Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nymphenburg München This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Nymphenburger Strasse 141, Neuhausen - Nymphenburg, 80636 Munich, Germany

#156 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little different than in the pictures

    Great breakfast Good location, near to subway, petrol station open to 12pm and McDonald's open to late hours

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    After a problem with the shower we were moved to another room without problem. Breakfast selection was good. Location good for us and not far from train to centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Free sparkling water and free cake in the afternoon. Close to the train stop. Free wifi. Good breakfast. There was onsite parking and a lift. We were in Munich on holiday so was out most of the time and only slept and had breakfast but overall all was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booking.com lists 120 EUR/night incl breakfast, invoice separates room & breakfast which is a pain for cooperate travel. I think the information on booking mispresents the offer. Unhappy customer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated (but that was known before the stay) Sensible guests may find the steet a little noisy

    Friendly staff and free mineral water Good location Clean Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was so kind and professional. He tried to help me in everyway including telling me the best way to get to the airport at the early morning. The location was perfect to visit the Nymphenburg palace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC. This was a problem during the summer when it was 34C.

    Decent price for a hotel that is close to public transport and city centre. Good location for exploring. Staff are friendly and the hotel is what you expect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was on and off all the time, we even had no wifi on the last day. Rooms and furniture were outdated (despite the fact that it was really clean), and we really don't like the design of having shower curtain instead of a glass wall above the bathtub, which means you have to keep yourself in a tiny space to prevent water from splashing around. Also we were told all triple rooms have windows facing the street, we had to keep the windows open because of summer heat, but had problem sleeping due to noise.

    Very friendly staff. Free sparkling water is a huge plus although we are not a big fan. Very rich breakfast (with scrambled eggs, sausages, etc.) considering it is included in the rate. I saw staff cleaning a room next to ours one day, and was impressed by how hard she tried to keep the room squeaky clean, big thumbs up. Availability to borrow a fan from reception. OK location between 2 metro stations, easy to get to the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Metro Station was about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. There was some technical problem in the lifts as they gave jerks when stopping at every floor.

    Friendly and helpful staff. They served Free Coffee, Candies, Cake and mineral water bottles. There were nice restaurants in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection is very good and the location is near different transportations. Would recommend to others as a great choice for further travel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, even as the free bottles of water. The hotel is close to the public transport, which makes it easy to explore Munich.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was pretty small. no Safe or mini-bar. no air-condition.

    the breakfast was rich. Free water and after-noon coffee and cake. close to U-bahn and tram lines.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An option of a free bottle of mineral water ( to all hotel guests) was a very considerate action by hotel owner. Also the cleaniness of the room and facilities were worth 10 points. Nice cultural ambience too in hotel. Location nearby to Nymphenburg castle also a bonus. Garage was needed, parking in the area otherwise complicated. Our room was small but with a roomy balcony . All in all good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No electronic keys, could be a security issue. Time to replace the carpets and some of the furniture. Things are clean, but it would give the hotel that extra boost it could use.

    Very friendly & helpful staff, great breakfast buffet, new bathroom, comfortable beds, ideally located between two U-Bahn stations. Good deal for your money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was way too small. Location is far from major attractions.

    Best breakfast buffet. Close to public transportation making it easy to get to most major attractions. Free Wifi. Lovely building, close to great restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious! Free water available! Coffee and small piece of cake available every afternoon. Several restaurants in the area. UBahn a short distance away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    too noisy. i could hear the neighbors from all directions. at 5:30-6 a.m. the garbage men came in the backalley and they were making all sorts of noises. I will start using airbnb more often

    the position of the hotel is very good. close to the Hauptbahnhof

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ONLY thing that went wrong was available seating at breakfast. I had to skip my included breakfast as there was no tables available. It was suggested I sit at on of the 3 available chairs at other peoples tables, but i didn't want to be a stranger imposing on their Sunday morning time together. Not a very comfortable situation.

    Tea, coffee & cake during day was a very nice touch. Bag storage. Location short train from city center. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit expensive and difficult.

    Great morning breakfast and free bottled water. Good neighborhood and close to public transportation. Parking onsite. Elevator was available. Staff was bilingual and responsive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is a bit small and so sometimes you need to wait a bit for having breakfast. The bathroom was not cleaned well.

    The breakfast was tasty and we enjoyed it. The stuff was friendly and helped us any time. You also have free water during your stay in the hotel. We liked the decoration.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No minibar in room! Location a bit off. Not too far away from U-bahn though.

    It did it's job! We were 3 persons in a 3 person room. Breakfast was tasty, although not really that much to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was weak in our room and often losing signal completely. The blankets on the beds were tiny compared to the size of the bed.

    The Location was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minutes walk from train station. The hotel is quite old. The lift is small. Someone knock our door when we are taking rest in the afternoon but then when we open the door no one is there

    The price is reasonable, got free cake and coffee. The room is generally clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was Octoberfest we paid over €300 a night for a triple room. We were a grouo of 3 friends and although there were 3 beds the room was tiny and one of the beds was clearly designed for a child.

    All the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was varied and good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We forgot our travel adaptor and they did not have any spears at reception. Also they give unlimited sparkling water but it would be nice to have also have still water. Apart from that eveything was lovely

    The staff where friendly, the hotel was lovely and clean with 24/7 reception and yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms is very very tight Wifi is very bad especially when you are located in 4th floor

    Staff is very good and helpful and breakfast is good for me and tasty

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird location, interior design in room and hotel in general horrible and awkward, no shops or bars open in town on a thursday until 5pm.

    Friendly host, big room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Left in peace to relax. Good location in a good neighbourhood, with u bahn and s bahn 10 mins away. Hotel was quiet and low key, and very clean. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, really. Our room was a little small, but I assume we could have paid a little extra to get a bigger one if we had wanted.

    We really liked the Hotel Nymphenburg, especially the friendly, helpful desk staff and the lovely, tranquil breakfast. The neighborhood location was great, with a large variety of restaurants, and walking distance from museums and the main train station. The hotel has an amazing poster collection, and the owner took time to tell us stories about them.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double room was small and really hot - no air conditioning. Staff not very friendly on check in (11pm). Breakfast very basic and busy - couldn't get a seat on one of the mornings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    may be overcrowded on breakfast - small cafeteria. no refrigerator in room (but may be i just missed that option while booking)

    reception works 24/7. quiet place pretty far from tourist center but near S-bahn station (10-15 min by walk).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - I used the laundry service provided by the hotel. The staff told me that the price will be around 20 euro. However when I came to receive my laundry bag they demanded 48 euro! OK, I understand that these services aren't cheap, but you can't provide one price to a costumer and then request twice more! Very unprofessional and unpleasant. - Room was quite small.

    - Great location, close to the metro. - Excellent breakfast. - Very good Wi-fi. - The room was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air con and it gets quite hot in room

    Decent location and good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very kind staff I left my phone in the hotel after me and they kindly posted it back to me. Very good location and a yummy breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal in room unreliable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent position in the city, easy to reach. Quiet. Garage just there. Nice hotel and room decoration with old opera and ballet posters.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very easy access by public transport to the center of Munich.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal was low and connection dropped every few minutes

    3 minutes from a Metro station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms too small for two. Shower room barely 1.5m sq

    staff gorgeous and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be invested in new furniture. Free parking would be great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast selection was quite poor. Wifi simply didn't work in half of the room (but it was a huge room).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, very helpful staff, nice facilities, great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old

    Haribo Candies by the time we arrived in the room. Sparkling water available for guests

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi good on first day only; front dest clerk kept telling us the code was good but was not.

    Champagne breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet, the receptionist is very kind and friendly and cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet there is extremely bad, it's even not possible to watch a video.

    Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Outdated hotel.

    Staff, room service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy by traffic and hot( no airco)

    atmosphere location in city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be better

    Friendly stuff. We booked for three people and we had 2 rooms! Very clean !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air condition.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more comfortable seating area would be nice

    Nice rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole breakfast experience - great choice, great ambience, welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    very small room for 3 people, on the pictures by the booking it was made to look much bigger

    receptionist location of the hotel - close enough to the old town to be able to walk there

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If being picky, some parts are slightly dated; but this certainly did not affect our stay or opinion of the hotel

    Very clean & staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No fridge and safety case in the room.

    There is free mineral water for the room. Staff is polite and frendly. Room is tidy and lighted. Hotel is close to the tube. I recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi connection is too poor. It is good near reception but was not available in the room or available for a couple of minutes and then off again for a long indefinite time.

    Friendly personal, good location (5-7 to stations, 30 min to the city center), good breakfast in a bright place.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel has an unassuming and old fashioned face. It however has what an equivalent modern hotel would offer. In addition, the location is excellent, the staff are attentive, breakfast is hearty & check out time late enough to enjoy breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    just coz we like hot water everyday, but there was no kettle there. but the lady give us hot water from the kitchen.

    we were very satisfied with the staff of the reception, the gentleman and the lady, they helped us a lot. the location is close to the subway, but with luggages is still a little bit far to girls. the area was very quiet, beds were comfortable, we had good rest there. breakfast was good, espeicially the coffee, taste great. and we like the free candy that leaved in the living room, and buy a lot in the supermarket while we were in Munich as gift to friends.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very welcoming, and they had very good English (we very little German so that was great for us). The room wasn't huge, but it was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Location was a bit out of the way, but that's still only a 5 min walk to a train station - so it didn't take long to get anywhere. The breakfast was nice, wasn't too continental that 2 Irish people couldn't eat it. Also loved the posters! The place did seem a bit quaint on arrival, but was very clean, welcoming and very good value for money!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was excellent. Beds very comfortable. Easy to get to the ubahn and very quick into town. Walking distance of the Nymphenberg Palace. Staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could be a bit richer and more vegan/vegetarian friendly. More fruit, less bacon and beans :-)

    Location is excellent, staff was friendly and the room was spacious and comfy. Complimentary mineral water was a plus :-)

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to not like, can't think of a single complaint.

    Lovely homely atmosphere, we were made feel very welcome by all the management and staff. We will stay there again when visiting Munich.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I just think the price for one night is too high as an absolute. I didn't check other hotels nearby so I can't tell if it's cheap for that location.

    I was there for a business trip so I needed location. Everything was remboursed so I didn't care for the price. Location was 5 minutes from work.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi is free and of good speed, but it requires login very often when disconnected. The closest U-ban station is at 7-10 minutes of walking distance, which seems rather long when you come back to hotel tired.

    Very clean with daily housekeeping. Good breakfast. Fair price. Useful staff. Plenty of cafes/restaurants around. Hypermarket Kaufhof near to the closest U-Ban. Free mineral water with no limit.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free WiFi was giving us many issues - we kept timing out and having to log out/log back in. When I went to use the computer in the lobby, I couldn't switch it to English, so I was having a lot of trouble looking up maps. When I asked for help from the hotel staff, they weren't listening to my concerns and provided me help that wasn't what I was looking for. Eventually, I just gave up on getting the help I needed. The manager, while trying to be helpful, was actually quite rude and kept telling me I was making things harder for myself and I was doing our honeymoon all wrong.

    We got a suite on the top floor for $150/night. That was unbeatable! Most of the staff were pretty pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Munich had a heat wave and the room had no air-conditioning, but leaving the windows open at night meant lots of traffic noise. So it was very hot. Don't know what they could have done about it though

    Location, clealiness, atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Round the corner from my daughter's apartment

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff was very friendly and explained everything. Very good breakfast, good location, quiet and relatively close to the center.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really liked it as it was near our niece. We enjoyed the breakfast and the complimentary water.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi is poor

    breakfast is so good

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good service and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise bathroom neighbours

    Wallpaintings, good WiFi

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hallways quite dark

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Nymphenburg München traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: