy walking distance if you don't mind a 10-15 minute stroll. Otherwise there's plenty public transport links and a taxi wouldn't cost much. All of the major landmarks and tourist spots I wanted to visit are accessible from here, but it's also a good spot to just spend some time in the neighbourhood or head out to less-explored areas. Staff were friendly and helpful, particularly as I arrived very late, solid continental breakfast for an optional extra cost, and my room was comfortable, clean and spacious with added facilities like safe and minibar. I'd gone for a larger room/suite but I'm sure the others are good standard too. Very happy with this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    We booked a suite and they put us into a tripple room without notice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very unprofessional - we booked a suite and they put us into a three bed room without notice. I was traveling with my male boss. We booked a suite so we could have separate bedrooms. I checked before on the phone if the suite is ready and to make sure the bedsofa is prepared. They said yes, no problem. When we got there at 2am, it was one small room with three beds (a double bed an an extra bed). When I asked about the suite, the lady said "Yes that was booked. This has three beds also." And didn't even apologize. In the bathroom there was only one towel. But at 2am I guess they knew we weren't going to make a fuss.

    The staff was friendly even in the middle of the night and helpful with finding a parking place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel shame about trams
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have front facing room you can hear noise of trams.It does get quiet in the evening but trams run every hour after midnight.

    Close to town. With in 20 mins walking or tram just outside door. Nice bar and restaurant attached although plenty near by.Staff friendly breakfast normal fare but nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location. Comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older type of a hotel, it could use refreshing a little bit. Even though I was not in a smoking room I could still smell the cigarette smell from other rooms. Access to the reception desk is via stairs so keep this in mind when bringing a heavy luggage. Keep cash for shops and restaurants around the hotel as they do not accept credit card payments.

    The hotel was sufficient for my business stay. Good location and access to public transport. Reception desk spoke English and was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is good, staff are helpful. But location is not as convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location, the fact that we need to get on tram or walk to the closer U band or S band is not convenient.

    The breakfast is very good value, don't miss it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommended hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ordered a double bed but got twin bed attached together. This means I couldn't spread out as I like to do.

    Hotel is great. The breakfast contains everything you'll need: 3 types of bread to toast, 3 types of buns, crossons, 2 types of eggs, fried bacon, lots of cheese and meat, couple of salads, 3 types of cereals, fruits, granola, espresso machine, filter coffee served to your table and juice. I really enjoyed it. Staff is very friendly - they rushed at 1am to my room to give me printed wifi password just because I asked over the phone where to find it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Clean, quiet and cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little pricey for what you get.

    This was a cozy hotel located about a 10 minute walk from the underground, in a neighborhood with many restaurants and shops. The Rick Steves tour was here when we were, so you know it's a good value and has been carefully curated. Buy your subway tickets at the hotel and skip the trauma of trying to figure out the machines! Rooms are spotless!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    A great introduction to Germany through this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights

    During hot spells, the fan didn't cool us down enough; a light weight blanket/throw would have helped.

    Breakfast was great - lots of choices. Extra coffee was appreciated. Staff spoke English which was needed. Their travel recommendations were right on too. Loved the ability to get on the tram right outside our door and make connections down the line if needed. Auspanne restaurant downstairs was very handy as well as having delicious foods and drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    A sound choice for a stay in Prenzlauer Berg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were satisfactory but uninspiring. Perhaps because of this, there was very little use being made of the adjacent restaurant (10% discount voucher provided) although it offered a reasonable German style menu. Safe boxes are provided but require a payment of 1 euro for each closure. Kettle and cups are provided in the room but no tea or coffee.

    This is a very pleasant city hotel within easy reach of Alexanderplatz (2 stops on the U or 20 minutes walk) for access to Berlin's excellent public transport network, including the airport express. The immediate area provides plenty of eating and drinking opportunities, some interesting design shops and several visitor attractions in easy walking distance. The Berlin Wall memorial and information centre on Bernauer Strasse and the Museum of Everyday Life in the GDR at the impressive Kulturbrauerei complex are highly recommended. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. We arrived late morning and were able to check in to our room rather than just dropping our luggage off. Both rooms we stayed in were spacious and comfortable. We liked the old local photographs and beer advertisements which were used to decorate the rooms and stairways.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel in a great location. It's basic but great, friendly staff and decent sized rooms. Walking distance from many wonderful places to eat and easy access to transportation, tram runs right outside the door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant, comfortable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea offered in the rooms, yet there was a kettle and cups... We enquired about it at reception and were told it is not an offering in 3-star hotels. Really??? Not so in our extensive travel experience!!!

    Great location. Cleanliness. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Safe and clean hotel close to Mitte and vibrancy of Prenzl'berg region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's nothing that we didn't like! If you were after something incredibly modern or fancy, this might not be the place for you but it was great for us and we'd stay here again.

    The hotel was in a great location for us as we wanted to be located a little outside of the main city and close to the Prenzl'berg quarter. The room was fairly standard but the staff were great (especially as our German was poor!) and provided heaps of advice when asked. It was clean and quiet. Breakfast was optional but there were so many local options that we went out every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Particularly good in 3-star category
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi/WLAN connectivity and bandwidth were poor. To maintain connection I had to sit on the windowsill. This was the only negative aspect of our stay.

    For our family of 3 we were in a "family" room with 2 beds, a double and a twin, for 3 nights. This was our only European hotel where our son did not have to sleep on a cot. That was a serious upgrade for him. Our room was spotless and comfortable, with a sofa. It faced the courtyard and was quiet. The hotel staff were very professional and helpful without exception. For our 4 AM departure the man at the desk was cheerful and had a cab at front door in 5 minutes. Everyone at the front desk spoke workable English. A tram stop was 20 m from the front door. This made access to the entire city very easy and we wasted no time getting where we wanted to go. Breakfast was very good with something for everyone. We did not try the restaurant for dinner because there were too many attractive eating places in walking distance. The restaurant served a tour group one evening but this did not affect the quiet in the hotel. Relative to other European "three star" hotels, the room's features were normal but its size was larger and its cleanliness was superior. The bathroom was somewhat dated but its absolute cleanliness made up for that. We plan to return to Berlin and will return to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Located in the centre of a wonderful, diverse and multicultural neighbourhood in Berlin!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The particular neighbourhood in Berlin is wonderful, diverse and multicultural in the best sense, nice little shops and restaurants, lots of creative young people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    The best kept secret from the ( former ) east.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. Not super cheap but well worth the rate.

    This is a superb hotel in a great neighborhood. Across the street from a tram stop, easy walk to Rosenthal U bahn, great local restaurants if you don't want to eat at the ( very nice ) restaurant.Serve a very decent German buffet breakfast. We had a room facing away from the street which was beautifully quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -we have 6months baby so need to carry stroller all the time. but there was steps in front of hotel main door and room ㅜㅜ ;; we had hard problem dealing with heavy stroller (except that everything is perfect)

    -perfect location (walking distance to Mitte), tram and bus station is just few steps from hotel -very friendly employees! wonderful -comfort bed and clean room -reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Overall, nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    9€ breakfast does not include hot meals: no omelet, no beans, no bacon, no sausages. My room (#11) was adjacent to some interior wooden stairs which made a creaking noise when people would step on it.

    The location is excellent: not too far from the center; the tram stop is right nearby; Prenzlauer Berg is a nice district with lots of small cafes, shops, etc. The personnel was friendly. Room cleaning was every day, as well as the fresh towels (although I did not require it).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    definite recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paying to use the safe was a first for us and it was a pain to be sure to have $1 Euro always available. Not having a/c in a room fronting the main street noise. A bit far away from main attractions.

    Bed was very comfortable, room was small. Breakfast was wonderful with varied and complete selection. Early coffee available! Personnel were very nice and accommodating. Loved the bed lighting for personal reading. Restaurant was well run and had good food. Proximity to restaurants and the tram was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were huge, would have preferred smaller.

    Good location close to Prenzlauer Berg and that the tram stops just outside the hotel. The reception has public transport tickets for sale, both single journey and day tickets. The area has a lot of restaurants. Don't forget to visit Kollwitz Platz. We are likely to come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Berlin history comes alive in this 3rd Generation led hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third generation in charge of hotel, great display of historical artefacts gives a good impression of the recent history of Berlin. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    a charming and traditional hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything was perfect

    We HIGHLY recommend this charming and traditional hotel with such friendly staff. The location is hugely interesting and transport links excellent. We ate in the brilliant restaurant every evening and felt fortunate to have been visiting during white asparagus season, totally delicious cuisine. Next year we will visit a little earlier to experience the fresh garlic seasonal menu!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    The hospitality of the staff, location of the hotel (very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hospitality of the staff, location of the hotel (very close to city center, and necessary public transportation). The room was very clean and well decorated. The breakfast has lot of varieties.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Berlin Perfect Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent. Breakfast a great surprise. Diferent breads, fruits, toppings. Espresso coffee included. Pleople speak English and everybody making efforts for you to have the time of your lif in Berlin. Perfect!!!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent budget hotel in great area of Berlin. Close enough to walk into centre eg Museum Island, but good public transport too, with trams close by. Really helpful and friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast. Lots of cafes and bars nearby too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always like some toilet articles in the bathroom like body lotion etc. That was not supplied

    Lovely breakfast. Very nice bed. Hot shower. Spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.1
    Fun taste of what a hotel during the DDR would be like.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy from the street and next to a door. Furniture not changed since the DDR! Asked for a double bed but got 2 children's beds pushed together.

    Friendly staff, good location, very clean. Great minibar prices!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Clean, well located , good breakfast and location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The lobby was quite small, should be more confortable

    The room was excellent and the temperature quiete confortable considering the low temperature outeside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    Perfect break in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have nothing negative to say about Hotel Kastanienhof.

    Our room was very spacious, quiet and spotless. We loved it. It was perfectly situated to walk into central Berlin and Museum Island. The area immediately round the hotel was great for eating out in the evening. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Comfy beds, spacious rooms and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location in a very charming and calm neighbourhood of Berlin. Many good restaurants and cafés nearby, easily reachable by metro. Staff was very kind and helpful, breakfast above average and very varied. We were three people and expected three twin beds cramped into a room, but instead got a very spacious twin room that linked to a second, very spacious single room. Lots of space, comfy beds, clean bathroom with a bath/shower. Everything spotless. This place is absolutely great value for money and I would definitely stay here again both for the comfort as the location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location great bar great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shoe cleaner in the lobby dispensed too much wax on my shoe!,, only joking. No complaints.

    The hotel is right by the no.12 and M1 tram stop and its 10 min to the centre, although the immediate vicinity by Zionkirche has some good bars and restaurants, it's definitely a quite trendy area that's not overpriced. The staff were very personable and helpful A good selection of continental breakfast staples. Best selection if you get down early. Great coffee. Would prefer hot eggs personally. Or maybe a toaster. Of course a full English option would give this hotel a top 10 score!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Work and play
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a minor detail really. Breakfast is good value for money but choice is rather limited.

    This is a very nice hotel with a family-feeling, tidy, comfortable, helpful staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent restaurant next door which appeared to be connected to the hotel. Location of the hotel, close to downtown plus a tram stop in front of hotel. Quiet at night. We highly recommend the Kastanienhof!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Good location and good access to transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would like to be able to speak the language. Australians find it hard unless they have relatives who speak or lots of classes and practice.Good

    Comfy and I didn't try the croissants. If I did I prefer them slightly heated.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful neighborhood directly across street from tram stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful neighborhood directly across street from tram stop

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Spotless clean with very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless clean with very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and there are better options close by

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast an very clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    In the center of kastanienallee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old for my taste.

    Location location location. Good service. Private parking in backyard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    BOOK IT NOW!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is absolutely ideal. Close to Berlin Wall Memorial, tramlines and dozens of delicious eateries!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    A serviceable, clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was on street side, noisy

    Friendly staff, clean, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    the brakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the brakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    No aircondition
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircondition

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Real cool time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    friendly staff, pleasant hotel, great location (and a good breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    big clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture little bit old, breakfast is nothing special...could be much better

    big clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi at 3 floor. We pay for a lost plastic key 15€.

    Breakfast ok. Free espresso coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    clean, comfortable and very friendly stuff, great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean, comfortable and very friendly stuff, great location at Prenzlauer Berg, nice cafés and restaurants just around the corner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Excellent Restaurant, great room and generous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Restaurant, great room and generous breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    groovy time in Kastanienalle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location, friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Cosy bar and downstairs restaurant. Room mini-bar surprisingly good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite pricey, a little outdated, minimal facilities in room

    Nice breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent bed and furnishings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Recommend 100% really corner of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Great friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location...easy to get to and from...pleasant breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, kettle and cups but no tea, coffee or milk!

    Comfy, clean beds, great location, efficient staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Great stay at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was so comfortable. THe best stay on our whole trip. The tram was just 10m away from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value and does all that is asked
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a trek from the nearest U station but not too bad.

    Very helpful staff, well appointed. A bit expensive but worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    greta spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very old fashion deco a bit pricy

    super location, large rooms well equiped

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant was great and nice bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was great and nice bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    friendly atmoshphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    friendly atmoshphere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was comfortable and homely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    good place, clean, family hotel
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    breakfast,slow wifi

    good place, clean, family hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: