Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Hamburg Alsterring This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Pappelallee 61, 22089 Hamburg, Germany

#157 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1176 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle , No refrigrator

    Nice staff , easy access to public location , good shopping centers and restaurants nearby , good breakfast , round the clock snack , coffee and bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price seems to be increasing every time I book.

    Nice location next to the S-Bahn stop with direct connection to the airport. Decent rooms that provide the necessary comfort for a decent sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only reason the bathroom etc does not get 10 is the lack of towels. That could have been remedied if I had asked for more, but there was not enough for two people.

    Every thing in this hotel was fantastic. The room was clean and the beds firm and comfortable along with the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel was well sited for Hamburg centre. It is a short walk to the metro and 10-15 mins into the centre of town. The train line is the same one you get from the airport, so for us it was straight into the hotel, dump the bags and off to the metro again for the Christmas market. All on the same line. This is the 2nd time I have been to Christmas market and I aim to go again and will make sure I stop here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A prior hint to how you exit the downstairs car park.... Had never had to pull a ripcord in the roof to activate an exit before.....thankfully,there was a car behind us with a very helpful lady who told us how to do it and not look a complete idiot!

    Florian, the very helpful barman. He was so nice to my brother and I. All the staff were superb. Florian just went the extra mile, he advised us about the train and where we might find the best fish sandwiches! What a star he is. Everything contained in this hotel is fantastic and,an extra bonus are the lovely clean duvet covers and pillows each day from housekeeping. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Selection of food for the breakfast is more than satisfying. Very quiet in the corridors outside your room so a night of un-disturbed sleep is what you have each night giving you a great start to your day of walking in the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While not in the heart of the action in Hamburg, this hotel is only 4 s bahn stops from Central Station. In the district of Wansbeck. The rooms here are spacious , the beds very comfortable and the Bathroom facilities fantastic. there are plenty of local options for dining out , and this hotel is also handy if you need to go to the Hamburg Airport as the S1 Train stops there. And the station is right behind the hotel. Which by the way you wouldn't know was there because the windows are double glazed blocking out the sound.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on check in (I arrived early) were unhelpful. I had to ask twice for the check in clerk to please speak English (my German is limited). The girl who booked me in later was much nicer in the way she dealt with me.

    I come every year for the Deutsche Derby and it's ideally positioned between airport and race track.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was hot and hard to get the room temperature down. One small-ish bath towel per person was a bit mean - we never changed ours in the three days, but drying hair was a problem.

    Breakfast was very good, staff were great, foyer facilities and bar very good and location too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was a bit rude this time at check-in

    No frills hotel that provides basic accommodation for one or two nights in a decent area of town with some restaurants and pharmacy nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in could have been a lot more friendly. Member of staff very 'robotic' asking questions and reciting script about basics like breakfast time. Lacked any charm and for the room price paid, this wasn't good value for money. Room only had one plug socket and had to move a chair to position my phone/appliances to re-charge them. No tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was an extra EUR 11 but in no way was this good value based on the selection of food available.

    Location of hotel ideal if you want quick access to both the city centre and airport but without the associated high premium.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last night was very noisy. Probably new guests arrived. In the room above mine. I was in the 4th flour and the noise came from the 5th floor. Unfortunately these people didn't show much respect. If you enter a hotel after midnight you have to know that there are people that are already sleeping. - I have to admit that if this hadn't been my last night, I would have complained at the hotel itself.

    The room was clean and I had enough space. The long table in the room was also very useful, so I could place my computer and documents...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too small TV out of date

    small room but enough please provide slippers and toothbrush. if not provide which should be clear descriped in the hotel introduction.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is actually quite expensive for what they actually offer. The rooms are very very very basic. In terms of cleanliness of the rooms much improvements are needed. During two of the four days of my stay no one changes the cups in my room, and I also have comments to make regarding the cleanliness of the towels in the bathroom. The breakfast is just ok but is not worth 11 euros for sure. Some of the staff didn't seem very friendly, too.Cannot really recommend the place.

    good location close to S-Bahn

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain of the room should be longer to fit the length and width of the window in order to ensure tha perfect dark.

    Bed and pillow very comfortable. The breakfast is very reach and tasty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor details... towel had a long hair that was not mine and desk chair is very uncomfortable

    Friendly staff and nice room to spend a night or two.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got too warm to be able to sleep on the first night. Had to leave the window open all day to cool the room for the following 2 nights. Heating/Viking controls in room only permitted heating.

    Generally clean and modern. Friendly staff. Great location only minutes away from restaurants, ships and the S Bahn station to get you to Hamburg Hbf or the airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are always a problem in Europe since most hotels don't understand the "firm" pillows do not mean just stack 3 very soft pillows on top of each other.

    Located outside of the city center does not represent a big problem since the S-Bahn and U-Bahn stations of Wansbecker Chaussee are less than 5 minutes walking and can connect to Hamburg central station in 8 minutes and the airport in 15. Plenty of little businesses and cafés/restaurants within walking distance. Friendly staff and very decent rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so good information about use of lift. It is free from the garage to ground level but you need the key card from ground floor to others and each time you've to put the card near the reader. Any information in the garage to open the door after payment. We have seen people looking for a solution but anything !!! Also we tried to use but without satisfaction. You have to call the reception! Staff should put clear instruction for guests how to use it !!!

    Good location near the U and S-bahn, rich breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only a crummy wooden chair to sit on. W-Lan is lousy. The place is noisy. The staff in the breakfast area are arguing with the hotel guests.

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no loyalty points because I used booking.com

    Everything as expected. no surprises.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad towel hooks, small room for two person

    Good bed., breakfast is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good clean accommodation, near the metro for both centre and Airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom

    Great breakfast Parking Helpful staff Location Price/quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi had not enough coverage in my room

    Spatious rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was good, the scrambled eggs didn't have a strange taste like most hotel breakfast buffets. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good 5 min to train, 10 min to quarrre

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi?! A joke!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missing slippers.

    Near the subway

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Neighborhood is not the best in Hamburg probably.

    Staff was very friendly, comfortable hotel, good value for price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfort positione

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of breakfast options

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful and professional staff, great location (public transport), clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment at the check-in.

    Nice staff and clean rooms. Good WIFI. Close to metro. Noiseproof windows and walls. No russians (katsaps) detected.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air condition only comes on when it is over 20 degrees C outside, making the room somewhat stuffy. Opening the window (and letting in the noise) was the only option.

    Small but comfortable room, nice breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    One room was next to housekeeping, and my colleague was awoken very early by the cleaning staff. The air conditioning stopped working after a certain time too. The breakfast was definitely not good value for money.

    Location was excellent and the staff were friendly. All had excellent language skills. Train station right next door with a direct line to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about this Ibis hotel. Good location close to S-Bahn and just in between central station and airport (15 minutes travel time to either of them).

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi worked on my phone but couldn't get it to work on my laptop. It had worked the previous day at a different hotel.

    Very clean, off street parking, decent food available all hours, relaxed atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was located near the elevator, the elevator noise was terrible, very disturbed. There were times I had to get up during the night because of the noise of the elevator and the people coming out of the elevator, as well as isolation rooms was not good, it was possible to hear all the noise from the adjoining rooms.

    the staff and the loction

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neighbourhood where the hotel is not particularly attractive with some dodgy looking people hanging around in places. Soap / shower gel in the bathrooms was really cheap and horrible - bring your own.

    Price. Very close to U-Bahn. Plenty of parking in the tiefgarage (although chargable). Room was a decent size compared to some other Ibis hotels.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are no minibars. We had to go to market to buy beverages. Going back to room, we stopped for dinner. The personnel (Aki Rose) refused to serve us dinner because we had drinks that we bought from the market. We told them that the bottles were not open, we bought them for room and we would order drinks for dinner. He never listened and show us outside of the hotel mourning "no drinks, no drinks". He said it was rule, I asked him if it was written anywhere. Manager on duty also confirmed his behavior and she also could not show us the rules.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice people are working in the Hotel always proactive in helping. The room was very good too. The only issue is that there is no Wifi in the room, which is a minor detail.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's dosent have refrigerator in the room. Iocattion is little bit far from the central station.

    Friendly but prite staffs. Clean room. Reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was building work to the outside of the building and along the side which was rather unsightly

    Spotlessly clean hotel. VCery helpful staff and good location for the underground into the city

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection was bad.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location

    I think it be nice to provide bedside fridge with bar.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minibar would've been nice

    Nice modern room, friendly staff, close to public transport

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Couple

    gute Infrastruktur (Restaurants) drumherum

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel to stay. Very accessible

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a smell in the room. There is noise from S-bahn station.

    Clean towels and bed.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable bed, facilities pretty basic for the money,

    Staff helpful, hotel clean and tidy,

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A sketchy neighborhood, looks a bit dangerous at night.

    Friendly staff. Easy access to the city via the metro. A great bakery located nearby

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    location was very good. Very close to the metro/train station and nice restaurants around. Wifi was good.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    free wifi only in lobby

    good location next to station

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Friendly helpful and efficient Staff (Reception)

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Building work to exterior of building

    Very easy to get into middle of Hamburg. Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I paid nearly 100€ per night. Not worth it at all. It's not close to the centrum. Located in front of train station very noisy.

    The bed was comfy

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room looked onto a railway line. Lots of building works in the general vicinity.

    Walking distance to shopping centre

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is very clean and the staffs there did good job.I had been there times and they keep almost same quality service

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Horrible breakfast!!!!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kind and helpfull stuff. Breakfast was good. So easy to reach city center. İbis is good choice.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse ibis Hamburg Alsterring traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: