Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Gelsenkirchen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofsvorplatz 12, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, Germany

#11 of 14 hotels in Gelsenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1034 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Not an Ibis class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was probably the worst Ibis we've ever stayed, stayed there for a couple of days due to work and what a poor Ibis. The room was really old, the blanket of our bed covered 3/4 of the bed at most and for the price we paid we should at least air conditoning, have a fridge in the room and coffee and tea facilities, to say the least. Won't plan to be back at Gelsenkirchen again but if we do, I doubt we'll stay here again.

    The room was big, the bed was comfortable and the staff was nice and polite. The train station is next to the hotel which is a plus if you want to escape to a much better city and hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    Horrible, dirty, hot. Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely dirty. Stains on the carpet as if someone had died there. Bathroom wasn’t cleaned and the toilet still had leftovers from the previous guest. Also very stuffy and triggered my allergies as there was dust everywhere. Construction starting at 6:30 sharp was not mentioned by front desk and was so loud it was impossible to sleep. On top of that it was extremely hot en musty in the room, no air conditioning.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    It is a few seconds walking from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a few seconds walking from the train station. Although there's no parking place, you can find a very cheap one on the corner. Staff will help you on finding it. Clean, friendly staff. Nothing to complain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    I went in Germany for GNR concert, When i arrived in Ibis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went in Germany for GNR concert, When i arrived in Ibis found out i made mistake during booking - i have booked for the day before. Of course i was charged and thats fair... What disappointed me? they didnt allow me to leave the bag there while on concert

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Arrived late at night and the night staff bent over...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late at night and the night staff bent over backwards to find me somewhere to park my large vehicle and found me a really quiet comfortable room after along tiring 14 hr drive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    Standard ibis good value for money in the centre of town close to all amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the graffiti cleaner on the street, noise of the shower in the next room, pillows did not feel or smell clean and the general age of the property looks a little shabby

    Standard Ibis, disappointed with the standard of cleaning, odour on the pillow, hair on walls and flooring with stains. Staff helpful and multilingual. Right in the centre with the train station only a few minutes walk. No parking available with hotel but public secure and covered parking is adjoining which cost €2.5.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Just in front of station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ibis is ibis, no more than it.

    Just in front of station. Neighbor to supermarket. Comparing to the neighborhood cities such as Dortmund, the price of room is reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    v good location near station -so very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely fine.

    v good location near station -so very convenient. Ibis cleanliness and you know what you get...much better than the 'pig in a poke' lottery from many other hotels for the same price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is utilitarian in design, but in fact it did us very well indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could have done with a warmer welcome from the desk staff when we arrived.

    Comfy beds, well designed bathroom, excellent breakfast. The rates for the room and breakfast are extremely competitive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful and friendly staff in an excellent budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a constant smell of cigarette smoke permeating the building. The staff area and storage areas are obviously smoke areas as the duvets, even in a non-smoking room, smelt like ashtrays. The breakfasts were worth the money on Saturday and Sunday, but you get the very basic food offering on weekdays which are very disappointing.

    When first night's room was horribly hot was moved to far better room at no extra charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.0
    I have booked a room just for one day via booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have booked a room just for one day via booking.com. Then the things have changed and wanted to extend my stay in this city. They charged me more than double price for the next day!!!...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Exactly what I expected with very friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and breakfast + secured parking next to hotel

    Good value for Money. Friendly staff. Exactly what you expect from this type hotel. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    good for sleeping while business travel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for a few bucks more better options to choose, not so cheap in comparison Do not except too much for your money, simple batch, old shower and bad noice isolation from the aisle.

    good for sleeping while business travel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    A good location close to all your needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No refrigerator to keep things cold.

    This hotel is located near the train station and large shopping mall. The hotel was nice and the rooms comfortable. Their was no refrigerator located in room. I did not have breakfast their, it would have cost an extra 11 Euros. Their are lots of little cafe places within 5 minutes walk were you can get a coffee and cake for 4 euros.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    the location is in the heart of the center
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they checked me out automatically from the hotel without I know. I came to take my brush and floss but I found that they had checked me automatically. also, they have thrown my brush and floss and didn't find them. miserable thety say we entered to clean your room and found no luggage so we thought that you wanted to check out without telling us. I told them I have no luggage but also I don't want to sleep in the street.

    the location is in the heart of the center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean, functional and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows faced the pedestrian street, so noise was not horrible, but not good either. No proper ventilation/AC had us sweating and keeping the window open, adding to the noise issue.

    Clean, functional and great location. Parking next doors, 2,5€/passage and max 24h, is good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room doesn't have an air conditioner (I visited the city in the Summer), the corridor and the bedroom had a strange (and unpleasant) smell, and the bathroom didn't seem clean enough (perhaps because everything feels old and worn out). The room didn't have a kettle with drink tea-coffee (at least they offer a bottle of water as a courtesy to the guest, in the arrival, since the bedroom doesn't have a minibar).

    Near the Central Station. The breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    On the whole, it was a good stay
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small pillow each and no extra pillows No Mini bar/fridge No safe No Toiletries Single duvet for a couple

    Good location Comfortable bed Cleanliness Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    Clean, sufficient
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift waiting time sucks. Wherever the glass of room 115 looked out, it was incredibly loud. Does not have its own car park.

    Clean bed Clean room Clean toilet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Typical Ibis
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was horrible! I don't know if there are any standards for that in Germany, but in my opinion, it hardly can meet any standards at all. Also i had some very noisy neighbors, who were watching TV till late night, but that was not the hotel's fault...

    I must admit, that the room was actually better, than i expected. Basically, it's a typical hotel of the Ibis branch: the room is not so very cozy, but yet clean, the breakfast is sad, but eatable, and the location is quite good. Also the staff could be a little friendlier, but then again - it's Ibis! Can't say i really enjoyed my stay there, but everything was fine and there's a big chance i choose this hotel for my next visit to Gelsenkirchen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    4.2
    Football fan basic hostel feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area wasn't great, we were given a room someone else's things were still in. Due to the football game the hotel was full of football fans.

    Choice at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating in room used, apparently the whole heating system did not work well (outside temperature around 0°). New room which I got was a bit better...Staff showed no enthusiasm when it was confronted with that problem.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Everything especially the locality if this place just makes it unique. You seriously dont need a car to travel to and from good food places coz they are walking distance from hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    3.3
    Awful experience that pretty much ruined the trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've had to answer the question on "Type of Traveler" as solo on this survey but it was two people who are not a couple. I think this highlights why we didn't enjoy the stay. When I booked this hotel, my preference for a shared room was a twin room as my business partner and I were trying to cut costs. We assumed this was ok, but on arrival we were given a double room, which meant one of us had to slept on the floor. The hotel informed us that they had to change three other guests accommodation from a double to a twin room, and had no other twin rooms left. They didn't offer us two single rooms either. This is not acceptable. Not just that, but we were not offered any extra bedding or anything else to make our stay more comfortable or offered any discount or compensation for our circumstances. Not just that but we had no tea or coffee making facility in our room, the pillows were small and thin and the bed itself was rock hard. I took two coffees up from the bar to our room and they cups were still in our room two days later when we checked out. The only good thing was that there was a bakery shop just around the corner that supplied us with our breakfasts most of the mornings. Other things that went wrong include: the single light bulb in the bathroom blowing meaning you had to keep the door open to use the bathroom (no separate light for the mirror), and there was only a sanitary bin in the bathroom - No bin in the room by the desk for example. Gelsenkirchen itself was like a ghost town after 8pm, but it was right near the train station, meaning it was easy to get around. In fact we had a great view of the bus station which was unbearably loud in the morning, meaning you couldn't leave the window open overnight (and the room was unbearably hot most of the time, despite the temperature outside being about 12 degress celcius).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Its in a fantastic location close to all the amenities that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have to say it lacks that a/c in the summer.

    Its in a fantastic location close to all the amenities that you would need. Especially as there is now a new 24h takeaway outside the station which is few steps away from hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    very close to the train station, convenient for food and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very close to the train station, convenient for food and transportation! Nice staffs and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    It was very clean and the receptioners Werke very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning. The furnitures were quite old.

    It was very clean and the receptioners Werke very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Went to a Schalke Game.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 lift

    Close to everything Train station next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    great stay in Gelsenkirchen
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 lift

    Everything Great location Train station next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Camera difronte all'ascensore
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camera difronte all'ascensore

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    It was nice. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised we didn't have two duvet blankets on the bed. But it was ok. There was another available if we needed it.

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    You get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was facing the noisy ventilation system.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel in good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom.to chepp

    location.english speak.comfort big bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Exellent, will stay at this hotel next time I visit Gelsenkirchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Good situation / clean and modern
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad Wifi Expensive for Ibis ! 150 EUR /room - exhibition (IPM) in this period should be the explanation.

    Good situation / clean and modern

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    good
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested number of times still water they refuse to provide

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    optimaler Service am Counter.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    optimaler Service am Counter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mini bar. No A/C.

    Location. Clean room. Good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    In the center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok.

    In the center of town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Ok for a night, but nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms. Especially for a couple traveling with a baby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    No air conditioning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    A perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was very clean especially inside the rooms Only 50 meters maybe to the main train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stuff was't very friendly.

    Very good location. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    Value for money unglamorous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no nice bars or restaurants near by.

    1 minute from HBF Clean Safe

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    5.8
    - Noise from the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Noise from the city - No possibility to adjust temperature

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.3
    Parking in front of the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in front of the door. Helpful staff. Reduction on the breakfast price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.1
    good internet speed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room does not have heating control and need to keep the window open to reduce the heat

    good internet speed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    7.5
    gutes Businesshotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    gutes Businesshotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.5
    Not bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold. Heating was not enough.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    5.8
    Not more than one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room as the hotel is very close to the station. Had to drink a few beers to get to sleep

    The bed was very comfortable. Bar open 24/24

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Value for money hotel with an ideal location for visiting the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Central location, seating in the reception/bar area, excellent bedrooms, quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close from Train Station. Good for 1 night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    5.4
    It's right in the centre of city.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    When we arrived to the hotel the female receptionist was really rude! She put us in the room on 3rd floor, but the elevator was not working. When I politely asked her to change it because we had a lot of luggage she said there is no available rooms. Ok, it took us half an hour to bring all the things up. When we were finally in the room I realised the smell of cigarettes was unbearable. I got back to the reception and explained my problem to the other receptionist, and he said we can move to 2nd (non-smoking) floor. So we had to move all our luggage again. Moving from one room to another without elevator is not something you do in the midnight after 12 hours trip. Another night we spent in fear because there was a woman screaming help from the other room, but no one from the hotel even tried to explain us what happened, we were just told the police was there and we were safe at the end. After this we checked out, and we got a discount but honestly there is no discount which can make this experience any better. The hotel has a very bad vibe.

    It's right in the centre of city. They don't have private garage but you can use the one couple steps away for 2.5 euro per day.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.5
    The location near the station made our stay fabulous.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not all our requests were acknowledged

    The location near the station made our stay fabulous. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast - it was such a nice gesture

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.1
    Good position, staff were friendly, breakfast was good
    • Couple

    The bed was not very comfortable, the 2 towels were small and not enough for 2 adults. I would have really liked a kettle and tea and coffee in the room

    Good position, staff were friendly, breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.1
    Location is very good, sheets are clean, bed is comfortable,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a room with the window straight to the roof with air conditioning output modules, was proposed to change, and got another one to the noisiest direction of the building. Bathroom (shower particilarly) was one of the dirtiest I've seen in Ibis. And don't forget if you book with Booking.com, you don't get Accor points.

    Location is very good, sheets are clean, bed is comfortable, breakfast is good. Ibis standard.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast
    • Couple

    Hotel very simple cannot be even 3 stars. No facilities in the bathroom or room, as I asked for tea & coffee maker in the room, but couldn't find it. Location is far from city center and train station.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    3.8
    Not much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can hear everything in the hotel. The walls are from paper. The toilet is about to break off the wall. The shower is rusty and disgusting.

    Not much. The internet is fast.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.8
    The hotel was clean and quite comfortable in the very...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff does not under any circumstances speak proper English, which I think they should since the hotel is situated next to the main bus station in the center of the town. They only know basic English so as soon as you start to form longer sentences they have absolutely no idea what you are talking about. Also the cleaning ladies of the hotel seem to think they are the only ones in the hotel when cleaning other rooms since they were yelling on the halls while we were sleeping.

    The hotel was clean and quite comfortable in the very proximity to the town center.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Location: right beside the bus station & only metres...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was very warm, there seemed to be warm air coming in from somewhere

    Location: right beside the bus station & only metres from the main shopping area, pubs and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    6.7
    Good locations close to city centre area and adjacent to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking at hotel and information from receptions regarding the parking options close by was misleading and incorrect. Resolved parking ourselves very satisfactorily.

    Good locations close to city centre area and adjacent to main motorways and relatively close to Essen Exhibitions Centre by car.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.5
    Very convenient for the train and bus station, and shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was probably unlucky but the first night was very noisy, not helped by carpetless floors. The hotel is OK o stay in but rather featureless and disspiriting.

    Very convenient for the train and bus station, and shopping centre.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    4.2
    bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very noisy internal: you hear your neighbors very noisy external: train and bus station makes it impossible sleaping with open window room temperature was much too high and impossible to adjust non smoking rooms smells smoke

    bed wifi

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    6.3
    The location of the hotel was really good - 2 minutes from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had no kettle, and the hotel refused to supply tea and coffee making facilities. The room was also suffocatingly hot - we had the window open throughout our stay (in December/January!).

    The location of the hotel was really good - 2 minutes from the train and bus station. Right in the city centre, close to shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    5.8
    There is a weird smell in this hotel, I cannot really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a weird smell in this hotel, I cannot really describe it. Maybe they used to smoke a lot in this hotel and there is a residue smell.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location. And good Italian Resataurant very close to hotel is open until late night

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    Clean comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Provision of kettle with drink tea-coffee

    Clean comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    Typical ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Typical ibis

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    4.6
    A women in reception was agresiv.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A women in reception was agresiv. Its a bad smell in the first floor.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.1
    No possibility to regulate temperature.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No possibility to regulate temperature. It was a bit too warm.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    4.2
    from the early morning started to open my room 4 times to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    from the early morning started to open my room 4 times to clean it

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.3
    Small but cozy rooms, nice service, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Small but cozy rooms, nice service, good breakfast. Nothing really extraordinary for this price, but for 1 night it's ok.

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: