Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Hotel Erfurt Altstadt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Barfüßerstr. 9, 99084 Erfurt, Germany

#14 of 32 hotels in Erfurt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1411 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Erfurt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ibis hotels have a formula that works well. The rooms are small, but comfortable with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The staff here were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Historic Centre Approximity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should put a daylight curtains on the windows - now it looks "naked".

    Location, cleanliness, underground hotel parking with direct connection to the room, very good breakfast...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    This is a well-tprun hotel with good morale and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to hotel

    A highly efficient and well organised hotel in the centre of the town. Friendly and informative staff, we arrived late but they gave us good advice about where to eat and their breakfast was good with a wisp de range of choice. Safe underground parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good location, a lot of pubs around the area opened at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same shower issue as in other Ibis hotel we've been in Germany - very hard to get water of wanted temperature, and it changes by itself all the time.

    Very good location, a lot of pubs around the area opened at late hours. Very close to tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Everyone staff is kindly with good English.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everyone staff is kindly with good English. The location is good , it's 10-15 mins to walk to old town or main station. Room is clean and comfortable. Breakfest is not rich , but it is good enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, advertise air conditioning but do not have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It you can't supply air conditioning, don't false advertise it!

    Great location, advertise air conditioning but do not have it. It only blows recycled air, not cool. Very disappointing as it was hot when we were there. Mind you, the reception area is air conditioned.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small minus is that for me the bed was a little bit too hard, but then I like soft beds. A small minus is also that you can't pre-order the parking space. So you have to hope there is a space each time you take the car out.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful if you needed. Allways a smile on their faces. Cleaning was good. And rooms was very nice! Good breakfast. Good with parking at the hotell

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    This hotel is all we wished for. It's location is excelkent, staff were superb , very friendly , helpful and with a great sense of humour. The room view looked out over the church and we lived the view. This experience wouldn't have been better! Very clean and near the old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    One of Erfurt's Best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit prices!

    Ideal situation for a beautiful city. Staff were pleasant, efficient and unobtrusive. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Nice place, close to old town and train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the breakfast price was too high, we opted out.

    Best bed, pillow and quiet of the whole trip so far. Close to everything in the old town, and not a long walk from the train station. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Receptionist was very friendly and cooperative
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Receptionist was very friendly and cooperative

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Room was big enough, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was big enough, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Here link comfortable hotel in centrum en heel rustig.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niets

    Centrale ligging

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel at the great location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard for my taste

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress

    Morning coffee

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    We returned after 15 years, and it was just as good as we remembered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More pace in the bedroom!

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Great view of church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of church.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Simple room but clean and conveniently located to the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple room but clean and conveniently located to the old part of the town. We also appreciated a place to park our car.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location and the view from the window . Parking was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Close to old city centre and the main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to old city centre and the main attractions

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.8
    Ideal Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet room was smelling bad

    Ideal Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    7.9
    Really central and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amenities seemed a bit sparse, but you get what you pay for. Our room on the top floor was fairly compact. Would have been nice with coffee in the room.

    Really central and quiet. The breakfast was good value compaired to some other hotels I've stayed in. A pleasant woman from the cleaning staff wanted to make sure everything was up to scratch. Nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    Very clean and well located in the old town section of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean and well located in the old town section of Erfurt. Easy walking distance from the train station and to many good site seeing locations. Staff is friendly and accommodating. For a chain hotel, this one stands out for its value and comfort. I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Location was grand and the hotel provided a top class...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Location was grand and the hotel provided a top class service in a refreshingly simply manner. The hotel decor was modern - quite stylish and the rooms were compact but excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Good beds, wifi-worked well;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower is a bit too hot, adding cold water somehow reduces the tab-pressure (on the 3rd floor that is)

    Good beds, wifi-worked well; its fine for e-mails, newspages, but too slow for streaming. Very well located and the church ruins across the street add to the atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    6.3
    One of the few hotels in the area with air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping staff came to my door wanting to clean my room 3 times, even though the "Do not disturb" sign was displayed (the first time may have been an honest mistake, though). Hair was on the bed, in the bathroom, and on the floor. Toilet had problems filling the tank, so we had to wait up to 8 minutes between each flush. Mold in the shower. Cheap towels.

    One of the few hotels in the area with air conditioning. The location was great. The staff was friendly. The WiFi worked fine. On-site, indoor parking (although, you are only allowed to park there until 1400 on your checkout day).

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    This was such a nice modern hotel in the perfect location to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was such a nice modern hotel in the perfect location to explore Erfurt, a wonderful little town between Berlin and Frankfurt. The staff was very helpful in suggesting things to see and do.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    7.5
    Short distance from the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Difficult access by car - my GPS showed a wrong way. My two other colleagues have the same problem. Several nearby roads are blocked by electronically-controlled barriers but the GPS shows them as free to pass through.

    Short distance from the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    Great location, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, nice room

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    8.8
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be more varied.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Nice and clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    5.4
    The location was near by our activites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was so tiny for a couple and two kids!! As well the bathroom. We had to pay for the parking.

    The location was near by our activites

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.2
    It's an Ibis you know what to expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's an Ibis you know what to expect. Clean and uniform style rooms. It provides exactly what you need for a few days away.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    Quiet st and walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Quiet st and walking distance to everything.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    I loved the location so close to the old part of the city,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the location so close to the old part of the city, and the bed was the best of my whole month of holiday away.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: