Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Bonn 2 stars

Vorgebirgsstrasse 33, Nordstadt, 53119 Bonn, Germany

#53 of 69 hotels in Bonn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 781 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was surprised that a triple room meant there was a bunk bed (single) squeezed in above a double bed. But the bunk bed had no duvet .. was not made up. A heater was presented at the door to make up for the lack of bedding? Eventually a blanket was found from somewhere. Toilet was like in a cupboard. The room was something between a ship's cabin and a camper van.

    It was the cheapest place to stay in Geneva.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    waking up every 2 hours due to noise heating not being able to sleep due to noise made by other customers in the room and in the corridor cold bathroom even with heating

    bed is comfy and breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Nothing to do around past 8pm. We found the windows open at our room and it was freezing cold but i guess these things happen

    Good value and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can hear the noises from the neighbors rooms. the segregation of rooms is not perfect but ok for single or business travelers. The bathroom is a bit small.

    Staff are friendly. the location is close to the Bonn city downtown. I can reach there with 5 bus stops. The breakfast is excellent with variety of food choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not set in the best neighbourhood. As an English traveller we did not find it very easy to find anywhere to eat that catered for various dietary needs.

    Easy book in and parking after a long journey. Rooms exactly and described and photographed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - would stay here again

    As others have said easy to find by car, good parking directly underneath hotel at 10 euro per night. We arrived quite late and it was great to see restaurants directly across the road - Italian excellent. Location about 10-15 minutes from main square but nice and busy on way in with bars, cafes and restaurants - so not deserted late at night. Had a drink in very nice bar in hotel when we came back with an efficient and friendly barman- a lot of the hotels we stayed in on this trip didnt have bars and others seemed to close early so it was nice to relax here. Air conditioning very welcome. Breakfast was included in our room rate and really good choices and local type selection of ham and cheese included. Staff always cleaning and making space in breakfast room - love to see that

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from next door room, everything could be heard, so it could be that walls are very thin. I already had own tv very low in volume, as I realised that all my noise can then be easily heard as well, however other nearby rooms, seemed oblivious of fact that there noises are so well heard. The fact that there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room, this was greatly disappointing, I travelled very far and arrived late, being very tired, I felt is is not decent to expect guests having to go downstairs to pour a cup of coffee or tea and then be charged for one cup. It would have been so nice just to have a tea/cup of coffee with kettle in room. This is really the least one would expect from a hotel room. It was fair overall, very friendly and kind reception desk, but I would have to reconsider.

    All fine, only bit of noise disruption from room next door, the walls are very thin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Shower space is a little bit too dense for me (I am 185 cm tall; I stayed in the standard double room). Free Wi-Fi is slow and not reliable.

    The hotel is located in walking distance to the center of the city. Facilities are new and good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small. Bathroom was especially small/narrow. I find 11 euro for breakfast especially overpriced. No a la carte option for breakfast, other than coffee. Staff were helpful and professional. The room was very good, but due to the size, I feel it was a bit overpriced.

    Room was simple but included everything you could need and was clean. Bathroom was new and clean, facilities all good: shower, blow dryer. *no tissues though. Location was very central and walking distance from downtown. Many international restaurants all around within a few blocks radius. Recommend bakery a few blocks away for breakfast if you're on a tighter budget.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small and not warm enough. Bed was not very comfortable and pillows were very poor quality and old. I woke up with pain in my shoulder and neck. Breakfast was very expensive, it is better to walk around and eat somewhere nearby.

    Room was clean, it had hot private bathroom. The location was almost near to every thing. It was 5 min walk from the cherry blossom avenue. You don't need public transport to see the Altstadt. Parking was safe and big and we parked our car even after we had checked out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was really bad, even the 6EUR paid WiFi was extremely slow. Even simple Youtube videos were not playing fluently. The rooms were poorly isolated. I could hear the television from several rooms around me. Also it was too warm in the room, even with the heating turned off and the window open.

    Nice breakfast, lot of choice for the money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no pool or any entertainment it's nice that you can put youre car in a sercure garage, but it cost you some money

    I liked the breakfast with waffels :) I liked the modern look of the bar and reception the italian restaurant across the street is awesome but also very busy it's nice that you can put youre car in a sercure garage, but it cost you some money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bathroom alittle too small, need to sit almost sideways on toilet.

    Clean, accommodating staff, typically functional IBIS , location to downtown, and restaurants very good. three restaurants very close. great burger place across the road called burgermanufaktur.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could improve with a bit of renovation.

    Good location of the hotel for reaching it by car. The hotel was very clean and breakfast perfect, with a lot of choice and good quality. The room was spacious and we got an extra bed for the kid even if we did not ask for it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be really slim if you want to use toilet otherwise you will have some problems as there is hardly any space to turn.

    Not so far from center. Nice staff! Very good breakfasts. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is extremely small compared with other ibis hotel. The breakfast has not many choices. It was a little bit disappointed as an ibis hotel.

    Reception and the service is really helpful and friendly. The room is really clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think is a good hotel between price and quality. I was just one night but it was clean, small rooms, good enough for short trips. A bit noisy between the rooms. Do not expect more of a two good start hotel.

    I had a great night, the bed was perfect. And the personal OMG!! Super helpful. Vicjtoria helped me with my breakfast because I was too late for it. The girl from night shift are the best help me to jump up my battery. The personal is a 10*. The place is just 10 min away from the city center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the building was a bit shabby and not up to the usual Ibis standard. Reception staff pretty indifferent and off hand.

    Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and was available until a civilised hour

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is narrow and a bit small but very manageable. The worst thing for me was my room (331) had the most bad Wi-Fi signal ever!!

    I found the staff very friendly and accommodating. I asked for a Taxi at 4am and a wake up call at 3am all done without a fuss and on time. I loved the location ( I love Bonn), good transport links, shops, bars, restaurants. The squares within the residential streets were always lively with locals enjoying their environment. The hotel beverages are reasonably priced. My room was clean and very spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived late to Bonn station and decided to walk as it is one mile ( take a bus it's only 2.8 euros it would feel safer ) . The hotel has a bit of traffic as on main road ( but again you stay to sleep ) for eating out you will have to go to central city so eat before you arrive . But don't let above put you off

    Staff great , very clean , Bonn is easy to get to other near city's by train . The hotel is very close to central city less than a mile and the Rhine 1.5 miles , bus 2.8 euros per trip . There is enough local transport to get where you need . Colonge is 30 minutes by train and Dusseldorf not to far .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was quite small, but with everything you need

    It is reasonably close to the city center, one can go walking without problem. Comfortable and clean room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking no coffee in room

    Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and especially the bathroom are quite small.

    The location is very central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit on the pricey side for what they offer. Not too much, though.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room

    Location - near to cherry blossom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is not most modern. Room at the side of the road so a bit noisy.

    Location close to where it had to be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, 24 hour bar, very comfortable hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Facilities location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the small bathroom

    Good coffee, good & fresh breakfast; very helpful and nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was ok

    good location. close walk to the city centre ! for pizza lovers the restaurant across the hotel is really recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small for two people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tiny bathroom

    nice bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms very small and one smelled of sewage - although we were quickly given a different room.

    Staff friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just bathrooms are small

    Cleanliness and comfortability

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and Stuff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really clean and comfortable. Very good location too, a couple of nice restaurants nearby and walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest of things

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom is so small, the room without refrigirator

    clean and the location is so nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small but acceptable.

    Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room is tiny and not smartly designed

    great location, close to city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself was hard to navigate

    No hassle, easy to park, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No extra costs for decent speed wifi

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheet had a hole in it and it would have been nice to have a leaflet about the area and good things to visit etc

    Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lots are too narrow

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff and no response on their call.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Price and the fantastic pizza restuarant opposite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one big towel per person, no face towels

    Nice breakfast, 24/7 reception availability, value for money, soundproof rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms very small

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would be good

    The room was very clean. Perfect for our stay travelling back to calsis. The breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More sanitary tools in the bathroom would be useful. There were only liquid soap and shampoo.

    Breakfast, nice lobby cafe with reasonable prices

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location clean rooms small but really only for sleeping in

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom and bathroom were quite small! But everything worked fine.

    Clean, modern, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist could be friendlier. The bathroom was tiny.

    The bed was comfortable and the room overall was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean professional and well located

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great, but beware parking on premises was 10 euros.

    No problems. Bakery one minute away saves you money on breakfast. Iced doughnut recommended

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a special breakfast even though I had to leave to the airport at 5 in the morning

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High parking fee Noisy Service was slow

    Near city center

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom

    Clean. As all ibis hotels.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minute walk from the city center. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking was too small, practically almoust no place to turn the car for leaving the parking place.

    the bed was confy, the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small, barely fits one person.

    The hotel is ideally located near to most tourist destinations.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size are indeed on a tight budget!

    Proximity to the workplace!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WC was really small and instead of separate beds was 1 larged bed,but luckily there was possible change the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning suboptimal. Breakfast eggs were cold.

    Staff very helpful. Clean and comfortable bed. Location very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very small.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and clean hotel, great stuff, private parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small shower and bathroom.

    Including parking if you have a car. It's a small, clean, comfortable hotel. The bed is firm which it's the best mattress in this trip.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Paid for double room, not 2 single beds pushed together, no carpet, Small TV, No kettle, Charge to park, Charge for Pets, Charge for City Tax????

    Location, Secure Carpark, Lift for easy access.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small but it was expected. The bathroom however was minute. There was hardly any space to sit on the toilet. Also, batrhoom had a very weak heater, which was turning itself off automatically. WiFi was also quite slow.

    Staff was quite friendly and allowed me to keep the car in the parking lot even after I checked out. Affordable outdoor and indoor parking is definitelly a big asset of this hotel, because it's very hard to find parking spot in the city center.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was very small but in saying that, it wasnt too much of an issue.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our stay and only 10 minutes walk from the centre! Secure parking at a very reasonable rate.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff unfriendly, room way too small, poor breakfast buffet which is not included, and costs more than its worth. Expensive in general, for not enough quality. And my booking was not refundable, even when my partner had an accident and wasn't able to travel, they wouldn't give the money back (90% of the money charged if cancelled)

    The location was pretty comfortable, near the centre and the train station.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - one cannot sleep in that hotel, every noise is getting heard throughout all the hallway... - the price is too high for the service, no breakfast (extra 11 euro) and no parking included (was extra 8 euro)

    the parking

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that the phone rang at 1:37 in the morning, and the guy at the phone said something and when I asked to repeat, he just hang up on me.

    All good, the staff was nice, the room was clean and nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Family with young children

    The Hotel was clean and familiar. the Location was very good just 10 minutes to the Center of Bonn. The staff was very useful and polite! We will recomended for sure!!

There are also 60 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Bonn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: